Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #5 (Taken 8/2011)
5 / 273ft.   3 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course but...oh the navigation.

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: - An excellent mix of long and short holes but overall a very long course.
- Elevation. Very rarely - even in Michigan - do you see elevation put to such fantastic use.
- Tightly wooded to wide open holes. All sorts of options for line shaping either right or left.
- Rediculously challenging with a very high risk/reward factor. Errant shots are sometimes brutally punished with the rough.
- Some truly unique holes. 10 comes to mind as a insane downhill short hole that will punish throws that go too far.
- Pin placements are well done and difficult. The roll aways and slopes surrounding the baskets means you better bring your "A" putting game.
- Fantastic concrete tee pads. FInished nicely, level and in good shape.
- Nicely mowed fairways.
- Bring your freaking A game.
Cons: - Navigation is a disaster and will hopefully be fixed soon. This is the single biggest issue for me. It is extremely easy to become totally lost between holes. Occationally, there are rocks with arrows pointing to the next hole. But even then, there just isn't enough of them. I cannot stress enough how important it is to bring either a map or play with someone who is familiar with the course.
- Not a beginner friendly course - AT ALL. Not sure if this is a con or not but there it is.
- The rough is ROUGH. The vegitation is almost too thick to be reasonable. Some places like #2 is praire grass disc golf HELL. Come prepared for this by not playing alone. I can't even imagine playing the majority of these holes without at least one spotter. In fact, I would even recommend playing in a foursome so getting 2 or 3 spotters down the fairway is practicle.
- #17's fairway is just plain unfair. Yeah I managed to get to the fairway but come on. Someone needs to get themselves jazzed up on some Red Bull and go nuts with a chainsaw on this hole.
- Tee signs. Where are they? There are cool little indentations in the concrete tees indicating distance but a regular tee sign would be a big improvement especially with navigation to the long tees and shorts.
- Flow is not terrible but not great either. Some of the walks between holes are fairly long. Not the longest I've ever seen (that designation belongs to Andrews University) but it was a little surprising.
Other Thoughts: I am torn with this course. I really really want to give this a 4.5 but the navigation issues are really holding my score back. This to me could easily be a 4.5 with some signs and tee signs installed. Throw in alternate basket locations, make some of the fairways more reasonable, put in concrete tee pads we have a five-er on our hands...seriously - it's that good.

As stated previously, the rough is really rough so that means your typical assortment of Michigan irritants not the least of which being the poison ivy. There's a binch of it. The bugs are really bad during the warmer months including ticks, mosquitoes, bees, etc. So just be prepared.

I am not going to list this as a con but a lot of people don't seem to like the single layer of chains. Like the rating I am not sure how I feel about those baskets. I think they catch fine so long as your putting is good.

This course is a long and hilly course so be prepared for that too. Good footware is more important here that your average hucker-friendly course. Huckers with their single warp speed driver and cooler filled with beer are not going to make it past hole 10 with their flip flops.


1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Very beautifull park. Clean very clean. Nice mowed fairways with what almost looks like crop circles don't throw to far In the ruff u will be all In the sticker bushes mwahhahaha. Hole 1 is kool you can go for the safe straight shot or throw a huge hyzer bomb. Hole 13 was probaly my favorite hole u can real bomb it use a nice understable disc to float it to the right an watch it comes back left. Hole 10 I will warn you walk down an look at the basket first it's literally straight down the middle of the hill a bad throw an most likely you won't find you disc. Luckily I was warned about it first. Just pull out a putter an barely I mean barely toss it. Hole 11 is a very nicely wooded hole.
Cons: Not to many cons sept maybe ticks. Some ppl hate on the ruff but I like it it punishes bad shots. Single chained baskets no biggie to me. Print a map before you come out.
Other Thoughts: Begginers will become very frustrate not beginner friendly. It's a great course but I liked the north course just a tad more. All around great course.

Hole 10 is cool

1    5/11/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: nickrockey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
This review was updated on 6/28/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Some really awesome holes!
+ The vegetation is great! Some really tight mail-slot type shots that are just plain killer!!!
+The front is great for placement shots and the end is for the big arms, but don't be shy you can really throw some rockets out there!
+nicely mowed paths
+tee pads were pretty good
+Nice course layout, not easy by any means
+Pretty easy to find your way from one hole to the next
+Some pretty long holes and uphill holes are humbling for sure!
+Great wooded holes for sure!
Cons: -BUGS!
-Almost need to play doubles so you can have a spotter,
I forget which hole, but you throw blind downhill, but not to far, if you overshoot by just alittle you are going to be in trouble! They should clear all of that area and put the basket a couple hundred feet farther down the hill, or even up the other hill, that would be AWESOME!
Other Thoughts: ^BUG SPRAY!
^Good hiking shoes
^The greens and fairways were mowed pretty nice, but outside of that the grass was pretty tall so really watch your disc!
^Pretty nice course, I will play it again

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much like Mashy, I'm not sure on this one...

1    1/9/2013   1/9/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- this course plays through the rolling hills of this course. Around several tubing hills and across the road several times. this area dedicated to half disc golf and half hiking trails. I like this park. we played in January and the trails seemed well traveled.

Baskets--Although I rue Innova's baskets, these seemed to be in good repair and are WAY easier to see than the mach V's on the north course.

Teepads- Although they were covered with snow when we were there, they were all concrete on the longs (not sure on the shorts)

Originality- There are som VERY tough looks here. There are some very long very challenging holes here
Cons:
Teesigns- The teesigns, where there are teesigns, are HIT. most of them are either missing or TRASHED which makes it VERY hard to navigate this course. a map is a necessity for sure! It would be far easier if all of the teepads at least had a post where the sign used to be, but that's not even there.

Navigation- as I said above, it's rough. without a map this course would be impossible. Next tee signs would be EXTREMELY helpful (like on the north)

Uncontrollables- the rough, even in the winter, in the snow is ROUGH!! Punishing errant shots with either gnarly thorns or rolling into a huge sink hole!
Other Thoughts: I had a decent time playing this course but a three hour round on an 18 hole course is insane. this course needs some serious polishing before I'll be back.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    7/9/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mix of open rolling hills and some forested areas. Both areas of the course feature some nice elevation changes with some tough uphills and a couple fun downhills and valley shots. The open half of the course has a few scattered trees on most holes, and tall grass rough lining the mowed fairways. The wooded holes have tight technical lines with dense trees and brush to punish errant shots.

You'll need some different shots to be successful, the wooded holes call for a variety of lines with a balance of left and right turns. There is a good mix of lengths, with a few bombers and some ace runs. One hole plays steeply downhill and short, offering a definite chance for chains, but there are dense briers waiting to eat shots that go long, left or right. There are nice concrete tees and good baskets in decent shape.
Cons: I'm not a fan of long grass. I don't think it provides an obstacle that changes your next shot, it just makes for lost discs and lost time. I really liked the thick rough on the wooded holes where you had to be really creative if you missed the fairway, but the open grassy holes just aren't any fun.

A lot of the signs are damaged, making it unclear how long the holes are or where to throw. This also makes it really difficult to find some of the natural short tees that don't have their own signs. With rutted out pads and no signage, I can't imagine the shorts get any play.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will hate this course, even if they take the time to find and play the shorts. The rough is punishing, and errant shots are easy to lose and difficult to recover from. There are several long holes that would add to the frustration. More experienced players will find some really nice challenges, but also some pretty straightforward open holes with only long grass to contend with. I wouldn't play here in the late summer when the rough is at its thickest.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the Faint of Heart

1    7/2/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays in a section of the park that's pretty much dedicated to disc golf, featuring moderate to major elevation changes on virtually every hole. This makes many holes feel and play longer or shorter than the posted distances. Fairways have good mix of long and short, left, right, and straight shots.

The first several holes play relatively open, with fairways lined with tall grass and/or thick (often treacherous) rough, allowing you to choose a number of different lines to get to the basket. But beware, these first few holes can punish you severely for straying from the fairway. Bring your "Get Out of Jail Free" disc, you're gonna need it.

Things get tricky starting with hole 8, as you head into the woods with a well treed fairway that takes a sharp turn to the left after having you drive over a scenic valley. Another wooded hole follows before you hit the deceptive 171' hole 10. How hard can it be? Overdrive it and you'll find out. The shule behind that basket is thick and nasty, and oh yeah, it's a downhill shot, so you might wanna take it easy from the tee box. Rest of the course pretty much plays somewhat open around the fringe of the woods, occasionally bringing you back into them. Course is demanding, requiring discipline and control.

Risk vs. Reward shots all over the place, and unless you're shooting pretty well that day, you might do well to scale back your ambitions and do your best to stay on the fairway if finishing with a low score (or keeping all your discs) is a priority.
Concrete pads for longs, and imbedded toe boards for shorts usually offer significantly different lines and challenges. Even so, I wouldn't say the shorts are all that beginner friendly.
Course flows fairly well from basket to next tee, but first timers would be well served to print the course map off this site, I found it to be a time saver.
Cons: The rough here is downright treacherous in many spots. Not the place for a friendly round. Shanking one into the grass seems more innocent, but you could certainly lose discs in this stuff. Not the best place for fly-dyed drivers.

Tee signs are present, but many are starting to look pretty shabby, and a few are broken.

Chance of disc loss is significant.
Other Thoughts: Rolling terrain adds a scenic quality to much of the course. Standout holes for me were:
Hole 14 - has you driving up a steep hill to a nicely mowed landing area, before taking a left turn and continuing uphill to the basket for a two tiered effect that can be humbling as you cover 620' from the long, going uphill pretty much the whole way. Felt the weight of each and every disc in my bag climbing the hill for my 2nd shot.
Hole 10 - a short blind downhill that's an Ace run for the lion hearted. Take it easy if you're not a brave soul, as briar patch behind the basket is downright brutal. Go long and kiss your putter goodbye.
3, 4, 5, 13 are also noteworthy IMO.

Drop a buck or two in the donation box if you play here. Course is well maintained, although it feels intentionally cruel. Seems like they could thin out some of the nasty stuff, but I get the impression they simply don't want to. I think they're simply trying to reward staying in the fairway, and punish (perhaps harshly) failing to do so.


Pairs nicely with the North course for a nice day's outing. Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your walking shoes !!

2-4    5/28/1901   6/7/2011
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation is the name of the game...this park has some really great layouts with blind tees and tight fairways. With the tall grass for rough and mowed flyways keeping your drive on the short grass gets to be TOUGH!!..Hills are everywhere you walk so bring plenty of water and be prepared to hike it out..lol..The park is well maintained with plenty of shade on those hot days..This park is definitely player friendly !!!!
Cons: There is a water waste center or something right next to the park that keeps the smell of poop in the air for some of the holes.....played it on a very warm day and the smell was so rancid we almost decided to leave.
Other Thoughts: A very fun course despite the smell of poo....a return trip is a strong possibility.....in the fall.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    4/23/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large section of the park property, which is chock full of hills and trees. First seven holes are close to the entrance road, not sure if any stray foot traffic ends up that way.
- Good amount of the holes are set in pretty dense forest (with thick rough), or have major tree action off the tee, providing a lot of different lines. #1 is a short RHBH anny under some low trees, and #3 is a long hyzer through (or over) a thick cluster of mature trees. Great mix of lines overall, and the varying difficulty of each really helps to make each hole feel different. Mando on #5 tests both length and accuracy of a bomber anny; a great mando to prevent another wide open hole.
- Elevation changes are present on nearly every hole, and are definitely noticable. Good mix here as well, with some short downhills, long sloping uphills, and a gut check drop shot that demands serious accuracy. #10's basket is out of sight down a steep hill, surrounded by a sea of thorns. Going short, left, or right is no good, and going long can be disastrous. It is also one of a few sloped greens.
- Good mix of hole lengths, with different looks. Some short ones are pretty easy, others are very tricky. Same with some of the long ones, so there is a large variation in the length/accuracy ratio. Having both, usually at the same time, is key to score well here. The back half are definitely longer, for the big arms to enjoy.
- Good teepads, good baskets, kind of tricky to navigate. There is a little loop in the front six, but it helps the quality of the holes. Mowed paths help to get around, double check the distances that were molded in the pads. (You walk past the 'wrong' teepad at least three times).
Cons: - A lot of the course is pretty straightforward, especially in the front. Fairly open lines to the basket, and some downhills to help get it there. Definitely a must to pick up strokes before the woods and the bomber holes.
- Not much in variety of hazards here; it is going to be thick rough or lots of trees. The land doesn't have any water, and the hills are pretty gentle overall (except on #10). In general, the terrain is pretty similar throughout, so the scenery stays the same. Playing by the road is never fun either.
Other Thoughts: - This course is extremely well rounded, which I definitely like. There is an even mix of holes that are beginner friendly and those that make even pros work. The crazy range of length, toughness, and line shaping variety was well done. A more experienced player might be a little bored by some of the holes, and a beginner would be frustrated by others, but there is something for everyone.
- Be sure to throw some money in the box, everything looks well-maintained.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Double Your Pleasure

2-4    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 192  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Rolling hills comprise the majority of the Original Meyers Broadway course. About half the course is lightly to moderately wooded, while the other half plays through thick tall prairie grasses. A good mix of short and long holes, with plenty of ups and downs throughout. Most holes seem to play longer than advertised due to the elevation. Several bomb 'em type holes mixed nicely with some more technical layouts. Interesting design in a few places: #1's green has thick pines about two feet behind the pin, while #10 seems determined to inflict pain and suffering upon anyone who ends up long.
- Great elevation. Rolling hills, gently sloping fairways throughout, and plenty of risk/reward due to sloped pin positions. Unfortunately, nothing "epic" in terms of sheer scale, but plenty of yummy moderate elevation throughout.
- Plenty of risk/reward, often in crazy proportions (such as the hillside of solid brambles below a downhill ace run). A few holes force weaker arms to hit defined areas necessary for having any semblance of an up-shot, while providing decent risk for those who choose to try for the longer bombs.
- Good concrete tees, distances inset into the pads with metal bars, for the pro tees. Scattered trashcans throughout. Sufficient signage, although occasionally the flow becomes a bit tricky if you're not familiar with the course. Mandatories force certain shots on one or two holes.
Cons: - Briars, sticker bushes, thorns, etc. are well-represented on this course throughout. While some thorns are probably inevitable on a course as thickly vegetated as Meyers-Broadway, the designers seem to take a bit of a sadistic approach in incorporating them into the holes. Hole #10, for example, tees off a steep slope to a blind pin perched about 170' down the hillside. Behind the tiny, semi-flat green, the slope continues down into the largest briar patch I've ever encountered. Anything past the pin is brutally punished here, to the point where losing a limb, let alone a disc becomes a real threat. I'm fine with this design for experienced players, but it seems a bit extreme for beginners or casual players, especially when wind factors in.
- Ticks become a danger in warmer weather, especially in the tall grasses. Bug spray recommended.
- On the thick prairie holes, losing a disc in the grasses becomes a threat.
Other Thoughts: - Donation box at entry gate. Be sure to pay the small fee!!!
- Meyers Broadway Original is a minute away from Meyers Broadway North. With two great courses on site, this park provides solid discing throughout. Definitely hit up both Meyers Broadway courses if you're in the area, you won't be disappointed.
- Super friendly locals will help you out if you get turned around or if you're having trouble locating the North course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT COURSE WOW!!

5+    3/14/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, if your in southern michigan or northern indiana and havnt played this course ,you are missing out. This course has a great mix of long and short/ tight and open holes. It has big concrete teepads which are level and grippy. The distance for each hole is molded into the teepad(pro tees). Most holes also have distance markers in the fairway for approach shots. They also have natural am tees (but they are hard to find). This course shines from the pro tees and will challenge anyone. The fairways with grass are usually cut on a regular basis. Nice shaped landing areas surrounded by 3 foot high grass. It looks beautiful and the rough doesnt really hurt your throw physically but makes you think "im in the rough" and it affects your shot. If u manage to throw past the fairway and tall grass(rough), u are likely in sticker bush heaven. Very fair course ,yet if ur off your in trouble. Great course design and a super fun challenge. Nice bathrooms on site. Baskets are in good shape but they are single chain which adds to challenge.Hole 5 is my favorite , mando left side of the pole, dogleg right with uphill approach. Hole 14 is a monster dogleg left,uphill teeshot,then gets flat and a long uphill approach shot, a 4 is a good score for even a pro. Hole 18 can ruin your round( guilty) but it makes you birdie everything you can cause u know its commin.Also the course is never busy, makes for a very peaceful and enjoyable time.

Also , there is another 4+ rated course on site!

PEOPLE, IF YOU GO PLAY THIS COURSE PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PUT A DONATION IN THE BOX NEAR THE FRONT PARKING LOT. THESE COURSES ARE BAD A$$
Cons: The am tees are almost non existent,they have no signs and can be found (maybe) by little rock piles with flags in them.
The tee signs are very rough and some holes have none.
There are a few missing tee signs for the pros and if u never been here navigation can get a little tricky.
The tall grass (rough) can make it very hard to find ur disc if ur off the fairway.
A few holes bother me a little
10- short ,almost straight downhill shot ,doesnt really fit the course. Very easy to slip getting down to the basket.
15- its a somewhat long hole but it really doesnt have a fairway/landing zone
ticks in the summer, this is not a con because its nature and thats where we play disc golf,but watch for them.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course that will offer you lots of fun and also a great challenge. These courses are definitely " DESTINATION" courses. These courses take disc golf from a "game" to a full blown sport.Ams beware, this is the "sport " of disc golf, not the "game". If u dont want a challenge , dont come.

GO TO THREE RIVERS MICHIGAN AND GET YOU SOME MEYER BROADWAY!!

PLEASE DONATE SOME DOLLARS TO KEEP THESE COURSES ALIVE

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.