Woodridge, IL 
Castaldo Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #1 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ok course

1    8/31/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: Scramble630
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Nice tee signs
-Not too many places to lose your disc
Cons: -The holes are not very challenging
-Walkways and playground throughout the course
-Tee sign was missing on hole 8
-9 holes
Other Thoughts: Rather boring course that just didnt keep me very entertained. About a 45 minute drive from me so I probably wont go out of my way to make it back unless I'm making a day of playing the other surrounding 9 hole courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Castaldo Park was an enjoyable course... my buddy and I were able to play two quick rounds in this nice little park. Here are the main pros:

*Fun, semi-challenging lines to hit on holes 4-9
*Concrete tees, nice baskets
*Man-made "greens" on a few of the holes (made of crushed stones) prevent pin areas from getting super muddy
*Well maintained
Cons: Here are the cons of Castaldo Park

*Holes 1-3 are pretty boring
*Very congested park... shares area with lots of other activities. A pet peeve of mine is when fairways cross walking paths, and Castaldo Park's fairways cross paths several times
*No distance challenge (see below about sign)
*Several signs were inaccurate... one of them said there was a 400 ft hole, but there's no way it was longer than 325
*Some of the tee pad are surrounded by the same stones that surround the man-made greens leading to horrible footing on those pads.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I drove about 25 mins each way to play this course, simply for the sake of playing adding it to our "courses played". I probably wouldn't make that drive again to play this course, but if I'm in the area, this course is a fun, quick round so I'll stop by again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad..

5+    10/10/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement pads
-Decent change in elevation throughout holes
-Good use of available obstacles
-Quick, But not too quick of a play
-Easy to navigate
-Well groomed
-One of the better 9 holers around
Cons: -Not overly challenging
-Usually pretty crowded
-Fairways sorta close together in some of the later holes
-Multi-use park that sometimes is overly crowded with people on the walking path, forcing you to wait to throw
Other Thoughts: I like this course for a quick couple of rounds, It's close to my house and it is a fun course to play. It's proximity to knock knolls is also a added bonus because if I do not want to stray to far from home I can play two niners in the same day.

Considering some of the other nearby park district courses, this one is good. I only gave it a 2˝ because the fact of the matter is, this course is extremely forgiving to bad shots, Pick a line, any line and you can get to the basket on pretty much every hole. I am not saying that is bad for everyone, But experienced players are looking for courses with holes that demand precise shots.

In a nutshell, this is a fun course to play and boost your confidence. If you are in the area, I would definitely stop to play a round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Park Nine

2-4    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 176  Reviewed: 158  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo is a very likeable park-style disc golf course with mature trees defining the lines for the moderate distance nine holes available here. The first three holes are medium (280') to lengthy (up to 405'), slanting along the clearing for a line of high tension pillars, some of which affect the hyzer lines (for rhbh throwers like me). The last six holes tend to favor slightly right-turning flight paths, but there is enough space and openness to get as creative as you like. There is a tree along the 6th fairway that has an amazing old branch which leans over to influence your shot. Unfortunately, the tree doesn't look healthy, and the fairway will be entirely different if the tree is lost. The slight rolling nature of the terrain and the shade of the trees make this a fairly fun course to get in a quick confidence-builder, even on a sunny summer day.
Fantastic trapezoidal concrete tees are complemented by decent signage, logical course flow, and DGA baskets in a park with sand volleyball, a jogging path, a kiddie playground, a park shelter/gazebo, at least one water fountain and one bathroom (noted on the map). There are plenty of trash cans available (though I did pick up stuff thrown on the ground by others, near a couple of tee pads…well, you can't blame them…the trash can WAS almost twelve feet away!)
Cons: There is a relatively limited variety of challenge here for the more experienced player.
Two of the holes require drives over the path, but the tees are near enough to the path to make it clear to even the most oblivious pedestrian that you're about to tee off.
Other Thoughts: I normally want to play a course five times before writing a review, but was only in town for a brief stay, so only played twice, but enjoyed this course immensely, and wanted to add a complimentary review.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Listen to the Buzz

2-4    6/9/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a solid little nine holer with a fair amount of character. Plays relatively short, virtually every pin is reachable for a player that is throwing around 300ft, and there really isn't too much in the way of difficult lanes, though the few trees that are located on the park do spice it up enough to keep things interesting.

Holes 1,2,and3 are straight forward and open with nothing but a few power line poles to get in your way. Hole 4 is a solid ace run just a hair under 200ft. Holes 5,6,7,8 and 9 are all similar style shots between 250 and 320ft that require you to dodge a few trees, but offer plenty of very make-able lanes to the baskets.

Good signage, and plenty of places to rest on the course in the shade if you'd like to make an afternoon there. Practice basket near the first tee, and nice cement tee pads.

A fun little course that if I was in the area would definitely go play.
Cons: Honestly the biggest con about this course is just that it is a little boring. I went out and only grabbed for my driver and holes 3 and 9, otherwise I could throw a midrange or putter off the tee for every shot. There are certain holes where you may have some minor tree issues, but the lanes are so clear they don't offer too much difficulty. Other cons include the fact that the first three holes are located directly underneath power lines so the buzzing coming from these is pretty annoying, but not too big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Driving from Chicago I would rather go play one of the other courses in the area. This course is just a little short and boring, but still I did have a great time here. This is definitely a good place to bring people that are just getting into the sport. It is difficult enough to offer a challenge, yet not too difficult where people will get discouraged. Also the fact that as a hole this course is pretty short means that even the least experienced disc golfers I know are bound to hit a couple pars. This is the only course where my girlfriend can claim a victory over me this year, so it is certainly one of her favorites. Happy Discin!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9-hole

2-4    4/2/2012   4/2/2012
Review By: Bltsandwich1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Larger than most 9-hole courses in the area
-Well kept park
-Concrete (and level) tees
-Well kept catchers
-Scenic with older large trees that offer some challenge (not including the first 3 holes under the power lines)
-Decent elevation change (especially for the Chicago area which it notoriously flat).
-Favors accuracy over power (pro or con depending on your POV)
-Larger than some area courses
Cons: -Can be very muddy
-Could be a longer course
-Signage is dicey at best
-Bike path (con for golfing, but a pro for getting there if you bike)
-Sometimes have to wait to start on nice days
-First 2 holes are boring
-Power lines
Other Thoughts: This course has some good mid distance shots where accuracy can play a role. If you are making a trip to this course you may want to warm up here then make the trip over to Knock Knolls for a bigger accuracy challenge. If you are in the suburbs make a stop here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Course has changed!

5+    11/20/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: bluebass65
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My home course. Always fun to play and plays fast, even when crowded.
Cons: The woods that come into play on holes #3 and #9 are gone! Bulldozed recently! Changes the course dramatically. Must be a powerline issue. Stinks for us though.
Other Thoughts: Still fun to play, but the recent changes make the two affected holes wide open. There is now no danger from a stray drive. Beware of deep leaf pools that suck up discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Compact but nice

2-4    7/15/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - nice rubber tees
- made good use of terrain features (trees, hedges, hills)
- also good use of not very much space
- pretty park, tall oaks in most of the park
Cons: - some of the later holes a little close together, but not overly so
Other Thoughts: In general a nice, compact little course. Distances were average, with very good use of trees, hedges, or other terrain features. I'd play this again if I was looking to play just 9 holes and I was in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, but fun

5+    7/31/2009   8/31/2010
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -several holes with elevation change
-fair lines through scattered trees
-practice basket
-grippy concrete tee pads
-well-made tee signs
-some hole variety and challenge, with uphill, downhill, corridor, and anhyzer shots
-very beautiful park after the first 2 holes
Cons: -can get VERY wet and muddy, especially around holes 2-5
-short course, most holes under 300'
-the first two holes are wide open, without much challenge or interest
-every hole except #3 is very deuceable
Other Thoughts: Overall, despite the lack of challenge presented by the course, I found it a fun and fast round to play. After finishing the first two holes, which admittedly are very weak, the course hits you with a few different challenges:

#3 is a tough blind anhyzer shot that is difficult to deuce based on the basket's position near shule. regardless, it's a pretty easy 3.
#4 is the only "tight" hole, but also the shortest
#5 has multiple routes, but they are equally challenging (slow anhyzer or fast straight shot)
#6-#8 are 280-300' long shots that are uphill and downhill through the woods
#9 is a beautiful finishing hole that crosses a valley, with punishing shule on the right side.

I think it's best to stay away from this course in the rainy season, as almost every hole becomes very muddy, and difficult to play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  good but not great

5+    8/20/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: TheYoungGun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice teeboxes
good boxes
best course within ten miles
Cons: short holes
nine hole course
gets muddy after rain
Other Thoughts: good beginner course some bike paths intersect holes. good cours if wanting to play a relaxed round

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.