North Little Rock, AR
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #1
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tricky Course

1    9/25/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: fountg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to some of the others in the area, this was a really fun course to play. My favorite thing was that while wooded, I didnt feel like I was definetly going to hit a tree every time I shot. Another local course (Dupree) Is in really thick woods, while this course is more open, with trees on every fairway to add a bit of challenge.
Cons: This course was hard to navigate. Im normally pretty apt at this and I couldnt find my way around at all. I found hole one, (Although I felt like there were like 3....I think some were practice holes...) Found holes 2 through 5, and then was totally lost. The next hole I could find was 9. 9 through 13 werent too difficult to find, but it was a little confusing which baskets I was shooting at sometimes. I didnt find 14 until I had almost skipped it, but after that the rest of the holes were pretty straightforward.
Other Thoughts: Basically, This is a really fun course, BUT I would definetly take a guide with you, if not you could wind up spening more time trying to find your way around than playing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Better of the Two

1    7/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: fortius54
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *A lot of shot variety
*Plays fast. Great course fora quick round.
Cons: *Signs need to be redone
*No holes to really drive on.
*Close to interstate so very loud.
Other Thoughts: This is by for the better of the two, but it needs some major work. The baskets need to be replaced. For some reason a white piece of PVC pipe is stretched between two trees. I suppose to make the shot harder.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red- Woods on the Hill

1    7/15/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Park has 36 holes. Both courses start and end from the same parking area (think mini-golf set-up!) This course is mainly in the woods up on the hillside. Most holes had fairways. A couple of the holes utilized elevation pretty well. The hanging PVC pipe was an obstacle I have yet to see elsewhere. There was also an elevated basket on a mound.
Cons: We had trouble finding hole 2 at first! There were a couple of other minor navigational issues regarding finding the correct basket. Fence runs pretty close to some holes so be careful there or your disc might land on the interstate!

Course seemed like it wasn't played too much when I was there- in fact the whole park (which contains a lot of stuff, including carnival type rides) seemed to be deserted- and it was summer.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because it did have some memorable holes, although not all the holes are great. It is a plus that another course is right there.

If I was passing through Little Rock again I would probably stop and play both courses.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on every hole. Technical players will like this course. The course makes good use of elevation and the many many trees. There is good variety in your shot selection. The course loops back to the main pavilion after 7 holes.
Cons: It can be difficult to navigate a couple of the holes your first time on the course. The only bathrooms were a long walk from the start of the course across the parking lot, which is across the park road.

The luck factor on many holes was too high for my liking. There were a couple of holes where I threw the main gap, then held my breath hoping the disc would get the rest of the way.
Other Thoughts: The only time I played this course was in a pro championship tournament, so set up was in its most difficult positions (not sure how many different positions there are). It was very obvious to me that the local club had worked very hard in preparation for this big tournament, so the park was in pristine condition. The fairways were clean and a lot of cons I read from the other reviews seemed to be cleared up in my opinion. The park is really easy to get to off the interstate. This course was fun to play, but the number of interesting holes were equally met by the number of stupid holes. The good news is that the other course in the park is good and balances out the 2 courses nicely.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.