Concord, NC 
Vietnam Veterans Park Share
Uploaded By: jedwards Hole #9
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Decent 9 hole course

5+    6/3/2014   6/4/2014
Review By: Khilty
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
Pros: This is a good course to just run through and brush up, it offers a few long shots 3,7&9 and the rest of the course is in the woods. Good sinage easy to navigate. Ace hole on 6, easy ace if you throw right. Usually not crowded
Cons: No benches at tee pads, not a lot of variation. The jogging trail runs through the dg course and can sometimes be a factor.
Other Thoughts: Like the title says its a decent 9 hole course that plays well and you can run through it fast.

Decent little course

1    8/16/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Within 5 minutes of I-85
- For being a beginner course, decent lengths on a majority of the holes. (It averages 294').
- Mix of open and wooded holes.
- Nice, clean park
- Decent signs (distance and next hole location - but park isn't that difficult to navigate).
Cons: - Some of the open holes are boring
- only 1 tee pad (so you can't turn into 18 different tee shots - although if you played it enough, I'm sure you could find/make "pro" pads).
- Minimal disc golf amenities (benches, etc).
- Some holes in close proximity to other park amenities.
- Times - park doesn't open early.
Other Thoughts: So - I wouldn't necessarily recommend this, BUT, *EDITED OUT*

I was itching to play, so I checked this course out. I had minimal expectations. There are so many other courses to choose from - definitely not a destination course. I liked holes 1, 5 and 8. I would have liked 4, except I was thinking "don't throw right, there's water, don't throw right" and guess where I threw my first shot (since I started play on 4). 7 and 9 are open field shots (boring, IMO). 3 at least has some distance for being an open field shot. Convenient enough to be a warm-up course (or to play it to mark it off the list). If I lived in one of the houses across the street, I would play it often. If I had beginners, I would recommend they try to course - otherwise check out other, better courses. Additional tees, and 9 "quality" holes would have gained another half point each. For what it was, it's reasonable.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good warm up course

1    6/3/2012   3/31/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to learn the game of disc golf.
There is one ace hole.
Also, there's one big bomber hole over 400 ft.
Course is quick to play if you don't have much time.
Mix of wide open and wooded holes.
Course is easy to navigate.
Course is well maintained at all times.
Course is in a safe area.
Course has restrooms. Playgrounds, vending machines, and other amenities.
Cons: Joggers can get in the way at times.
Only 9 holes.
Not much of a variety of shots needed.
No elevation change.
Course can get muddy after rain.
Other Thoughts: If you live nearby, its a good course to play as a warm up or if you are short on time. One of the better 9 hole courses in the area. It's a step up from Dorton in my opinion. Course is most suited for RHBH players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 Holer!!

5+    11/17/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Commish
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice long holes. Couple of wide open holes. A short hole thats ace-able! Nice concrete tees.
Cons: JOGGERS!! There is an actual jogging path, but these runners think the disc golf course is their path!! They will run right by you as your are running up the tee box to throw. Other than that, nothin!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Strictly 9-TuneUp

5+    10/6/2012   10/27/2012
Review By: St0rmbringer
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Work right and left turns. Work on threading the needle. Give it a ride on #3 and #7 (unless you're a disc cannon).
Mix of open and wooded. Never crowded.
Cons: This summer, the over-abundance of rain has done TWO nasty things to this course: ditches are full but can't hold all the water -- the viny undergrowth grows a foot a day.
Other Thoughts: Course was originally planned to be 18.
Parks Dept ran out of funds before they finished.
Plans to finish the course have been shelved. Instead, a championship-quality course is slated for nearby Frank Liske Park. Reportedly, 18 holes with two longer than 800'.
Don't dis N Cabarrus. It's a really good 9-hole. It's not Bradford or Brackett's but it's not Dorton either.
Park closes at 5 in the winter and 8 in the summer.
BIG NEWS! As a result of suggestions made by tournament participants, #4 has had the left side bamboo trimmed! It's still tough, but possible.

By the way, there have been 4 unsanctioned, but fun tournaments here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It will do.

5+    8/9/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: mlondon89
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well for me it's my home course. It's less than two miles down the road. Fairly short but some great shots that really make you think and put some touch on your throw. Hole three is a wide open par 4 that gives you a chance to really rip one without fear of losing it. Great warm up or short on time course!
Cons: While the course isn't usually to busy the park is usually decently filled with runners. There trail winds the course the whole way. During the winter it is very wet!
Other Thoughts: I play this course several times a week since it is close and I'm always short on time. I have heard it is suppose to become an 18 hole soon. I sure hope so!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warm Up for the Big Boys

1    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun layout in a great park setting. North Cabarrus provides a great warm-up for a day of disc golf in Charlotte. Demands accuracy, but there are a couple of open holes, including one that you can open up a bit (nothing high speed, but it IS over 400 feet). Still not for big arms, but not as short as Dorton Park.

The layout is pretty easy to follow -- I only got turned around once, and that was because I wasn't paying attention. Good signage, good tee pads.
Cons: Only nine holes (which is supposed to change soon, I guess).

Other Thoughts: I played North Cabarrus as a warm-up, so it was pretty early in the day. I had the course to myself, which was nice -- I was able to really warm up, and throw multiple shots on most of the holes. My GPS took me the wrong way because of construction on Orphanage Road (you have to get onto Orphanage Rd and head west to get to the park, which means turning right as you get off 85N).

North Cab and Dorton Park have the disadvantage of being in Charlotte, among courses like Renny and Hornet's Nest. In that way, the two nine holers don't quite measure up -- there's only so much you can do with a nine hole layout, after all. There's really not much that can be done short of completing the back nine to bump this course up. It really has everything I want from a nine hole course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 DG in a park

1    5/11/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a solid 9 holer in a nice city park with a parky park feel.

Layout - The course does give you a mixture of hole types; some open, some wooded, some tightish gap hitters, some you have to work the disc a bit. A couple holes do a fairly good job of creating risk/reward by making the gap you're hitting kinda tight and giving you thick brush and OB to worry about.

The course flows well, it's pretty obvious where to go next and it takes you in a loop back to the parking lot where you started.

I like how it does give you one really big bomber hole, you never really see that on these types of city park 9 holers. There's a couple of really good holes out there. I'd say it's a good course to stop and warm up or if you're strapped for time or just in the area.

Equipment - Newer baskets and really nice large concrete teepads that are flush with the ground, maybe the best pads I've ever seen at a 9 holer. Nice signage that explains the holes.

Atmosphere - It's got that city park feel but it's a super nice city park, looks on the newer side with a good looking pond in the middle of it.
Cons: Layout - It's a pretty short course with the exception of two open holes (#3 and #7) so it doesn't really offer that much of a challenge. Plus the open holes were just open and no little thing extra in there that made them stand out.

They did a good job of working with what they had but it's not a course that will leave you wanting more; I wouldn't go out there just to play it even if I lived 10 minutes from there.

The wooded holes leave a lot to be desired, basically just straighter shots, a few have some shot shaping. The greens and basket locations aren't anything to write home about either.

#4 to me is just ridiculous, they're asking a lot out of a blind shot with thick brush on one side and a creek on the other. The hole is just at an odd angle and for a course like this it made me just want to lay up at the opening and take a 3.

#6 - has got to be the shortest hole in Charlotte, will probably get aced by a million people and be covered in sharpie.

The other thing that really doesn't do it for me is how flat the course is, I like elevation and you won't find it here.

Atmosphere - I tend to lean towards courses with a more secluded feel and this isn't it. You're just another person in the park and I saw a lot of joggers running near holes. It's a nice looking park but not the kind of omg this disc golf course is magnificent kind of look.

The course is also really prone to flooding and holds water terribly because it's so flat.
Other Thoughts: I stopped here on my way in to Charlotte and was glad I did, I got warmed up for a big day of playing much tougher courses. I'd say it's a great warm up course, good for beginners or if you're just in the area.

Holes I liked -

#3 - It's not a great hole but you get to rip one as hard as you can.

#8 - it's a lejit disc golf hole, makes you shape a shot for 300ish feet. really enjoyed that one.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Fun

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course pretty much floats b/w two extremes, wide open field hole or tight, technical wooded hole. The former is refreshingly longer (as opposed to deuce or die field holes at most 9-holers) while the latter is generally on the shorter side. Some of the nicest concrete tees I've ever played on and the tee signs are easy enough to track down although 1st timers may get turned around if they're not paying attention.

The nice thing about this course are the open holes, they actually have some length for you to air it out and try to reach the pin. One (hole #3) has a nice little creek that's kind of hidden from the tee, sneaky.

This is basically just a really fun way to kill some time in a beautiful park. Rec and lower Intermediate players will be moderately challenged but most players should deuce or die.

Words cannot express how nice this park is, they even had a sign telling you the air quality for the day.
Cons: The only complaint with hole # 3 is that at 473', it could be a bit of a NAGS (Not A Golf Shot) for some players that can reach 350' or so.

Hole #4 is a strange hole. Starts open, then you have to hit a hallway ~100' away that's flanked by a bamboo wall on the left and a wooded creek on the right. My first thought was layup at the gap, which is never a good sign for a <300' hole. Upon further review of the hole, there might actually be a line to the pin besides the most needle threading one straight down the fairway. Gaps in the canopy might make a spike hyzer feasible but be prepared to lose a disc in the creek if you fall short. The other problem with this hole is that it turns subtly but sharply, making half the hole completely blind from the tee. I had a jogger dude come straight down the fairway and if I had rifled a driver in there, it would not have been good. A sign warning park patrons not to jog down that path would be great.

Hole #6 is a dinky filler hole, but it's not terrible. There's enough trees, angle and distance to keep it from feeling completely like a jump putt and sometimes these awkwardly short holes can be tricky to power down on.

Mud can be a problem, much of this course plays alongside a nice creek that appears to overflow after heavy rains. Mud is actually invading the tee for hole #6, an erosion barrier might be nice in the future.

Hole #9 is a LHBH griplock away from getting the course pulled, there is playground right there and although there are some trees as a barrier, it looks quite permeable.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best 9 holers I've ever played actually. If you're roadtripping through Charlotte and want to squeeze in a quick warm-up round, this is a great course for that. The fact the distances jumped up and down really helped keep the holes from feeling monotonous, a plague of most 9-holers.

Signature Hole: #4 although this is more for WTF? factor than anything.

Fave Hole: #8 is possibly the prettiest and most shaded hole on the course. It's a finesse BH turnover or anny that rewards good execution and punishes bad ones fairly. Just don't accidentally reach for a black snake when you go to pick your disc like my brother did.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 decent

5+    5/10/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 225  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has great teepads and signage.

There is a lot of variety of woods and open shots with some minor elevation change on the first two holes.

It seems well kept up overall by the staff of the park. I enjoy 7/9 holes on the course.
Cons: Holes 4 and 6 are kinda downers. for starters 4 is an odd line that is what I think is the perfect example of a tweener hole. It turns at an odd angle and then goes straight for 200 feet. I have never seen anyone get within 150' of this pin.

Hole 6 is just a filler hole that takes away from the rest of the course imo. it is just a short upshot around a corner and seems to kill the vibe of the round.

This course can be VERY muddy after a rainstorm.

Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9 holers i have played however holes 4 &6 are just buzzkills for me. I think that if you are in this area you are better served to drive 10 more min to Bradford park which is a very solid course. Unless you are a courses played junky this one is not a destination course.

The eventual Move to 18 holes(which acourding to P&R will not happen in the next few years) may make this course more worth the while

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.