Course Extinct
Summertown, TN 
The Farm Share
Uploaded By: farmdiscgolf@yahoo.c Hole #2
3 / 294ft.   3 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket (Long Position)



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Amazing five star course!

5+    10/15/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: farmdiscgolf@yahoo.c
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: O.K.so i am a little partial because I am the owner's wife.This course has come a long way.After reading some of the earliest reviews I thought it would be good to write about all the progress we have made, namely the fact that we have the tick problem under control- if you stick to the fairways.The course is mowed on a regular basis and filled with stately cedar trees and two ponds. If you want to get away from the city this is the course for you, it is very peaceful and unlikely you will see very many others on your adventure.There is a mix of throws (long and short) and plenty of challenge for the avid player.We also have other amenities such as golf carts available for rental with advanced reservations.Oh, and did I mention that if you are into fitness you will enjoy about a mile and half of trails, filled with wildlife such as deer and other critters.You will def. get your exercise for the day!We love to have visitor's come and enjoy the course, so come on and bring your friends, too! We are located within an intentional community and you can learn more about it at our link in farmdiscgolf.com

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!!!

2-4    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Nice signage and benches. Course flow was excellent and really felt "like a disc golf course." Friendly locals/ Lots of variety.
Cons: Some bad rough patches on certain holes.
Other Thoughts: This course was a blast and I look forward to coming back. A lot of work has been done out here since the last reviews and this course deserves some love!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is very isolated from everything making for a peaceful round of disc golf- just you and the course. There is a decent variety overall in open and wooded holes. The baskets are all in the style of your typical practice-at-home basket, but the chains are soft, forgiving, and do a nice job holding your putts. The front 9 have a 2nd row of inner chains custom installed. The tee signs and navigation signs are not fancy, but informative. Navigation was a breeze as paths from basket to tee were neatly mowed.

The course designer and maintainer, Kenny, is friendly and easy going. He was happy to have us come play (there is no charge to play here.) He even joined us for hole #18! He hosts local tournaments with the emphasis on them being more laid back and fun.

The front side of the kiosk has a nice course map. The back side is where you sign in. Also there are scorecards and course maps for you to take with you.
Cons: The first 6 teepads are carpet and the remaining tees are natural, so you end up just making up your own tee somewhere around the tee sign.

Although there is variety overall, there is not a good mix as you play. The first 10 holes are in an area of very long grasses with several isolated trees, the next 4 are in deep woods, and the last 4 are wide open.

The biggest con for me was the size of the fairways on the first 14 holes. Kenny had just mowed them (I can't imagine playing here if not mowed), but most of them were just a few feet wide with trees right in the middle, and the rough was extremely high and thick. The narrow fairways were almost impossible to hit, landing in the rough was inevitable, and you had to spend several minutes searching for your disc after every shot. The wooded holes also had unrealistic narrow paths that winded back and forth.

Ticks are thick on this course, I recommend lots of bug spray and checking yourself often. I was also warned of snakes, but did not see any, however, every time I went in the knee high rough looking for a disc I was careful on every step!
Other Thoughts: This course has some decent potential. The course is fairly new and Kenny said he is limited on the how much undergrowth he is currently allowed to remove. If wider, realistic fairways could be regularly mowed this course would be tons better.

The map showed 2 ponds in play with alternate tees for both of those holes, but I did not see any ponds or alternate tees.

There is a decent walk to hole #1. Just follow the sign that says "start here" and keep walking, you will eventually get there. The walk to #10 is also pretty long, just stay right and you will find it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf in an overgrown pasture

1    10/18/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2009
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are no water hazards on this course, so you needn't worry about bringing any floating disks. The area around Summertown and Hohenwald is beautiful and very peaceful. The course also is free, but that is about where the pros end.
Cons: Non-existent fairways on holes 1-14. Essentially, the first 14 holes are overgrown pasture land that baskets were put in. There are no tee pads and the baskets are the cheaper sport model baskets. If you can't throw a thumber and tomahawk between 250-300 feet with pinpoint accuracy, you are going to be frustrated. All you can do is throw over the 15-20 foot saplings that are all over. Then, you have to hope that you don't land behind one so that you don't have a putt. I am used to tight courses, and I am not exaggerating when I say fairways are non-existent on the first 14 holes, and the final 4 holes are just open shots across grass between 330 and 457 feet.
Other Thoughts: The Farm is in beautiful country and has some awesome potential. However, it looks like a course that someone who has never played set up after reading the Discraft or Innova tips online. I would say that with liberal use of some chain saws and moving some pins the course could be really good. All that being said, these folks were good enough to allow the public to play in their community and there are 18 holes so that is worth at least 1.5 stars.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center