Disc Golf Store
Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / --   3 / 460ft.   3 / 573ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Views Of The Lake - Up Close!

1    7/17/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Codorus State Park is the large PA state park on the shores of beautiful Lake Marburg. With three courses here, disc golfers could camp, golf and spend time in the lake. What a ideal vacation spot! The lovely rolling terrain, sometimes open, sometimes wooded with awesome views of the lake and marina make for for great terrain for the courses.

The Red Course is the much more wide open cousin of the Blue Course. The Red features many more chances to air it out and show off that big arm of yours. Like the Blue, the Red Course is extremely well maintained as your playing almost entirely on mowed grass lawns.

The extra nine holes are special and really add to the enjoyment here.

I liked # 9. It's like 390' and banked making for a great hole to throw the long roller on.

The view from the top at # 18 is lovely and the throw is semi-fun indeed.
Cons: # 4 and 5 play right through the beach crowd and sometimes the right move is to just skip over them. I was forced to bypass # 4 as there sun bathers lying right in the way.

I, too, felt that some of the open holes got a boring. I'm not much into throw as far as you can, pick up and throw as far as you can again on an open field.

There are definitely some safety concerns with cars in parking lots and park streets. Be observant for cars on the park's streets before throwing and as for the lots, I just give them a wide berth. I'd rather take an extra stroke than hit someone's car.
Other Thoughts: I liked Blue better. Combine the best attributes of both and you would have one great course. Or just swap a few holes from each and give each course an extra dose of variety. Or just come play all three counting the Mini, enjoy the lake and have yourself a great day disc golfing here at Codorus State Park in Pennsylvania, USA.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nicely Contrasts the Blue Course

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes of good, challenging disc golf in another beautiful PA State Park. A small shop in the marina sells discs and drinks. Multiple bathrooms are on site. All baskets work well, and there are multiple marked tee off areas for pro and amateur levels of play. Very nice variety- open shots, moderately wooded shots and a couple of very tight tunnel shots. Navigation not bad. Good use of elevation. Scenic views of the marina and lake-views a bit reminiscent of Nockamixon.
Cons: The biggest con to me is the lack of quality signage. A course of this caliber should absolutely have them, and it would add immeasurably to the playing experience. More navigational arrows would be helpful. Several tee pads starting to show their wear. Wind can absolutely wreak havoc on your round. There is the possibility other park users can get in your way, and errant throws could wind up in a parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Although I am a bigger fan of wooded, technical courses, I actually liked the red course at Codorus better for its variety in both length and layout. Plus, the scenery here on much of the course is wonderful. Though navigation is not terrible, there is actually TOO MUCH here (CC and XC holes in addition to the red and blue courses) for there not to be a quality map on the premises at all times. Codorus Red calls upon you to throw a variety of shots while avoiding the pitfalls (water, wind, rough, parking lots) that can doom your round.

Water and rough off the fairway could come into play but are not oppressive and can be avoided with a sound approach to your game. Though beautiful, Codorus State Park is not an easy drive and is way off the beaten path to and from most places, so be prepared. With 54 total holes plus a mini disc golf curse on the premises, Codorus has plenty to keep you busy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: EricMoul
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a local I play this course almost 60 times during summer break.
Excellent course for all levels of players.
- Marina shop sits between courses and sells drinks and some of the newer and nicer discs Innova has to offer (I.E. Star, Champion, Blizzard, StarLite, and Rainbow Champion)
- Multiple Tees for Am and Pro
- Holes that require an assortment of throw
- Multiple holes where you can air it out (4, 9, 12, the entire back loop of 5 holes)
- Usually well maintained by Park Maintenance
Cons: Only a few downsides:
- Lake Holes (4 & 5) can become very windy on summer evenings
- During the summer, hole 4 is very prone to sunbathers and swimmers so watch out
- The wooded holes are host to all kinds of poison so disc hunting can be sketchy
Other Thoughts: When coupled in with the 18 hole Blue Course, the 9 hole Cross Country Course, and the 9 hole Gold X Course, Codorus could easily be one of the top courses on the east coast. I highly recommend playing, and there are alway locals out to play with. Plus a short drive to the 2 Pinchot Park course in Dover, PA and the Creeping Creek course in Hampstead, MD

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf Mecca

1    3/6/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The club at this [ark really knowa what they are doing. Great course with all of the dynamics that make a couse above average for me. Also there is a huge lake that several courses play around. Take a dip if you are here in the summer time.
Cons: Too many courses to play all of them twice in a day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Round

1    6/30/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: CDAWG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As the other reviews describe, the Red Course is scenic with lovely views of the lake. My wife and played on a perfect sunny day with light wind.

Number #15 is a good long hole with a challenging basket and nice vistas of the marina.

Another pro, the marina sells discs and drinks.

Have a seat on the bench at #17 and admire the view before bombing your drive down #18.

Multiple tees per hole in good shape. Grass was well-cut, there were a good many players out.
Cons: As hole #4 plays along the lake, there was a family spread out by the basket fishing. We just walked to the next tee.

The two guys behind us made another choice. One threw into the family and the other threw into the lake.

#5 was unplayable with another family having a picnic.

Even with our printed map the signage was questionable so we let the two guys behind us play through on #7.

On #8 the first guy hit a moving car in the parking lot. On #9 BOTH guys hit cars in the parking lot.

The shots are not that tough and the lots were virtually empty, so some bad luck was involved.

My wife and I played them without incident, yet if the lots were full, we would have just skipped those two holes.

A couple sleeping near the basket on #13 meant we skipped that hole too.
Other Thoughts: The mini disc golf course located by the #1 tee is a must-see.

Overall, very solid course. I would try to get out early to beat the crowds otherwise you will likely be skipping holes like we did due to the people or cars in the way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Fun course, very scenic with the lake in the distance. TONS of elevation, some challenging up hill throws and some nice long down hill shots.
The course was well maintained, baskets were in good working order.
Cons: Nothing too serious, a couple of holes where the fairway gets tight and you are throwing near cars and people. This was my first time playing this course and navigation was pretty easy for the most part, only needed to bust out the map a couple of times.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the Blue Course slightly better, but I prefer a course with more trees and obstacles, the Red Course has more open holes with more elevation. So pick your poison....both will provide you with a good time though.

 

1    11/20/2010   4/24/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: i enjoyed this course very much. it was a nice long fun course. if i didn't have to type so much i would have stopped by now
Cons: there aren't many cons to put about this course. the only one i can think of is that it was hard to drink beer on the cours

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of course

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Radarx
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red Course
It does not get any better in terms of scenery while playing the Red course. Grounds very well maintained. Reminded me more of a real golf course. Although the red course is mostly open, the wind conditions can offer challenges like no other course you have played. I played in 20+ mph winds and every shot seemed unpredictable. Good use of elevation changes and well placed baskets near the lake to make the course a joy to play. Most of the holes you can crank up the driver without concerning hitting cars. Tee pads clearly marked, whole signs to next whole extremely helpful, baskets numbered correctly.

Red CC Course
Complete change of course from the Red course that is one tough challenging wooded course. Even though it is heavily wooded there is still a lot of clearing around the hole so it makes it easy to find your disc. Holes are grouped in a cluster so it's not far to walk to the next hole. Equally difficult for left or right handed. Tee markers are different color and clearly marked CC, Great idea.
Cons: Red Course
I just hate playing near cars, parking lots. Nothing could be worse than a bad throw hitting someone's car and all the aftermath of paying for it. If there is a chance I could hit one then I just simply skip the hole. The red course in particular will be played mostly by beginners who are most likely to hit them. Good thing is that there are only a few holes on the red course where they come into play. Some holes play around roads but you can wait for cars to pass.

Red CC
Hole 3, if you're off course, be very careful you don't poke your eye out. It would be nice if someone could trim off some of those lower dead branches on the pines. Need a path or more direction arrows going from 3 to 4th hole. Baskets little bit hard to locate if playing the first time.
Other Thoughts: It's a very open course but I think it is a nice change of course that you just don't get with the rest of the 36 holes. Defiantly makes you consider caring heaver or more wind resistant disc in your bag! I would advise playing the red course early in the morning before more cars arrive. I drove up from Annapolis, MD to play Codorus and it was well worth the drive. I will be back!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 blue is better

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: first 9 are pretty. very windy.
Cons: middle 9 are cool if you like to throw around parking lots. I can't imagine playing this course on weekends when the parking lots are full. back 9 are absurdly difficult.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, nice park

1    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: r3VOLution
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Set in a very nice park with many holes running along the water.
Cons: Some holes run through picnic areas and near parking and traffic. Next holes were somewhat difficult to find. The map helped some but it could be better marked.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner and preferred this course over the more technical Blue Course. I would play Red first and Blue second.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.