Berkeley, CA
Aquatic Park Share
Uploaded By: pobelly   (Taken 10/2011)



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Quite a Challenge

1    7/10/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Absolutely the BEST views I've seen on any course.
- Challenging. I like challenges.
- Has a practice basket.
- Well shaded.
Cons: - Tons of water hazards.
- Quite loud; I-15 (or something like that) is 100 yrds off the shore, and the opposite side is full of train tracks, sometimes it is hard to concentrate.
- The wind is often heavy, and VERY prone to directional change.
- Not well marked at all, and multiple tees for holes.
- Old baskets.
- Frequented path, Picnickers. Prepare your voice for shouting 'Fore!' a lot.
- Very easy to lose discs.
- Worst of all, hard to get to. Had to work around several barriers in the streets leading to it to get there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: Bring disc's you don't care to lose and a map. You'll need it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not the Bay Area's Best

2-4    4/14/2012   5/27/2011
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Aquatic Park lives up to it's name. The water comes into play on most of the holes and adds a great element of risk for those that normally play on more sheltered courses.

Cons: Navigation is difficult. Even though the front nine goes out along the waters edge and the back nine comes back along the other side of the park it is still difficult to locate each tee box and then find the target.

Different tee types and erroneous markings on the ground also make it difficult to know that you are throwing from the correct spot.

There is a giant walkway that runs through the middle of the narrow course, which means you must look out for bikers & pedestrians.

Holes don't necessarily crisscross but they come very close to each other.

Lots of water, strong winds too.

Other Thoughts: Fun course to try. Bring old discs for the riskier shots. Not a good course for beginners.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NOT A MUST PLAY!

1    2/14/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Metal Baskets...
Nice People.
Great Views.
Cons: YOU WILL LOSE A DISC INTO THE WATER EACH TIME YOU PLAY.

There is usually a guy to get them... but still...

just pass... and thank me later.

Other Thoughts: between the crack junkies, needle fiends and water hazards this is a must pass course.

with all of the other options in the bay area, i would NEVER consider this one. try Golden Gate, Novato or Delaveaga.


2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Does Any Course Merit More Controversy?

1    8/20/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2012
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Check the ratings distributions. People have given it everything from a 0 to a 4. Every Pro is probably someone else's Con. I hated the typhoon force winds blowing off the water. My advanced level playing partner found them challenging. I wouldn't chance throwing any of my plastic over the bay. He launched his hysers way out over the bay. There were some lovely views of the city but they were cancelled out by the freeway noise. We both disliked the old beat concrete teepads. The signs were old, graffitti covered and hard to read. A never ending parade of pedistrians often had him waiting long periods waiting for a window of opportunity in which to tee it off. By then, I had given up the course as a lost cause.
Cons: Navigation was a nightmare. The wind was a bitch. Pedistrians were clueless. I was extremely brave or stupid or both and actually used the public restroom. Quickest leak I ever took.
Other Thoughts: We did happen to play on the exact date of the 30th anniversary of the opening of the course, August 20th, 1980. This is one of the quirkest courses I've ever attempted to play. My conclusion is: If this was my home course, I believe I'd switch to badmitton or bowling or porn or something. I couldn't afford the disc bills or the aggravation of playing here. I think I'd need a therapist! I think I need a therapist after just attempting it. I might well be scarred for life.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Extremely Dangerous

2-4    4/6/1999   4/6/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is located in Berkeley, California!

There are several picture post-card holes with pretty water shots. These holes do have some pucker-factor challenge.
Cons: I think the previous reviewers have nailed it pretty well. I'll just point out the low-lights:

Extremely dangerous: There's a walking path that is on the left of almost every fairway. The path is always crowded. There's really no chance to ever throw a "safe" shot on this course, all you can hope for is to wait for the opportunity to throw the least unsafe shot possible.

The water shots will claim too many newbie discs. Discs tend to walk away from the course.

General park sketchiness, particularly close to dark.

All par 3's with many non-descript, boring holes.

Directional signage is lacking is several key spots.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to believe that this course is still in the ground. So many bad things can happen for the sport in a place like this.

NO COURSE is better than a DANGEROUS COURSE.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.