Berkeley, CA
Aquatic Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #4 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Frustrating course, great back 9

2-4    2/23/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Some really solid and technical holes, especially on the back 9
- Often not crowded with players, just everyone else
- Good views of the bay
- Often a second tee for tough shots
Cons: - Walking path runs in the middle of it for way too many holes. Twice today someone stopped to throw my disc back to me, once it was a 3-year old, then it was an old guy. Granted, I was playing on a fairly nice Sunday at around 2:30 pm, but still
- Tough wind, tough weeds. Way more swampiness than I'd prefer
- Could use some love, but why bother? You'll never be able to address the many people on the walking path
Other Thoughts: As a beginner, this was a tough course, but I had quite a bit of fun on the back 9. I've played the front 9 a couple times, but finally played the full thing today. Given the same amount of daytime and a full tank of gas, I'd head to Moraga Commons for a nearby course, and might even brave GGP. Sad that our local course has a lot of issues. It has some great bones as others have said, and a fairly fun and non-frustrating back 9. But I'd play other courses again or keep tossing in the local park before returning on my own.

I ran into the locals playing here Saturday morning. They have a handicapped round in the winter months on Saturday around 9:30/10. Seemed like cool guys, willing to help show you around.

Also, there are two dudes now selling discs here on the weekends. One of them is friendly and has a good selection. The other guy had no change and only drivers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

fun links course

1    1/26/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: rudge
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: my expectations were a little low given the less than stellar rating at Aquatic, but I really enjoyed myself. The conditions were great - no wind and not a great deal of foot traffic so the delays were minimal. there are some pretty challenging shots to be had out there.
Cons: I enjoy having water in play as much as the next guy, but this one is a little different. some of the tee shots over water are somewhat intimidating. I thought I was in the clear, but, I lost my Pro Boss in the water on 18. tough way to end what was the perfect afternoon.
Other Thoughts: also, quite a bit of trash and a number of vagrants milling about. threw my disk into the trees to the right on 12 and stumbled upon what appeared to be some sort of sex locale. used prophylatics and whatnot.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good bones, everything else sucks

5+    12/13/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 26  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest draw here is the bones of this course. 18 holes are thoughtfully laid out, varied, interesting and challenging. An abundance of wind can turn this course into a monster. A calm, warm day will most likely yield an enjoyable round
Cons: Hmmm where do I start?
- Crappy/non-existant signage
- Creepy weirdos and homeless wandering the park
- Constant noise from the nearby freeway. Occasionally a train will roll by, blasting its horns the entire time
- Lots of foot and bike traffic that constantly interferes with your round
- Marshy terrain can get squishy and muddy in places. Wear water-resistant shoes
- Lots water hazards + wind = lost discs
- A bunch of large extremely dense cypress trees = lost discs
- Unkept and grossly overgrown foliage everywhere = lost discs
Oh, did I mention that I've lost a lot of discs here?
Other Thoughts: I haven't seen them recently but there are usually guys who sell dredged discs around holes 1, 2 & 4. I'll buy some off of them regularly as a 'course fee'. Most get returned to the water or stuck in a big tree at some point (hence the fee to play). This course has a ton of potential though. I do enjoy rounds here... with a bag full of backup discs

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

People love to hate this course...

5+    6/7/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: geoblime
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 22.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well laid out for what's there to work with
-Challenging holes with wide variety of shots
-Makes you throw shot maybe not comfortable with
-Maintained by city (well, sometimes)
-Nice sunsets over S.F.
Great local disc golf scene**Multiple former World Champs (and current) call this course home. Very storied history.
-Awesome playground for the family
-Multiple pin locations and tees which change regularly.
-Easy to get to, right off the freeway (I guess a pro).
-Practice basket with distance tiles.
-Cement tee pads
-The wind (could also be a con)
-Variety of bird and plant life
Cons: -Meandering path thru the course with walkers, families, and bicyclists.
-Long wait times for park users
-East side of course is very rough with stinky creek running along side. Very mucky
-No signs
-Chance to lose multiple discs especially on windy days.
-Flows pretty good from hole to hole but could see how someone can get lost.
-Couple blind holes.
Other Thoughts: People love to hate on this course.
It does need some upgrades but the course itself is awesome!!!
Multiple water shots, tunnels, ace runs, challenging par 3's, etc.
The downfalls are the park users and wait times.
This course is in much better shape than when I started playing it 15+years ago.
The south side has been completely clean up with new trees and foliage planted.
There was a time you didn't want to be at this park around dusk.
Now it's completely safe any time...due to golfer's and the surrounding community's efforts.
-Go play it. Lot's of fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unsafe and poorly maintained

1    5/15/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays right along the bay so you get some nice views. A few of the holes offer the chance to throw out over the water for a risky birdie chance or play a safer line that makes getting to the pin for 2 much tougher. I always enjoy that kind of decision. A few of the holes have some nice low ceilings and tighter lines to hit, and there's some variation in hole length to add a little challenge and variety.
Cons: The walking path running through the course was very busy on a weekday afternoon, I can only imagine that it gets more crowded on weekends. With nearly every hole playing over or along the path, you do a lot of waiting and even then you can't always see pedestrians or bikers coming. On top of this, several holes overlap or play very close to one another, adding another layer of safety issues.

The signage is completely gone at this point. Even with the course map it took some wandering to find all the tees and baskets, especially the ones marked only with faint spray paint on the walking path. The tees and baskets are in pretty sad shape as well.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course frustrating, with water carries and some longer shots, and their lack of consistency will magnify the safety concerns. More experienced players will find some fun challenges here, but will also find themselves waiting a lot for other players and pedestrians to clear. Make sure to have a map or guide or you won't have much of a chance of finding all the holes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Aquatic park

5+    9/5/2012   4/21/2013
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 24.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very technical course, with a huge lake running down one side, and a swamping brambly area down the other. People usually there who you can pay to retrieve your disc from the lake
Cons: Need a local if your first time, t-pads and signage need updated. Baskets a little rusty. It's easier to find your disc in the lake than in the rough stuff on other side. Short and narrow.
Other Thoughts: If you don't mind and very technical course, and are in the bay area, i will always return and play again. Usually lose atleast 1 disc everytime i play

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't recommend

1    9/8/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: ExiledIowan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course designers definitely did the most they could do with limited space.
Cons: That said, I would not recommend this course. The tees are in bad shape and poorly marked (most give no indication as to which hole they are for), which makes this somewhat cramped course fairly difficult to navigate. The smell of sewage on the southern part of the course is fairly overwhelming. The side that isn't water is full of very tall weeds and marshy terrain, so make sure to wear shoes you don't care too much about. Down the middle of this narrow strip of land there is a pedestrian/bike path, so I had to spend a lot of time waiting between throws.
Other Thoughts: It was a neat idea, but this course is definitely not worth the trip.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: blur
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Difficulty. This is a difficult course, on the technical side, but there are a few holes you can rip. A lot of straight tunnel shots, some requiring just the slightest hyzer/anhyzer.

Right off the freeway in a central bay area location.

Some really fun water shots
Cons: It is between the freeway and train tracks, so not the most pristine location.

Lots of foot traffic down fairways. If you do not throw controlled or are unsure of your shots, you may either hit someone or be waiting for a long amount of time for things to clear before shooting.

Water. Yes there is water, you may loose a disc.

Cruising. Yes this is a known cruising spot, but I have never had any issues with this.

Trash. There is plenty of this due to the local transient population and cruising.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is very underrated. The hole layout and how the course plays is up there with some of the better courses, but the 'scene', traffic, water, etc. detract a lot of people from frequenting this course.

I gotta give it a 3.5, I really do like this course but a lot of people may disagree. IMHO, the best 'East Bay' Disc Course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Aquatic Park Review

1    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Mateoqua
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not many good things to say about this park, but I would imagine for professionals it would provide a bit of a challenge.
Cons: It is hard to even consider this a course. First of all there are hardly any hole markers and many of the launch pads are overgrown. The course is crammed onto a 100ft wide strip of land that runs parallel to the water and the railroad. Basically, if you have any doubts about throwing your disc, don't throw it. Many of the holes also run parallel to hidden swamps, which doesn't make things any better. The course also has cement paths that run through it, so you have to be aware of bystanders on every throw. It looks as if this course hasn't been maintained for years. I may come here to practice my short game, but other than that its worthless.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite a Challenge

1    7/10/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Absolutely the BEST views I've seen on any course.
- Challenging. I like challenges.
- Has a practice basket.
- Well shaded.
Cons: - Tons of water hazards.
- Quite loud; I-15 (or something like that) is 100 yrds off the shore, and the opposite side is full of train tracks, sometimes it is hard to concentrate.
- The wind is often heavy, and VERY prone to directional change.
- Not well marked at all, and multiple tees for holes.
- Old baskets.
- Frequented path, Picnickers. Prepare your voice for shouting 'Fore!' a lot.
- Very easy to lose discs.
- Worst of all, hard to get to. Had to work around several barriers in the streets leading to it to get there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: Bring disc's you don't care to lose and a map. You'll need it.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.