Fontana, WI 
The Abbey Resort DGC Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not really a course

1    4/26/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: mjs2055
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am only writing this to give an updated review. There really is not a course here at this point in time which is a shame because it would not take much time to develop one. They have already spent $ on the baskets so why not develop a course. We had to create our own course and only 7 out of the 9 baskets are still standing. You do get the unique opportunity to make up your own holes.
Cons: There are 0 signs and the baskets in the woods are unplayable. If you are staying at the Abbey resort you can use it as a few practice baskets but do not expect to get a 9 hole course.
Other Thoughts: I can't imagine the baskets will be here too much longer. The property has potential for a course if there were a local club that was interested. I hate seeing good baskets being wasted. The only reason I gave it a shot is because I was staying here for a wedding. The rest of the resort is fun!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awful

1    3/13/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around and through the picnic areas in one corner of the resort grounds. 7 of the 9 holes play in grassy areas with scattered brush, trees and gazebos for obstacles. Two baskets are in the woods offering some tighter lines to hit. The targets are nice new DGA baskets, definitely an upgrade on the previous plastic baskets. The resort doesn't seem to mind the public coming in to play the course, I called first and they had no problem with it.
Cons: The 7 holes out in the open offer some interesting lines, but there are no marked tees so you're just making up a hole. The course has no logical flow, we wandered the area for 20 minutes before we played to figure out the numbering on all the baskets. You'll have to do a lot of extra walking between holes, or play some really long shots as some of the baskets aren't really near the others.

Most holes have major safety issues, bringing picnic areas, a fire pit, gazebos, walking paths and the parking lot into play. On a nice day when people are using the outside spaces, the course won't be playable. The two holes back in the woods are ridiculous. The first one is not too far from the previous basket, but there is absolutely no line to the pin. The next hole is 400' farther into the woods, with a narrow walking trail as the apparent fairway. After that, you either walk all the way out of the woods, or throw right back down the walking path to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty terrible. Even with the basket upgrade, it's not worth playing unless you're stuck here at a conference. Beginners will be frustrated by the navigation issues, long lengths (or walks if you make the holes shorter) and ridiculous woods shots. More experienced players can make some challenging holes here, but it's just not worth going out of your way to play this one.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 little better than Duck Pond

1    5/24/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Better than Duck Pond Rec. Area...just barely.
Cons: Found and played 7 baskets; from basket to basket. Baskets made of pvc pipe, with plastic chains as well (Quest buckets). The buckets actually hold decent; but many with some part broken; meaning one side of catching device is not up to even Quest standards.
Course nothing better than decent, and that's probably being generous. Primarily short holes; and many play through areas that could easily be in use by other resort users.
Hope the remainder of this resort is more resort like..... (this appears to be the case; looks like a nice complex overall. This course is on pretty land as well; but just not a good course.)
One bucket leaning over halfway to ground.
No tees; "invent your own"; style of disc.
Other Thoughts: Dave's already won the humor award; so, I'll add my bit; in a full day way: My best traveling bud and I; on the way to Chicago; played a couple of days of disc. This day; we began with Stoughton, Wis.; which is a nice/technical nine. From there, we went to our first course where nine supposed holes couldn't be found; Phoenix DGC, Wisconsin School for the Deaf. There, we could only find 5 of 6 baskets and no tees. (Again, pretty land; but lots of walking and looking for little actual play). Next, we found seven baskets of nine, again with no tees and no fairways, at Duck Pond Rec. Area. (Again, lots of walking with little play.) Then, we came here, to the melee described in Cons. (At least we got nearly a course worth of actual disc golf in here; and I'm still giving this one a zero; which may mean some of the other spots for play could be negative ratings!!??). This was followed by two more "wonderful" experiences in Illinois.... next two located on school grounds. At one of these; even though it was after school hours, 100s of students were wandering around grounds and we only got to play two holes (Hanna Beardsley Middle School). Turned out their whole school participates in track practice after school; and course winds around track. Other school course not bad; and gym teacher even encouraged us to play during hours; but we missed a couple of holes here due to navigation issues (Prairie Ridge High School).
Just added all of this to give a picture of a full day of a BAD DISCING adventure. Travel all day; go to six disc golf courses; and end up playing only @40 holes of golf.
Even with all of this poor stuff going on; our composure was kept and I'm not blasting this course, or, it's neighbor; Duck Pond Rec Area; because of the full day's adventures....
Both of these are really this bad all by themselves; and are at the very top of the "don't even bother" scale.
I generally like, and give the benefit of the doubt to; home made courses and home made buckets. Often; designer/owner makes an attempt to work with what he/she has; and I respect that....
These courses appear to have had high hopes initially; but... forgotten about since. (Course designer, posts on DGR fairly often and seems to be trying to make both of the courses in Fontana playable; including rumors of real baskets to come; I wish him luck. Contact him; and evidently, there is possibility of playing a more real layout at Rec. Area; using temp baskets brought in for this purpose at present).

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Huh?

1    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
39 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This "course" is in a very nice lakeside resort in a lovely small vacation town. The course description says that real metal baskets are coming soon….that is positive! The possibility that some people who may have never heard of disc golf will hear about it is the only other positive I can think of.
Cons: The problem with people learning about DG here is that it would be one of the biggest "what the??!!" moments in their lives. The baskets are made of PVC pipes and chains, are mostly broken and are an eyesore! Hitting a solid putt would break them even more. The tee pads are not marked and there is no flow. The baskets are sprinkled/crammed into the small amount of available space and intermingled into a ton of other resort activities (meeting tent, fire pit, walking trail, ropes course, park benches).
Other Thoughts: The only way I would possibly ever play there again is if I was at this resort at the most boring convention I've ever attended (like a needle point seminar maybe) and needed a break. Or, if my wife picked a huge fight with me for giving her flowers during a vacation there. Oh, and the bar would have to be closed too. If you can think of a better reason to play, make a point of making the trip to play this course!

39 of 41 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.