North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #18
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Red

5+    6/3/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: LL_NiO
Played: 21  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Nice course. Will challenge your technical game for sure. Couple of ace opportunities but they don't just hand it away by any means. Lot's of shade so great course for a hot day. Good amount of trash cans and benches too.
Cons: Not a lot wrong with this course it's just pretty basic. No length anywhere. Signs and baskets could use a little updating.
Other Thoughts: If you like wooded technical courses then you'll love it. Then you can jump over to Blue for some distance. Fun course and great day out.

Wow, tough course for beginner

1    5/21/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: discgolfnovice88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you
Lots of elevation changes
Do you like playing in the woods? If so you will like it.
Easy to get to off interstate
Cons: We got lost halfway through the front 9
Signage is non-existent in places
Old baskets, but all functional
Interstate noise is LOUD
The map doesn't help much, but print one off before you try for the first time
No real long drives available with all the trees and short holes
Other Thoughts: We loved this course for the challenge it presented. It is definitely a wooded course and the majority of the holes are short. Yes it is true, we got lost halfway through, but a local that plays the course a bunch pointed us back in the right direction. I advise going with someone that knows the course the first time you play. The elevation changes on this course are awesome. We both birdied 18. We will be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good

2-4    6/5/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: - Everything you would expect from an above average course is here. Signs, teeboxes, navigation arrows, alright baskets. There isn't anything that is bad.

- Very good variation in the hole shapes.

- Love the levee hole. I really enjoy high risk shots. There aren't too many of those around.

- Even though the course is almost entirely in woods, the under brush off the fairways seemed well kept. When I had to go hunting for a disc, I didn't ever feel like I was having to push through tons of bushes and brush. The only seemed like bushes were kept thick near baskets to require more accurate shots.

- Lots of picnic tables/benches at holes. Not sure there was one at every hole, but I'd say at least 2/3, probably more. Also, the course goes near multiple bathrooms, but I didn't go in any, so I can't speak to their quality.

- I played with locals, and it really seemed like that the pin locations were changed pretty consistently. Which is a big plus. Most courses that I've seen that have alternate locations, don't actually use them.
Cons: - They just changed out all the baskets to Mack X's on the Blue course, so I would assume that will happen for Red in the near future, but until that happens, hold you breathe on all putts. Played here twice and saw 5 or 6 spit outs that were center chains.

- There were navigation arrows between holes. However, since the baskets can be in very different locations, I'm not sure that all arrows could be seen from either pin location, would help to make them bolder and visible from every possible pin spot.

- I'll list it as a con, but it's more of a nuisance, than an actual negative of the course. It gets very close to the interstate. There is a constant sound of cars rushing by, and the holes nearest to it, the sound can make it difficult to hear if you aren't close to your group.

- I feel like it favored left to right shots more, but I think it mostly depends on which pin location the baskets are in. Probably would be best for the group who changes the locations to make sure the pin locations require the most variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: - I haven't made up my mind if I like Red or Blue more. It's clear they are perfect compliments to each other. I'd probably have to flip a coin on which to play if I could only play one, but I would hope I would have the time to play both. I would definitely recommend playing both, but if you have to choose.......good luck.

 I really liked it

1    4/3/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love this course, it was designed for a backhander. It is a fun short course, with many aces opportunities. If your looking for length, this is not it. It would be a great course to play daily and fine tune your short game!
Cons: Baskets, Baskets, Baskets! The baskets are terrible, hard to see, and the course is tough to navigate. Multiple tee pads makes it confusing

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course for the most part. Definitely better than the blue counterpart. Plenty of holes for FH and BH. Really have to be accurate on your lines, or you'll lose the birds to pars.
Cons: Extremely short. It's a rarity to bring out anything faster than a mid. It's definitely a course you can break par with only a putter at hand. I like to throw far, and you just can't do it here. Not a big con though.
The baskets are pretty old and don't catch very well at all. Similar to the Blue Course in that respect.
A couple of holes are a bit confusing and it's tough to tell where baskets are. Every time I play this course, things are moved around.
I'm pretty sure the basket on 17 is missing, if it's not, I have no idea where it's been moved to.
Children run around the course sometimes, which gets annoying.
18 ends on the other side of a playground area. I always feel awkward walking past it and the kids back the where I parked or the blue course, hahaha.
Other Thoughts: I don't live in the area anymore, but anytime I come down to visit, I always hit up this course (and if time the blue only second). It's a good course, pretty easy if you have solid control of your mid/putter game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A pretty short technical wooded course that rewards shots that are on line and usually punishes ones that aren't.
-Red and white signs on trees that indicate the hole.
-Well maintained
-Concrete teepads that are level and in good condition.
-Bathrooms near 11 and 17
-In a city park that has almost everything you could want to do.
-There is a water faucet behind the pavilion near 1 tee to fill a water bottle. There is also another one near the pavilion by 15.
-Great locals that will usually help with anything you need.
-Alternate pins on most holes that can change the course from righty favor to lefty favor or a mix.
Cons: -Some of the baskets are pretty beat, and they are not consistent throughout the course. Some are deep baskets and some are shallow, and 2's basket has a single layer of chains.
-The park can be busy at times on nice days, this may cause non-golfers to go on the course, but this isn't usually much trouble.
-Navigation (see below)
-tee signs that show routes and distances are small, old, and may not be correct, they need to be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: -If you want to make some birdies, you have to hit the lines and will have to shape your shot on a majority of the holes. Pars are easy to come by with straight shots, but it is so tempting to try for the deuce.
-There is a good mix of holes that turn left, right, and some that are straight. Fairways are well defined.
-A fence comes into play on holes 3, 6, and 10. If you throw over the fence on 3 or 6, there is a gap in the fence in the middle of hole 6 so you can retrieve your disc. If you go over on 10, you can either go back to 6 and go through the fence or go around it after hole 12. Some people do climb the fence but I don't do that.

-This is a great course in a great area. Everyone likes to play this course at least occasionally. The holes aren't very long (about 180-300 I think mostly) but they make you put your disc in the right spot.

-This would be a 4-4.5 rating if the signs were better, navigation was easier, and the baskets were replaced. This course uses the best of the area that it was put in.


Navigation can be tough for someone who has never played this course before.
-If the basket for hole 1 is to the right, be sure to go back to the left for the teepad for 2, if you go straight, you will end up on the first tee for the Blue course.
-2 can be tough to see the basket from the tee because is just to the right of the fairway, but it may be deep and you won't see it until getting into the fairway. From the basket, there is a path to the left that leads to 3.
-3 is another hole that may be hard to see the basket at first if it is to the left. There is a fairway that leads to it, but there is also a row of trees in the way. The basket may also be straight in front of you from the tee.
-Hole 4 has two teepads that can be used, and the farther teepad is molded into the teepad for #6, so that can get confusing as players from 3 may see this and go ahead and play 6 instead. 4 has a mando between two trees and that is clearly marked with big arrows right in front of the short tee box. The basket is either to the left or right of the fairway.
-Going from 4 to 5 can be confusing because there are two old teepads on the trail from 4 basket to 5 tee. These are not marked in any way and are not used anymore, but if you stand on one, you can see a basket and somewhat of a path to it, so you could be compelled to throw at it. 5 teepad is clearly marked and there is a log bench behind it. The basket is straight in front of you from the teepad.
-There is a path to the right of 5 basket that leads to 6 teepad. The basket for 6 is to the right of the fairway right after a row of trees. 7 teepad is to the left, directly across the fairway. From the basket, you should see the red 7 on the tree that marks the tee and there is a log bench behind it.
-7 goes straight from the teepad to the basket, right in line with the large pvc pipe hanging. To get to 8, keep going behind the basket and there is a path that goes through some trees and leads to the fairway for 8.
-8 is up the hill and the basket is to the left of the fairway and is at the bottom of the ridge. 9 teepad is easily seen to the right.
-9 can be seen from the teepad if it is to the right, if you don't see it there, it is deep and a little left. To get to 10, go to your left and you should see a log that is above the ground in a gap in the ridge. Go over this log and you should see the teepad to the left.
-The basket for 10 is on top of the ridge. It is either right next to the fence, or it is about 40 feet short of it. From the fairway, 11 teepad is to the left of the fairway across from the basket.
-There are two places the basket could be for 11 and the route can easily be seen for both of them from the tee. To get to 12, go to the right of the pavilion or walk next to the fence and you should see it next to the fence.
-The basket for 12 is straight from the tee and near the edge of the dropoff near the road. Teepad for 13 is to the left of the basket.
-13 is up the hill and the basket is either straight up the fairway or a little to the right of the fairway. To get to 14, go back down the hill a bit and the teepad is next to the building.
-14 is easy to see if the basket is straight and on top of the hill, if its not there then it is all the way around the trees and bushes to the left and about 40 feet farther. To get to 15, go straight across the street and you should see a trash can and a red 15 on a tree that marks the tee. You will cross across gravel also on your way.
-15 is straight down the hill and there is an OB line about 30 feet behind the basket that is played in competitions. 16 tee is to the left of the basket.
-16 is straight up the hill. To get to 17, go to the left at the basket and you should see a trail that leads to 17. Be careful when you get near the end of the trail because you are entering the fairway for 17 and you can't see the teebox if someone is throwing. The teepad is to the left.
-The basket for 17 could be straight in front of you from the tee behind the skinny trees or it could be behind the large tree that is to the right of the bathrooms. From the basket, go back toward the tee a little, and you should see a path to the left that leads to 18. This is on the top of the hill and you will cross a lower area on the way to the tee. The large boulders are somewhat of a guide to show you where to go. Again, there is a red 18 on a tree near the teepad and a log bench behind the tee.
-18 is down the hill and to the right. Once in the fairway, you should see the basket right in front of you. There is a cable behind the basket that is used as OB in competitions.

If this sounds too confusing (its not as bad as it sounds) contact me and I can guide you through a round or more.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My new home course

5+    7/12/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 19.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very tight and techinical course. Heavily wooded. Lots of elevation changes and some pretty dramatic down hill throws. A few ace runs. Multiple basket positions on many of the holes. Great to have 2 courses right next to each other.
Cons: Signage is old and weak and some baskets are a little beat.
Other Thoughts: As I said before the Disc Golf scene is really starting to emerge here. We are trying to make improvements to the course gradually. Please be patient.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 379  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Proximity to the blue course. It is awesome to go on a disc golf vacation and be able to bag two courses in a few hours.
- Close to the freeway. The park also has huge signs on the freeway telling you where the park exit is... and huge signs through the park telling you where the disc golf course is.
- The red course is a short, technical little thing with lots of birdies to be had. The fairways are fair and there is a decent amount of punishment for bad shots. Lots of ace runs too.
Cons:
- There is no signage and you need to look around a bit for some of the tee-pads. They do put numbered markers on the trees above the tee-pads and they are usually visible from the basket... but, I got lost a few times (especially after 11 - walk around the pavilion).
- The signage issue will also lead you to throw into possible out of bounds zones. But, if there is no sign and no one is there to tell you there is an ob line behind the basket... I guess its not ob.
Other Thoughts:
- This park really needs signage for these two courses to make it stand out as a superior disc golf destination. However, I did see two guys out there working on the course. I saw a newly poured (wet) cement tee-pad (wanted to scribe DSCJNKY in it but didn't) and a framed tee-pad waiting to be poured. So it looks like work is being done to improve the courses.
- Love how they added a PVC tree in the middle of a fairway... I heard it was because someone cut down the tree that was there.
- This course seems more for the ams and local families... it's fun as hell; but, the blue course is a championship style disc golf course.
- My Score -6

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shorter of the two courses at Burns, this 18 still offers a couple of opportunities to let it rip with your driver. Holes 1-9 are particularly interesting and make very good use of the elevation changes that the park has to offer. Excellent markers make this an easy course to navigate.
Cons: This section of Burns Park lies adjacent to I-40, so noise pollution (while not totally distracting) mars the aesthetics of the course. # 10 is a novelty hole that doesn't add much value to the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Burns is a great place to play- the red course is easy to navigate and requires an appealing mix of finesse and power to finish at par. I've played it dozens and dozens of times and it still pleases.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Burns baby Burns

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that. Alternate routes to the pin on almost every hole. Extremely well kept course especially for a wooded course. Creative pin placements. Hole 10 I think on the hill gave me my first bogey. Even though I could hear cars on the freeway it still felt secluded which was surprising to me. 90% of both courses are disc golf only. Decent elevation, uphill and downhill. Not too hard to navigate. Even though it rained 48 hours before I played, it was only soggy here and there with a dry path if you just watch where you are going. Restrooms after hole 10. A lot of shade and no wind in the woods. The most beginner friendly wooded course that I have played because of the well defined fairways. Just a fun course that is a pleasure to play.
Cons: Had to spot a handful of baskets. Not very difficult for the seasoned disc golfer. Not a lot of variety, but you know that going in thanks to this incredible web site. Can be busy at times which is good if you are a first timer, just follow the locals.
Other Thoughts: This was a 330 mile round trip for me, which isn't that many for a 1 day disc golf adventure to play 2 great courses that are right next to each other. I Prefer heavily wooded courses to lightly or moderate so I have that built in bias. That is probably why I gave it a higher rating than most of the other reviewers. This course has more of a state park type feel than a wide open walker infested city park "cram job".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center