Concord, NC 
North Cabarrus Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #1
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

1    10/23/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean and safe park. Not hard to navigate once you find the first tee. The wooded holes make it more challenging because of the tight fairways. Not crowded. Concrete tee pads are very nice.
Cons: The signs in front of the tee pads are annoying, I hope they get moved *Edit- I have been informed the signs have been moved and I am happy to hear it.* The powerline towers take away from the beauty of the park.
Other Thoughts: If this turns into a 18 hole course i would like to redo my review. I think the numerous courses in the Charlotte area keep the traffic down on this 9 holer. If you land in the creek it shouldn't be too hard to get your disc back but it is a steep bank. My recomendation- this a nice practice course or a place for beginners to start out on.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Deceptively difficult

2-4    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 78  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.4 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice mix of difficult and easy holes. It keeps you on your toes a bit because you quickly go from wide-open shots (3 and 7) to tight, wooded shots (4 and 8). You can never get too comfortable playing here.

- There are nice, long concrete tee pads for each hole, which is a plus on a 9-hole course.

- Navigation is helped on a few holes with gravel walkways leading up to the next tee.

- The park is very nice with tons of walking trails, a couple of basketball courts, a nice-sized pond, and a playground area.
Cons: - Personally, I think #4 is too difficult for a par 3. You tee off at an open area that's maybe 100 feet to a narrow tunnel of woods that curves to the left and is flanked by a bamboo forest at the entrance. You're forced to try to shoot the tunnel to have any kind of chance at birdie and a decent chance at par, but it's almost impossible to do that without a perfect shot every time. If you "go for it," you're putting yourself at risk for losing that disc in the bamboo. I've searched for discs in there numerous times and have seen snakes in doing so. Luckily, I've always found my disc without any further ado, but it's almost not even worth it to "go for it." I really wish this hole were a bit longer and a par 4, but I guess 4 just seemed a bit much at the current length.

- As mentioned before, the distances are way off on the tee signs. I'm not sure what happened there - maybe the course was designed differently and the hole distances weren't updated for the new locations.

- I'm glad someone mentioned the gravel on the tee pads already, because that's quite frustrating for me - particularly on hole 3 when you really need a power shot with a good run-up. I praised the gravel walkways leading from basket to tee on some holes, but I really feel like they should have cut those off about 5-10 feet in front of the next tee. They actually run right up onto the tee, so of course the gravel is going to get kicked onto and all over the tee pad. That was poor design. It definitely makes for some sliding and slipping when you're teeing off, and that's the last thing you need to be worried about at that point.

- The numerous power towers along the open area around holes 3 and 4 detract from the course's beauty in my opinion. That can't really be helped, but it does stand out.
Other Thoughts: - This course is deceptively difficult for a 9-holer. #4 and #8 seem to punish me every time, and the length of #3 and #7 - the open holes - even throws me off sometimes. However, it just feels like something is missing every time I play here. Although there is variety with the hole difficulty, I don't feel like there's enough overall variety to make more than a couple of holes stand out. Maybe once it gets expanded to 18, that will be remedied.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Waiting for it to become an 18!

5+    8/3/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: chain-addicted
Played: 43  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/19/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean park with amenities that include 2 full court basketball courts, several large picnic pavillions, a playground for the little tykes if you happen to bring them along, and walking/jogging trails: Its a good place for a family outing.

Restrooms are really close and clean. Easy to find the next hole, for the most part. Concrete tee-pads. Some of the holes are really challenging (like holes 4 and 8) and will test your skills. Several trashcans scattered throughout.
Cons: Its only a 9 hole course (for now) and there is just so much potential for this one.

No practice basket on this one. To me that's a con.

It can retain water, even days after a heavy rain.

I might be "nit-picky" on this but there are no benches at any of the 9 holes.

The tee-signs are at the front of the tee-pad which makes you wonder what the designer was smokin' when he decided on putting them there.

The tee-pads can tend to get alot of gravel on them which can make for uneasy footing on a drive.

The water hazard on hole #5. I have had to fish out discs that landed in this creek numerous times. Better bring an extra pair of shoes.
Other Thoughts: There has been talk about turning this into an 18 hole course in the future, and when/if they do there is no reason why this course couldnt be rated a 3.5 - 4 disc course. It certainly has the potential.

This course is where I landed my first ace, down on hole #6. Its a blind shot but it isn't too hard to get one on this hole.

Hole #4 is a straight tunnel shot to the basket. Most of my drives off of the tee-pad seem to always land in the thick bamboo right at the entrance of the "tunnel". I will admit that this hole is probably the most technical hole I have seen so far in my 1 year of playing DG.

I like this little technical course but I always find myself driving to Dorton Park to practice on instead of this one. Dorton Park is more "beginner friendly" and if you are looking for a course that is a "step up" to moderately harder for a noob, give North Cabarrus a shot!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Wasn't Thrilled With This Course!

1    7/18/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Sorry, but this course does not get my approval. I wasn't happy with the overall design. The concrete teepads are great, grooved for traction. Nice baskets and very informative tee signs. I like the design of two holes; #2 a 265 ft. downhill with a slight hyser and # 8, a 340 ft. hyser through the trees.
Cons: First of all, I had a hard time finding # 1. I had to walk all over. A sign of some kind would be nice. I thought the three open field holes were pretty boring and unimaginitive. Starting at # 4, there were three holes in a row where the risk/reward wasn't worth it for me. # 4 was 279 ft. straight tunnell shot with tall, deep rough on both sides. Playing by myself, I didn't feel like taking the chance of losing a disc or spending a lot of time looking for it. And then # 5 is a 240 ft. hole with the creek on the right side. Another hole where the risk/reward just wasn't worth it for me. Then # 5 plays along the same creek. One carom off a tree and you're climbing over the fence and fishing for your disc.
Other Thoughts: I don't see this as a good beginner course at all. I think the middle three holes would be frustrating to any newbie. If I was going to bring someone out for the first time, I'd take them to Dorton. They'd enjoy that course much more. Although anyone past the level of beginner would probably rather play here, except me. I'll pass on this course.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner's Course

1    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Dwiggy444
Played: 57  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A decent mix of open / wooded holes and a variety of distances (up to 475 ft).
- Nice variety of difficulty: a couple holes that would be challenging for advanced players as well as a few easier holes that would be good for beginners. For example -
--> Hole 4 could fit in at almost any championship-caliber course: a 275 tunnel shot that curves from right to left the whole way, with a small forest of bamboo on the left side of tunnel entrance.
--> Hole 9 is a greati finishing hole for a beginner course: a straight-ahead 310 footer in a clearing, with a dense line of brush lining the left side of the fairway.
- Nice hole maps on each tee pad (although distances seem a little off in places)
- Gravel walking paths between each hole
Cons: - It was a little tough to find the first hole from the parking lot.
- None of the park signs mentioned disc golf, so I might never have known there was a course there if I hadn't found it online first.
- The two longest holes were wide open shots across open, unmowed fields. To bring this course to the next level, a couple additional obstacles could be added to these holes to make them more challenging for advanced players.
- The creek lining the right side of the landing area on hole 5 seems a bit treacherous,especially for beginning players who might be learning to play the game at this course. Perhaps the short fence lining the right edge of the creek could be soldified or covered in mesh to prevent discs from going down the creek bank.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very nice beginner's course. I took my brother and his kids to this course to introduce them to the game and it was perfect for that purpose. The easier holes give a beginner a chance to "air it out" and the tougher holes show you the variety of shots and skill required to master the sport.

I've read here (and elsewhere) that the course may be expanded to 18 holes in the future - can't wait to see it!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 north cabbarus course reveiw

5+    6/26/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Avenger4ThaAce
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very well upkept , desriptive hole marquis,layed out of holes are great,tight fairways,free disc rental available (ask for ranger roids or deputy dog). nice disc catchers.
Cons: when it rains it tends to get muddy,tree overhangs can be a problem as well as overgrown shrub left of hole 4,only 9 holes,disc loss is an often occuring factor throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: overall a semi challenging course but fun.its a easy course to find and usually not crowded.ONE NATION UNDER PAR!!!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course within a beautiful park

8/5/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. The park is clean and very beautiful. The signs are very detailed with sturdy metal posts. The tees are large concrete pads with plenty of grip. The baskets are Innova Discatchers that are in excellent condition with crushed gravel paths leading from the green to either the next tee or the walking path. Those that tees that are off of the path have a gravel path leading to them, which makes navigation flawless. There are a variety of shots that are represented by the layout. 3 of the holes are in the open with no obstacles. Holes #1, #5, and #8 are excellent and could be on any quality course. Hole # 1 is a reachable basket 215ft from the tee. The hole is protected by thick brush to the right. Hole # 5 has a fence bordering a creek on the right side of the fairway . The basket is to the left, giving an excellent risk vs. reward. The shortest hole on the course is the 175 ft #6. It gives an excellent opportunity for an ace if you can get your disc to turn left enough .Hole # 8 is straight through the woods for about 230ft with a right turn to the basket. It is an excellent hole.

Cons: The signs are right off of the front corner of the tee. This could present a problem for some players, especially right handed forehand throwers. Hole #4, and even #2, have thick brush that can be a tough penalty to errant shots from tee to green. The drive for #4 is straight under a power-line tower and can be brutal if inaccurate into the brush. #6 seems too short, but it is still fun. I can't wait to see the rest of the holes. Where are the other 9 holes and when are they coming? This is too good of a course to be just 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: The speed limit in the park is 19mph. Why 19? Why not 13? The number seems arbitrary and really made me laugh. I was in love with the park as I drove in. Needs to be in the PDGA Course Directory, which it is not.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 North Cabarrus Park DGC

5+    8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: jedwards
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fair variety of easy and challenging holes.
- Baskets - Nice, new baskets make for a pleasurable experience. The only problem is the cavernous holes left around the posts which tend to swallow discs.
- Tee Pads - The tee pads are concrete and nicely kept. Loose gravel from the walking trail can make for a slippery throw.
- Tee Signs/Maps/Markers - Great tee signs. A lot of attention was paid to the amount of detail provided for each hole. Course flow is easily followed.
- General Course Design - In general, the course was well thought out. One would have to assume that if the course is indeed made into an 18 hole course that several holes will change.
Cons: There is really only one hole (Hole #2) with an elevation change, and it is pretty insignificant. Would like to see more variety of elevation when transformed in to an 18 hole course.
- Holes 3, 7 & 9 almost seem like temporary holes due to their complete lack of obstacles. I like the occasional open hole, but at least one tree would be nice.
- Hole 5 can be very challenging to the left-handed player. Just over the split rail fence lies a shallow creek that runs along the right side of the fairway - Bring your trunks.
Other Thoughts: The park is very clean and easy to find. The course is rarely crowded which makes for a quick round. Can't wait to see how the course turns out when finished.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9-holer course makes you want 18

5+    7/5/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of the better 9-hole courses in the region. Tons of room to play, and plenty of potential to expand to 18 holes.
- Good variety of holes - 6 holes are wooded, 3 are in open field. A couple of the wooded holes are really tight and challenging.
- Great tee signs- very descriptive and point you to the next hole. Had no problem navigating the course.
- Large tee pads. Always a big plus.
- Great, clean park with pond, trails, picnic shelters, playground, basketball court, open fields for sports, bathrooms.
- #3 is the perfect hole to unload the bag to practice throwing drives.
Cons: Distances on tee signs don't seem accurate on a couple holes. For example #1 is listed at 215, but it's closer to the 300 ft range.
- The open holes (#3, 7 & 9) are wide open in fields, with no obstacles at all. Having one hole like that is ok, but 3 on a 9 hole course is a bit much.
- #4 is a high risk "lost disc" potential. Tall, thick rough on both sides of the fairway as your tee shot enters the woods. I've found it's safer throwing a straighter and shorter disc than throwing a driver with the risk of it going into the rough.
- #4 & 5 have tight fairways. I won't say they're unfair, but definetly less natural, and less forgiving than most you'll see. Going from wide open holes to extremely tight ones, gives you both ends of the spectrum, and not necessarily in a good way.
Other Thoughts: Course more than holds its own. It isn't difficult, but it's no walkover either. You have to be on your game to make birdies, but can recover from a poor tee shot on most holes to make par.
- The course does a good job using the limited trees and wooded areas.
- I'm not a fan of #3 at all. It's a wide-open, 473 foot par 3 hole. Unless you throw at least 400 feet, you're never going to have a chance at birdie. For the casual, average person who throws in the 250 - 300 foot range, it means you still have 200 feet to throw your second shot just to save par. Also, the wide-open field throws off your depth-perception, making it easy to sail your shots by the hole. This either needs to be 50 feet longer and a par 4 or 75 shorter and a more reasonable par 3.
- I'd probably rate this a 2.5 - 3 if it were a full 18, and the other 9 holes were comparable to the current 9.
- This is a great overall park. With all the other amenities, it's a good place to bring the whole family while you play.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.