North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #12
3 / 267ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 I really liked it

1    4/3/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love this course, it was designed for a backhander. It is a fun short course, with many aces opportunities. If your looking for length, this is not it. It would be a great course to play daily and fine tune your short game!
Cons: Baskets, Baskets, Baskets! The baskets are terrible, hard to see, and the course is tough to navigate. Multiple tee pads makes it confusing

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course for the most part. Definitely better than the blue counterpart. Plenty of holes for FH and BH. Really have to be accurate on your lines, or you'll lose the birds to pars.
Cons: Extremely short. It's a rarity to bring out anything faster than a mid. It's definitely a course you can break par with only a putter at hand. I like to throw far, and you just can't do it here. Not a big con though.
The baskets are pretty old and don't catch very well at all. Similar to the Blue Course in that respect.
A couple of holes are a bit confusing and it's tough to tell where baskets are. Every time I play this course, things are moved around.
I'm pretty sure the basket on 17 is missing, if it's not, I have no idea where it's been moved to.
Children run around the course sometimes, which gets annoying.
18 ends on the other side of a playground area. I always feel awkward walking past it and the kids back the where I parked or the blue course, hahaha.
Other Thoughts: I don't live in the area anymore, but anytime I come down to visit, I always hit up this course (and if time the blue only second). It's a good course, pretty easy if you have solid control of your mid/putter game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A pretty short technical wooded course that rewards shots that are on line and usually punishes ones that aren't.
-Red and white signs on trees that indicate the hole.
-Well maintained
-Concrete teepads that are level and in good condition.
-Bathrooms near 11 and 17
-In a city park that has almost everything you could want to do.
-There is a water faucet behind the pavilion near 1 tee to fill a water bottle. There is also another one near the pavilion by 15.
-Great locals that will usually help with anything you need.
-Alternate pins on most holes that can change the course from righty favor to lefty favor or a mix.
Cons: -Some of the baskets are pretty beat, and they are not consistent throughout the course. Some are deep baskets and some are shallow, and 2's basket has a single layer of chains.
-The park can be busy at times on nice days, this may cause non-golfers to go on the course, but this isn't usually much trouble.
-Navigation (see below)
-tee signs that show routes and distances are small, old, and may not be correct, they need to be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: -If you want to make some birdies, you have to hit the lines and will have to shape your shot on a majority of the holes. Pars are easy to come by with straight shots, but it is so tempting to try for the deuce.
-There is a good mix of holes that turn left, right, and some that are straight. Fairways are well defined.
-A fence comes into play on holes 3, 6, and 10. If you throw over the fence on 3 or 6, there is a gap in the fence in the middle of hole 6 so you can retrieve your disc. If you go over on 10, you can either go back to 6 and go through the fence or go around it after hole 12. Some people do climb the fence but I don't do that.

-This is a great course in a great area. Everyone likes to play this course at least occasionally. The holes aren't very long (about 180-300 I think mostly) but they make you put your disc in the right spot.

-This would be a 4-4.5 rating if the signs were better, navigation was easier, and the baskets were replaced. This course uses the best of the area that it was put in.


Navigation can be tough for someone who has never played this course before.
-If the basket for hole 1 is to the right, be sure to go back to the left for the teepad for 2, if you go straight, you will end up on the first tee for the Blue course.
-2 can be tough to see the basket from the tee because is just to the right of the fairway, but it may be deep and you won't see it until getting into the fairway. From the basket, there is a path to the left that leads to 3.
-3 is another hole that may be hard to see the basket at first if it is to the left. There is a fairway that leads to it, but there is also a row of trees in the way. The basket may also be straight in front of you from the tee.
-Hole 4 has two teepads that can be used, and the farther teepad is molded into the teepad for #6, so that can get confusing as players from 3 may see this and go ahead and play 6 instead. 4 has a mando between two trees and that is clearly marked with big arrows right in front of the short tee box. The basket is either to the left or right of the fairway.
-Going from 4 to 5 can be confusing because there are two old teepads on the trail from 4 basket to 5 tee. These are not marked in any way and are not used anymore, but if you stand on one, you can see a basket and somewhat of a path to it, so you could be compelled to throw at it. 5 teepad is clearly marked and there is a log bench behind it. The basket is straight in front of you from the teepad.
-There is a path to the right of 5 basket that leads to 6 teepad. The basket for 6 is to the right of the fairway right after a row of trees. 7 teepad is to the left, directly across the fairway. From the basket, you should see the red 7 on the tree that marks the tee and there is a log bench behind it.
-7 goes straight from the teepad to the basket, right in line with the large pvc pipe hanging. To get to 8, keep going behind the basket and there is a path that goes through some trees and leads to the fairway for 8.
-8 is up the hill and the basket is to the left of the fairway and is at the bottom of the ridge. 9 teepad is easily seen to the right.
-9 can be seen from the teepad if it is to the right, if you don't see it there, it is deep and a little left. To get to 10, go to your left and you should see a log that is above the ground in a gap in the ridge. Go over this log and you should see the teepad to the left.
-The basket for 10 is on top of the ridge. It is either right next to the fence, or it is about 40 feet short of it. From the fairway, 11 teepad is to the left of the fairway across from the basket.
-There are two places the basket could be for 11 and the route can easily be seen for both of them from the tee. To get to 12, go to the right of the pavilion or walk next to the fence and you should see it next to the fence.
-The basket for 12 is straight from the tee and near the edge of the dropoff near the road. Teepad for 13 is to the left of the basket.
-13 is up the hill and the basket is either straight up the fairway or a little to the right of the fairway. To get to 14, go back down the hill a bit and the teepad is next to the building.
-14 is easy to see if the basket is straight and on top of the hill, if its not there then it is all the way around the trees and bushes to the left and about 40 feet farther. To get to 15, go straight across the street and you should see a trash can and a red 15 on a tree that marks the tee. You will cross across gravel also on your way.
-15 is straight down the hill and there is an OB line about 30 feet behind the basket that is played in competitions. 16 tee is to the left of the basket.
-16 is straight up the hill. To get to 17, go to the left at the basket and you should see a trail that leads to 17. Be careful when you get near the end of the trail because you are entering the fairway for 17 and you can't see the teebox if someone is throwing. The teepad is to the left.
-The basket for 17 could be straight in front of you from the tee behind the skinny trees or it could be behind the large tree that is to the right of the bathrooms. From the basket, go back toward the tee a little, and you should see a path to the left that leads to 18. This is on the top of the hill and you will cross a lower area on the way to the tee. The large boulders are somewhat of a guide to show you where to go. Again, there is a red 18 on a tree near the teepad and a log bench behind the tee.
-18 is down the hill and to the right. Once in the fairway, you should see the basket right in front of you. There is a cable behind the basket that is used as OB in competitions.

If this sounds too confusing (its not as bad as it sounds) contact me and I can guide you through a round or more.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My new home course

5+    7/12/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very tight and techinical course. Heavily wooded. Lots of elevation changes and some pretty dramatic down hill throws. A few ace runs. Multiple basket positions on many of the holes. Great to have 2 courses right next to each other.
Cons: Signage is old and weak and some baskets are a little beat.
Other Thoughts: As I said before the Disc Golf scene is really starting to emerge here. We are trying to make improvements to the course gradually. Please be patient.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/18/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Proximity to the blue course. It is awesome to go on a disc golf vacation and be able to bag two courses in a few hours.
- Close to the freeway. The park also has huge signs on the freeway telling you where the park exit is... and huge signs through the park telling you where the disc golf course is.
- The red course is a short, technical little thing with lots of birdies to be had. The fairways are fair and there is a decent amount of punishment for bad shots. Lots of ace runs too.
Cons:
- There is no signage and you need to look around a bit for some of the tee-pads. They do put numbered markers on the trees above the tee-pads and they are usually visible from the basket... but, I got lost a few times (especially after 11 - walk around the pavilion).
- The signage issue will also lead you to throw into possible out of bounds zones. But, if there is no sign and no one is there to tell you there is an ob line behind the basket... I guess its not ob.
Other Thoughts:
- This park really needs signage for these two courses to make it stand out as a superior disc golf destination. However, I did see two guys out there working on the course. I saw a newly poured (wet) cement tee-pad (wanted to scribe DSCJNKY in it but didn't) and a framed tee-pad waiting to be poured. So it looks like work is being done to improve the courses.
- Love how they added a PVC tree in the middle of a fairway... I heard it was because someone cut down the tree that was there.
- This course seems more for the ams and local families... it's fun as hell; but, the blue course is a championship style disc golf course.
- My Score -6

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shorter of the two courses at Burns, this 18 still offers a couple of opportunities to let it rip with your driver. Holes 1-9 are particularly interesting and make very good use of the elevation changes that the park has to offer. Excellent markers make this an easy course to navigate.
Cons: This section of Burns Park lies adjacent to I-40, so noise pollution (while not totally distracting) mars the aesthetics of the course. # 10 is a novelty hole that doesn't add much value to the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Burns is a great place to play- the red course is easy to navigate and requires an appealing mix of finesse and power to finish at par. I've played it dozens and dozens of times and it still pleases.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Burns baby Burns

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that. Alternate routes to the pin on almost every hole. Extremely well kept course especially for a wooded course. Creative pin placements. Hole 10 I think on the hill gave me my first bogey. Even though I could hear cars on the freeway it still felt secluded which was surprising to me. 90% of both courses are disc golf only. Decent elevation, uphill and downhill. Not too hard to navigate. Even though it rained 48 hours before I played, it was only soggy here and there with a dry path if you just watch where you are going. Restrooms after hole 10. A lot of shade and no wind in the woods. The most beginner friendly wooded course that I have played because of the well defined fairways. Just a fun course that is a pleasure to play.
Cons: Had to spot a handful of baskets. Not very difficult for the seasoned disc golfer. Not a lot of variety, but you know that going in thanks to this incredible web site. Can be busy at times which is good if you are a first timer, just follow the locals.
Other Thoughts: This was a 330 mile round trip for me, which isn't that many for a 1 day disc golf adventure to play 2 great courses that are right next to each other. I Prefer heavily wooded courses to lightly or moderate so I have that built in bias. That is probably why I gave it a higher rating than most of the other reviewers. This course has more of a state park type feel than a wide open walker infested city park "cram job".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for trees!

1    12/28/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Refines your accuracy and short game.
Most holes reachable off the teepad.

Elevation is good (many holes up and down)

Another 18 holes in the same park!
Cons: Baskets in need of a little TLC.

Trees, Trees, Trees!

Some hole markers missing (hard to gauge distance of the hole or direction)

A little hard to navigate the course without a veteran to help you along.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with another 18 awaiting in the same park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the landscape - lots of elevation changes (some short & drastic, some slow & gentle) and tons of pines to test your accuracy.

The course is mostly short and the holes are grouped fairly close together, which makes for a pretty quick round...if I was in Little Rock and only had an hour to play, this is the course I would pick. However, some of the holes beg for you to empty your bag on them...so it might end up being a long round afterall :)

Many, many technical shots in the <250' range...great course to hone your short-range game, but also has a few 300+ holes that are just as tight/technical. Actually, I can't recall a single hole on this course that I would label as "open".

A handful of very memorable holes...unfortunately I can't recall what # they all are. One of the short/tight holes plays slightly downhill, no more than 230', but requires you to navigate around a giant 8-10" thick piece of PVC pipe strung up in the middle of the fairway. From what I'm told, the tradition is to sign the PVC if you hit it ;)

Another memorable hole plays slightly downhill through a mildly wooded part of the park with the basket sitting only a few feet from the edge of a steep drop-off that overlooks the surrounding area.

Plenty of chances for birdie and bogey...overall a very fun and challenging course.
Cons: Although the course presents many different lines that have to be thrown, at the end of the day it's a 100% short/wooded/technical course. Personally I like courses like this, but I think a little more variety (ie - an open hole with grass, longer holes) would make it more well-rounded. The fact that the other course in the park is more along those lines helps out with this issue.

Lack of consistency when it comes to types of baskets...I recall seeing a few differnet kind throughout the round, some of which weren't in the best shape (but still caught well).

One of the holes (3 or 4) has a pin placement that is the definition of "poke and hope"...90-degree dogleg to the left with a TON of trees in the way. The tiny intended gap is so close to the tee, that even if you pure it you still never know if your shot will be any good.
Other Thoughts: This is my preferred course out of the 2 at Burns Park - mainly because it plays to my strengths, but also because it has the most holes that I consider to be pure fun to play.

This was one of the courses used for the 2008 Southern National Pro Championship...and I believe Burns Park will be the site of the 2009 SNPC as well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wooded Course

6/15/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design...uses trees/terrain very well
Some VERY unique holes--one with a great man-made hanging obstacle...one on the spine of a long rise
Pretty intuitive for being a wooded course
Rewards accuracy
Punishes wayward shots
Forces a wide variety of throws and stategy

Cons: A couple of holes could have a pointer or sign to next tee (once you play it a couple of times it's no big deal...but the first time I had a couple of holes that took a little time to find the tee)
Not much else is negative to me...

Other Thoughts: After the first couple of times playing both courses, I now only play the red course....
I've had a couple of awesome rounds here and it makes me want to keep coming back to try to do better...
Every time I'm in Little Rock, it is a MUST PLAY course and worth the short drive out of the town...
Super easy to get to off the freeway

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.