Course Extinct
English, IN 
Old English Golf Course Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #3 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 745ft.   4 / 745ft.   4 / 685ft.   4 / 532ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Ole' Ole' Ole' Old English!

5+    6/28/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old English DGC is situated on a ball course and as such, given the lengths involved, carts must be driven. Certainly this is a unique experience for disc golfers and will be enjoyed by many, if not all. Carts are fun!
This course proffers a variety of shots even while all are wide open off the tee: long, really long (a few short), straight, left, right, doglegs, uphill, downhill. Pin placement and elevation are what provide the challenge as the holes are open fairways with few obstacles followed by baskets tucked into the trees beside them; frequently it's the all important approach. The elevation changes, several bodies of water (including a creek throughout), bunkers, cart path OB, some treacherous rough and of course, the length, add to the challenge. Risk and reward are present on every hole as many pins are often within 20 feet of the creek or bunkers, and if not on, then near, elevations which can result in punishing roll-aways. Multiple tees mostly add length whereas a few offer change in shot shape. Although it may feel monotonous, the long open aspect, well placed drives from tees and fairways are no doubt an important part of your game here. Along with that no two holes look the same. A few favorites would be #1 with water involved on every one of four strokes; #11 and its risk vs. reward (short enough to go to the pin but near enough water and on incline to make you think twice); #14 as Signature Hole with its extreme elevation, bunker and ace potential.
Picturesque throughout and challenging to boot, this course is a most enjoyable DG experience.
Cons: : It's difficult to say things negative about this course but the lack of hole distances (to the baskets) is frustrating. Having to convert yards to feet and subtract by "eyeing" the basket is a bother, to be sure. The grass tees are fine really, being flat, wide and pristine, but if wet they can be a detriment (as I experienced my most recent trip there).
Other Thoughts: I've played only one other DGC set on a ball course and in comparison Old English is no doubt a 5. In my mind however, concrete tees and DG signage would lend better to such a rating; a practice basket near the clubhouse would be good too. Get lunch, check discs for sale (or lost), have a beer at the bar and enjoy the friendly locals; amenities you typically find at ball courses are here.
Given the carts, the course (its challenge) and the experience, it's worth every one of $20.
If you pay to play, play all day! Ole'!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cross-polinization of Epicness!

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Highlight of my summer of traveling in the immediate area to play disc golf. A disc golf course played right alongside a ball golf course. Golf carts, sand traps, manicured fairways and shaven teeboxes. Are you serious?! Nothing gets any better than that. Pin placements are ideal on this course. Overall design actually is top notch. Grip and rip for sure. At least two holes are 1000+ feet. I could go on and on, but this course has it all and you just have to go see it for yourself. Hole #14 is probably the most epic looking hole ever.
Cons: There are cons? If there is a con here it's the fact that I have a spaghetti noodle arm and this no holds barred course reminded me that I'm a weakling. However, the overall fantasticness of the course quickly made me forget my "girly-man" physique. The only true con I can think of is watch the wind, just like you would on a normal ball golf course. It was windy today when we played, and it played havoc on our discs.
Other Thoughts: The uniqueness of having a golf cart, the beauty of the surrounding nature, and the fact that you think you are playing ball golf with discs, makes this a destination course. It was hard to rate this course since I've never played anything like that, so since it is unique and it lived up to, and beyond my expectations, it receives my first ever 5 disc rating. Beyond amazing. Check this course out!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a blast!

1    7/12/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Having a cart is just so freaking cool. I'm sure some of you play ball golf, and the cart is no big deal, but this was my first experience with one...and let me tell you, a brother could get used to this real fast! Hole to hole navigation becomes a complete non-issue. Longer distance from one hole to the next? Hey that's just more time you get to enjoy a welcome breeze in your face during the ride!

I really like what Dave Greenwell did with the pin placements on this course. They exemplify risk/reward play. Just about every hole starts out with a long and open drive. Sometimes you'll throw a second drive, as several holes are upwards of 1000 feet...but you will have some interesting decisions to make when it's time for that approach shot. Most baskets have danger close behind. You can play it safe and walk off with your par...or make a run at bird and maybe get burnt. I love it!

You tee from the regular golf teepads, and there are 4-5 different pads on each hole. Normally, I'd detract rating for teeing from grass...but these things are wide, flat, and the grass is about half an inch tall. They were better than many cement pads I've played!

The course plays around the clubhouse in such a way that you can easily swing by after hole 9 and/or hole 13 for a break/refreshment if you need.
Cons: There's no map for the disc golf layout that I can find, only the ball golf layout. In some cases, the basket is fairly similar in distance as the pin, but in other cases the basket is significantly shorter, and I'd really like to know how much D we were looking at. A few times my estimates were apparently not so good.

I would guesstimate that if you can't throw at least 300' off the tee, that you might become frustrated with this course. I go about 400-425', and I shot -10 when I played. That extra 100' will often mean the difference between throwing an extra full-power drive versus throwing a more controlled approach shot.

A practice basket near the driving range would be welcomed.

Ah, and I would be remiss if I neglected to mention the rough. It's harsh. I don't know what it is about Indiana courses, but they have the thorniest roughs I've seen.
Other Thoughts: I called the day before we played, and was told that as long as a scramble or similar event wasn't going on, you don't need to schedule a tee time. You can just roll in and play.

I'm sort of breaking my own rules of reviewing when I give this course a 5-disc rating, given the list of Cons above. However, this course is so different that I feel like it's difficult to even review it using the same scale. Here's what I do know: I've only ever given two courses a 5-disc rating, and those two courses are my very favorites. I enjoyed English every bit as much, and I can't wait to get back for my next round!

It's a rare thing when you come in with expectations high, and they are actually met or even exceeded, but in this case, mine were.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Ordinary Disc Golf Course

5+    4/17/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 231  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The top pro is the use of golf carts. It would be nearly impossible to walk this course otherwise (6+ miles on the cart paths alone). A driving range is placed between the club house and the first hole so everyone can get a proper warm up in. Multiple tees allow for different levels of play and can be used for handicapping for stroke play. Hidden tees for number 4 and 7 provide awe inspiring views and shots. Number 14 from the top has been listed as one of the best holes in the world. Baskets are strategically placed near sand trap OBs, creeks, cliffs, and other drop offs. A sheet with the distances from each set of tees is located at the clubhouse and can be used during each round.
Cons: Several holes mirror each other but that's the way it goes sometimes on a golf course. The established OBs are not listed on the score card and can vary with the group. Several sand traps are in bounds and others OB, which may be confusing for first timers out there. There is no practice basket currently. This seems minor but you have to putt on every hole like every other disc golf course so the lack of the practice basket isn't helpful to your short game.
Other Thoughts: The club house has discs for sale, a lost/found bin, a restaurant, and a friendly staff. Wind can be a factor on this course, especially the elevated tees (4, 7, 14). Course is open year round including when snow is on the ground (played there in that instance). Surroundings are quiet with few distractions. Worth checking out if you're a serious disc golfer. Have to call club house to schedule a tee time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Grip & Rip

1    3/21/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Being on a ball golf course it is very well kept up; and the fairways, by disc golfer standards, are crazy huge! Hole 14 is something every disc golfer should play at least once in their lifetime; although this is NOT a one pony show!
Cons: At $20 per person (2 people max per cart) it seems like about 2-4 times as much as most disc golfers would be willing to pay. There are times when you could get plunked with a golf ball; so it pays to be alert!
Other Thoughts: You won't get much exercise playing this course with your legs; however the are able to really stretch out your max driving form over and over and over...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/9/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 215  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old English is a ball golf course with an extremely long, championship caliber disc golf course. This is not your typical par 3 course. While there are a couple birdie opportunities, there are also many pro par 4 and 5 holes out here. There are lakes, OB in the form or cart paths and sand traps, elevation changes on many holes, a few holes with massive elevation changes and a couple cliffs by where you can lose a disc. There is definitely some risk-reward on some of the holes.

Many of the pins are put strategic locations where there are drop offs, hills, sand traps or water. Sometimes it takes two or three drives before you make an approach and putt. But because of the pin placement, approaching and putting can be very challenging.
Cons: A couple of the holes are a little too flat and open and started to seem repetitive. But just when I'd start to feel that way we'd drive up to the top of a cliff and throw our drive off it to the fairway 200feet below or the pin would be tucked off the fairway surrounded by some trees.
Other Thoughts: This is not a course for beginners. There are 5 different pads to choose from so shooting from the shortest ones will help players with less distance some.

This course will teach you control with your drives and punish you or eat you disc when a shot lacks control.

It costs $20 to play here and that includes the golf cart which saves you an insane amount of walking. It's worth every penny.

You have to check this course out. I can't remember the last time I had this much fun playing a round of golf!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A course to play if you live to play disc golf

1    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hole #6 is spectacular if you never thrown off top of a cliff overlooking a creek here is your chance. I lost two discs but thats just part of the game from time to time.
Cons: None. If you like to grip and rip just you wait and see. The risks are just that if you dont want to lose your favorite disc dont break it out on water hazzard shots
Other Thoughts: definetly worth the money imo and my friends as well. would love to play it once a month due to recovery time. Dave Greenwell course designs are challenging and entertaining for amatuer and pro alike.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Emo

1    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TallGrass
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The employees respect disc golf and want to further the sport! Great for driving practice with a few hazards here and there (water and high rough).
Cons: Again, water and high rough... Very long for beginners but the way disc golf will be in about 5 years once the sport gets its due.... Ball golfers take too long.
Other Thoughts: Great course and scenery if you are patient. People are very nice and respectful. Watch discs that drift or even roll because the water and high rough will claim them! Owner talked of trying to get world championships there. I would love to watch the pros tear it up! A must play at least once to see if it is for you.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long Long Long

2-4    10/18/2008   12/18/2008
Review By: discgolphinmafaukner
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Golf Carts! Allows you to use your arm. It doesn't seem like you're throwing that far because the holes are soo long. The people that run the place are great!
Cons: As a beginner, the course frustrates me because I can't throw as far. The rough is extremely rough, so stay out of it!!!
Other Thoughts: Try to call for a tee time. The restaurant isn't bad, either. Be sure to check out the awesome tees for hole 7 (the hole to the right of hole 4).

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Heaven

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Zidale
Played: 79  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is in a beautiful hidden small town in Indiana where the staff and locals are happy to see you play. Long holes along a true golf course to where the baskets are tucked off to the side before the "real" green. $20 to play all day gives u many chances to air out a drive, or even find some rough.
Golf carts are great and perfect for unloading your discs in the cart basket to play.
Cons: none for me other than the course is an hour from my house. Too long for beginners.
Other Thoughts: before u die and go to heaven, play this course so u know what it will be like when u do die.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.