North Little Rock, AR
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #16
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    6/18/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Proximity to the blue course. It is awesome to go on a disc golf vacation and be able to bag two courses in a few hours.
- Close to the freeway. The park also has huge signs on the freeway telling you where the park exit is... and huge signs through the park telling you where the disc golf course is.
- The red course is a short, technical little thing with lots of birdies to be had. The fairways are fair and there is a decent amount of punishment for bad shots. Lots of ace runs too.
Cons:
- There is no signage and you need to look around a bit for some of the tee-pads. They do put numbered markers on the trees above the tee-pads and they are usually visible from the basket... but, I got lost a few times (especially after 11 - walk around the pavilion).
- The signage issue will also lead you to throw into possible out of bounds zones. But, if there is no sign and no one is there to tell you there is an ob line behind the basket... I guess its not ob.
Other Thoughts:
- This park really needs signage for these two courses to make it stand out as a superior disc golf destination. However, I did see two guys out there working on the course. I saw a newly poured (wet) cement tee-pad (wanted to scribe DSCJNKY in it but didn't) and a framed tee-pad waiting to be poured. So it looks like work is being done to improve the courses.
- Love how they added a PVC tree in the middle of a fairway... I heard it was because someone cut down the tree that was there.
- This course seems more for the ams and local families... it's fun as hell; but, the blue course is a championship style disc golf course.
- My Score -6

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/15/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, love going here early, early morning. There are many long drops and rises in the course, hole 12 and 13 you get to show off your skills to people driving by.
Cons: The holes by the high way are very distracting

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shorter of the two courses at Burns, this 18 still offers a couple of opportunities to let it rip with your driver. Holes 1-9 are particularly interesting and make very good use of the elevation changes that the park has to offer. Excellent markers make this an easy course to navigate.
Cons: This section of Burns Park lies adjacent to I-40, so noise pollution (while not totally distracting) mars the aesthetics of the course. # 10 is a novelty hole that doesn't add much value to the overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Burns is a great place to play- the red course is easy to navigate and requires an appealing mix of finesse and power to finish at par. I've played it dozens and dozens of times and it still pleases.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Understatement

5+    10/15/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: CHALLENGING!!! If you like a real challening course that demands high driving accuracy, play this course at Burns Park.
Cons: Very hilly and very wooded are understatements. When I was out there some holes were poorly marked.
Other Thoughts: Play the Burns park blue course while you are out there.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Burns baby Burns

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that. Alternate routes to the pin on almost every hole. Extremely well kept course especially for a wooded course. Creative pin placements. Hole 10 I think on the hill gave me my first bogey. Even though I could hear cars on the freeway it still felt secluded which was surprising to me. 90% of both courses are disc golf only. Decent elevation, uphill and downhill. Not too hard to navigate. Even though it rained 48 hours before I played, it was only soggy here and there with a dry path if you just watch where you are going. Restrooms after hole 10. A lot of shade and no wind in the woods. The most beginner friendly wooded course that I have played because of the well defined fairways. Just a fun course that is a pleasure to play.
Cons: Had to spot a handful of baskets. Not very difficult for the seasoned disc golfer. Not a lot of variety, but you know that going in thanks to this incredible web site. Can be busy at times which is good if you are a first timer, just follow the locals.
Other Thoughts: This was a 330 mile round trip for me, which isn't that many for a 1 day disc golf adventure to play 2 great courses that are right next to each other. I Prefer heavily wooded courses to lightly or moderate so I have that built in bias. That is probably why I gave it a higher rating than most of the other reviewers. This course has more of a state park type feel than a wide open walker infested city park "cram job".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very pretty, technical course

2-4    3/16/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 103  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty, technical course. Most holes are short but tightly wooded. The fairways are very fair and usually offer a variety of routes to get to the pin. There are a lot of ace runs and birdie holes. Most holes are easy pars barring a very bad shot or a bad skip off of a tree. This was a fun course that wasn't overly challenging aside from hitting the line you want to take through the trees. The best thing about the course are the elevation changes which bring an element that a lot of courses are lacking. The elevation changes make for some picturesque, exciting holes. The course has concrete tees. It is easy to navigate. It is located in a park with a lot of things to do. Another huge plus is the fact that there are alternate tees, if you can find them, and that there is another course right next to this one with another 18 great holes.
Cons: The baskets were old and beat up, but double-layered chains caught okay. I had one putt that went right through that should have definitely stuck. The red course did not offer as much variety as the blue course, but seemed more fun to me. I could not find a map for this course, which was not a problem for the short tees. The long tees, however, were not marked and would have needed a map or a course guide to find those.
Other Thoughts: All you need to play this course are mid-range and putters. I used a fairway driver once or twice. Most drives were putter drives for me. This was a very fun course to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red- Woods on the Hill

1    7/15/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Park has 36 holes. Both courses start and end from the same parking area (think mini-golf set-up!) This course is mainly in the woods up on the hillside. Most holes had fairways. A couple of the holes utilized elevation pretty well. The hanging PVC pipe was an obstacle I have yet to see elsewhere. There was also an elevated basket on a mound.
Cons: We had trouble finding hole 2 at first! There were a couple of other minor navigational issues regarding finding the correct basket. Fence runs pretty close to some holes so be careful there or your disc might land on the interstate!

Course seemed like it wasn't played too much when I was there- in fact the whole park (which contains a lot of stuff, including carnival type rides) seemed to be deserted- and it was summer.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because it did have some memorable holes, although not all the holes are great. It is a plus that another course is right there.

If I was passing through Little Rock again I would probably stop and play both courses.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for trees!

1    12/28/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Refines your accuracy and short game.
Most holes reachable off the teepad.

Elevation is good (many holes up and down)

Another 18 holes in the same park!
Cons: Baskets in need of a little TLC.

Trees, Trees, Trees!

Some hole markers missing (hard to gauge distance of the hole or direction)

A little hard to navigate the course without a veteran to help you along.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with another 18 awaiting in the same park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the landscape - lots of elevation changes (some short & drastic, some slow & gentle) and tons of pines to test your accuracy.

The course is mostly short and the holes are grouped fairly close together, which makes for a pretty quick round...if I was in Little Rock and only had an hour to play, this is the course I would pick. However, some of the holes beg for you to empty your bag on them...so it might end up being a long round afterall :)

Many, many technical shots in the <250' range...great course to hone your short-range game, but also has a few 300+ holes that are just as tight/technical. Actually, I can't recall a single hole on this course that I would label as "open".

A handful of very memorable holes...unfortunately I can't recall what # they all are. One of the short/tight holes plays slightly downhill, no more than 230', but requires you to navigate around a giant 8-10" thick piece of PVC pipe strung up in the middle of the fairway. From what I'm told, the tradition is to sign the PVC if you hit it ;)

Another memorable hole plays slightly downhill through a mildly wooded part of the park with the basket sitting only a few feet from the edge of a steep drop-off that overlooks the surrounding area.

Plenty of chances for birdie and bogey...overall a very fun and challenging course.
Cons: Although the course presents many different lines that have to be thrown, at the end of the day it's a 100% short/wooded/technical course. Personally I like courses like this, but I think a little more variety (ie - an open hole with grass, longer holes) would make it more well-rounded. The fact that the other course in the park is more along those lines helps out with this issue.

Lack of consistency when it comes to types of baskets...I recall seeing a few differnet kind throughout the round, some of which weren't in the best shape (but still caught well).

One of the holes (3 or 4) has a pin placement that is the definition of "poke and hope"...90-degree dogleg to the left with a TON of trees in the way. The tiny intended gap is so close to the tee, that even if you pure it you still never know if your shot will be any good.
Other Thoughts: This is my preferred course out of the 2 at Burns Park - mainly because it plays to my strengths, but also because it has the most holes that I consider to be pure fun to play.

This was one of the courses used for the 2008 Southern National Pro Championship...and I believe Burns Park will be the site of the 2009 SNPC as well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on every hole. Technical players will like this course. The course makes good use of elevation and the many many trees. There is good variety in your shot selection. The course loops back to the main pavilion after 7 holes.
Cons: It can be difficult to navigate a couple of the holes your first time on the course. The only bathrooms were a long walk from the start of the course across the parking lot, which is across the park road.

The luck factor on many holes was too high for my liking. There were a couple of holes where I threw the main gap, then held my breath hoping the disc would get the rest of the way.
Other Thoughts: The only time I played this course was in a pro championship tournament, so set up was in its most difficult positions (not sure how many different positions there are). It was very obvious to me that the local club had worked very hard in preparation for this big tournament, so the park was in pristine condition. The fairways were clean and a lot of cons I read from the other reviews seemed to be cleared up in my opinion. The park is really easy to get to off the interstate. This course was fun to play, but the number of interesting holes were equally met by the number of stupid holes. The good news is that the other course in the park is good and balances out the 2 courses nicely.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.