Montgomeryville, PA 
Windlestrae Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #8
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 needs to be redesigned

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: CZaslav
Played: 147  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice park, easy to get there, park has lots of potential. those are all of the pros. First few tee pads were very nice.
Cons: Horrible signage. This is something that could quickly improve this course. At least proper navigational signage would be a huge improvement. The layout is also a large con. They could have fit at least one if not 2 solid holes between holes 1 and 2.
Fairways are a descent size and you must stay on them or you will have a very long day looking for discs and avoiding poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This course was ridiculous from the begginning. Sign at front has map of course that is absolutely useless. First hole is about 150 yards from that sign. First few tee pads are nice made of crushed rocks. Tee signs are average. Hole 1 sign has an arrow pointing into the woods for the next tee. next tee is actually 500 yards down the perimeter of the woods. Whole course is like this. basically just wandering around until you happen on a tee pad. Like others I found hole 8 while looking for 5. I eventually found hole 5 and then happened on a tee sign for hole 15 which was useless. After reading previous reviews I figured that this course could not be as bad as everyone is saying. I quickly found out that they were all correct and that this course is awful.
Here are some directions if it helps anyone.
Hole 1. Directly behind sign in parking lot about 150 yards.
Hole 2. Follow woods until you see tee sign in the distance. Do not enter woods.
Hole 3. Directly right when facing Basket 2
Hole 4. Over bridge
Hole 5. Take bridge to the right of basket 4. Take the first possible path to the right follow path for about 5 minutes until you might happen upon hole 5
Hole 6. To the left around trees from basket .
Hole 7. Not sure this is where I got lost
Hole 8. If you go past the turn off for hole 5 you will end up at tee 8. Go find basket before you throw.
Hole 9. Back to the fairway after hole 8 then is is on the left on the edge of the woods.
To return to the parking lot I had to retrace my steps past baskets 4 - 1

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Wasted Potential...If You Can Find the Next Hole

1    10/11/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park itself is very easy to get to as it is located on a well-known road. The open areas of the course, park, and bridges are well maintained. The baskets at Windlestrae park are in great shape. The tee signs look nice (see below). There is some variation to the fairways from length and doglegs. The portions of the course that were playable seemed to be a safe distance from other pedestrian areas of the park.
Cons: Navigation at Windlestrae Park is the biggest hot mess of a train wreck I have ever seen. The problems start as soon as you leave the parking lot. There is a small sign that points you to the first tee, but it fails to note that it's probably 1,000' or more. Going from hole 1 to hole 2, there's no indication that it's another 1,000' to the next hole. After that, you need to turn around to get to the third hole. Going from hole 4 to hole 5 is an excercise in poking around in the woods and following paths until you stumble on the 8th hole or the 5th hole (if you're lucky). Another wandering walk (possibly through someone's back yard) is required to find hole 6. The tee for hole 7 isn't as tough to find as hole 6, but the location of the basket is a total mystery. While searching for the 7th basket, I came across a tee sign for the 14th hole...which blew my mind because it's supposed to be a nine-hole course. When (IF) you finish your nine holes, it's a 15-minute walk back to the parking lot...without any signs to get you back there.

The rough on this course was pretty rough. There are tons of briars and overgrowth; enough to swallow a disc thrown off the fairway while slicing and sticking the thrower trying to find it.

In terms of design, the course is flat and doesn't really incorporate any elevation changes. Further, there is water running through the park, but from what I could tell, it doesn't really factor into the design of any of the fairways.

Most of the tees were overgrown. Some to the point where they had virtually disappeared.
Other Thoughts: With all the room available at this park, it's really hard to figure out why this course was limited to nine holes and why those nine holes were seemingly dropped into the park at random. Moreover, it's terribly disappointing that the course is riddled with such serious navigation problems. Several attempts were made to contact the township to find out additional information about the course and its layout, but no response was received.

This is the first course where I got fed up and walked off before completing my round, although I was able to walk the whole course because I was so turned around due to the navigation mess that is Windlestrae.

If the fairways could be cleaned up, the remaining holes added, and for god's sake, if they could publish some kind of map, this course would have potential to easily be a 3.0 in an area sorely lacking solid disc golf. That said, despite the length and challenge of many of the holes at this course, unless being frustrated and pissed off is your thing, I'd recommend playing any of the other short, mediocre nine-hole courses in the area for a much more enjoyable round.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Makes My Heart Sad

2-4    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Drago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful fairways, old structures and wooden bridges, lots of potential.
Cons: Longs walks between holes and from finish back to the car. Difficult to navigate. Holes are generally short and straight, with a few exceptions. Poor quality tee pads, except on the first two holes.
Other Thoughts: Being the closest course to my house, I would love to see this develop into a playable course, but as it stands now it's in pretty sad shape. The key word is potential. The park is big, and could easily have 18 great holes. If the parks dept put back in the original 18, the course would actually get visitors, a club, and people (like me) willing to volunteer to keep this course nice.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Walk-off

1    1/19/2010   2/10/2010
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 249  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park was nice, quiet and clean. Old wooden structures made the environment on the course interesting.
The crushed stone tees were nice.
Cons: Navigation was very confusing (Even with a map) After the 3rd or 4th hole you come to a creek with no clear way across. I could see a tee on the other side, but but no way to cross the 25ft of water. After consulting the map It seemed there were holes in another direction with a more narrow place to cross. From there walking trails went in multiple directions with no hole in sight and no clear marker for which direction to go. Next hole turned out to be a couple hundred yards away down a small muddy trail.

Confusion continued this way, not helped by the fact that the course is in a trial period and not all holes have baskets on them (From what I understand the baskets get rotated around.) Now I'm not saying the trial period is a con, if baskets moving around from hole to hole is how it has to be then alright. The problem was there is no way of knowing which did have a basket and which didn't. Marking the tee signs would be simple and could save a lot of wandering around, checking multiple pin locations.

Also confusing and possibly do to redesign (?) The signs at the tees did not go in numerical order and led me to believe I had missed holes, though I could not find any other obvious trails.
The holes were not very interesting. Basically wide, straight shots with intense rough on both sides (except for first to holes which were near the woods but straight open shots.) The single wooded hole I played had no real fairway to speak of. The drive was a toss and a prayer. After that I came to a section of parallel holes divided by dense trees and rough that were straight away shots with not much to them.

The course starts a good hike from the parking lot, which isn't a bad thing, but the current layout has you finishing way far from where your car is. The layout isn't anywhere close to a loop and I'd have to say you'd be looking at a good half hour to walk back once completing the course.
Other Thoughts: All of this, confusing layout, lack luster holes, getting lost and the inevitable long trek back to the car led to my first ever course walk off. Perhaps if I had all afternoon to spend there I would have taken to time to figure it out, but I was spending way more time looking for holes and baskets than playing and the holes I had played were not inspiring me to look for more. And I'm pretty good with maps and finding my way around. I sometimes take part in orienteering competitions.

The course has a lot of problems, and it seems that if the park won't embrace it, improvements can't be made. Not just help with navigation issues, but clearing of fairways (possibly even carving out a few from scratch) to make more interesting holes and the addition of signs and bridges. I hate to say it, but some land just isn't suitable for DG and some courses just weren't meant to be.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Middle of nowhere

1    3/23/2009   3/31/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's in a nice park with several soccer/football fields. The course is segregated from the fields, so little to no other foot traffic on the course. It has 10 holes (a bonus hole between #4 and #5). Excellent tee signs with hole number, distance and next tee location. There isn't a map available, so this information was very helpful traversing the course.
Cons: There were a few things I didn't like about this course. To begin with, the walk from the parking lot to the first tee is very long. In addition, you must make this same long walk back to your car from the course, so it's impractical to leave supplies/food/water/etc in your car while playing, you have to bring them with you.

There seemed to be unnecessarily long walks between holes. Several times I thought, when going to the next tee, this area would make a cool/unique hole, only to find I had to walk way past it to get to the next tee. Not sure if this is a park restriction.

Although there are next tee signs, they are small and seem to blend in to the background/vegetation quite well, and are sometimes difficult to see. Course navigation is kind of confusing. There are two hole #5 (one's a bonus hole I found out later) and tee for hole #14 in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: This wasn't an overly difficult course, it does offer a nice mix of wooded and semi wooded holes. You will need to be able to throw both left and right shots, and there is some water that needs to be avoided.

My biggest concern was that hole #9 ends in the middle of nowhere, with no direction on how to get back to hole #1 and/or the parking lot. Being from out of town, nearing dusk and being a little disorientated playing the course, I was a little concerned about getting back to my car. I was dreading traversing the course backwards to get back to hole #1. Luckily, near the tee for #8, is the basket for #3 across the creek.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Once, A Fine Idea....Now, A Fine Mess

1    2/10/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Could fill a serious void in an enormously populated area that is an underserved area for disc golf. Tyler and Sedgely are both crowded courses and 45 minutes to the South.....while Tinicum and the Lehigh Valley Gems are also 45-60 minutes away to the North. Hole #3 is quite a nice hole. Seems to have a chance to be something special with fields, woods, a healthy stream and thousands of potential players in the area who are craving a new course.
Cons: Confusing Layout! Maybe 9-10 holes. It gets particularly difficult to find your way around after hole #4..Hint don't cross the creek...just go to your right and look for a path. Many of the holes simply utilize a walking trail along a pipeline. It makes for a nice little fairway but the potential for disturbing walkers and neighbors is unlimited here. #1 is a long walk across the athletic fields from the parking lot. There are several long walks between holes and it makes little sense at times, especially with the course ending so far from the start of the course. There are huge expanses of woods, a wonderful stream, some neat little undulations in the woods etc that all could make for first class disc golf. There is even a cedar grove next to hole #2 that is screaming to be made into a tight cedar hole. God Forbid Them! So much wasted potential here.
Other Thoughts: The neighbors ruined this course out of selfish interests before it could even be finished. Seems they wanted their own private exercise trail and did not want the public dare to use public land! How dare we..oh the nerve. I suggest they look at other local parks like Whispering Falls in tiny Atrium Township or Roland Park in tiny Akron PA or basically 75% of the courses on this site which are well received by disc golfers and the public alike. Basically they chased the original layout out and have pretty much tied the designers hands. A mistake was made when the designers attempted to use existing walking trails and areas near homes.....unfortunately no matter how much the PDGA tries to tell you otherwise the Public does not want to understand disc golf. They never will. For every young politically inactive dude who watches someone play disc golf and will be curious there will be 50 politically active old ladies who are annoyed by it and think it's bad for the environment etc. It is for this reason that courses must be kept away from the public at large. Disc Golf is best played away from dangerous public spaces anyway. It is also better served if it is discovered and introduced to someone through friends and not by the guy who is trying to explain why his Xtra long driver hit somebody's kid in the neck! Sorry bad rant. Seems a few have complained enough to have the course snipped and we are left with an mpotent half course that is very confusing to navigate and enjoy. So sad.I really wish there was a naturalist who could explain that the wide open soccer fields do more environmental damage and cause more noise pollution than any disc golf course will. Oh thats right Soccer Clubs are well organized and funded.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 So Confusing

1    11/8/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: bwags75
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging holes
Cons: This was course number 3 for my brother and I, we were totally lost after hole 3, luckily a local, tom, stumbled upon us and guided us through the rest of the course. We were ready to give up, but were able to get through with the help.
Other Thoughts: Without better information or a map, maybe it should be shut down until better set up.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Windlestrae - Lots of Potential

1    10/18/2008   10/18/2008
Review By: JurkyBoy
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was nicely kept. The greens and fairway grass was kept cut and the individual hole maps made the baskets easy to find. There is a nice variety of holes, from open field holes to long, straight holes between two wooded areas and even one densely wooded hole. The scenery is gorgeous. Not very difficult to find shots that get away in the underbrush.
Cons: Only 9 holes exist in an area large enough to accommodate AT LEAST 18. Oddball "Hole 11" found on the path in-between holes 4 and 5. Most holes very short, 200-300 feet. Very, very long distance between holes 4 and 5 - probably a quarter mile or more!

There is no easy route across the creek between hole 6 and hole 7, causing a player to have to backtrack through 3 holes, cross the creek twice, and be just a little lucky to find hole 7.

THE VERY WORST PART... is that hole 9, the final hole, is no where NEAR hole #1, where your car will inevitably be parked. You need to walk the entire course backward after playing.
Other Thoughts: The course has a TON of potential. There is room for more holes in the field before hole 1, to the left of hole 3, in the woods between 5 and 6, and near hole 7. Bridges across the creek desperately needed for two areas near hole 4 and between holes 6 and 7.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs serious layout help

7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All the holes are marked with an illustrated map and estimated distance. Tee boxes are large red terracotta stone/gravel pads. Baskets are marked and have a large number indicator on the top. You'll definitely get your exercise on this course (not sure that's a pro.)
Cons: Where to begin... this course is in serious need of a layout designer. This is easily the longest short hole course I've ever played. All the holes play between 200-300ft. But the navigation distance between holes is easily 3-4 times that, and it's not always clearly marked (there are small wooden arrows pointing the way, but no distance indicated between holes.) Most of the holes play deep in the woods, and travel between holes can get hairy, crossing over a creek several times (no bridges on most crossings.) This course easily covers 20+ acres and it really doesn't need to. The real pisser was after finishing hole 9, I realized I was on the complete opposite side of the park, about a mile or so from my car. Also, no water on the course, and I would advise not playing this course close to dusk, if you're in the middle of the course when darkness falls, it's going to be a real pickle finding your way out.
Other Thoughts: This course apparently is going through some legal issues with the local community and the local government. I ran into a scout master who over saw the courses development, and was told that most of the holes were removed and replanted... I assume this is the cause of why this course is a major mess.

I really wanted to like this course, but it's in too much disarray to enjoy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Windlestrae

5+    7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 10/9/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the holes are very nicely designed; good variety of lengths and open/wooded holes; tee signs helpful
Cons: Sometimes hard to find next hole, especially when several are skipped; a couple of holes are very narrow and overgrown; some holes aren't mowed - check for ticks after walking through high grass
Update - holes much better marked with signs pointing to next tee now, and better general upkeep; unfortunately, looks like holes 1,2, 4 and 6 are now permanently shorter
Other Thoughts: A little like orienteering finding holes; it's a nice park and a good addition to Montco - way better than Ft. Washington; the gravel tees make the course play short compared to where the tee signs are - I liked the original tee positions better

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.