Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
English, IN 
Old English Golf Course Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
5 / 1200ft.   5 / 1200ft.   5 / 1100ft.   5 / 928ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Cross-polinization of Epicness!

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: absolutdork
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Highlight of my summer of traveling in the immediate area to play disc golf. A disc golf course played right alongside a ball golf course. Golf carts, sand traps, manicured fairways and shaven teeboxes. Are you serious?! Nothing gets any better than that. Pin placements are ideal on this course. Overall design actually is top notch. Grip and rip for sure. At least two holes are 1000+ feet. I could go on and on, but this course has it all and you just have to go see it for yourself. Hole #14 is probably the most epic looking hole ever.
Cons: There are cons? If there is a con here it's the fact that I have a spaghetti noodle arm and this no holds barred course reminded me that I'm a weakling. However, the overall fantasticness of the course quickly made me forget my "girly-man" physique. The only true con I can think of is watch the wind, just like you would on a normal ball golf course. It was windy today when we played, and it played havoc on our discs.
Other Thoughts: The uniqueness of having a golf cart, the beauty of the surrounding nature, and the fact that you think you are playing ball golf with discs, makes this a destination course. It was hard to rate this course since I've never played anything like that, so since it is unique and it lived up to, and beyond my expectations, it receives my first ever 5 disc rating. Beyond amazing. Check this course out!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a blast!

1    7/12/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Having a cart is just so freaking cool. I'm sure some of you play ball golf, and the cart is no big deal, but this was my first experience with one...and let me tell you, a brother could get used to this real fast! Hole to hole navigation becomes a complete non-issue. Longer distance from one hole to the next? Hey that's just more time you get to enjoy a welcome breeze in your face during the ride!

I really like what Dave Greenwell did with the pin placements on this course. They exemplify risk/reward play. Just about every hole starts out with a long and open drive. Sometimes you'll throw a second drive, as several holes are upwards of 1000 feet...but you will have some interesting decisions to make when it's time for that approach shot. Most baskets have danger close behind. You can play it safe and walk off with your par...or make a run at bird and maybe get burnt. I love it!

You tee from the regular golf teepads, and there are 4-5 different pads on each hole. Normally, I'd detract rating for teeing from grass...but these things are wide, flat, and the grass is about half an inch tall. They were better than many cement pads I've played!

The course plays around the clubhouse in such a way that you can easily swing by after hole 9 and/or hole 13 for a break/refreshment if you need.
Cons: There's no map for the disc golf layout that I can find, only the ball golf layout. In some cases, the basket is fairly similar in distance as the pin, but in other cases the basket is significantly shorter, and I'd really like to know how much D we were looking at. A few times my estimates were apparently not so good.

I would guesstimate that if you can't throw at least 300' off the tee, that you might become frustrated with this course. I go about 400-425', and I shot -10 when I played. That extra 100' will often mean the difference between throwing an extra full-power drive versus throwing a more controlled approach shot.

A practice basket near the driving range would be welcomed.

Ah, and I would be remiss if I neglected to mention the rough. It's harsh. I don't know what it is about Indiana courses, but they have the thorniest roughs I've seen.
Other Thoughts: I called the day before we played, and was told that as long as a scramble or similar event wasn't going on, you don't need to schedule a tee time. You can just roll in and play.

I'm sort of breaking my own rules of reviewing when I give this course a 5-disc rating, given the list of Cons above. However, this course is so different that I feel like it's difficult to even review it using the same scale. Here's what I do know: I've only ever given two courses a 5-disc rating, and those two courses are my very favorites. I enjoyed English every bit as much, and I can't wait to get back for my next round!

It's a rare thing when you come in with expectations high, and they are actually met or even exceeded, but in this case, mine were.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Heaven

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: Zidale
Played: 79  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: the course is in a beautiful hidden small town in Indiana where the staff and locals are happy to see you play. Long holes along a true golf course to where the baskets are tucked off to the side before the "real" green. $20 to play all day gives u many chances to air out a drive, or even find some rough.
Golf carts are great and perfect for unloading your discs in the cart basket to play.
Cons: none for me other than the course is an hour from my house. Too long for beginners.
Other Thoughts: before u die and go to heaven, play this course so u know what it will be like when u do die.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

2-4    10/13/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Benny V1Time
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a Championship caliber course. A few different course layouts provide something for everyone. Elevation, water, risk/reward shots, on and on. Patoka Lake DG course (another great challenge) is within 20 minutes.
Cons: Beginners tend to get frustrated by the length of the holes, but if they stick with it this course could be a breeding ground for the next top players.
Other Thoughts: English DG course is a must play!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf'rs dream

2-4    8/17/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best of the best, everything that a disc golfer dreams of. Pristine fairways, elevation change, water hazards, OB everywhere. Set on a beautiful ball golf course in the old town of English. 20$ is really a nice price to play whenever you get to play ALL day and also get a nice golf cart. The staff is friendly as well and encourages your feedback.
Cons: None that I can think of.. well maybe a person who drives a drink cart around would be nice :)
Other Thoughts: It's rather odd to have your arm wear out before your legs do. Golf carts rule.

If you haven't play it this is a MUST.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Best!!!

6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.3 Years
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Entirely too much to write. This is the coolest place on earth. Great scenery, big elevation changes, lots of water hazards, sand traps, O.B.s, crazy thick rough, pristine fairways and golf carts! Did I forget to mention that you ride a golf cart? There are 5 different tee positions to make it a lot easier on those who don't or can't throw long.
Cons: I couldn't figure out how to get my disc in those little washers located at every tee box?
Other Thoughts: If you LOVE Disc Golf, this is a must play. Bring everyone you know. This is such a nice place. Also the people who work there are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.