Labolt, SD 
LaBolt Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #9 (Taken 6/2011)
4 / 291ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pleasantly Surprised

1    7/2/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice views of the lake.
+Map at start of course.
+Good elevation usage, hole 2 really comes to mind as you throw straight up a hill.
+Good mix of long holes and a few short ace chances in there too.
+Long walks; usually a con for me but these ones were enjoyable and intentional it seemed. Through the woods, along a stream.
+Shouldn't be overly busy, ever. Is located outside a town of 300 in rural SD.
+Nice baskets
+Course isn't all that wooded but there are nice trees here and there. The main obstacles are the long grass rough.
Cons: -Improved tees would be nice, they are just gravel.
-Can be very windy in SD and too much wind can ruin a disc golf round.
-This town is really out of the way, I was passing within 20ish miles so I stopped, I would say it was worth it though.
-Could maybe lose a disc in the rough.
Other Thoughts: If this course was 18 holes it would have been at least half disc better rating. One of my favorite 9 hole courses played to date. It is a pay to play course with an honors system donation at the start.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Gem

1    6/16/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.5 Years
Pros: Very fun and technical course located in a tiny South Dakota town. This course has just about everything. Tight wooded holes, some good elevation change, and a couple of bomb holes. This course really puts a demand on accuracy as a bad throw could put your disc in the lake or buried in some dense foliage in the woods. This course has a good flow to it and a course map posted at hole 1 really helps with the navigation. The park is well maintained and offers restrooms, camping, walking trails, a playground, and a small lake. I had a very good time playing this course and was suprised at how well it was designed being located in such a small town. If you are ever traveling through SD on I-29 it is well worth the 20 mile detour off the interstate to check out this course, you won't be disappointed.
Cons: No cement tees and only 1 tee and pin placement per hole. There are a few long walks between a couple of holes but the scenery makes up for it. Mosquitos a plenty during summer, so bring bug spray. Slightly difficult to find the course first time around, but as long as you have the directions off of this site and a road map to find LaBolt then you should be alright.
Other Thoughts: With the addition of cement tees and multiple tee and pin placements this course would be a 4 rating for sure. There is also plenty of room for some added holes as well, especially on the long paths between a couple of the holes. There is a $3 donation box at the first hole so be sure to donate! all of the money is put back in to the course for improvements.

 great course

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: jimdrum2000
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its in a small town so i wouldn't think there would ever be a large number of people playing. Its a 40 min drive for me but worth it. LaBolt should be proud of the park and pond. well mowed and a challenge even for a pro.
Cons: its a city park and the gate was locked. after parking the car and walking down the path i relized why...the gravel road was pretty wet and soft. so if you go this time a year plan on a short walk and a bit of mud....still worth it...
Other Thoughts: Somewhat hard to find....not marked well. its on the west side of town and is in the city park...so look carefully...and make the drive...they ask for $3 per day to play. we paid it and it was worth it....

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a well maintained out in the middle or what seems like nowhere. LaBolt is a small town and I didn't expect this course to be what it is. Every hole is fun. The scenery is great. Easy to figure out where you're going on some of the longer walks to the next tees. Quiet, fun, relaxing course to play. I'm giving this a 3.5 because for being only 9 holes it is worth the drive to avoid playing the course in Watertown.
Cons: The tees could use some work. A few of em weren't very level. But thats the problem you run into with natural tees. The long walks between some of the holes could be made into new holes. It's a small towns course so they don't really need an 18 hole course even though it would be rad.
Other Thoughts: I will never assume a small town course is going to be mediocre ever again. We couldn't even find the town, shoulda taken us half an hour to get there and it took us over an hour to find it. But it was well worth it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.