Woodridge, IL 
Castaldo Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: joenoel323 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Beginner's Course

2-4    8/29/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the available land. It's a small community park in the middle of a subdivision. There are seasonal portable restrooms near the first teepad. There's a small shelter in the middle of the course by the playground and water fountain. The teesigns and teepads are nice. The teepads are the elongated trapezoid design that taper toward the front (i.e. / ). I liked the usage of the electrical towers as obstacles on the early holes (think metal trees). You do get some elevation changes, which is unusual for Chicagoland courses, though they are not big changes.
Cons: This course suffers from the typical Chicagoland par ratings. Par is far, far too easy here. I was missing putts for double eagle on some holes and only threw par or worse a couple of holes, mostly due to a bad drive combined with bad putting. Most of the holes feel like par 3, with 1-2 par 4, but most are listed as par 4 and one at par 5. The teesign for #8 is non-existent. Park traffic wasn't bad the day I was there, but I was there on a weekday afternoon right as school district's were starting for the year, and I can see park traffic becoming an issue for some holes.
Other Thoughts: The relatively short distances involved combined with the easy par ratings make this a good beginner course. I would definitely recommend bringing new players here without much worry about lost discs or huge frustrations over it feeling too hard. I don't recommend this to any seasoned players, though. It's far too easy, unless you're wanting to work on your short game or go for ace runs. I think this would be a good place to run an Ace Race, though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ok course

1    8/31/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: Scramble630
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Nice tee signs
-Not too many places to lose your disc
Cons: -The holes are not very challenging
-Walkways and playground throughout the course
-Tee sign was missing on hole 8
-9 holes
Other Thoughts: Rather boring course that just didnt keep me very entertained. About a 45 minute drive from me so I probably wont go out of my way to make it back unless I'm making a day of playing the other surrounding 9 hole courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Castaldo Park was an enjoyable course... my buddy and I were able to play two quick rounds in this nice little park. Here are the main pros:

*Fun, semi-challenging lines to hit on holes 4-9
*Concrete tees, nice baskets
*Man-made "greens" on a few of the holes (made of crushed stones) prevent pin areas from getting super muddy
*Well maintained
Cons: Here are the cons of Castaldo Park

*Holes 1-3 are pretty boring
*Very congested park... shares area with lots of other activities. A pet peeve of mine is when fairways cross walking paths, and Castaldo Park's fairways cross paths several times
*No distance challenge (see below about sign)
*Several signs were inaccurate... one of them said there was a 400 ft hole, but there's no way it was longer than 325
*Some of the tee pad are surrounded by the same stones that surround the man-made greens leading to horrible footing on those pads.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I drove about 25 mins each way to play this course, simply for the sake of playing adding it to our "courses played". I probably wouldn't make that drive again to play this course, but if I'm in the area, this course is a fun, quick round so I'll stop by again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

a fun 9 hole

5+    11/30/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice pads
-well groomed park
-some baskets have a very fine crushed gravel around the baskets that really help slow a disc that is close
-awesome park to bring a new player but still fun for better players
-first three holes are open shots make for good warm up holes
-the course makes very good use of the huge oak trees that are in the park
-the last 6 holes are all a lot of fun but not to hard
-uses the little bit of elevation that comes into play in the park
-one of the best if not the best 9 holes in the west burbs(at at least that i have played)
Cons: -first three holes are under huge power towers that can trash a disc if hit hard
- is only a 9 hole =/
-there is a walking path that comes into play
-can get crowded
-i have been close to hitting houses on a grip lock off of 7
Other Thoughts: i really like this course i wish it was longer but there is NO extra room to expand
-this is a good to play with the 9 in naperville because they are both right off 75th st both beginner friendly courses that are still fun when you get a little better

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dead man walking

1    11/24/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo is a pretty OK 9-hole recreational disc golf course. The property has some gentle rolling hills that create some elevation change. The first few holes are located under power lines mounted on massive gray metal towers that create some obstacles to shoot around, and the remaining holes make good use of the trees on the property. The tees are concrete and there is good signage. The course has pretty good flow and was easy to navigate. It rates pretty well in fun factor and makes a great place to shoot a quick 9-holes.
Cons: The park isn't all that large so the area the course has to work with is not optimal. The shots are on the short side, holes #5-#8 are pretty close together and you throw over and around a walking path that could create a conflict with other park users. #9 doesn't take you back to the parking lot; we played a safari hole from the #3 tee back to the practice basket to get to the car, but if the course was busy playing a safari hole that cuts across two fairways wouldn't really be very cool. It looked like there had been a wooded area the forced you through a gap on #3 and created a shule to the right on #9 that was cleared out. Both holes would have been better if those woods were still there. In the end it was a fun course, but there wasn't much variety or challenge to it.
Other Thoughts: I'm a pretty old guy, but evidently I had managed to live my life without standing directly under high voltage power lines until I teed off on #1 at Castaldo Park. The sound of electricity was unnerving. I immediately checked to make sure there wasn't a wet sponge on top of my head.

If you yell CASTALDO!!! in some phony Italian accent whenever someone hits a tree, it will either a) make your round more enjoyable or b) make the other players in your group want to strangle you, possibly both.

Speculation on the inspiration for the shape of the slide on the play system by #8 can reveal a lot about your playing partners.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Castaldo!!!

1    11/24/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This suburban park is located not far from a small electrical sub-station, with enormous grey power line towers occupying the first few holes' fairways before marching off into the distance. The course is nice enough despite the power lines, and the huge metal structures are actually pretty neat to scope out and play around. Giant iron trees, in the disc golf scheme of things.
- Decent use of elevation. Nothing dramatic but there is enough gentle roll to the grassy park to prevent utter flatness. #'s 3, 7, and 9 all have a some degree of elevation loss/gain, with #3 playing down and then back up a small depression, which looked to have been recently cleared of foliage.
- Good use of the available obstacles: trees and towers alike.
- Good concrete pads, decent signage, and a practice basket all help to give this course a polished feel. The practice basket even serves as a good "#10" after finishing the 9-hole layout.
Cons: - The crackling of the electricity overhead is a bit jangly on the nerves, but otherwise kinda cool. I can definitely see how it would detract from the experience for those who enjoy a more natural vibe.
- Castaldo does well with what it has to work with. Unfortunately, in the end it's still just your typical Chicagoland niner.
Other Thoughts: - Castaldo is fun to play, and actually, fun to say, too...Ca-stal-do. Try it. Castaldo. Say it like you're a passionate Spaniard. Castaldo. Women cry into the night: Castaldo! Throw your disc into the trees and yell in a voice ripe with vengeance: Castaldo! Clench your fist and swear that justice will be served and birdies shall be slayed: Castaldo!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad..

5+    10/10/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement pads
-Decent change in elevation throughout holes
-Good use of available obstacles
-Quick, But not too quick of a play
-Easy to navigate
-Well groomed
-One of the better 9 holers around
Cons: -Not overly challenging
-Usually pretty crowded
-Fairways sorta close together in some of the later holes
-Multi-use park that sometimes is overly crowded with people on the walking path, forcing you to wait to throw
Other Thoughts: I like this course for a quick couple of rounds, It's close to my house and it is a fun course to play. It's proximity to knock knolls is also a added bonus because if I do not want to stray to far from home I can play two niners in the same day.

Considering some of the other nearby park district courses, this one is good. I only gave it a 2˝ because the fact of the matter is, this course is extremely forgiving to bad shots, Pick a line, any line and you can get to the basket on pretty much every hole. I am not saying that is bad for everyone, But experienced players are looking for courses with holes that demand precise shots.

In a nutshell, this is a fun course to play and boost your confidence. If you are in the area, I would definitely stop to play a round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Park Nine

2-4    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 171  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo is a very likeable park-style disc golf course with mature trees defining the lines for the moderate distance nine holes available here. The first three holes are medium (280') to lengthy (up to 405'), slanting along the clearing for a line of high tension pillars, some of which affect the hyzer lines (for rhbh throwers like me). The last six holes tend to favor slightly right-turning flight paths, but there is enough space and openness to get as creative as you like. There is a tree along the 6th fairway that has an amazing old branch which leans over to influence your shot. Unfortunately, the tree doesn't look healthy, and the fairway will be entirely different if the tree is lost. The slight rolling nature of the terrain and the shade of the trees make this a fairly fun course to get in a quick confidence-builder, even on a sunny summer day.
Fantastic trapezoidal concrete tees are complemented by decent signage, logical course flow, and DGA baskets in a park with sand volleyball, a jogging path, a kiddie playground, a park shelter/gazebo, at least one water fountain and one bathroom (noted on the map). There are plenty of trash cans available (though I did pick up stuff thrown on the ground by others, near a couple of tee pads…well, you can't blame them…the trash can WAS almost twelve feet away!)
Cons: There is a relatively limited variety of challenge here for the more experienced player.
Two of the holes require drives over the path, but the tees are near enough to the path to make it clear to even the most oblivious pedestrian that you're about to tee off.
Other Thoughts: I normally want to play a course five times before writing a review, but was only in town for a brief stay, so only played twice, but enjoyed this course immensely, and wanted to add a complimentary review.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Listen to the Buzz

2-4    6/9/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a solid little nine holer with a fair amount of character. Plays relatively short, virtually every pin is reachable for a player that is throwing around 300ft, and there really isn't too much in the way of difficult lanes, though the few trees that are located on the park do spice it up enough to keep things interesting.

Holes 1,2,and3 are straight forward and open with nothing but a few power line poles to get in your way. Hole 4 is a solid ace run just a hair under 200ft. Holes 5,6,7,8 and 9 are all similar style shots between 250 and 320ft that require you to dodge a few trees, but offer plenty of very make-able lanes to the baskets.

Good signage, and plenty of places to rest on the course in the shade if you'd like to make an afternoon there. Practice basket near the first tee, and nice cement tee pads.

A fun little course that if I was in the area would definitely go play.
Cons: Honestly the biggest con about this course is just that it is a little boring. I went out and only grabbed for my driver and holes 3 and 9, otherwise I could throw a midrange or putter off the tee for every shot. There are certain holes where you may have some minor tree issues, but the lanes are so clear they don't offer too much difficulty. Other cons include the fact that the first three holes are located directly underneath power lines so the buzzing coming from these is pretty annoying, but not too big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Driving from Chicago I would rather go play one of the other courses in the area. This course is just a little short and boring, but still I did have a great time here. This is definitely a good place to bring people that are just getting into the sport. It is difficult enough to offer a challenge, yet not too difficult where people will get discouraged. Also the fact that as a hole this course is pretty short means that even the least experienced disc golfers I know are bound to hit a couple pars. This is the only course where my girlfriend can claim a victory over me this year, so it is certainly one of her favorites. Happy Discin!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5+    5/6/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: southside5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Longer 9 hole course than others in the area.
Not very difficult.
Pretty well kept
garbage cans at almost every hole
water fountain
cops come by regularly
an alright mix of distance, from the space provided
Cons: crowded in afternoons
muddy and wet after rain
not very difficult
power lines above first three holes
all the forest area was cut down on three because of the power lines. the hole used to be pretty amazing but now its not very fun
park nearby may be crowded with a party
cops come by regularly
must throw across bike path on 5 and 9
Other Thoughts: decent course overall. I don't come here too often anymore since my skill has improved, i would rather travel to joliet area to play highland or other better courses.

2.5-3. 3 only because its my "home course"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.