Woodridge, IL 
Castaldo Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 11/2010)
4 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Awesome Course For Us Rec Players And Beginners!

1    6/27/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 944  Reviewed: 894  Exp: 38.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo Park is a well maintained city park. Park workers were spending a lot of time grooming the sand volleyball court while I played. How about some love for the disc course?

The course sign and map are located right by the parking lot as you enter the park. The course has the same tee signs posts as just about every course in Illinois. The tee pads are nice concrete ones with a crushed rock surrounding. The baskets are DGA models with the red numbers. The baskets are surrounded by the same fine, crushed gravel as the pads. The pars listed are elementary approiate. Ignore them or embrace them and go for the rare double eagle on # 3's 405 foot par 5.

The course plays as a easy recreational level with plenty of holes in the 225-260 foot range and not much in the way of obstacles

The first three holes play around the power lines and their giant grey towers. Then the final six play through the park's slightly rolling terrain. Beginners will enjoy their experience here.
Cons: The lovely little course lacks challenge for anyone over a recreational level.

Elementary pars as stated on the signs.

I guess the park's popularity could be problematic. Having a little patience is the key.
Other Thoughts: Another excellent little beginner course. I'm beginning to think that new players in Illinois have a good many options of where they want to practice their game. I just haven't seen more challenging courses for players looking to be challenged.

I have to agree with previous reviewers that Castaldo is one of the better Chicago 9'ers that I've played. As long as you're not worried about getting brain cancer from repeated exposure to the power lines, you'll probably enjoy your round here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Suburban 9er

1    6/9/2016   6/10/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 80  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great equipment: tee pads, baskets, signage all of good quality and in good repair.
- Nice, multi-use park is well maintained and pleasant to play in
- Land is used well, a number of fun, if not overly challenging, holes
- High voltage towers are a unique obstacle feature
Cons: - While the difficulty level here is not trivial, most players beyond novice level will have little trouble getting within the putting circle on their drives.
- There are a few locations where people on walking paths, houses, or other park users could be impacted by thrown discs, and not necessarily only on bad shots.
Other Thoughts: As far as Chicago area 9-hole disc golf courses go, Castaldo tends to keep up with the best of them. Playing no small part in that is the quality of the park and equipment. The baskets catch well, the tee signs are clear and informative (though the distances are a bit questionable, especially on holes 2 and 3) and the concrete tee pads are large and surrounded by a bed crushed stone. It was a very pleasant disc golf experience.

I played a couple hours after a storm had rolled through, and while the ground was wet, and a couple of paths across low lying areas were muddy, I was surprised how well the course handled the water. It doesn't seem like wet weather will negatively affect the course much, and certainly not for very long.

There isn't really any shot shaping here, which isn't great if you are a more experienced player looking for a challenge, but for newer players, and those just looking for a casual round or to work on a particular shot, this works just fine. Even if you are not limited to a particular shot on any hole, there are still mature trees, occasional brush, and the imposing power line towers you must navigate around to earn your birdie on most holes. If you have about 300' of controllable power you will have a good chance of birdying every hole (hole 3 is nowhere near 400').

This is a great course for its location in the middle of a neighborhood. It's a great course to learn on, and more experienced players can still have fun hunting for birdie on every hole. If you are in the area, stop by and play a quick round, it won't take you long, and even if you won't be much challenged, you can still have fun in a nice park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not challenging, but fun!

5+    4/13/2015   4/14/2015
Review By: uncrandr
Played: 59  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: >>It's a quick, short course that let's you work on your fundamentals without feeling the need to give it all you've got on every throw.
>>The layout is easy to follow.
>>A few fairly technical shots between the trees, especially in the spring and summer when there are leaves there.
Cons: >>No long holes
>>It can get pretty crowded on a nice day
>>A little muddy, but not awful
Other Thoughts: >>If you live nearby, I'd definitely play this course. I do, and I plan to start coming here whenever I feel the disc golf itch. But If you're thinking about adding it to your road trip or traveling more than 10 miles to get here, I'd reconsider.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner's Course

2-4    8/29/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes good use of the available land. It's a small community park in the middle of a subdivision. There are seasonal portable restrooms near the first teepad. There's a small shelter in the middle of the course by the playground and water fountain. The teesigns and teepads are nice. The teepads are the elongated trapezoid design that taper toward the front (i.e. / ). I liked the usage of the electrical towers as obstacles on the early holes (think metal trees). You do get some elevation changes, which is unusual for Chicagoland courses, though they are not big changes.
Cons: This course suffers from the typical Chicagoland par ratings. Par is far, far too easy here. I was missing putts for double eagle on some holes and only threw par or worse a couple of holes, mostly due to a bad drive combined with bad putting. Most of the holes feel like par 3, with 1-2 par 4, but most are listed as par 4 and one at par 5. The teesign for #8 is non-existent. Park traffic wasn't bad the day I was there, but I was there on a weekday afternoon right as school district's were starting for the year, and I can see park traffic becoming an issue for some holes.
Other Thoughts: The relatively short distances involved combined with the easy par ratings make this a good beginner course. I would definitely recommend bringing new players here without much worry about lost discs or huge frustrations over it feeling too hard. I don't recommend this to any seasoned players, though. It's far too easy, unless you're wanting to work on your short game or go for ace runs. I think this would be a good place to run an Ace Race, though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok course

1    8/31/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: Scramble630
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Nice tee signs
-Not too many places to lose your disc
Cons: -The holes are not very challenging
-Walkways and playground throughout the course
-Tee sign was missing on hole 8
-9 holes
Other Thoughts: Rather boring course that just didnt keep me very entertained. About a 45 minute drive from me so I probably wont go out of my way to make it back unless I'm making a day of playing the other surrounding 9 hole courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 119  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Castaldo Park was an enjoyable course... my buddy and I were able to play two quick rounds in this nice little park. Here are the main pros:

*Fun, semi-challenging lines to hit on holes 4-9
*Concrete tees, nice baskets
*Man-made "greens" on a few of the holes (made of crushed stones) prevent pin areas from getting super muddy
*Well maintained
Cons: Here are the cons of Castaldo Park

*Holes 1-3 are pretty boring
*Very congested park... shares area with lots of other activities. A pet peeve of mine is when fairways cross walking paths, and Castaldo Park's fairways cross paths several times
*No distance challenge (see below about sign)
*Several signs were inaccurate... one of them said there was a 400 ft hole, but there's no way it was longer than 325
*Some of the tee pad are surrounded by the same stones that surround the man-made greens leading to horrible footing on those pads.
Other Thoughts: My buddy and I drove about 25 mins each way to play this course, simply for the sake of playing adding it to our "courses played". I probably wouldn't make that drive again to play this course, but if I'm in the area, this course is a fun, quick round so I'll stop by again.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a fun 9 hole

5+    11/30/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 84  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice pads
-well groomed park
-some baskets have a very fine crushed gravel around the baskets that really help slow a disc that is close
-awesome park to bring a new player but still fun for better players
-first three holes are open shots make for good warm up holes
-the course makes very good use of the huge oak trees that are in the park
-the last 6 holes are all a lot of fun but not to hard
-uses the little bit of elevation that comes into play in the park
-one of the best if not the best 9 holes in the west burbs(at at least that i have played)
Cons: -first three holes are under huge power towers that can trash a disc if hit hard
- is only a 9 hole =/
-there is a walking path that comes into play
-can get crowded
-i have been close to hitting houses on a grip lock off of 7
Other Thoughts: i really like this course i wish it was longer but there is NO extra room to expand
-this is a good to play with the 9 in naperville because they are both right off 75th st both beginner friendly courses that are still fun when you get a little better

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dead man walking

1    11/24/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2013
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo is a pretty OK 9-hole recreational disc golf course. The property has some gentle rolling hills that create some elevation change. The first few holes are located under power lines mounted on massive gray metal towers that create some obstacles to shoot around, and the remaining holes make good use of the trees on the property. The tees are concrete and there is good signage. The course has pretty good flow and was easy to navigate. It rates pretty well in fun factor and makes a great place to shoot a quick 9-holes.
Cons: The park isn't all that large so the area the course has to work with is not optimal. The shots are on the short side, holes #5-#8 are pretty close together and you throw over and around a walking path that could create a conflict with other park users. #9 doesn't take you back to the parking lot; we played a safari hole from the #3 tee back to the practice basket to get to the car, but if the course was busy playing a safari hole that cuts across two fairways wouldn't really be very cool. It looked like there had been a wooded area the forced you through a gap on #3 and created a shule to the right on #9 that was cleared out. Both holes would have been better if those woods were still there. In the end it was a fun course, but there wasn't much variety or challenge to it.
Other Thoughts: I'm a pretty old guy, but evidently I had managed to live my life without standing directly under high voltage power lines until I teed off on #1 at Castaldo Park. The sound of electricity was unnerving. I immediately checked to make sure there wasn't a wet sponge on top of my head.

If you yell CASTALDO!!! in some phony Italian accent whenever someone hits a tree, it will either a) make your round more enjoyable or b) make the other players in your group want to strangle you, possibly both.

Speculation on the inspiration for the shape of the slide on the play system by #8 can reveal a lot about your playing partners.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Castaldo!!!

1    11/24/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 213  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This suburban park is located not far from a small electrical sub-station, with enormous grey power line towers occupying the first few holes' fairways before marching off into the distance. The course is nice enough despite the power lines, and the huge metal structures are actually pretty neat to scope out and play around. Giant iron trees, in the disc golf scheme of things.
- Decent use of elevation. Nothing dramatic but there is enough gentle roll to the grassy park to prevent utter flatness. #'s 3, 7, and 9 all have a some degree of elevation loss/gain, with #3 playing down and then back up a small depression, which looked to have been recently cleared of foliage.
- Good use of the available obstacles: trees and towers alike.
- Good concrete pads, decent signage, and a practice basket all help to give this course a polished feel. The practice basket even serves as a good "#10" after finishing the 9-hole layout.
Cons: - The crackling of the electricity overhead is a bit jangly on the nerves, but otherwise kinda cool. I can definitely see how it would detract from the experience for those who enjoy a more natural vibe.
- Castaldo does well with what it has to work with. Unfortunately, in the end it's still just your typical Chicagoland niner.
Other Thoughts: - Castaldo is fun to play, and actually, fun to say, too...Ca-stal-do. Try it. Castaldo. Say it like you're a passionate Spaniard. Castaldo. Women cry into the night: Castaldo! Throw your disc into the trees and yell in a voice ripe with vengeance: Castaldo! Clench your fist and swear that justice will be served and birdies shall be slayed: Castaldo!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad..

5+    10/10/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 88  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement pads
-Decent change in elevation throughout holes
-Good use of available obstacles
-Quick, But not too quick of a play
-Easy to navigate
-Well groomed
-One of the better 9 holers around
Cons: -Not overly challenging
-Usually pretty crowded
-Fairways sorta close together in some of the later holes
-Multi-use park that sometimes is overly crowded with people on the walking path, forcing you to wait to throw
Other Thoughts: I like this course for a quick couple of rounds, It's close to my house and it is a fun course to play. It's proximity to knock knolls is also a added bonus because if I do not want to stray to far from home I can play two niners in the same day.

Considering some of the other nearby park district courses, this one is good. I only gave it a 2 because the fact of the matter is, this course is extremely forgiving to bad shots, Pick a line, any line and you can get to the basket on pretty much every hole. I am not saying that is bad for everyone, But experienced players are looking for courses with holes that demand precise shots.

In a nutshell, this is a fun course to play and boost your confidence. If you are in the area, I would definitely stop to play a round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.