Red Feather Lakes, CO 
Beaver Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #5 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Potential

2-4    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 323  Reviewed: 321  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful land. This course is located in the foothills of the Front Range of the Rockies. There are beautiful vistas all over this land.
-There was a good mix of open and wooded holes. On open holes there was usually some elevation or a few obstacles. Wooded holes weren't too wooded and all were fair.
-There were some (3-4) decent water shots here.
-The people working were nice and helpful.
-Plenty to do on this scenic dude ranch. You could bring others here for a relaxing weekend away from civilization.
-Restaurant on site is decent.
-Baskets are in decent shape.
Cons: -Horse poo every where. This is a dude ranch.
-The course plays next to or on roads, ponds, trails, etc and there are people performing other activities or just hanging out here. This is definitely a multi-use place.
-Navigation is exceptionally horrible. Maps were somewhat helpful but you still need to go ahead to scout out most of the basket locations and finding the next tee can be quite hard sometimes.
-This course isn't really beginner friendly. A lot of the holes are long or have too long of water carries for people who can't throw reasonably far. I am a decent player and the challenges weren't really my kind of fun.
-Some of the holes crisscross or are just too close together. Seems crazy for a course on this much land to have that problem.
-The course is pay to play and the maintenance certainly isn't up to par for p2p courses.
-This course is set at 8500' elevation and you will walk a lot during your round. Not for the out of shape player.
-Many holes were missing tee signs and that didn't help navigation at all.
-Tees are natural and many aren't in the best shape.
-High altitude courses can expect quick changes in weather, be prepared for anything. Weather could be much different than Ft. Collins.
-Loss of discs can occur in both water and tall grass.
Other Thoughts: -I really wanted to like this course more. It is in a beautiful area with some really nice people. However, disc golf seems to be low on the priority list here.
-I don't know if I would recommend the trip up here to play this course and Sundance. They are both pretty courses and they will challenge you. They will also frustrate you as I said before, disc golf is not top priority. If you want to visit a dude ranch then disc golf is an extra bonus.
-If they offered another set of tees to help out players that can't throw super far, cleaned up navigation and signage and worked on the tees, this course would probably get a solid 4 from me. There is potential.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Area; Problematic Layout

1    9/22/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front office and local amenities were both great in terms of atmosphere. Its a really pretty area and the views are very nice. Its a great combo of tight holes with a few grip and rips.

The last 3 holes are all open and fun to play. Mostly long but they are all neat throws or good open views with shot options. 1 was also a great hole with a good long over water throw.
Cons: There were a few holes on the front 9 that even with a map were nearly impossible to find. The 6/7 transition even with a map was ridiculousness. We found the complete 7th hole before we found the hole for 6. Plus the drive for one flew over the head of the second hole. The only other option for the first drive of the 2 was to go high into trees.

Looking at the big picture the negative on this course is that its a beast of a course. While it is challenging and fun to play in the process by the end of the course my playing partners were all running low on fun because there was only so many times they could get beaten down by the course and keep their heads up.
Other Thoughts: This is not built to be an amateur course. It is built to be challenging and a bit over the top. I was a fan of the course and may play it again in the future but this is not a family friendly course in terms of throw difficulty and overall distance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs improvements.

1    8/7/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful area for disc golf. Great hiking area. Good workout.
Cons: The course was so poorly marked, and most of the baskets were hidden, that nearly every fairway had to be walked twice. Hard to find next tees.
It appeared someone put the course in a few years ago and forgot about it. Not a "Pay to Play" quality course. Very discappointing experience.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Raw

1    8/9/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: Nancyjo9
Played: 62  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The views are nice. Restaurant was nice.
Cons: , however that is the only thing I can say that was nice about the course. There were crossing fairways, missing tee's, changed fairways with no instruction. Tee's throwing down a road where there were horseback riders. The first hole is over a pond, close to 300 feet, being an amateur player, I should have just tossed a disc in the lake never to be seen again. The distances were not correct on the map or the tee sign (if there was one). Half way through we were ready to quit. Another player caught up with us and showed us the back nine, which better having someone to show us where to throw and the correct approximate distance of the hole. I will not be back, it was a waste of my $5 and there are much better courses to play.
Other Thoughts: Better map with correct distances and pin locations., restroom that doesn't look like a horse trough. Amateur tees for a few of the holes. FLAGS on the baskets you cannot see.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent way to spend an morning

2-4    9/7/2011   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing Views!!! The reason that you come to Beaver Meadows is not to just play disc, it's to enjoy the wonderful area that is Colorado. There are 18 holes with lots of variety and distances. definately some tight shots, but a surprising amout of open shots for a mountain woods course.
Cons: Long, Long, Long! Make sure that you bring plenty of water because you will HIKING, not walking the course. If you have issues with up and down, elevation, or bad knees, I would recommend that you not play. Can require alot of climbing if you are all over the place with your discs.
Other Thoughts: This is definately worth the $5 bucks to play all day. One round normally takes closer to 3 hours due to all the walking and elevation. You can camp on site or stay in one of the room suites and the disc is included in the fee, which make it a nice place to take the family.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spot on 14erDisc

1    5/30/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Sidearm Slinger
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Instead of repeating 14erDisc's entire review i'll just say i totally agree with the whole thing because it's spot on.
Cons: Had to skip 4 holes due to run off. Not the courses fault, just nature of the beast with spring mountain discin.
Other Thoughts: Only thing to add is there is mad run off up there right now. If you can wait another month or so to play this course, it would be a wise choice. Also, if you stay at a lodge you can play for free. Lot's of stuff to do around the area and if you have a group it can be a great weekend.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hard, Hilly, Waterbound

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very unique, tournament quality Colorado mountain course. It is a course with tight corridors and a few open pastures. It will take pretty much every throw you have in your bag. It has holes that go uphill, downhill, hyzers, anhyzers, and one 800 foot par 4! This is a course with four holes (1,9,10,18) that have imminent throws over large bodies of water (lakes or rivers). 18 is particularly scary in that it is a 15 foot strip of land with a river on one side and a pond on the other. Be prepared and willing to lose a disc on one of the four water holes The rest of the holes are through heavily wooded areas and require a huge amount of accuracy, precision, and distance. They allow you to test the limits of your accuracy, and the tiny corridors are always awesomely fun! Hole 7 is one of the best and most fun downhill shots I have thrown… a long bomb downhill off of a nice overhang. Hole 9 will bring you back to the water, as the pin lies about ten feet from it. This is a really cool view of the pin, pond, and entire Beaver Meadows Resort in the background. There are also 5 or so holes where the basket is located in a stand of aspens. While this may not mean much to some people, I love playing through those tight bundles of white aspen trees… something not all too common in CO. Hole 15 is also a great & hard hole! Super tight anhyzer through a very narrow corridor including a fallen tree. Hole 19 is a 120 foot straight shot which can easily be turned into an ace. If you hit it, you get a snack or soda from the lodge… always a fun treat.

This course is not for the faint hearted… It is hard. While it may not be as technical as many other CO mountain courses, the long distances coupled with fairly-technical aspects makes for a unique challenge. All of your throws will be tested, and risks will need to be taken (which usually seem to go either way). This is a course where if you "play it safe" you are more than likely to bogey every hole. Some may consider this a negative… but all the more challenging and unique makes it all the better. The course layout is wonderful on the land they have… it is clear a good amount of thought went into making this course.
Cons: This place is a "dude ranch" and can certainly get overcrowded by others attending the camp area. When I went there was a wedding taking place which happened to get in the way of hole 18 for a small amount of time. This would usually not be an issue, but the fact that this is a $5 pay-to-play facility makes me feel like I should have minimal distractions (and certainly not have to worry about hitting 4-year-olds fishing). That being said the course is certainly worth the $5. It is clear the money goes to something good in the fact that the course is properly maintained and laid out. Next, is the horse poop… it is literally everywhere. Expect your disc to land in or around horse poop multiple times… and expect horse poop to be in the way of your planting foot multiple times. It is more plentiful in the holes out in the open… but it is fairly hard to avoid everywhere in this place!

Many many holes require pre-scouting at this place. While most holes have signs, they only give you an idea of the general direction. I'd say atleast 8 holes require scouting to see where the pin is actually located. The three times I did not scout (and used my map for a reference), I payed dearly. Expect to take up some extra time scounting!! Many of the signs in the course are broken, making it even harder to scout holes. Finally, the map they give you for $5 is not 100% correct as of May 29th, 2011. After hole 13, the map is not completely accurate. While the course still follows the general layout the map proposes, it is easy to get lost focusing solely on the map.

As of May 29th, 2011, the hole 5 tee-box is blocked by construction vehicles.
Other Thoughts: While I did manage to muster up a long list of cons, they are worth enduring to play this course. This is a great mountain course requiring loads of hiking, and a large variety of shots. It is certainly a course that will leave you in the positive your first round there. It is certainly worth the $5, the views are gorgeous, and the challenging course will leave you happy at the end of the day.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/13/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: We were kind of iffy about going to this coarse because we just recently went to the sundance trail ranch, also located in Red Feathers, and we had a bad experience over there. But this coarse is was amazing every hole had something different, there was alot of different size holes. I have alot of different discs, and i almost had to use a different disc on each hole.
Cons: The only thing that sucked was it was really really windy that day, and it was hard to throw unless you were in the woods. Otherwise it was amazing.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 7 was amazing. There are different start points for some of the holes. For example hole number one has another start point right after the bridge for people who aren't experienced enough to throw straight over water. There was a bunch of water holes, so i would recommend bringing a bunch of discs, my friend lost two discs on the first hole in the water. It is cool that they have a kayak and a paddle boat for you to try and find your disc.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Big Time

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a monster of a mountain course that is just crazy fun. This course is part of a dude ranch retreat center that really has seen Disc Golf as an investment in the future. The course was designed really well using all the land features available to create unique challeneges at every turn. You will go up and down mountains and get your fair share of exercise. The baskets are all in great condition with holes having at least a few options as to pin placement. There is a great variety of length in the holes including a few monsters, one close to 800' uphill. They frequently go diving for discs and based on the quality of the owner I am guessing they will do everything possible to get the discs back to you. There are great facilities near this course including a restuarant that serves amazing food and a bar with satellite TV. There are some very memorable holes on this course including all the lake holes, 8 and my personal favorite hole 17 (a long downhiller with a narrow start).
Cons: On the water holes there is a really good chance to loose a disc as there are a couple of long water carries or small landing areas. There are several holes that you will need to scout first. The tee pads, though they have recently been redone still leave a lot to be desired. The tee signs are nothing more than log stumps with numbers on them (unless they leave out the signs from the CSDGC's). This is a pay to play course.
Other Thoughts: What a great experience this course is though I know it is not for everyone. This course is supposed to be super challenging but it is not as technical as it would appear at first. You will defiantely want a spotter on several holes and you will want to bring discs that you can sacrifice to the lakes. Look for short tees on 1 and 7 if that is something that interests you. You are at a very high elevation on this course so be sure to bring lots of water. There is also a tremendous amount of hiking up and down hill so be prepared. This is also a very long course. The owner is very proud of his course but knows that it is still a work in progress. So far he has done an amazing job but look for this course to improve in the future.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 SHWEET!

1    8/29/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout in semi-remote high country setting. Excellent pin placements on many holes that demand precise control and mastery of righty/lefty forehand and backhand shots. Hole 9, a downhill with the pin precariously close to the pond, is spectacular and thirsty and ranks up there as one of my all-time favorites. Creative layout maximizes ponds and rewards well placed finesse shots, especially on hole 18 where you can lay-up or go for the gold. Greaat setting, with food/drinks available. This is now my most favorite course in Colorado. Be sure to bring flippy plastic, as well as extras (I left two in the ponds).
Cons: A bit raw with some fairways that need some work, and some blind tee shots that almost demand spotters (particularly hole 7). The baskets can be hard to spot (painting the cages bright orange would be a great help!). Some of the tee pads were treacherous, with loose dirt and slopes that maximized slippage.
Other Thoughts: I love high country DG and I love trees. I can see why the Colorado State Championships will be held here in Sep 2009. I will definitely play this course whenever I visit the family in Ft. Collins (weather permitting, I am a So Cal guy).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.