North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #17
3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 I really liked it

1    4/3/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 35  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love this course, it was designed for a backhander. It is a fun short course, with many aces opportunities. If your looking for length, this is not it. It would be a great course to play daily and fine tune your short game!
Cons: Baskets, Baskets, Baskets! The baskets are terrible, hard to see, and the course is tough to navigate. Multiple tee pads makes it confusing

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/10/2012   3/11/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course for the most part. Definitely better than the blue counterpart. Plenty of holes for FH and BH. Really have to be accurate on your lines, or you'll lose the birds to pars.
Cons: Extremely short. It's a rarity to bring out anything faster than a mid. It's definitely a course you can break par with only a putter at hand. I like to throw far, and you just can't do it here. Not a big con though.
The baskets are pretty old and don't catch very well at all. Similar to the Blue Course in that respect.
A couple of holes are a bit confusing and it's tough to tell where baskets are. Every time I play this course, things are moved around.
I'm pretty sure the basket on 17 is missing, if it's not, I have no idea where it's been moved to.
Children run around the course sometimes, which gets annoying.
18 ends on the other side of a playground area. I always feel awkward walking past it and the kids back the where I parked or the blue course, hahaha.
Other Thoughts: I don't live in the area anymore, but anytime I come down to visit, I always hit up this course (and if time the blue only second). It's a good course, pretty easy if you have solid control of your mid/putter game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: lots of birdies; wooded but with fair lanes; shady; good elevation changes; need your forehand and your backhand for this course.
Cons: hard to navigate the course; baskets are hard to see sometimes; two holes have a fence that's easy to throw your discs over; lots of rogue tee boxes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Righty forehand paradise...

2-4    5/18/2011   5/18/2011
Review By: rflahive
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good topography; nice mix of vegetation; good signage and directions
Cons: SHORTY!
Other Thoughts: If you throw right handed and don't have a forehand...you're in trouble on this course....the design is typical of a course that is biased towards lefties...and meant to frustrate righty backhand players...

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy, Treesy, Stay Under Threesy

2-4    5/10/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short Ace Run type course is a real treat. It has enough trees to keep you on target and enough shade to be a great stop on a hot day. The holes are a series of Ace Runs, yes, but they are what I call Fun Ace Runs! It is basically a series of alley type runs. You will find yourself throwing and wanting to throw again thinking, I could have gotten closer. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. The elevation is diverse enough to enjoy what it gives you, even though there isn't anything too dramatic here. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. This part of the park looks to be mostly DG only; so pedestrian safety was not an issue. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.
Cons: Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. There are some OB spots that would be nice to know before you throw. Upon a first visit, I found it better to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check, if you don't have a guide.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was really good here. The trees and well-designed fairways that were carved out make you really want to throw multiple drives on many of the holes. That is usually a good sign of a fun course. Outside of signage and navigation, I had a great time and would love to play here again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Red Course

5+    3/5/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: LookIhitAtREE
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great short, technical skills course. Not being a very long shot yet, I enjoyed the shorter lengths. Ups, downs, lefts, rights, this course is a wonderful mixed bag. Good course for sliders and skippers with all the leaves and dirt instead of grass. The course is an all-around blast to play and continues to be fun each and every time.
Cons: Signage is weak, but at least is existent. One hole, I think 12, throws right toward a busy road that's down a steep hill. Some fences that are easy to throw over and a few holes share space with non-golfers. Very, very confusing at first and a map is necessary from the web site. A guide would be best the first time. I have played it 10+ and still occasionally start to get lost and then realize it, lol. Just like the blue course, lots of leaves to slide under and dissapear.
Other Thoughts: This is a really awesome course that continues to deliver time and time again. Better signage would make it a 4.5 for me.

When you park by the rocket slide and start playing, be careful as both courses are side by side at first.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    12/21/2010   1/31/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hillside forest. Most holes have fun elevation, with a great mix of uphill and downhill holes and a few side hill shots mixed in. Nearly all the holes are wooded, with varying widths of faiirways, so it plays pretty technical. Most holes have plenty of trees waiting off the fairway to make errant shots tough to recover from, and there is a little brush throughout the course to add challenge but not enough to risk losing discs.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes. The course is short, but because the lines you have to hit are mixed up throughout the course it doesn't feel repetitive. I threw mostly putters here, but had a ton of fun working lots of different lines in my short game. The pvc "tree" hanging in one fairway was a fun touch to add an extra challenge on that hole. The tees are concrete, and are in pretty good shape. The course map online is accurate and helpful here.
Cons: The course is really short, so it's not all that challenging. Better players won't need much more than a putter here, and it's pretty much deuce or die. There are some odd spots in terms of navigation, and the signage is inconsistent and not in great shape. The baskets are older, and don't catch all that well, there are some that are worse than the rest scattered around the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun disc golf complex, with this shorter course complemented by the tougher blue course. I had a great time playing this one, with tricky elevation shots and some creative pin placements it's got a lot of unique shots. It's a great course to learn on, technical enough that you'll need to try different shots but not long enough to be frustrating. True beginners might find it a little tight and punishing. Experienced players won't find it all that challenging, but it's a fun warm up to the blue course and definitely worth playing while you're here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tricky Course

1    9/25/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: fountg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to some of the others in the area, this was a really fun course to play. My favorite thing was that while wooded, I didnt feel like I was definetly going to hit a tree every time I shot. Another local course (Dupree) Is in really thick woods, while this course is more open, with trees on every fairway to add a bit of challenge.
Cons: This course was hard to navigate. Im normally pretty apt at this and I couldnt find my way around at all. I found hole one, (Although I felt like there were like 3....I think some were practice holes...) Found holes 2 through 5, and then was totally lost. The next hole I could find was 9. 9 through 13 werent too difficult to find, but it was a little confusing which baskets I was shooting at sometimes. I didnt find 14 until I had almost skipped it, but after that the rest of the holes were pretty straightforward.
Other Thoughts: Basically, This is a really fun course, BUT I would definetly take a guide with you, if not you could wind up spening more time trying to find your way around than playing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 accuracy is a must

5+    9/13/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My home course.
Nice wooded course. Not too long. Accuracy is definitely a must. Lots of birdie opportunities, LOTS!! Plenty of places to get water. Lots of benches.
Cons: Watch out for the trees or that easy 3 can turn into a hard 5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ace & birdie ops

5+    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ebonsdad
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide range of technical but shorter holes, Quite hilly, alternate pin positions keep it fresh, lots of right turn drives to challenge us right handers. Course kept nice year-round.
Cons: Lots of trees!! Close to playground area so occasionally gets non-DG foot traffic on course. OB over fence hard to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Been playing Burns since it was only one 18 hole course, always family-friendly, plenty of rest room facilities nearby & benches at most holes. Hole #10 will make you or break you!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.