Berkeley, CA 
Aquatic Park Share
Uploaded By: pobelly   (Taken 10/2011)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Underrated

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: blur
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Difficulty. This is a difficult course, on the technical side, but there are a few holes you can rip. A lot of straight tunnel shots, some requiring just the slightest hyzer/anhyzer.

Right off the freeway in a central bay area location.

Some really fun water shots
Cons: It is between the freeway and train tracks, so not the most pristine location.

Lots of foot traffic down fairways. If you do not throw controlled or are unsure of your shots, you may either hit someone or be waiting for a long amount of time for things to clear before shooting.

Water. Yes there is water, you may loose a disc.

Cruising. Yes this is a known cruising spot, but I have never had any issues with this.

Trash. There is plenty of this due to the local transient population and cruising.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is very underrated. The hole layout and how the course plays is up there with some of the better courses, but the 'scene', traffic, water, etc. detract a lot of people from frequenting this course.

I gotta give it a 3.5, I really do like this course but a lot of people may disagree. IMHO, the best 'East Bay' Disc Course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  AN ANAMAL AT AQUATIC

1    9/21/2009   6/5/2011
Review By: Richard Skillz
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I LIKED THE LAY OUT. 9 IN AND 9 OUT, OF THIS NARROW PARK. I WAS THERE ON A WEEKDAY AFTERNOON AND DID NOT EXPERIANCE HEAVY NON DISCING TRAFFIC. THE ATMOSPHERE IN NORTHERN CA. IS VERY RELAXED. WITH IN WALKING DISTANCE IS THE WORLD FAMOUS ''OKLAND TRAIN TRACKS'' THAT RUN ALONG THE COURSE, I WAS ABLE TO ENJOY STUNNING GRAFFITTI IN BETWEEN ROUNDS. (FOR ME A REAL PLUS) ON THE DAY I WAS THERE, A MAN HAD FISHED OUT MOST OF THE DISCS THAT FELL VICTIM TO THE DRINK, AND WAS SELLING THEM FOR A GREAT PRICE. I CHATTED WITH HIM, AND HAD A GOOD TIME, HE SOLD ME 5 QUALITY DISCS FOR $20.
Cons: IT CAN BE VERY WINDY AT TIMES. I DID LOSE ONE DISC MYSELF TO THE DRINK, BY OVER THROWING ON A HOLE. THE VIEW OF SAN FRAN IS DISTANT, AND WITH ALL THE FOG AND LOW CLOUDS, IT WAS HARD TO SEE, NOT THE WAY IT WAS DISCRIBED TO ME. AND THE HIGHWAY RUNNING CLOSE TO THE PARK, OVER THE LAKE IS A BIT OF AN EYE SORE AT TIMES.
Other Thoughts: ALL AND ALL ONE OF MY FAVORITE COURSE'S. IF IM IN THE AREA, ID DEFENITLY WOULD PLAY IT AGAIN. MY SCORE WAS PLUS 5

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Unique, challenging, and a must play for any serious bagger

1    2/8/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uniquely challenging. The drives on baskets 3 & 4 made my heart freeze for a few moments after release going over water. Given the space available, it's quite amazing that course builders fit a legit 18 in. Some really nice variety of tee shots with varying wind conditions. Hippy Golf is alive and well in the Hippy capital of the world!
Cons: The teeshot for #10 is seriously intimidating. Must carry the water into a very strong headwind.
Other Thoughts: I've lived in the East Bay most my life, and have driven by "that long looking lake" countless times on Hwy80. I even have customers very nearby in Berkeley, and today was the first time I ever set foot on this land! Thank you Disc Golf! "Margarito" is currently the local source for selling previously lost discs for $5 bucks each. He had about 15-20 on him with at least half being Stars or Champs. Local guy I played the last 7 baskets with mentioned that park maintenence recently cut down all the bushes and overgrowth just below the train tracks, where homosexuals previously would be "hanging out". So, my experience was quite pleasant without any of the shannanigans mentioned in older posts. Yes, many joggers and bicyclists, but nothing to complain about. I chucked a roller into the lake on the approach shot to 18, but waited about 20 minutes until it finally came back to shore. I highly recommend playing with floatable discs (Wahoo, Dragon, & Hydra was my set up for the day).
=================
Uniqueness: A (tee shots that force you to go over water...yikes!)
Difficulty: A (you need guts to play this through; narrow; windy)
Fun factor: B+ (rewarding are the shots you can pull off; agonizing are the ones you want back)
Aesthetics: B (seen better days; pretty waterfront; nice little pier in the middle)
---------------------
Overall: B+

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your stable stuff!

2-4    10/16/2008   11/16/2009
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Super cool spot on the water, loads of challenging shots with punishing consequences for errants turn overs. The local golfers are very friendly and have a good turnout for doubles.
Cons: This isn't for the total newb, which isn't a bad thing I suppose! It's tough, but it's a cool course for sure!
Other Thoughts: I will be back as many times as I am in the area. This course was a real treat!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    4/24/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: Billym
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A tight course that has a lot of water and wind in play. The shule is also tough.
The layout asks for accuracy and a mixed bag of shots not to mention confidence to throw across or out over water and get back to land. Plenty of trees. Concrete/blacktop tees. Interesting pin placements; behind big trees, on the shoreline too bad there are not more and they moved more often.
Really cool and friendly locals.
Cons: Not very long. Pins don't move very much. This course is in a park and you will NEED to wait for walkers, runners, cyclists etc.The signs are long gone so either walk through the course, get a map from the website or hook up with a local.
The trees can keep discs, the water is somewhat nasty do not throw anything you cannot lose without a quick shrug. Don't bother to swim or wade.
Yes the south end has a "cruising scene" and there is evidence of it; don't go too far right on #10, 11, 12 or you will be in creepsville.
Other Thoughts: This course gets over looked and many Bay Area players will not play it. I think they are missing out. AP is NOT forgiving, it is challenging and has a great local disc golfer scene. You will need left and right turning drives, confidence to throw over water and past some challenging trees. Bring extra discs. A really fun weekly league in Weds 5PM until October then it moves to Sat 11AM.
I may give it a slightly higher rating because I love AP.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.