North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #14
3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Always good

5+    3/11/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads on all holes

Excellent use of terrain.

Very easy to get to from the interstate.

Bathroom located across the street from the course.
Cons: Tee signs are posts, most have worn off.

While most of the course is marked, there are a few spots it can be hard ti find your way around. If you have not played here before, print out the map to make it much easier.

Basket #11 was missing
Other Thoughts: I have been playing Burns park for over 25 years. Back from the 9 hole single chain days when the holes were located where the tennis courts are now.

The red course is a shorter technical course with a very very good mix of holes.

Some of the baskets are the original single chain baskets from years ago. Needless to say, they have seen better days.

But as far as a good day of golf, this is the place to go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    7/2/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and trees.
Great shot opportunities.
Cons: A few fences you may have to hop, and a road or two that you throw at. Hope you don't roll down a hill...
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park.
Nice playground for kids at the start.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Great Little Course

1    3/13/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really liked this course. Very pretty. Great use of elevation. Lots of trees, with nice fairways.
Cons: Poor signage, and we got lost a few times between holes. Ended up playing toward the wrong basket once, which was frustrating. The tee pads are ok, but not great. No long or open holes to air it out, but I didn't mind.
Other Thoughts: This is, in my opinion, better than the blue course, by quite a bit.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Righty forehand paradise...

2-4    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: rflahive
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good topography; nice mix of vegetation; good signage and directions
Cons: SHORTY!
Other Thoughts: If you throw right handed and don't have a forehand...you're in trouble on this course....the design is typical of a course that is biased towards lefties...and meant to frustrate righty backhand players...

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, Treesy, Stay Under Threesy

2-4    5/10/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short Ace Run type course is a real treat. It has enough trees to keep you on target and enough shade to be a great stop on a hot day. The holes are a series of Ace Runs, yes, but they are what I call Fun Ace Runs! It is basically a series of alley type runs. You will find yourself throwing and wanting to throw again thinking, I could have gotten closer. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. The elevation is diverse enough to enjoy what it gives you, even though there isn't anything too dramatic here. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. This part of the park looks to be mostly DG only; so pedestrian safety was not an issue. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.
Cons: Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. There are some OB spots that would be nice to know before you throw. Upon a first visit, I found it better to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check, if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was really good here. The trees and well-designed fairways that were carved out make you really want to throw multiple drives on many of the holes. That is usually a good sign of a fun course. Outside of signage and navigation, I had a great time and would love to play here again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Red Course

5+    3/5/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great short, technical skills course. Not being a very long shot yet, I enjoyed the shorter lengths. Ups, downs, lefts, rights, this course is a wonderful mixed bag. Good course for sliders and skippers with all the leaves and dirt instead of grass. The course is an all-around blast to play and continues to be fun each and every time.
Cons: Signage is weak, but at least is existent. One hole, I think 12, throws right toward a busy road that's down a steep hill. Some fences that are easy to throw over and a few holes share space with non-golfers. Very, very confusing at first and a map is necessary from the web site. A guide would be best the first time. I have played it 10+ and still occasionally start to get lost and then realize it, lol. Just like the blue course, lots of leaves to slide under and dissapear.
Other Thoughts: This is a really awesome course that continues to deliver time and time again. Better signage would make it a 4.5 for me.

When you park by the rocket slide and start playing, be careful as both courses are side by side at first.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ace & birdie ops

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ebonsdad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide range of technical but shorter holes, Quite hilly, alternate pin positions keep it fresh, lots of right turn drives to challenge us right handers. Course kept nice year-round.
Cons: Lots of trees!! Close to playground area so occasionally gets non-DG foot traffic on course. OB over fence hard to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Been playing Burns since it was only one 18 hole course, always family-friendly, plenty of rest room facilities nearby & benches at most holes. Hole #10 will make you or break you!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/15/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, love going here early, early morning. There are many long drops and rises in the course, hole 12 and 13 you get to show off your skills to people driving by.
Cons: The holes by the high way are very distracting

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very pretty, technical course

2-4    3/16/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty, technical course. Most holes are short but tightly wooded. The fairways are very fair and usually offer a variety of routes to get to the pin. There are a lot of ace runs and birdie holes. Most holes are easy pars barring a very bad shot or a bad skip off of a tree. This was a fun course that wasn't overly challenging aside from hitting the line you want to take through the trees. The best thing about the course are the elevation changes which bring an element that a lot of courses are lacking. The elevation changes make for some picturesque, exciting holes. The course has concrete tees. It is easy to navigate. It is located in a park with a lot of things to do. Another huge plus is the fact that there are alternate tees, if you can find them, and that there is another course right next to this one with another 18 great holes.
Cons: The baskets were old and beat up, but double-layered chains caught okay. I had one putt that went right through that should have definitely stuck. The red course did not offer as much variety as the blue course, but seemed more fun to me. I could not find a map for this course, which was not a problem for the short tees. The long tees, however, were not marked and would have needed a map or a course guide to find those.
Other Thoughts: All you need to play this course are mid-range and putters. I used a fairway driver once or twice. Most drives were putter drives for me. This was a very fun course to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Arkansas Classic

10/3/2004   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded course combined with some fairly open shots
Nearly Constant Change (always mixing it up - new pin positions)
Great unique holes (the berm, behind the bushes, the pipe)
Lots of traffic keeps things clean (concrete pads with a few exceptions on the back 9)
Cons: Busiest course around LR
Dirt pads are worn down - gets muddy when wet
Easy to lose discs into Freeway ROW (easy jump though) or into the old water slide on hole 15.
Not always as well marked as it should be, but usually pretty easy to find your away around or someone will help you out.
Changes to course not always well posted.
In the back of a park, you get the occasional visitor (also near a children's play area) - hole 18 has a blind shot into another tee box/pin area that can get dicey quick if something ventures over the berm.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course (along with the Blue). Considered one of the finest courses in Arkansas, and the course I play probably 75-80% of the time. The guys who maintain it keep changing stuff up.

Wrote a lot of Cons because I've played it a bunch - many add character (hole 15 next to an abandoned waterslide, the freeway, the berm) but are good FYIs for anyone who's not played it before.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.