Woodridge, IL 
Castaldo Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: joenoel323 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2014)
4 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/9/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Castaldo is a solid course and is fairly unique compared to most 9-holers in this area. The first three holes of the course play underneath some massive powerlines, the bases of which serve as obstacles for holes #1 and #2. #3 is the course's signature hole -- a blind left to right shot that requires a you to throw over or through a narrow gap in a thick 15 ft high wall of hedges.

The next section of the park is a series of par 3 type holes with some elevation changes along tree-lined fairways. Most of these shots are fairly easy for more experienced players, but dueces are still prety rewarding.

The little things are all present at this course... concrete teepads, nice signs, bathrooms spring through fall, and parking right next to the first tee.

Cons: The big knock on Castaldo is that it can begin to feel a little repetitive, especially from 5-9. The land provides for just enough space to fit these 5 holes, and it still feels a little cramped. If the course is busy you will need to keep an eye out for stray drives when on these fairways.

Overall, this is not a difficult course for experienced players. Only #3 and possibly #9 require a driver.

Another inherent problem with the land provided is the bike path that runs through this "back 5" area. A bad drive on #8 could easily land on the bike path and #9 literally throws over the path, so you will often times have to wait for bikers to pass before you drive.

Another minor complaint is with #4. This kind of seems like a throw away hole... it's a little 150ft ace run with a ton of poison ivy to the left of the tee, and a duece doesn't even feel rewarding for an experienced player.

**Update 6/6**
The removal of the hedges that come into play on 3 and 9 make this a much easier course, and turn #3 into an ordinary distance drive. This will definitely help newer players, but the course just isn't as interesting with this change. I've changed my rating from a 3* to a 2* for that reason.
Other Thoughts: While it may not be the most impressive or challenging course, Castaldo rates above most of the suburban multi-use park 9-holers I've played. The power line shots and the seclusion in the back half of the course give Castaldo a unique feel, and the technical aspects of the course hold up well enough to deserve 3 stars.

As far as directions go, this place is easy to find if you're coming from Rt 53. You can only turn one way onto 71st, so just take that until you see the powerlines. The parking lot and first tee are right off the street.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Simple Course

5+    6/6/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pretty good for a 9 hole, using the available land well and providing nice fairways through large oak trees and fields. The teepads are concrete which is always a bonus. The tee signs are great, providing accurate illustrations of each hole. The flow of the course is easy to follow, so don't worry about getting lost halfway through.
Cons: The first 3 holes follow a straight field of powerlines. the first 2 holes were actually simplified by shortening the holes and cutting down surrounding shrubbery and trees. There is poison ivy in spots along the course, so if you are like me and many other people, getting poison ivy sucks, so look out as you go through the course. Many areas can get very muddy after as much as a drizzle.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of the best 9 hole courses around the Chicago area. It's not hard by any means, but it is never the less fun to play. Pro par of 27 can be achievable by even newer players. The holes that include the large oak trees of the are allow different flight paths depending on how you throw too. Might not be worth a drive longer than 10 minutes, but definitely a great course for the locals to have nearby.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 wow

5+    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: ratoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: well the tee pads are nice.
Cons: where do i start.Due to the lack of funding and motivation this is prob the best course in the area.however thats not really saying much.if i didnt live so close to it, i would prob never go.short stupid holes with a walking path that comes into play.to many distractios like a big park.
hole number 4 should be taken out its useless.
Other Thoughts: if u travel more than 6 to 8 min to get to this course u wasted ur time. not too far out there are some better courses such as joliet other than that if u truley love disc golf do not live in this area.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/15/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2014
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -One of the better Chi-town 9 holers
-Odd mix of power-line towers on the first few holes and sparse old growth forest for the remainder
-Some elevation (which is rare for the area)
-Nice signs
-Nice concrete teepads
-Hole 3 requires you to throw blindly over 15-20' high scrub trees to an open, grassy fairway
-Hole 9 is a fun shot from the top of a valley to the top of the other side with a choice of routes through the old growth trees
Cons: -Often crowded
-The clear cut that was done on the scule on 1 & 2 made those holes boring
-Not very challenging
-Some fairways are close to others (and the course has its share of totally inaccurate noobs)
Other Thoughts: One of the better after work choices in this area. Also check out the Oakbrook course, not much elevation change, but challenging with fairways cut out of fairly dense woods.

Update: Due to significant tree/brush removal and a general realignment of my reviews, I'm dropping my rating to a 2.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice walk through the park

5+    8/5/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: WindyCityROCer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course laid out around a multi-use park. Course is kept in good condition by the park, with water fountains and port-o-pottys available. Nice concrete tees, and good signage make first time navigation easy. After first 3 holes, the course plays through a nice wooded (old growth) park. Most holes have multiple routes, but some canopies forcing a low line drive. Only 3 holes have schule to speak of, and it's not that bad... (paths are starting to emerge). The course has little elevation change, but the terrain is used nicely... hole 9 is a great finisher.
Cons: Course can get crowded on weeknights/ends... while the people are nice, I've seen a lot of 6+ groups holding up play. The first 2 holes are repetitive... throw around a power line to the basket. Holes 5-8 feel similar as well, as the fairways are more "spotted" with trees, as opposed to forcing a line. With all holes under 400', this course will lose it's appeal quickly to advanced players.
Other Thoughts: Overall an enjoyable course for a quick round (or 3). Probably my favorite of the 9 holers in the area (here, Knock Knolls, Avery, Oak Brook). Great for beginner/am/families.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short n easy

1    8/4/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park with rolling hills, and grassy fairways with mature trees. The first three holes are more open, with large power lines and some brush as obstacles. The remaining holes play through a park setting with no brush, just large trees to avoid.

There wasn't a whole lot of elevation to work with, but the small hills that are there were used well to add some interest to a few of the holes. Most holes have a few clearly defined lines to the hole, offering different options with different difficulty levels. The power lines make interesting obstacles to shoot around in the beginning of the course, almost like giant metal trees.

The tees are very nice brushed concrete pads with plenty of room and excellent footing. The signage is accurate, and shows hole pictures and lengths for each hole. At the beginning of the course there is a putting area with a practice basket, and a detailed map showing the layout of the whole course.
Cons: Like many of the 9 hole courses around this area, there's not a whole lot of challenge here. None of the holes present any kind of unique challenge that would make them memorable. The first few holes seemed pretty similar, though 3 brought some brush and a blind pin into play. Many of the park holes also seemed a bit repetitive, with not a whole lot to distinguish them.

On nearly every hole, there was a fairly open RHBH hyzer route. It would have been nice to have a little more variety in shot selection required, along with a little more variety in length. Many holes played very close to picnic areas and playgrounds, and some holes played across walking paths. On a nice day, expect to spend some time waiting for other park users to clear fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice beginner course, that will help new players begin to develop accuracy shooting through the trees. Hole three is the only spot where losing a disc is a real possibility, and the course is well marked and easy to follow. More experienced players will find the course easy, as this course is more of a putt/approach practice spot.

If you're in the area, this course is fun for a quick round, otherwise I wouldn't recommend driving much out of your way to play here.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's Close By

5+    6/21/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: Adam Bigott
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for beginners
Vacant
Well kept
Cons: Boring
Short holes
No real obstacles
Other Thoughts: Wow, my pros and cons were pretty short. I guess that is the thing though. This course is bland. I don't think this should be rated moderately forested at all. Also they moved a few of the pins which would be a good idea, but they moved them closer to the tees making the course even easier. Don't go out of your way to visit this.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So-So

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners to improve their form and still feel like they accomplish something because the holes are a little shorter than normal. Of the 3 courses that are close to me (O'brien, Castaldo, and Knock Knolls) this is my favorite.
Cons: I have to shoot this course 2 or 3 times to kill more than 20 minutes, and I am not very good yet.
Other Thoughts: I have only played 6 or 7 courses total so far, and this one falls right in the middle. I shoot here a lot and it is well maintained with very few blind holes (hole 3 is the only one where I have ever come close to losing my disc as you shoot between a clearing of bushes).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Castaldo Park

1    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: Smoost4T
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Nice Layout
- Not crowded at all, I had time to throw 3 discs per hole and no one was there
- Putting practice basket is always nice.
Cons: - Muddy, it hadn't rained for a few day and was still soft
- Favors the RHFH thrower
- Powerline holes are similar
- Shots are shorter than they look. I overshot some hole by like 50 feet.
Other Thoughts: - One of the best 9 hole courses around
- Hole 4 can be easily aced

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come for 9 holers

1    4/9/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.