Bellefontaine, OH 
Mary Rutan DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A must for beginners

1    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: munky
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: -concrete tees
-duel tees on most holes
-beautiful park
-short tees are well suited for beginners
-some elevation shots
-creek comes into play
-several opportunities for aces
-park was clean and being mowed while i was there
-a good amount of OBs that bump up the difficulty level if not playing a casual round
Cons: -rusted chains
-had to back track a couple time to get to the next hole
-not a lot of parking available and not allowed at the shelters on weekends through the summer
Other Thoughts: if a local group did a fund raiser for new chains would be nice. they are really rusted. otherwise this course is great. i rated it as a 3 and thats the equalvilant of a 5. it cant be a 5 because there are courses a lot "better" but this course is about as good as it could possibly be with the given surroundings. it is a great place to take a beginner or kids. a fun course and can be played in a short amount of time. i will make the 40 minute drive to play this one many more times

 looks can be deceiving

2-4    7/27/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of long and short holes

Nice pads and baskets

Good signage

Pleasant park
Cons: No real wooded holes or tunnel shots

Relatively flat

A few roadside holes
Other Thoughts: When we pulled into this park, I thought - "Man, this little park in the middle of town can't host a respectable course." It just looked like it would be short and wide open. I was pleasantly surprised to be wrong.

This course has good distance...and in good measure. In other words, the length has nice change up. There are definitely some bomber holes in the 400+ range to compliment deuces and ace shots.

Also, there is great use of natural obstacles. There may be no thick woods, but there are still plenty off trees, and the holes are positioned well to utilize them.

The layout has you shooting tight fairways, over creeks, over bridges and around multiple mando's.

I have been back a couple times since, and plan to make the trip to Bellefontaine, with some regularity, every year.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Park

5+    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Pro and Am Tees on Most Holes
Good Variety
Distances Vary
Clean
Very Well-Maintained
Rec-Advanced Level Course
Water in Play on a Few Holes
Baskets in Great Shape
Great Tee Signs
Bulletin Board with Map near Tee 1
Cons:
Picnic Areas, Playground, and Roads in Play
Fairly Open
Other Park Go-ers Unaware of Course
Limited Parking
First Tee Can Be Hard to Find
Other Thoughts:
This is a really good course for any player, beginners, and advanced. There are a couple tough shots that might be hard for someone just starting out, but they should still enjoy the nice setting and the course itself is pretty fun to play.

The layout of the course is pretty good. There were only a couple things that I can think of that might be a little confusing. First, when you come to hole two the basket is across the creek, the fairway is the small bridge that you see in front of you. After two and three you will then need to use that same bridge to get back to the tee for hole 4.

That same bridge is going to come into play again on hole 16. You will need to use to get to the basket or climb down into the creek and back up the other side.

As far as whether or not I would call this course wooded, probably not, but keep in mind there are plenty of mature trees in every fairway to add challenge. The designers also added in a few mandos, holes 4, 6, 11 and 12 I believe, which is another added challenge.

As I stated above the creek comes into play on a few holes. Holes 2 and 16 you must actually throw over the creek, but there are a few more that if you have an off target throw, your disc could be swimming. This isn't a huge deal the creek is really shallow and the roughest thing you might encounter is the steep hill you have to climb down and up to get into the creek. With a bad throw you could end up in the creek on 3, 12 ( an even smaller creek here), 14, and 15.

The course is laid out pretty well and there aren't really any issues finding the next tee. Most baskets have little red arrows on the pole pointing to the next tee, its a nice little touch. The only places there are even the slightest questions about where to go next is after hole 3, like I said just cross back across the bridge and go to the right. After hole 7, you have to go down and cross the main road that runs through the park to get to 8. Then after #14,you cross the bridge and head up past the bathrooms about 100ft or so and the tee for 15 is up the hill.

I really enjoy getting out to play this course whenever I have time to do so. There are a couple really great holes on this course that make it stand out. Hole 12 is a 475ft down a small hill, over a road, and across a small creek. Holes 2 and 16 are also very good. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to play a nice course or anyone who is in the area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty but not overly challenging

2-4    9/23/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: FrankieG
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty park and as the other reviewers have said, lots of mature trees and well manicured fairways. Several holes require a good placement of your drive through very fair fairways in order to deuce.
Cons: Lots of crossing fairways where you have to walk in front of a tee to get to your next hole. I don't see this course playing smoothly once it has a tournament crowd on it.

Holes don't require a lot of strategy and there isn't a lot of penalty for being off the mark and result in easy threes. On this course you could shoot bogie free but get pounded because you didn't get enough birdies.

Not sure if so many holes had mandatories to make them harder or reduce the chance of hitting other players. However a lot of them were redundant since the mandatory required you to go to the most likely fairway anyway.
Other Thoughts: Here's a suggestion, why not put the hole information on the long tee rather than the short? In most cases you get to the long tee first so this would save you from having to walk up to the short, get the layout and distance and walk back to your tee. If you are playing from the shorts you can simply stroll by the long tee and not have to double-back.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.