Disc Golf Store
Hanover, PA 
Codorus State Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / --   3 / 331ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Pro Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Give me 9 CC's of extra disc golf holes! Stat!

1    6/10/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great views of the lake the rest of the park! I love how some of the holes have the lake in play. These water hazards definitely mess with your head.

- Nice tee variety with the am and pro tees; signage, teepads, and baskets are all in good condition.

- A great place to air our your discs, although this can get boring after awhile (see cons)

- #14 is my favorite hole. The double mando really requires focus and concentration -- not to mention dodging a buinch of trees. Once you clear the tight mando, you still have a good distance to the basket. Fantastic!

- As I said in my cons, the first 18 are somewhat redundant and lack any idiosyncrasy. However, the last nine holes (CC1-9) are phenomenal! No hold is alike, and you must contend with ultra-tight wooded pines, the lake, 90-degree doglegs, thick brush, and a cemetery! These are some of the best holes I've played on any course and it's a shame there's only nine of them. These really help bump up the Red Course and make it a must-play.
Cons: The first 18 holes are nothing to write home about. Few, if any, are memorable ones. It's just a lot of drives up and down hills with few obstacles in the way.

- I'm not a big fan of the criss-crossing nature of the holes from 10-13. I can see interruptions happening on these holes when it's busy.

- Some holes play very close to the parking lot and walkways. Mandos are in place to discourage you from throwing, but the likelihood is still high. Take #15, for instance. It plays pretty close to a road and parking lot, and one of my valkyires almost hit a car parked there. Yikes!

- Not a whole lot in terms of technical/wooded holes or extreme doglegs. I'd like to take some from the Blue Course and transplant it here!

- Windy! Playing here versus the blue course is like night and day in this regard. Make sure to pack an overstable disc like a firebird or a wasp to compensate for this factor.
Other Thoughts: Codorus Red would be a 2.5 without the CC holes, but they're so fantastic that they really bump up the course's fun and beauty factor! All in all, with the CC holes, nice views of the lake, great amenities, and 27 chances to smack chains, it's a great disc golf experience.

Make a day trip out of it and play all 54! Plus the mini holes!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tournament Layout

2-4    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I want to immediately point out that I played this course twice now in it's tournament layout which is 20 holes (they combine some of the aforementioned boring holes) and plays extremly differently than what some of the previous reviewers experienced.

Great variety of holes. First you have the obvious differnce between the CC holes and the standard 18. The CC have tight, wooded fairways, and if you play from the pro tee's some of these holes are legitimate apr 4's. The standard 18 are wide open and play amongst alot of roads and parking lots which offer plenty of OB opportunities. Both courses though use plenty of elevation, up, down and across hills. Also the standard 18 course really takes advantage of some really nice pin positions. They are located near OB or on slopes that give you a pause (especially hole #15's pin, Yowza it is steep behind the pin).

The park itself is fantastic. A Marina, 54 disc golf holes, bathrooms, water fountains, and an awesome 9 hole mini course that I absolutely love! The standard 18 offers great views of the lake (but don't go in) and even the CC holes bring some water into play on holes 5 and 7. Also there are restaurants gas station ect. close to the course.

The course is well maintained. The standard 18 appears to be mowed often and the CC courses were well groomed.
Cons: I can;t recall any seating being available at any of the Tee's on the course which is always a con on a long 27 hole course.

The rubber tee's are very narrow and can be slippery when wet. Also a few of the tee's on the CC holes are somewhat uneven.

Signage is pretty poor. Just a marker stick with Hole number and distance. The course is easy to follow though.

I am very much against holes that need to use mando's to keep areas safe. There are some holes on this 27 hole course that would benefit from some minor redesign to avoid needing the mando's
Other Thoughts: Now I mentioned previously that I played the tournament layout instead of the standard 18. From what I was able to see the tourney layout is awesome compared to the normal layout so you might want to try it. We played holes (all from pro tee) 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5 8 to 9's basket, 10 as an Island green, 12 to 13's basket, 15 using the long tee and alt pin, and 17 to 18's basket then all of the CC holes. Some of these combo holes take very drab, boring 250 ftholes and makes them into very difficult 600 - 800 footers especially with wind off the lake and tons of out of bounds around. Very cool setup.

I really enjoy playing all the Codorus courses and all of the local guys that I have played with have been super cool and helpful. I would love to call this my home course, because between the 54 holes and different layouts I would find it difficult to become bored with.

This is a great place to bring your family also. There are great campsites available a massive swimming pool, boat rental Gettysburg nearby and tons of other amenaties.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open

2-4    5/4/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: Zaminski
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The CC holes on this course are probably the best part of this course. The first few holes can end up very costly if you end up in the woods. The other 18 are wide open. Good course to just let it fly without two many worries of trees. Hole 4 has an amazing view of the lake and you could easily end up in the drink if your disc floats left. Good course to work on drives without to much worry of losing a disc.
Cons: The back nine get boring. I am not a fan of open holes, I like being in the woods. Also a few holes along the lake bring many people just lounging in the middle of the fairway, then they act surprise when a disc lands near them. Also on nice days expect to wait for kids running across the fairway near the picnic areas. Like I said the CC holes are the best part of this course and often I only play those nine.
Other Thoughts: Play early morning or overcast days when there will be less tourists. The course is near the marina where you can buy discs or drinks and such, so that is always a nice feature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On a nice day...

1    7/14/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly wide open...good place for beginners
Cons: NEXT TEE signs could be better marked, as with the actual tee boxes. Bad throws can hit picnic benches, and people
Other Thoughts: Played on a day that was blistering hot, with little shade (on the front 9)...then heavy rain for back 9, but the 2 first-timers that went with us still loved the game

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two worlds

5+    1/13/2010   3/14/2010
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2012
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes with two flypad tees, and nice yellow discatcher baskets. Excellent use of rolling elevation and variety of shot type. Tee markers with hole distance. Mandos are marked geese on trees. The actual 18 Red holes have lots of elevation change, mostly open with lots of ob and fast greens. There are a couple ace-runs, and some super long bombs. The 9 Cross Country holes are a crazy mix of heavily wooded holes with some elevation. Bathrooms in pavilion. Scenic views and wildlife.
Cons: Flypads not all level and can be slippery when wet. Could use some better signage. Park patrons can be an issue especially when they decide to camp on the fairway. Parking lots and park roads come into play as ob. Groundhog holes can be dangerous. Poison ivy and some thick rough in the summer on the CC holes. No swimming allowed in lake.
Other Thoughts: The Red course often has wind coming off the lake to make things more interesting with the lack of trees. The Blue course is my favorite of the two being more wooded, technical, consistent, and secluded although the Red offers a nice contrast. Codorus DG as a whole, 54 holes is one of the best days of disc-golf one can ask for with awesome scenic views! The whole course offers a lot of variety for a rank beginner to the seasoned pro. Also has a mini disc golf course. Lots of people and activities in the park with a marina and camping.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic

5+    5/20/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice alternative to Blue when not too windy, particularly following significant rain.
Little 'patio rocks' at hand.
Well looked after.
Cons: Proximity of picnic tables, athough I have never had a particular problem dealing. .
Other Thoughts: I unintentionally stunned an unsuspecting groundhog with a drive on Hole 3.
The double mando on the back 9 is challenging.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, not special

1    7/10/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course was fun. Lots of open play, challenging distnaces, and a fair amount of up/down with some trees mixed in.
Cons: Played this one after getting chased off blue by all the poison ivy. Red had even worse patches -- the bank along 1 and 2 had thickets of it, one tree on 7 looked like a chrsitmas tree form the PI even though the tree's brances started at 20 ft. But with the holes mostly open, with a bit of luck you can avoid it all. If you can, play on a weekday, because this course goes through picnic grounds.
Other Thoughts: In the mid-atlantic states, poison ivy is very prevalant, and the first requriement for all courses is to make sure your players will not be suffering from it 4 days later. Neither codorus course has done anything that I could see to control the poison ivy, and this is a huge negative.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 BEAUTIFUL COURSE

1    7/15/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Although course is open, many shots are used/needed
-Open, and not overly challenging
-Par is attainable
-Very well maintained. Grass was mowed, and everything was well kept
-Available scorecard on this website came in handy when playing the red and blue course
-Holes by the water were really neat
-Did I mention that this was beautiful
Cons: -Was a little tricky to follow in a couple of places. We did have a map, but still at times we were turned around trying to find where to go
Other Thoughts: I don't have much bad to say about this course. I would play the red course 8 out of 10 times over the blue course. The holes down by lake marburg were great and the water definitely comes into play if you are a RHBH. As a twosome we played 36 holes in less than 4 hours today on a beautiful sunny morning. There was not a single other player on either course when we started at 8am. I can't wait to go back. If you have the option to play red or blue.....play the red first!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss the CC holes!

1    2/28/2009   4/5/2009
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wide-open if you like that sort of thing. More gorgeous views and excellent park maintenance. CC holes are designed for modern discs and are more challenging, winding through the woods. Two pads per hole. Many OB roads, parking lots and even water come into play, which is great for tourneys.
Cons: No rec tees, so weaker arms may be frustrated. Most of this layout comes very close to picnic tables, trails, roads and parking lots, so certain holes may be unplayable during busy seasons.
Other Thoughts: If it's really busy, you should consider playing all 27 blue holes and the 9 red CC holes, and skipping the traditional red layout.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red Headed Step Child

1    2/27/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has some holes with pleasant views of Lake Marburg most notably #3-6. Plenty of holes to really air it out here, unlike the blue course which requires more precise drives...you can recklessly rip here more often. What the Red course lacks in tight fairways it makes up for in wind conditions. A vastly different experience than the Blue course. The CC9 holes are much better than the front 18. These offer tight fairways and some true cedar holes.
Cons: Not nearly as well marked as the Blue course. I got lost several times. Many of those helpful arrows were missing. Imagine some punk kid has a collection in his room somewhere? Several Mandos which are needed to promote safety but which kind are annoying after a while. Much of the holes 7-16 play near access roads and between or alongside of parking lots. It just does not really feel like a disc golf course as much as it seems like your just throwing your disc around a parking lot next to a big windy lake. Can you say look out for that car! CC9 tend to be a bit mushy but I have experienced worse. Seems this is a more used part of the park so I would imagine those great views that make this course fun are ruined by picnicers and parkgoers who have every right to be there as you do. I played off season so no issues for me. It's a shared area of park so it is hard to relax as there will be foot and auto traffic interfering with play. Just does not feel as exclusive of a disc golf setting as the Blue course and not nearly as good with the exception of some views which as I noted will most likely be spoiled in season.
Other Thoughts: Like the Blue course the Red course could benefit by scrapping many of the dangerous and unaesthetic parking lot holes and condensing/refining the course with the CC9 and making this a killer half open and half wooded 18. Again like the Blue, sometimes less is more!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.