Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / --   3 / 246ft.   3 / 298ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/20/2010   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: i enjoyed this course very much. it was a nice long fun course. if i didn't have to type so much i would have stopped by now
Cons: there aren't many cons to put about this course. the only one i can think of is that it was hard to drink beer on the cours

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of course

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red Course
It does not get any better in terms of scenery while playing the Red course. Grounds very well maintained. Reminded me more of a real golf course. Although the red course is mostly open, the wind conditions can offer challenges like no other course you have played. I played in 20+ mph winds and every shot seemed unpredictable. Good use of elevation changes and well placed baskets near the lake to make the course a joy to play. Most of the holes you can crank up the driver without concerning hitting cars. Tee pads clearly marked, whole signs to next whole extremely helpful, baskets numbered correctly.

Red CC Course
Complete change of course from the Red course that is one tough challenging wooded course. Even though it is heavily wooded there is still a lot of clearing around the hole so it makes it easy to find your disc. Holes are grouped in a cluster so it's not far to walk to the next hole. Equally difficult for left or right handed. Tee markers are different color and clearly marked CC, Great idea.
Cons: Red Course
I just hate playing near cars, parking lots. Nothing could be worse than a bad throw hitting someone's car and all the aftermath of paying for it. If there is a chance I could hit one then I just simply skip the hole. The red course in particular will be played mostly by beginners who are most likely to hit them. Good thing is that there are only a few holes on the red course where they come into play. Some holes play around roads but you can wait for cars to pass.

Red CC
Hole 3, if you're off course, be very careful you don't poke your eye out. It would be nice if someone could trim off some of those lower dead branches on the pines. Need a path or more direction arrows going from 3 to 4th hole. Baskets little bit hard to locate if playing the first time.
Other Thoughts: It's a very open course but I think it is a nice change of course that you just don't get with the rest of the 36 holes. Defiantly makes you consider caring heaver or more wind resistant disc in your bag! I would advise playing the red course early in the morning before more cars arrive. I drove up from Annapolis, MD to play Codorus and it was well worth the drive. I will be back!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tournament Layout

2-4    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I want to immediately point out that I played this course twice now in it's tournament layout which is 20 holes (they combine some of the aforementioned boring holes) and plays extremly differently than what some of the previous reviewers experienced.

Great variety of holes. First you have the obvious differnce between the CC holes and the standard 18. The CC have tight, wooded fairways, and if you play from the pro tee's some of these holes are legitimate apr 4's. The standard 18 are wide open and play amongst alot of roads and parking lots which offer plenty of OB opportunities. Both courses though use plenty of elevation, up, down and across hills. Also the standard 18 course really takes advantage of some really nice pin positions. They are located near OB or on slopes that give you a pause (especially hole #15's pin, Yowza it is steep behind the pin).

The park itself is fantastic. A Marina, 54 disc golf holes, bathrooms, water fountains, and an awesome 9 hole mini course that I absolutely love! The standard 18 offers great views of the lake (but don't go in) and even the CC holes bring some water into play on holes 5 and 7. Also there are restaurants gas station ect. close to the course.

The course is well maintained. The standard 18 appears to be mowed often and the CC courses were well groomed.
Cons: I can;t recall any seating being available at any of the Tee's on the course which is always a con on a long 27 hole course.

The rubber tee's are very narrow and can be slippery when wet. Also a few of the tee's on the CC holes are somewhat uneven.

Signage is pretty poor. Just a marker stick with Hole number and distance. The course is easy to follow though.

I am very much against holes that need to use mando's to keep areas safe. There are some holes on this 27 hole course that would benefit from some minor redesign to avoid needing the mando's
Other Thoughts: Now I mentioned previously that I played the tournament layout instead of the standard 18. From what I was able to see the tourney layout is awesome compared to the normal layout so you might want to try it. We played holes (all from pro tee) 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5 8 to 9's basket, 10 as an Island green, 12 to 13's basket, 15 using the long tee and alt pin, and 17 to 18's basket then all of the CC holes. Some of these combo holes take very drab, boring 250 ftholes and makes them into very difficult 600 - 800 footers especially with wind off the lake and tons of out of bounds around. Very cool setup.

I really enjoy playing all the Codorus courses and all of the local guys that I have played with have been super cool and helpful. I would love to call this my home course, because between the 54 holes and different layouts I would find it difficult to become bored with.

This is a great place to bring your family also. There are great campsites available a massive swimming pool, boat rental Gettysburg nearby and tons of other amenaties.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 On a nice day...

1    7/14/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open...good place for beginners
Cons: NEXT TEE signs could be better marked, as with the actual tee boxes. Bad throws can hit picnic benches, and people
Other Thoughts: Played on a day that was blistering hot, with little shade (on the front 9)...then heavy rain for back 9, but the 2 first-timers that went with us still loved the game

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two worlds

5+    1/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes with two flypad tees, and nice yellow discatcher baskets. Excellent use of rolling elevation and variety of shot type. Tee markers with hole distance. Mandos are marked geese on trees. The actual 18 Red holes have lots of elevation change, mostly open with lots of ob and fast greens. There are a couple ace-runs, and some super long bombs. The 9 Cross Country holes are a crazy mix of heavily wooded holes with some elevation. Bathrooms in pavilion. Scenic views and wildlife.
Cons: Flypads not all level and can be slippery when wet. Could use some better signage. Park patrons can be an issue especially when they decide to camp on the fairway. Parking lots and park roads come into play as ob. Groundhog holes can be dangerous. Poison ivy and some thick rough in the summer on the CC holes. No swimming allowed in lake.
Other Thoughts: The Red course often has wind coming off the lake to make things more interesting with the lack of trees. The Blue course is my favorite of the two being more wooded, technical, consistent, and secluded although the Red offers a nice contrast. Codorus DG as a whole, 54 holes is one of the best days of disc-golf one can ask for with awesome scenic views! The whole course offers a lot of variety for a rank beginner to the seasoned pro. Also has a mini disc golf course. Lots of people and activities in the park with a marina and camping.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 BEAUTIFUL COURSE

1    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Although course is open, many shots are used/needed
-Open, and not overly challenging
-Par is attainable
-Very well maintained. Grass was mowed, and everything was well kept
-Available scorecard on this website came in handy when playing the red and blue course
-Holes by the water were really neat
-Did I mention that this was beautiful
Cons: -Was a little tricky to follow in a couple of places. We did have a map, but still at times we were turned around trying to find where to go
Other Thoughts: I don't have much bad to say about this course. I would play the red course 8 out of 10 times over the blue course. The holes down by lake marburg were great and the water definitely comes into play if you are a RHBH. As a twosome we played 36 holes in less than 4 hours today on a beautiful sunny morning. There was not a single other player on either course when we started at 8am. I can't wait to go back. If you have the option to play red or blue.....play the red first!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play all 54

5+    11/1/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The full 54 at Codorus are what make this course a great course.

Tournaments here are typically 40 holes, with multiple combined holes which really makes the course a challenge.

Blue + X holes are more difficult than the Red + CC holes, but the Red Course has excellent views of the lake. The CC holes play between #1 & #18 Red.

Lots of shot variety, a little bit roller friendly on the Red Course.


Cons: This park gets lots of traffic, and road traffic, and other park patrons can be disctracting on the course. I have seen the patrons using picnic tables near Red 2 come into play at tournaments.

Special layouts for tournaments are not always available ... Hole 10 played as an island green is sweet!
Other Thoughts: I would rate Codorus overall a 4.5 ... but when you rate each course separate that is hard to give out.

If you can not play all 54, then at least try to play a tournament 40, those layouts are posted in various news groups. Red 8 to Hole 9, and Red 12 to Hole 13 are some of the classics here. Red 1 to Red 2 has been used too!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center