Palmyra, MO
Flower City DGC Share
Uploaded By: green_hornet915 Hole #11 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Confusing Course

1    4/20/2013   4/24/2013
Review By: Cowboy Perfect
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mixture of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Well maintained.
Cons: No concrete tees, hard to find where the tee is.
Other Thoughts: I spent more time looking for the tee than I did playing. The signs were easy enough to find, but most of the time they were not near the tee. The only thing around to show you where the tee is are tiny concrete markers, but not all the holes had them. Hole 9, in particular, had it's white tee 50 feet away from the sign.

Make the tees/signs less confusing and you have a pretty decent course that is great for beginners and long time players alike.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/28/2011   3/23/2012
Review By: Jintaq
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: Wide open spaces. No real traffic to throw near. Beautiful woods.
Cons: Layout is a little bizarre at times and poorly marked. Not as much variety as other nearby courses.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, yet it is just not as good as 2 other courses in a drive nearby.

 

2-4    5/21/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: mostanno
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some long holes for the big arms as well as some birdie and Ace runs. Uses the elevation to the most part, shooting downhills and up some hills. Lots of people at the park but they really did not come into play.
The course was very well maintained, clean and the grass was thick but cut short. Good baskets.
Room for alternate pin placement. Was easy to find way around once you played it, but I had a map.
Cons: NO CONCRETE PADS!! It's been addressed in most reviews, but with them it would greatly improve this course. Need to at least place them on the white tees. Not sure why they placed the hole signs at the red tees. Have to walk way up to see the sign to get info, the walk back to white tees. I didn't hit any of the signs, but if you do, it's going to put one major gouge in your disc. Dumb sign placement. Looong walk from hole 9 to 10. Was hard to find hole #3 basket.
Need some trash cans on at least a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Going to be top notch once they put in concrete pads and move the signage. Would like to play it again once they have real pads.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Design

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some nice elevation change throughout the course. White (long) tees are fairly easy to find and were where I played from.

The course has some length that will allow even highly skilled golfers to unleash some big drives. Several holes over 400 feet and several more in that 280-360 range. Hole 7 is a nice looking 280 foot snaking downhiller that requires a good shot through the trees. About 9 of the 18 are somewhat interesting holes that demand good shots to take birdies.
Cons: Overall, this course is pretty boring and not fun to play. The grass tees are often not level and were difficult to throw from in the morning dew. Alot of unecessary walking back and forth is required due to a poor design. The biggest disappointment is that severl of the pins could be extended to areas that would have made them great holes. Instead the best sections of the park are left mostly untapped. Hole 12 was the best example of this in my mind. A nice little turnover 280 foot downhill shot to the crest of a hill. But when you get to the pin and look how far the hill goes down into the woods, its mind boggling why they wouldn't have put a pin down there. Instead you walk down the hill to the next tee. Often there is a bit of a walk in between holes which is perplexing. Why not just use every inch of the park instead of spending all this time walking just to play a wide open hole? The fact that most of the holes offer few obstacles contributes to the lack of fun factor.
Other Thoughts: With a redesign to better utilize all sections of the park and eliminate the long walks, this could be a 4/5 course I believe. Also, the signs should be next to the white tees. Those wishing to play the reds could then walk forward to the tee instead of the current situation where you walk to the sign and see where the white tee is and then backtrack.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I enjoyed this course...

1    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 33.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading the other reviews, most of the cons pointed out have been addressed, except the desire for concrete tees. The park and course are very well maintained. It`s a big park so the course is spread out nicely. A nice mix of long and short holes with some elevation changes. There were a lot of people in the park when I played but they were never in play. I never had to yell, "FORE".
Theres a lot of signage on the course, the white tees are easy to find. The red tees are just the area near the hole sign. There are a few hole in one opportunities if you have a long accurate drive, I do not, LOL.
Cons: The only real con was that though there was a lot of signage/directions on the course, some was innacurate or misleading. Particularly holes #5 & #9, the basket is not where the sign indicates. On the front nine when they thought there might be a problem finding the next tee, they put up a "to next tee" sign. On the back nine there are no such signs and the course can be hard to follow. To find hole #10 I had to go back to the main course directory. Then I had to backtrack from the basket on #13 to find the tees and baskets for 11&12. If not for this problem, I`d have rated the course a 4.
Other Thoughts: WORTH THE DRIVE

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Flower City

1    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a nice course. There is a good mix of long and short shots. The skill set needed for the course makes it good for beginners yet being challenging enough for more experienced players.
Cons: The location for the red tees was easily found but I didn't want to play the short tees. I therefore spent too much time figuring out where the white tees should be. The layout left a little to be desired, causing one to cross other hole's lines of play. Bring a copy of the course's map because the layout is quite confusing without it.
Other Thoughts: If the designer would make a few changes to make the holes more contiguous, mark all the tees and install concrete tees, I could easily see this becoming a 4 rated course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Improvements

5+    4/13/2000   8/6/2008
Review By: mccrazy11
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i played after a long winter and they have done a lot of work to the course of that time...they got all the signs in, the now have white intermediate tee markers so you can find your way to the tees easily, and the grass is well taken care of
Cons: the course is hard to find your way around but its set and if you havnt played herer bring the map

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to play

7/23/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: dcdiscgolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout was good. Lots of open area to throw in. Rolling hills with some finesse shots on a few holes.
Cons: Signs need to be put up and a map somewhere to look at. But in their defense, it is still a course being put into place.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful location and easy to find with my GPS.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.