Disc Golf Store
Concord, NC 
North Cabarrus Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #3
4 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It will do.

5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well for me it's my home course. It's less than two miles down the road. Fairly short but some great shots that really make you think and put some touch on your throw. Hole three is a wide open par 4 that gives you a chance to really rip one without fear of losing it. Great warm up or short on time course!
Cons: While the course isn't usually to busy the park is usually decently filled with runners. There trail winds the course the whole way. During the winter it is very wet!
Other Thoughts: I play this course several times a week since it is close and I'm always short on time. I have heard it is suppose to become an 18 hole soon. I sure hope so!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Fun

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course pretty much floats b/w two extremes, wide open field hole or tight, technical wooded hole. The former is refreshingly longer (as opposed to deuce or die field holes at most 9-holers) while the latter is generally on the shorter side. Some of the nicest concrete tees I've ever played on and the tee signs are easy enough to track down although 1st timers may get turned around if they're not paying attention.

The nice thing about this course are the open holes, they actually have some length for you to air it out and try to reach the pin. One (hole #3) has a nice little creek that's kind of hidden from the tee, sneaky.

This is basically just a really fun way to kill some time in a beautiful park. Rec and lower Intermediate players will be moderately challenged but most players should deuce or die.

Words cannot express how nice this park is, they even had a sign telling you the air quality for the day.
Cons: The only complaint with hole # 3 is that at 473', it could be a bit of a NAGS (Not A Golf Shot) for some players that can reach 350' or so.

Hole #4 is a strange hole. Starts open, then you have to hit a hallway ~100' away that's flanked by a bamboo wall on the left and a wooded creek on the right. My first thought was layup at the gap, which is never a good sign for a <300' hole. Upon further review of the hole, there might actually be a line to the pin besides the most needle threading one straight down the fairway. Gaps in the canopy might make a spike hyzer feasible but be prepared to lose a disc in the creek if you fall short. The other problem with this hole is that it turns subtly but sharply, making half the hole completely blind from the tee. I had a jogger dude come straight down the fairway and if I had rifled a driver in there, it would not have been good. A sign warning park patrons not to jog down that path would be great.

Hole #6 is a dinky filler hole, but it's not terrible. There's enough trees, angle and distance to keep it from feeling completely like a jump putt and sometimes these awkwardly short holes can be tricky to power down on.

Mud can be a problem, much of this course plays alongside a nice creek that appears to overflow after heavy rains. Mud is actually invading the tee for hole #6, an erosion barrier might be nice in the future.

Hole #9 is a LHBH griplock away from getting the course pulled, there is playground right there and although there are some trees as a barrier, it looks quite permeable.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 holers I've ever played actually. If you're roadtripping through Charlotte and want to squeeze in a quick warm-up round, this is a great course for that. The fact the distances jumped up and down really helped keep the holes from feeling monotonous, a plague of most 9-holers.

Signature Hole: #4 although this is more for WTF? factor than anything.

Fave Hole: #8 is possibly the prettiest and most shaded hole on the course. It's a finesse BH turnover or anny that rewards good execution and punishes bad ones fairly. Just don't accidentally reach for a black snake when you go to pick your disc like my brother did.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 NoCab, not bad shootin out here

1    1/19/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have never believed that a 9 hole course could have as much variety as NoCab could deliver. Open shots, tight lines, some minor elevation, some distance and a short one or two. I can't believe I had never played there before.

North Cabarrus Park DGC is definately a 9 holer waiting for its second 9 to be whole. NoCab is equipped with bright yellow DisCatchers, two layers of chains, and deep baskets. Tee signs depict map, distance and par. Their location in relation to the tee pad isn't the most ideal(at the back/right corner) but is much better than where they are located in the pictures of the course(at the front/right corner). Tee boxes are concrete and of sufficient size. Tee boxes are level with the ground, well suited for extended run-ups.

Gravel paths seem to lead the way from basket to next tee. Not always a complete path to the next tee, but will lead you in the right direction.

NoCab has got an open bomb shot of 470', a tight 170' shot, and a good mix of wooded and open shots. Hole number 4 is a tough shot through a small gap, with about 175' of tunnel straight to the basket. Don't miss the gap or you're in trouble.
Cons: At least one of the holes seemed to be the incorrect distance listed on the tee sign(this could be just opinion, though). Holes one and two run end to end, seem about the same length, and differ about 50' in posted distance. Hole 1 seems to run about 270'. Hole 8 feels closer to just under 300', maybe. If you're good at judging distance by sight you'll know what I'm talking about.

9 holes with no alternate pins or tee pads do not allow you to play a unique 18 holes out here. 9 additional holes may be in the future for NoCab. The current layout wouldn't stop me from making my trek up from the QC every once in a while.

I would imagine in the right season there could be plenty of pedestrians walking along the length of the course(a walking trail runs along most of the course). Just keep a heads up.
Other Thoughts: By far, the best course in its immediate area, with lowely Dorton and (from what I hear) Kannapolis Rec Park the only other options.

North Cabarrus Park is a very nice park. I had that safe vibe the entire time. Well maintained and very clean. Grass was manicured and nothing was out of sorts. Yes, the power lines and towers take away from some of the beauty of the coures, but doesn't take away from the playing aspect.

TO FIRST TEE: Enter park and head to the back parking lot(by the pond). Take sidewalk between Magnolia Pavilion and vending machines and you are right there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Waiting for it to become an 18!

5+    8/3/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean park with amenities that include 2 full court basketball courts, several large picnic pavillions, a playground for the little tykes if you happen to bring them along, and walking/jogging trails: Its a good place for a family outing.

Restrooms are really close and clean. Easy to find the next hole, for the most part. Concrete tee-pads. Some of the holes are really challenging (like holes 4 and 8) and will test your skills. Several trashcans scattered throughout.
Cons: Its only a 9 hole course (for now) and there is just so much potential for this one.

No practice basket on this one. To me that's a con.

It can retain water, even days after a heavy rain.

I might be "nit-picky" on this but there are no benches at any of the 9 holes.

The tee-signs are at the front of the tee-pad which makes you wonder what the designer was smokin' when he decided on putting them there.

The tee-pads can tend to get alot of gravel on them which can make for uneasy footing on a drive.

The water hazard on hole #5. I have had to fish out discs that landed in this creek numerous times. Better bring an extra pair of shoes.
Other Thoughts: There has been talk about turning this into an 18 hole course in the future, and when/if they do there is no reason why this course couldnt be rated a 3.5 - 4 disc course. It certainly has the potential.

This course is where I landed my first ace, down on hole #6. Its a blind shot but it isn't too hard to get one on this hole.

Hole #4 is a straight tunnel shot to the basket. Most of my drives off of the tee-pad seem to always land in the thick bamboo right at the entrance of the "tunnel". I will admit that this hole is probably the most technical hole I have seen so far in my 1 year of playing DG.

I like this little technical course but I always find myself driving to Dorton Park to practice on instead of this one. Dorton Park is more "beginner friendly" and if you are looking for a course that is a "step up" to moderately harder for a noob, give North Cabarrus a shot!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner's Course

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A decent mix of open / wooded holes and a variety of distances (up to 475 ft).
- Nice variety of difficulty: a couple holes that would be challenging for advanced players as well as a few easier holes that would be good for beginners. For example -
--> Hole 4 could fit in at almost any championship-caliber course: a 275 tunnel shot that curves from right to left the whole way, with a small forest of bamboo on the left side of tunnel entrance.
--> Hole 9 is a greati finishing hole for a beginner course: a straight-ahead 310 footer in a clearing, with a dense line of brush lining the left side of the fairway.
- Nice hole maps on each tee pad (although distances seem a little off in places)
- Gravel walking paths between each hole
Cons: - It was a little tough to find the first hole from the parking lot.
- None of the park signs mentioned disc golf, so I might never have known there was a course there if I hadn't found it online first.
- The two longest holes were wide open shots across open, unmowed fields. To bring this course to the next level, a couple additional obstacles could be added to these holes to make them more challenging for advanced players.
- The creek lining the right side of the landing area on hole 5 seems a bit treacherous,especially for beginning players who might be learning to play the game at this course. Perhaps the short fence lining the right edge of the creek could be soldified or covered in mesh to prevent discs from going down the creek bank.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very nice beginner's course. I took my brother and his kids to this course to introduce them to the game and it was perfect for that purpose. The easier holes give a beginner a chance to "air it out" and the tougher holes show you the variety of shots and skill required to master the sport.

I've read here (and elsewhere) that the course may be expanded to 18 holes in the future - can't wait to see it!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.