Berkeley, CA 
Aquatic Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Aquatic Park Review

1    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Mateoqua
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not many good things to say about this park, but I would imagine for professionals it would provide a bit of a challenge.
Cons: It is hard to even consider this a course. First of all there are hardly any hole markers and many of the launch pads are overgrown. The course is crammed onto a 100ft wide strip of land that runs parallel to the water and the railroad. Basically, if you have any doubts about throwing your disc, don't throw it. Many of the holes also run parallel to hidden swamps, which doesn't make things any better. The course also has cement paths that run through it, so you have to be aware of bystanders on every throw. It looks as if this course hasn't been maintained for years. I may come here to practice my short game, but other than that its worthless.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quite a Challenge

1    7/10/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: Drivin2win
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Absolutely the BEST views I've seen on any course.
- Challenging. I like challenges.
- Has a practice basket.
- Well shaded.
Cons: - Tons of water hazards.
- Quite loud; I-15 (or something like that) is 100 yrds off the shore, and the opposite side is full of train tracks, sometimes it is hard to concentrate.
- The wind is often heavy, and VERY prone to directional change.
- Not well marked at all, and multiple tees for holes.
- Old baskets.
- Frequented path, Picnickers. Prepare your voice for shouting 'Fore!' a lot.
- Very easy to lose discs.
- Worst of all, hard to get to. Had to work around several barriers in the streets leading to it to get there.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: Bring disc's you don't care to lose and a map. You'll need it.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/5/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 179  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 11/12/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aquatic presents a variety of interesting challenges. The most obvious is that water is a major factor on many holes. The winds are also usually fierce, and there are many tight fairways and strategically placed trees. The course is conveniently located, and a legitimate 18-holer. Some holes have multiples tees and/or pin positions. The tees are cement or use the asphault walking path. There's a nice map online, and sometimes copies are at the first tee. On a clear day, there are views of San Francisco.
Cons: The course is crammed into the park. A heavily used path for walkers, joggers, and bikers that isn't just in play, it follows the middle of some fairways. Several fairways are also used by two holes in opposite directions. The course could be confusing to first timers without a map despite being pretty linear. Tees are beat up and poorly labelled. Aquatic park is an unforgiving course -- both the water and the dense trees eat discs, and the wind can makes otherwise easy shots (e.g. shorter putts) harder.
Other Thoughts: This is not a beginner friendly course. When I was first getting into DG, I played here because it was close, and it probably reduced my interest. It's disheartening to lose 3 or 4 discs in one round.

Hole 1: From the tee, three baskets are visible: first the practice basket, then hole 1, and then hole 18. A big hyzer (RHBH) out over the water is the standard route.
Hole 3: From the basket for 2, backtrack to the right side of the inlet. Tee 18 on the left side of the inlet also doubles as a (very) short tee for 3.
Hole 5: Following the path a ways past the basket for 4. The tee is on the right where it opens up. There is also a long tee painted on the path.
Hole 6: The pin is right behind a tree. It is easy to mistakenly throw at the pin for 13. Tee 15 can be used as a short tee.
Hole 8: If you look along the water past the big bushes, there is an open area. The pin is right there, hidden behind the bushes. Even from the short tee, this hole is mean to beginners -- the only alternative to an accurate 200 foot shot across the water is a long way around.
Hole 9: Tee is marked on the path near pin 8, basket is underneath the big tree on the right.
Hole 10: The tee is painted out on the causeway -- you throw over the corner of the lagoon. There is a short tee at the parking lot.
Hole 11: Starts near (south of) the basket for 9.
Hole 15: From the long tee it's hard to see anything. From the regular tee, the basket is back behind the huge tree, to the right.
Hole 16: Both tees are painted on the path before you go by the basket for 4. The hole is in the woods near the far right corner of the open area.
Hole 17: Tee is painted on the path.
Hole 18: The tee is next to the lagoon, on the left side of the inlet.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/17/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: masterlurk
Played: 72  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - good views
- good layout with
Cons: -water all over
- lots of joggers walkers bikers and dogs
-super windy in the afternoon
-lots of tress that eat up discs
Other Thoughts: like everyone else said. the water is treterous and you dont wanna go in it. I cut my feet up real bad retrieving a disc. def. not a beginner course. head to san leandro for that. bring discs you dont care about.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 berkeley aqautic park

1    5/10/2008   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - 18 holes
- cement tee boxes
- all tee signs were there
- good views
- good layout with water all over
Cons: - lots of traffic
- lots of joggers walkers bikers and dogs
- plays mostly benificial to rt hand throwers
Other Thoughts: Great course to play. There are a lot of people walking through the course but its fun to play. If you are a rt hand backhand thrower the first half plays to your advantage due to the water being on your right. I love the over the water shots. Water is nasty stay out tons on bird crap in it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grand Dame of local courses showing her age

5+    7/21/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to off freeway and by city streets;
Can play front 9 or back 9 first;
Challenging array of holes
Cons: Unfortunately...
Just about zero signage to navigate course;
Tee pads are here and there but never consistent;
Lots of pedestrian traffic along the main walking path...which leads me to...
Main walking path used as tee pad for several holes;
Variety of locals like to "hang about" in this park...can be interpreted as you wish, but this is an urban park next to the train tracks...and this is Berkeley;
Long holes are not necessarily a CON, but with the narrow "fairway" corridors and the ever present pedestrian traffic, it can make for some edge of seat tee shots;
Many locals are unaware that there is a disc golf course here and don't understand what "FORE" means in this context-they remain blissfully ignorant until that disc comes whizzing by!
Other Thoughts: Ah the course that once was...this old girl is showing her age and everyone is bashing the old girl like she is a has been. She probably is, but the potential is there for a re-worked 18 hole or smaller course that takes advantage of the park terrain and pedestrian traffic patterns.
Yes, there is no navigation/signage left from once abundant signage; yes, the tee pads are concrete only here and there and yes, it can be sketchy at times. But, keep in mind that this is an urban park and if you walk there alone at nite, then duh, it may not be safe. I have played here with my kids many times and always felt safe. We even wade the shoreline from time to time looking for plunked discs and negotiated with the local "disc fishers" for recovered discs. It is all part of the Aquatic Park experience. Too bad there is not a dedicated local club to take on the maintenance of the course in the wake of city budget cuts. That is the real tragedy in the saga of Aquatic Park.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  AN ANAMAL AT AQUATIC

1    9/21/2009   6/5/2011
Review By: Richard Skillz
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I LIKED THE LAY OUT. 9 IN AND 9 OUT, OF THIS NARROW PARK. I WAS THERE ON A WEEKDAY AFTERNOON AND DID NOT EXPERIANCE HEAVY NON DISCING TRAFFIC. THE ATMOSPHERE IN NORTHERN CA. IS VERY RELAXED. WITH IN WALKING DISTANCE IS THE WORLD FAMOUS ''OKLAND TRAIN TRACKS'' THAT RUN ALONG THE COURSE, I WAS ABLE TO ENJOY STUNNING GRAFFITTI IN BETWEEN ROUNDS. (FOR ME A REAL PLUS) ON THE DAY I WAS THERE, A MAN HAD FISHED OUT MOST OF THE DISCS THAT FELL VICTIM TO THE DRINK, AND WAS SELLING THEM FOR A GREAT PRICE. I CHATTED WITH HIM, AND HAD A GOOD TIME, HE SOLD ME 5 QUALITY DISCS FOR $20.
Cons: IT CAN BE VERY WINDY AT TIMES. I DID LOSE ONE DISC MYSELF TO THE DRINK, BY OVER THROWING ON A HOLE. THE VIEW OF SAN FRAN IS DISTANT, AND WITH ALL THE FOG AND LOW CLOUDS, IT WAS HARD TO SEE, NOT THE WAY IT WAS DISCRIBED TO ME. AND THE HIGHWAY RUNNING CLOSE TO THE PARK, OVER THE LAKE IS A BIT OF AN EYE SORE AT TIMES.
Other Thoughts: ALL AND ALL ONE OF MY FAVORITE COURSE'S. IF IM IN THE AREA, ID DEFENITLY WOULD PLAY IT AGAIN. MY SCORE WAS PLUS 5

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not the Bay Area's Best

2-4    4/14/2012   5/27/2011
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Aquatic Park lives up to it's name. The water comes into play on most of the holes and adds a great element of risk for those that normally play on more sheltered courses.

Cons: Navigation is difficult. Even though the front nine goes out along the waters edge and the back nine comes back along the other side of the park it is still difficult to locate each tee box and then find the target.

Different tee types and erroneous markings on the ground also make it difficult to know that you are throwing from the correct spot.

There is a giant walkway that runs through the middle of the narrow course, which means you must look out for bikers & pedestrians.

Holes don't necessarily crisscross but they come very close to each other.

Lots of water, strong winds too.

Other Thoughts: Fun course to try. Bring old discs for the riskier shots. Not a good course for beginners.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a round

5+    3/3/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: LhDave
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: interesting use of limited space. The in and out layout is nice for parking at the front or back, The water hazards forces confident shots. Getting some needed love finally
Cons: Most of the cons are just part of the game sometimes, except the last one. Some holes can be soupy after the rain. First time some of the tees can be a pain to find when grass is tall. Wind is brutal sometimes. Any hole can end with a wet disc if you arent careful. Creepy guys sittin in cars at the back parking lot.
Other Thoughts: For where the course is, im surprised the baskets are still standing. Some would say its a con, the baskets are older and kinda shallow .The city has done a good job of clear up the trackside, planting a few trees and some flower/ shrubs here and there.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NOT A MUST PLAY!

1    2/14/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Metal Baskets...
Nice People.
Great Views.
Cons: YOU WILL LOSE A DISC INTO THE WATER EACH TIME YOU PLAY.

There is usually a guy to get them... but still...

just pass... and thank me later.

Other Thoughts: between the crack junkies, needle fiends and water hazards this is a must pass course.

with all of the other options in the bay area, i would NEVER consider this one. try Golden Gate, Novato or Delaveaga.


2 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.