Three Rivers, MI 
Meyer Broadway Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #10 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 171ft.   3 / 171ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Meyer broadway

1    12/30/2010   12/30/2010
Review By: xxdestroyerxx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Long and challenging course with good tee signs and nice tees .
the park was clean and fairways mowed in spots .
Cons: rough is thick in spots ,many chances to lose a disc .
navigation is hard at times without map

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/27/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great course, lots of variety. Good amount of elevation and length.
Cons: The rough is thick. Pretty easy to loose track of your disc.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for ticks. If this course was closer to home, I would be there all the time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is country miles. I really enjoyed the look of this course. The front selection of holes is carved out of dune grass and has a great roll to it because of the hilly landscape. There are a few holes that take you back into the woods which mixes up the scenery nicely. You are able to use a few different methods of approach to these pin placements with right hand forehand and backhand coming into play, but there are no extreme situations save for the elevation variations. The hilly aspect of this course is what separates it from being mundane and elevates it to excellence. This course is also fair in layout and design in most places and doesn't leave a player feeling like he had no options apart from luck. That goes a long way as the perimeter of most holes is treacherous. Many of the holes allow you to give the disc a good ride before playing a precise approach. Even the shorter length holes here seemed to play much longer than they were due to the layout. This course gives you a few solid birdie chances that should be taken where available. In most instances it throws you holes that make you feel happy that you got away unscathed and hit par.
Cons: I am going to make it a point to visit this course next spring before the wild rough grows in. This course punishes shots that stray from the small fairways. Prickers and things I have never been stung by before grabbed a hold me and tore me open. Keep your shots on course or at least in the mowed areas. Approximately holes 1 through 14 were fun, but 15 through to the end ripped me apart. Also, this course and its brother to the north were the worst courses I have ever played from a navigational standpoint. Seriously. I was walking out of my way in several different areas and having to double back to happen upon the right way. I was racing rain as well which made me feel frustrated as I drove for two hours to reach this place only to find myself wasting time being lost between holes with rain threatening. The flow is far from intuition friendly.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the more lovely courses I have ever played and it is also well designed from a play standpoint. It has a great country feel to it and the way it is mowed with such wild surroundings gives it a great look. The mixture keeps it interesting and holds stagnation at bay. While it is well laid out and quite taking, subjectively for myself, it does lack the awe inspiring x factor that would allow it entry into the elusive 4+ disc category. Nonetheless, this park is a great play. This course is well worth a visit. It is a solid disc golf arena.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Must play

5+    6/24/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Huge course that can get very technical, Lots a variety and good elevation changes. hole 10 is one of my favorite holes. wild life (I've seen a deer every time I've been there). can really max out your drive, good makings and most hole have a picture at the tee to give you an idea of where your throwing if you don't know. very spread out course. EMPTY very small amount of player out there so no rush, just relaxing. Clean and nice upkeep.
Cons: lots of tall grass, no water holes

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2011   4/28/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A first-rate, long and challenging southwest Michigan course.

Many front-nine holes feature mowed and detailed fairways in the 300-foot range with small, steeply sloped hills ideal for RHBH throws (Holes 2, 4, 6, 7). These holes are similar to the back nine at Robert Morris in Kalamazoo, but with slightly steeper hills and a higher fun factor.

Holes 3 and 5 add challenge on the front nine, with Hole 3 having a tight fairway with a small opening for righty backhand hyzers. Hole 5 is nearly 600 feet, usually into the wind.

Holes 8 and 11 are wooded holes unlike the others, and are fairly long compared to similar holes elsewhere.

The back nine moves the level of challenge up to nearly Idlewild levels, with nearly no deuce holes but plenty of mowed, long uphill fairways in secluded wooded areas (saw a half dozen deer in one round). Highlights include a long downhill shot made for 400-foot Destroyer drives (Hole 13), a 450-foot right turn with a racetrack-like banked curve (Hole 16), and a very long grassy ravine hole with just enough room to drive in (Hole 17).

Also has a punishing, 620-foot uphill hole that is basically a par-four (Hole 14). Has an old practice basket that makes a decent 'Hole 19'.

Grounds maintenance that is better than Hickory Hills, Oshtemo and Leviathan.
Cons: Baskets are single-chain Discatchers that appear to be fairly old, and are inferior to the North course baskets.

Hole 10 is a short-downhill misfire that should be fixed or eliminated. As with Idlewild, the 'uphill-to downhill' ratio is off, with Hole 10 being a waste of a downhill hole opportunity.

Many long walks between some holes. Navigation may be tough for first timers, but is better than a couple of years ago with some spray-painted rocks indicating where teepads are.

Short tees are dirt, sharing a vice with Flip City. A long walk to the parking lot after Hole 18, made better by playing 'Hole 19'.

Deep, tall grass can make play difficult in mid-summer. Many holes have very thick, disc-swallowing rough (have lost a couple of discs here).

Not crazy about the Mando on the otherwise wide-open Hole 5.
Other Thoughts: The overall combination of qualities on this course (challenge, fun, scenery, amenities) combined with many fewer players than the recently-overcrowded Oshtemo course lift this course to what may be the best in southwest Michigan.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 challenging variety

2-4    4/14/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: mtuboarder
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It starts out very easy to get your confidence up with short and open unobstructed holes. The back 9 are more challenging with long tight fairways thru the forest. This is a great place to get away from annoying crowds and enjoy nature. I saw 5 deer in one round of 18 holes.
Cons: This is rugged! be careful not to lose your disc if its off the fairway. The grass is long and the bushes are untrimmed.
Other Thoughts: If it were closer to me, I'd both the three rivers courses all the time! They are awesome for more skilled players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it

5+    4/1/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an absolutely wonderful layout since being redesigned a few years back. There is a large amount of variety in the holes and there are many challenging skill shots and short cuts.

Nothing is flat here, and almost nothing is straight. You will see a variety of up and down holes, bend shots, elevated tees, and long winding curves. Long open pastures with great views and open shots land into tightly tucked catchers that in many cases cannot be seen from the tee.

The fairways are usually short and once you have played here it is easy to find your way around a second time.

Due to its location the course is usually not very busy and you really never have to wait. If there is waiting, you could go play the other 18 holes which is right next door.
Cons: The tall grass here is killer, and is a disc eater, as are many thorn covered hills which surround a few holes. You may want to pick up your discs if you are unsure if you can take the shot rather than risk losing them.

When it rains here, things get messy, with many holes under the trees and winding down and up out of valleys, you'll find yourself in puddles many a times. But the good news is they usually dry out quickly.

A couple of holes here require a spotter to see where the discs go, and you will more than likely lose a disc in the tall grass.

Bring the bug spray when its that season and avoid the middle of the day here, under the trees is hot, and most of the holes are blocked from the wind.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great course to play. If you are a beginner, I would be weary, and bring someone with who has played the course. While the first few holes seem very inviting, you will quickly realize the true difficulty of the course.

Also, although many other reviews mention this course is free, it is not. There is a donation box at the entrance which helps keep the park running. The cost is one dollar per person each time. Please help support the park by NOT playing for free.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Not for people just starting out

1    8/22/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: smite_06
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: nature at it best, trees, grass, weed. Need to be very skilled to have fun on this course.
Cons: if you dont throw on the fairways you are going to be looking for a disk. i lost 2 playing one round. this course if not for people starting out
Other Thoughts: once I get better i might play this again but not any time soon

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Advanced----Epic and scenic holes!

5+    9/6/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *
--Truly outstanding and scenic holes. You will remember the holes for the scenery it offers.
--Big throwers delight!
--Excellent CEMENT tee pads
--Good baskets
--Long and challenging.
--Good elevation changes.
--Good amount of woods and fields.
--Good variety.
--Fairways are mowed and trimmed which clearly defines where you should be throwing.
--Pretty much secluded and not very busy
Cons: *
--Tuff terain, long grass, hills, thorns, trees. But that is nature!
--Could be better groomed.
--Not marked well at all.
--Hole two goes right over hole 6, so many people end up playing the wrong hole after 1.
--Ticks in the spring (may-june)
--Long tall grass in the summer
--Not many benches
--Immature players destroying signs.
--Has a cross country trail right through it
--TERRIBLE signage for next holes. If you've never played you will be upset and frustrated. Try to play with someone who is familiar with the course.
Other Thoughts: *
Highly challenging and long. This course offers truly epic holes. It can be frustrating with the natural terrain and grass. Fall or early spring is the best time for weather and viewing the course.
I debated between a 4.0 and a 5.0, to recieve a 5 it has to have everything done perfect, this course falls short of that. If I could I would rate it a 4.25 until the changes were made, but I really think it is an awesome course because the holes are so interesting. It needs better signs and markers, a little more consistent grooming, more garabage cans and benches. I also think a few holes can be extended and changed Hole 10 comes to mind, you shoot down a hill to a basket on the side of a hill (170') if they could groom 300 feet and extend to the other side of the hill it would be very cool and the best drive around. I also think if they wanted to tweak the course there is plenty of land to make it a 24 hole course.

--As of Nov 09--- they did some nice trimming on a few of the holes which made it better and more enjoyable for holes 9 and 17! Thanks Waste Management!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/25/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Frolfer4Life
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Expert Course, Free, Little bit of everything, No water
Cons: Hard to Find, Deep grass, Small Fairways, Hard to navigate
Other Thoughts: Water Fountains needed, Second 18 right next to it, I played 36 holes in one day for free

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.