Bellefontaine, OH 
Mary Rutan DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign. Tee located by the bulletin board behind the picnic shelters.



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Best course yet

5+    6/5/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: Alby_45
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
Pros: Very well maintained
Good flow
Water hazards, but none that eat discs
Great design
Good signage
Cons: Parking can get a little scarce especially on weekends
Can be muddy after major rain storms (but what course isn't)
Some are very close to the roads
Right next to city pool
Other Thoughts: Best course I have ever played at. Everything is well maintained and there is great signage including signs to point to the next tee. Multiple tee boxes for different skill levels. All pins are in excellent condition. By far BEST course I have ever been to. (Maybe I need to expand my horizons?)

Good course

2-4    11/5/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: theeterrbear
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Concrete teepads.
Some holes with pro/am tees.
Good signage.
Well maintained (park officers (?) were mowing the leaves on the ground, clearing the course)
Practice basket.
There is a decent variety of holes. Repetition isn't a worry.
Good use of the available elevation. In particular holes 4, 12, 15, and 18. Hole 4 from the long tee plays much longer than marked due to constant rising elevation. Hole 12 is a fun rhbh anhyzer shot down a large hill and across a creek. Hole 15 is a downhill shot that needs to be kept below a low ceiling or potentially an anhyzer, but the anny can be knocked down if it's a little wide. Hole 18 is an uphill shot that hides the basket.
Hole 12. Worth putting as a pro, in my opinion the best hole. 475' downhill that a nice anhyzer will have no problem with getting near the creek or possibly over the creek. Getting an eagle on this hole is possible.
Cons: All signage is at the short tee.
No real par-5 bombers. With three holes over 400' (5, 12 and 17) there are bombers, but a huge par-5er would be nice. The park isn't huge, but with the walk from hole 7-8 some distance could really be added to 7.
It can be muddy and slick, especially in the lower areas.
Other Thoughts: This really is a very nice course and makes incredibly good use of the land. The balance of holes should have everyone enjoying the course, but for higher level players there probably won't be much of a challenge. The mandos usually require the most likely line, but this is likely do to keep other players on different holes safe.

I would suggest using the long tee from hole 5 on hole 2 for more challenge. It's to the right if you're facing the bridge and back a little bit, and it would force a bigger curve versus the straighter shot from the normal tee.

Parking can be a little weird (I had to park by hole 12 on 11/5/12 because the normal parking area was closed).

 Great Park Course!

5+    5/8/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: DG_Josh
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: -Very well maintained.
-Wonderful use of the land.
-Creative hole designs.
-Clear signage makes it easy to navigate.
-Concrete tees are in great shape.
Cons: -Parking can be difficult in the summer on the weekends.
-Popular course so it can get crowded on a nice day.
-Some of the low areas get incredibly muddy after a rain, especially in the spring.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful park course, probably one of the better park courses out there. However, because it's a park course, it also comes with the negatives of a park course. I don't know if I would go out of my way to play this course, but if you're in the area you'll be happy you stopped by to play it.

 A must for beginners

1    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: munky
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: -concrete tees
-duel tees on most holes
-beautiful park
-short tees are well suited for beginners
-some elevation shots
-creek comes into play
-several opportunities for aces
-park was clean and being mowed while i was there
-a good amount of OBs that bump up the difficulty level if not playing a casual round
Cons: -rusted chains
-had to back track a couple time to get to the next hole
-not a lot of parking available and not allowed at the shelters on weekends through the summer
Other Thoughts: if a local group did a fund raiser for new chains would be nice. they are really rusted. otherwise this course is great. i rated it as a 3 and thats the equalvilant of a 5. it cant be a 5 because there are courses a lot "better" but this course is about as good as it could possibly be with the given surroundings. it is a great place to take a beginner or kids. a fun course and can be played in a short amount of time. i will make the 40 minute drive to play this one many more times

 Overall Nice Course

2-4    6/18/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tees with excellent hole description.

Great use of natural obstacles and elevation changes.

Requires a variety of shot types and distances.

Very nice baskets and course flows from hole to hole nicely.
Cons: A lot of foot traffic through the park and pedestrians do not seem to care about the disc golfers.

Parking for disc golf is almost non-existent. What little parking is available is reserved for the shelter houses in the park.

A lot of unnecessary OB and mandos.
Other Thoughts: There are several intimidating holes which test your confidence and shot selection. The course takes full advantage of every opportunity mother nature has provided. There isn't a single tree in the park that does not come into play, not to mention the creek and little old log cabin.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

RPDG cut them down!

5+    9/16/2013   6/12/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
This review was updated on 10/24/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is well layed out with some trees and rolling hills. Very good baskets and cement tees. Every hole is marked and has a hole description plaque mounted at the tee. Large overall course map located at the first tee.
Cons: This is a very popular park and can get very crowded during the summer. Parking could also be a problem with some restrictions on disc golf players. There seems to be some weird OB designations on this course, don't make sense.
Other Thoughts: Many changes on this course. Many of the trees have been cut down exposing several baskets. A lot of the hole markers have been damaged. Several dholes have been changed because of construction or other events. The Trees along the creek are being cut down making challenging holes easy. Hopefully things will improve but the old large trees can never be replaced.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Designers worked well with what they had

1    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: douglowe
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well thought out holes. I really expected this course to be a typical "in a park" course, but I was very wrong. The course designers really used every tree, creek, and several mandos to make for a fun and sometimes challenging game. You must cross creeks stay in mandos. It was windy when I played (20+mph gusts) but nothing a nice overstable driver (Innova Destroyer for me) couldn't handle.

The baskets are nice Innova DisCathers and the tee pads are concrete. Well designed, and well built.
Cons: People. Lots of people. I went on the first 80 degree day of the year, like every other resident of Bellefontaine. You really want to stay in control here. There are mandos, creeks, playgrounds, shelters, people, roads, and more people. Your best bets are conservative drives, then go for it on the mid shots and the putts.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun at this course. I was very impressed with how the designers used the land they had to work with. They took a park that could have been nothing but boring shots with no elevation changes or obstacles, and made a course that is fun, semi-challenging, and unpredictable. Nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Little Bit Crowded

1    4/30/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: shots17
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Had pro tees for many holes.

I liked the use of the creek and because it was so shallow you couldn't really lose a disc. At deepest part I noticed was maybe 6 inches, you could jump across the creek in most places.

Cons: We printed off a course map, otherwise playing for the first time there was no way we could have found our way around.

Holes interfere with other people in park. This includes other people playing disc golf, cars driving by, baseball games (hole goes into outfield), basketball court, and anyone else just generally walking around.
Other Thoughts: Not bad for the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 looks can be deceiving

2-4    7/27/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of long and short holes

Nice pads and baskets

Good signage

Pleasant park
Cons: No real wooded holes or tunnel shots

Relatively flat

A few roadside holes
Other Thoughts: When we pulled into this park, I thought - "Man, this little park in the middle of town can't host a respectable course." It just looked like it would be short and wide open. I was pleasantly surprised to be wrong.

This course has good distance...and in good measure. In other words, the length has nice change up. There are definitely some bomber holes in the 400+ range to compliment deuces and ace shots.

Also, there is great use of natural obstacles. There may be no thick woods, but there are still plenty off trees, and the holes are positioned well to utilize them.

The layout has you shooting tight fairways, over creeks, over bridges and around multiple mando's.

I have been back a couple times since, and plan to make the trip to Bellefontaine, with some regularity, every year.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Exciting yet Challenging Course

5+    10/21/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: simskc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole #1: Good driving hole - will need to warm up well to get a good drive for a deuce opportunity
Hole #2: Challenging drive over the bridge - must keep to the right for a short putt to this blind hole location
Hole #3: OB to the right and creek to the left makes for a very accurate drive to the basket
Hole #4: Uphill to a basket behind a tree - Deuces are hard to come by
Hole #5: Flat hole next to OB fence line - Birdies can be had
Hole #6: Slightly uphill but with OB road behind basket
Hole #7: Many trees surrounding this short hole location - Deuces can happen with accurate drives
Hole #8: Very challenging hole with OB to the right and over 300 feet to basket. Log Cabin on left to further increase the difficulty of this hole
Hole #9: Trees everywhere and must be able to throw long and low for a shot at a birdie
Hole #10: Straight open hole - one of the easiest on the course
Hole #11: Shortest hole on course. Must go left of mando but this hole can be birdied with right drive
Hole #12: Longest hole on course and presents many difficulties including a mando, lots of trees and a creek. 3's can be had with a long drive and an excellent approach shot but 4's are the normal
Hole #13: Fun hole with an unneeded mando. Deuces are common on this rather short hole
Hole #14: Interesting hole with OB road to the left and creek beyond and to the right of the hole. Birdies can be made with accurate drives
Hole #15: One of the toughest holes of the course. No good open fairway to the basket. OB to the left and creek to the right with many trees in the middle making a 3 is not very easy
Hole #16: Exciting hole where you must cross the creek to the basket in the woods. Deuces are very difficult and Par is very good on this difficult short hole
Hole #17: Rather long hole with a hill sloping down to the left where the OB road is located. Hard to throw long enough or accurate enough to deuce this hole often
Hole #18: Uphill to a flat basket with another unneeded mando. Birdies are rare and par 3 is good
Cons: Hole #1: Long hole - hard to birdied
Hole #2: Must be accurate from tee box
Hole #3: Must keep from going down into creek to the left
Hole #4: Must keep from going right into OB
Hole #5: Must keep from going right into OB
Hole #6: Keep out of trees
Hole #7: Keep out of trees and OB long
Hole #8: Very long with OB right again
Hole #9: Must drive low under all trees
Hole #10: Keep out of trees
Hole #11: Must make mando but not hit wires or trees or go OB to the right of basket
Hole #12: Must make mando and have accurate approach shot to basket on other side of creek
Hole #13: Must keep right of basket and out of OB to the left
Hole #14: Must keep out of OB on road but not right into creek
Hole #15: No good fairway shot with trees and OB to the left and creek to the right
Hole #16: Very challenging drive needed to have birdie shot.
Hole #17: OB to the left seems to attract a lot of discs
Hole #18: Challenging final hole, which requires a long drive for a chance at a birdie
Other Thoughts: Course is my favorite with a good mixture of easy, fun and challenging holes. Would recommend this course to everybody from beginner to expert.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.