Concord, NC
North Cabarrus Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #9
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful day, nasty course.

1    3/6/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful grounds, in general a very nice and clean park. Large concrete teepads were really appreciated today (see the rest of the review). Nice variety of shots needed, good practice for this beginner.
Cons: Very MUDDY and wet everywhere....almost as if it used to be swampland. Had a very hard time working on technique as we were slipping and sliding on almost every hole; I did wrench my back because of it on one shot. 2 women walking ahjead of us as we finished 7 and went to 8 were allowed to get ahead of us as we were catching our breath and getting a drink, but then they turned OFF the walking path and went right down the hole 7 fairway and green, directly in front of us, knowing we were playing yet they didn't care a bit and just took their own sweet time, delaying our progress for the 8, yes 8 minutes it took them to walk the 347 feet. very inconsiderate. Navigation was terrible; we walked the wrong way looking for tee # 6 when we had been 5 feet in front of it but couldn't see it for the undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: I did like the variety of shots this course requires. Lots of opportunities to practice hammer throws as I was constantly in the woods because I had a very hard time keeping my feet when throwing. I will play this course again, however, when I'm sure it's dry. Loved hole #4 with the bamboo tunnel and dogleg left along the creek.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole course

5+    9/27/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: scottlarson
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots. Half of the time you're in the woods and half the time your in the open field. Advanced players will stay entertained while beginners will not despair. Well maintained, safe park. All tee signs have been moved to the side or behind the pads. Funds are being raised to make this an 18 hole course.
Cons: I've never gotten par on hole 4 (par 3), and hole 6 is barely 100 ft (also par 3). Some holes get sloppy after it rains, but they pour gravel in the worst spots from time to time - still don't play after a big rain. Little elevation change, but that's because the whole park is fairly level to begin with. This park has tons people walking on the main loop. An errant throw could be dangerous, but you'd really have to shank one. Even though there are always people playing golf, some people still like to walk on the fairways. Had one group walking towards us on #6 take their sweet time, and just when we thought they were going to be out of our way, they stopped just in front of the tee to look at the creek.
Other Thoughts: First Tee is 150 feet directly behind the Bathrooms

Hole 1 - tee pad tilted uphill. Keep straight and under the Oak tree's branches and you'll be in good shape.

Hole 2 - throwing between two wooded areas then left to the hole. Beautiful for RHBH.

Hole 3 - par 4 - let 'r rip! If it just rained, make sure you get over the water in the ditch; It's not deep, but I've seen people lose their disc.

Hole 4 - Throw into the opening in the bamboo; do not stray from the path! Once you're in the woods, throw your straightest disc, keep it low, and say a prayer that it ends up puttable.

Hole 5 - Long slow left curve next to a creek. If you go right...your in the creek. If you throw a roller...your in the creek. If you go left you'll end up lumberjacking your way to the basket.

Hole 6 - 100 ft dogleg left to the basket. I figure they put this here to raise your spirits after the last 2 holes.

Hole 7 - par 4 - Grip and rip. Basket is just over the crest tof the hill. Easy to over-throw your approach.

Hole 8 - great for LHBH narrow dogleg right; gets wider the closer you get to the basket. Miss to the left if you can't stay in the clearing... at least then you'll still have a clear shot.

Hole 9 - level, open field with the basket straight ahead.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

5+    7/25/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: shtfox13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: North Cabarrus is a decent park. 9 holes with talk of plans of 9 more to finish out the full 18 in the next few years. This is a pretty challenging course but fun if you play a good bit ans short on time. Beginners beware as there are some very technical shots here. . Watch out for hole 4 with a tight bamboo fores left and right and a deep creek on the right side. I lost a disc here on one of my first games ever played. Creek also comes into play on hole 5. Has a decent mix of open shots and some in the woods. Also a set of trash and recycling cans at holes with concrete pads. ark is well maintained and has good clean bathrooms, grilling area, shelters, playground, and a huge phucking pond.
Cons: We can usually power play and finish in 25-30 minutes. This also a public park and many times have had bicyclist and runners on the fairways even though the park post caution signs for pedestrians in disk golf areas. Some of the holes seem just thrown in.
Other Thoughts: Very recently (beginning of July I think) they Band smoking in the park with a $50 fine. Overall an OK play but not worth going out of the way for. I play there a lot because its 10 min away but would rather play in Charlotte at hornet nest or Charlotte's web any day.

 

5+    5/18/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: Rythum55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short course, two wide open distant holes. Holes 4 and 5 are reasonably challenging.
Cons: Without holes 4 and 5 the course would be way too easy. A creek runs to the right of these holes, and the grass is high and makes it easy to loose you discs if you get off the narrow fairway.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little course

5+    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: DGancient
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find the next hole. Course is well maintained with plenty of trash cans. The baskets are in good shape with forgiving chains. Large concrete pads. A variety of shot types are possible. Wooded holes and open holes. A fun practice course. Not crowded at all.
Cons: Yardage on the signs for 1 and 2 are incorrect. Signs are missing on holes 6 & 7. Can stay pretty muddy on a few holes after a rainfall. Holes 4, 5, & 6 will often have pedestrians in the reverse direction (all 3 holes can hide these people from you. Be extra careful on hold 4).
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 par 3 - Sign shows it to be 215'. I measured down the center of the fairway, from the front of the tee to the front of the basket pole, using a 30' tape measure (yes, I marked each 30' increment into the ground). 276' 8" is what I came up with. The hole plays a little longer than this due to a slight increase in elevation from the tee to the basket, and because of a slightly inclined tee. Pretty straight hole. Don't throw too high. There are a couple branches that love to smack the discs back to the ground.

Hole 2 par 3 - Sign shows 265'. Measured 222'. This is a downhill ace run. Plays closer to 180' - 190'.

Hole 3 par 4 - 473' wide open shot. If you can drive 250+, you should be able to lay up pretty easy for a birdie. This hole must be a par 4 for the distance alone. Bombs away.

Hole 4 par 3 - Open fairway for the first 60' of what is shown to be a 279' hole. Then it tightens up pretty dramatically as it turns a little to the left. I have seen several players drive with their putter to make sure they are in the center of the fairway as the hole tightens. If you do this, it leave a very long approach shot which you must keep low and straight to reach the hole. I love to hate this hole as I have only made par around one out of ten tries. I have never seen a birdie on this hole, and have only heard of one person doing it from about 100' out. (This is the next one I want to measure)

Hole 5 par 3 - A good hole for RHBH. 240' to the hole with a straight drive before you let the disc fade to the left at the hole. Be careful you don't let go too late. There is a creek on the right side, which can carry your discs quite a distance when the water is high (doesn't seem to happen often).

Hole 6 par 3 - This hole has not had a sign since I started playing this course. The scorecard says it is 175'. Riiiiight!!! Can you putt 100'+? I measured this one as 124'2". A nice easy downhill throw to the left. If any hole should be a par 2, this would be the one. Easy deuce. Possible Ace.

Hole 7 par 3 - Someone must have gotten angry at himself after a bad drive. Sign was forcibly removed. Another wide open hole with the basket just past the crest of a small hill. This 347' open shot only has two challenges. Sometimes the wind will be pretty strong from left to right. If your approach is too long, you have an uphill put coming back.

Hole 8 par 3 - 340' dogleg to the right. A fairly tight fairway for the first half of the hole. As the hole turns to the right, it opens up pretty well. Try to stay in the fairway. If you smack a tree, you should hope you don't go more than 10' off the fairway. If you go farther than that, you will be testing your resistance to poison ivy.

Hole 9 par 3 - 310' straight ahead. Nuff said.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad option

1    4/8/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, large concrete tee pads. Signs that show hole number and distance. Good mix of wide open and wooded shots. Wooded holes are for the most part laid out well, and in a couple of cases offer a nice challenge. Get in the shule on #4 and you'll be searching for your disc for a while. Good course flow that brings you in a loop back to the parking area where you started. While course does play near the walking trail, there is not a place where I thought there could ever be an issue with other park users.
Cons: Better signs with hole layout would be nice, especially on the wooded holes where the basket is not visible from the tee. As stated in other reviews hole 6 is almost a waste. It is bordering on a long putt. My guess is they intentionally removed the sign so they didn't have to put the true distance in writing. The three holes (3, 7, 9) that were in the open were all just wide open field shots with no other challenges. No elevation or trees to make the shots interesting or fun. So with 3, 7, 9 and 6 being below average holes there just seems to be something missing here. Not enough good holes to make it a real worthy course.
Other Thoughts: While this course does offer a few well laid out wooded holes, overall it doesn't offer a ton of reasons to play it. The short hole and open holes would probably be good for newer players, but then there are a few wooded holes that would probably be too much challenge for someone just starting out. If they ever make this an 18 hole course maybe there will be enough good holes added to balance out the bad. Until then it's just an OK place to play. Probably nice to have if you live close by, but not worth a trip with so many options in the Charlotte area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My 3rd favorite 9 hole course

1    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Best pro was the course flow, sidewalks and gravel paths lead you right to the next tee.
- Easy to find park in and pleasant environment
- Restrooms, vending machines, grills, kids play areas.
- Surprisingly large concrete tee pads.
- Superb maintenance
- Variety in distances and hole layout.
- Bright Discatchers are easy to see and in great shape.
Cons: - Hole 6 is a super short ace run that kills the excitement from the too nice holes prior. Hole info says 175, but it seems more like a 90ft left hook. (sign is gone)
No alternate tees or basket locations were noticed., with alternate tees this course could have rivaled some of the best 9 holers I have played.
Other Thoughts: - Course opens at 9:00 during winter, in March it opens at 8:00. a sign warns that you can be prosecuted if you try to sneak in early or play after close.

- I looked over at the land where the next potential 9 could go, there is A LOT of potential with nice elevation changes and a good amount of land and foliage, when this is a 9 holer it can rival some of the area greats.

- Most maintenance is done by Sr. Ranger Doug Buckner, who seems to really care about the sport and would be interested in finding a local who would consider running a local club, kids clinic, or even giving input on the next 9 holes.

- When choosing what discs to bring consider:
1. 215 very slight left
2. 265 downhill with bush on the left, plays like a 220
3. 473 wide open
4. 279 through a tunnel of trees
5. 240 down stone path, blind shot with fence on the right. Wooded, but nice fairway.
6. super short hard left. Moderately wooded, but decent fairway.
7. 347 wide open over a hill.
8. 340 moderately wooded. Straight for about 180 ft then right turn.
9. 310 open and straight.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 NoCab, not bad shootin out here

1    1/19/2011   1/20/2011
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would have never believed that a 9 hole course could have as much variety as NoCab could deliver. Open shots, tight lines, some minor elevation, some distance and a short one or two. I can't believe I had never played there before.

North Cabarrus Park DGC is definately a 9 holer waiting for its second 9 to be whole. NoCab is equipped with bright yellow DisCatchers, two layers of chains, and deep baskets. Tee signs depict map, distance and par. Their location in relation to the tee pad isn't the most ideal(at the back/right corner) but is much better than where they are located in the pictures of the course(at the front/right corner). Tee boxes are concrete and of sufficient size. Tee boxes are level with the ground, well suited for extended run-ups.

Gravel paths seem to lead the way from basket to next tee. Not always a complete path to the next tee, but will lead you in the right direction.

NoCab has got an open bomb shot of 470', a tight 170' shot, and a good mix of wooded and open shots. Hole number 4 is a tough shot through a small gap, with about 175' of tunnel straight to the basket. Don't miss the gap or you're in trouble.
Cons: At least one of the holes seemed to be the incorrect distance listed on the tee sign(this could be just opinion, though). Holes one and two run end to end, seem about the same length, and differ about 50' in posted distance. Hole 1 seems to run about 270'. Hole 8 feels closer to just under 300', maybe. If you're good at judging distance by sight you'll know what I'm talking about.

9 holes with no alternate pins or tee pads do not allow you to play a unique 18 holes out here. 9 additional holes may be in the future for NoCab. The current layout wouldn't stop me from making my trek up from the QC every once in a while.

I would imagine in the right season there could be plenty of pedestrians walking along the length of the course(a walking trail runs along most of the course). Just keep a heads up.
Other Thoughts: By far, the best course in its immediate area, with lowely Dorton and (from what I hear) Kannapolis Rec Park the only other options.

North Cabarrus Park is a very nice park. I had that safe vibe the entire time. Well maintained and very clean. Grass was manicured and nothing was out of sorts. Yes, the power lines and towers take away from some of the beauty of the coures, but doesn't take away from the playing aspect.

TO FIRST TEE: Enter park and head to the back parking lot(by the pond). Take sidewalk between Magnolia Pavilion and vending machines and you are right there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, decent course

1    10/17/2010   10/21/2010
Review By: uncjibble
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I liked that there were wooded and open holes. Often you have courses that are all wide open, or all narrow. This course had some wide open ones where you could really try to bomb it, and some really really narrow holes with an extremely tight line. I thought it was nice having a little of both and it made up for some of the repetitive design Some were easy 2's, some difficult pars. The course was fairly well maintained.
Cons: Took forever to find the first hole, no signage whatsoever. (its behind the pond and building on the right of the parking lot when you drive in FYI). Some of the holes could use a little more creativity in design. It seemed like it was either a straight shot on the wide open holes, or a dog leg left.
Other Thoughts: For a nine hole course, this was a good course, I would say its a pretty average course overall.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/23/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean and safe park. Not hard to navigate once you find the first tee. The wooded holes make it more challenging because of the tight fairways. Not crowded. Concrete tee pads are very nice.
Cons: The signs in front of the tee pads are annoying, I hope they get moved *Edit- I have been informed the signs have been moved and I am happy to hear it.* The powerline towers take away from the beauty of the park.
Other Thoughts: If this turns into a 18 hole course i would like to redo my review. I think the numerous courses in the Charlotte area keep the traffic down on this 9 holer. If you land in the creek it shouldn't be too hard to get your disc back but it is a steep bank. My recomendation- this a nice practice course or a place for beginners to start out on.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.