North Little Rock, AR 
Burns Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: NPCTour Hole #13
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Very pretty, technical course

2-4    3/16/2009   3/21/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 146  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty, technical course. Most holes are short but tightly wooded. The fairways are very fair and usually offer a variety of routes to get to the pin. There are a lot of ace runs and birdie holes. Most holes are easy pars barring a very bad shot or a bad skip off of a tree. This was a fun course that wasn't overly challenging aside from hitting the line you want to take through the trees. The best thing about the course are the elevation changes which bring an element that a lot of courses are lacking. The elevation changes make for some picturesque, exciting holes. The course has concrete tees. It is easy to navigate. It is located in a park with a lot of things to do. Another huge plus is the fact that there are alternate tees, if you can find them, and that there is another course right next to this one with another 18 great holes.
Cons: The baskets were old and beat up, but double-layered chains caught okay. I had one putt that went right through that should have definitely stuck. The red course did not offer as much variety as the blue course, but seemed more fun to me. I could not find a map for this course, which was not a problem for the short tees. The long tees, however, were not marked and would have needed a map or a course guide to find those.
Other Thoughts: All you need to play this course are mid-range and putters. I used a fairway driver once or twice. Most drives were putter drives for me. This was a very fun course to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Red- Woods on the Hill

1    7/15/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 264  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Park has 36 holes. Both courses start and end from the same parking area (think mini-golf set-up!) This course is mainly in the woods up on the hillside. Most holes had fairways. A couple of the holes utilized elevation pretty well. The hanging PVC pipe was an obstacle I have yet to see elsewhere. There was also an elevated basket on a mound.
Cons: We had trouble finding hole 2 at first! There were a couple of other minor navigational issues regarding finding the correct basket. Fence runs pretty close to some holes so be careful there or your disc might land on the interstate!

Course seemed like it wasn't played too much when I was there- in fact the whole park (which contains a lot of stuff, including carnival type rides) seemed to be deserted- and it was summer.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course because it did have some memorable holes, although not all the holes are great. It is a plus that another course is right there.

If I was passing through Little Rock again I would probably stop and play both courses.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for trees!

1    12/28/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Refines your accuracy and short game.
Most holes reachable off the teepad.

Elevation is good (many holes up and down)

Another 18 holes in the same park!
Cons: Baskets in need of a little TLC.

Trees, Trees, Trees!

Some hole markers missing (hard to gauge distance of the hole or direction)

A little hard to navigate the course without a veteran to help you along.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with another 18 awaiting in the same park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the landscape - lots of elevation changes (some short & drastic, some slow & gentle) and tons of pines to test your accuracy.

The course is mostly short and the holes are grouped fairly close together, which makes for a pretty quick round...if I was in Little Rock and only had an hour to play, this is the course I would pick. However, some of the holes beg for you to empty your bag on it might end up being a long round afterall :)

Many, many technical shots in the <250' range...great course to hone your short-range game, but also has a few 300+ holes that are just as tight/technical. Actually, I can't recall a single hole on this course that I would label as "open".

A handful of very memorable holes...unfortunately I can't recall what # they all are. One of the short/tight holes plays slightly downhill, no more than 230', but requires you to navigate around a giant 8-10" thick piece of PVC pipe strung up in the middle of the fairway. From what I'm told, the tradition is to sign the PVC if you hit it ;)

Another memorable hole plays slightly downhill through a mildly wooded part of the park with the basket sitting only a few feet from the edge of a steep drop-off that overlooks the surrounding area.

Plenty of chances for birdie and bogey...overall a very fun and challenging course.
Cons: Although the course presents many different lines that have to be thrown, at the end of the day it's a 100% short/wooded/technical course. Personally I like courses like this, but I think a little more variety (ie - an open hole with grass, longer holes) would make it more well-rounded. The fact that the other course in the park is more along those lines helps out with this issue.

Lack of consistency when it comes to types of baskets...I recall seeing a few differnet kind throughout the round, some of which weren't in the best shape (but still caught well).

One of the holes (3 or 4) has a pin placement that is the definition of "poke and hope"...90-degree dogleg to the left with a TON of trees in the way. The tiny intended gap is so close to the tee, that even if you pure it you still never know if your shot will be any good.
Other Thoughts: This is my preferred course out of the 2 at Burns Park - mainly because it plays to my strengths, but also because it has the most holes that I consider to be pure fun to play.

This was one of the courses used for the 2008 Southern National Pro Championship...and I believe Burns Park will be the site of the 2009 SNPC as well.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/31/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 125  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on every hole. Technical players will like this course. The course makes good use of elevation and the many many trees. There is good variety in your shot selection. The course loops back to the main pavilion after 7 holes.
Cons: It can be difficult to navigate a couple of the holes your first time on the course. The only bathrooms were a long walk from the start of the course across the parking lot, which is across the park road.

The luck factor on many holes was too high for my liking. There were a couple of holes where I threw the main gap, then held my breath hoping the disc would get the rest of the way.
Other Thoughts: The only time I played this course was in a pro championship tournament, so set up was in its most difficult positions (not sure how many different positions there are). It was very obvious to me that the local club had worked very hard in preparation for this big tournament, so the park was in pristine condition. The fairways were clean and a lot of cons I read from the other reviews seemed to be cleared up in my opinion. The park is really easy to get to off the interstate. This course was fun to play, but the number of interesting holes were equally met by the number of stupid holes. The good news is that the other course in the park is good and balances out the 2 courses nicely.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Arkansas Classic

10/3/2004   8/7/2008
Review By: anoncow
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wooded course combined with some fairly open shots
Nearly Constant Change (always mixing it up - new pin positions)
Great unique holes (the berm, behind the bushes, the pipe)
Lots of traffic keeps things clean (concrete pads with a few exceptions on the back 9)
Cons: Busiest course around LR
Dirt pads are worn down - gets muddy when wet
Easy to lose discs into Freeway ROW (easy jump though) or into the old water slide on hole 15.
Not always as well marked as it should be, but usually pretty easy to find your away around or someone will help you out.
Changes to course not always well posted.
In the back of a park, you get the occasional visitor (also near a children's play area) - hole 18 has a blind shot into another tee box/pin area that can get dicey quick if something ventures over the berm.
Other Thoughts: I learned on this course (along with the Blue). Considered one of the finest courses in Arkansas, and the course I play probably 75-80% of the time. The guys who maintain it keep changing stuff up.

Wrote a lot of Cons because I've played it a bunch - many add character (hole 15 next to an abandoned waterslide, the freeway, the berm) but are good FYIs for anyone who's not played it before.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Wooded Course

6/15/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 27.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design...uses trees/terrain very well
Some VERY unique holes--one with a great man-made hanging on the spine of a long rise
Pretty intuitive for being a wooded course
Rewards accuracy
Punishes wayward shots
Forces a wide variety of throws and stategy

Cons: A couple of holes could have a pointer or sign to next tee (once you play it a couple of times it's no big deal...but the first time I had a couple of holes that took a little time to find the tee)
Not much else is negative to me...

Other Thoughts: After the first couple of times playing both courses, I now only play the red course....
I've had a couple of awesome rounds here and it makes me want to keep coming back to try to do better...
Every time I'm in Little Rock, it is a MUST PLAY course and worth the short drive out of the town...
Super easy to get to off the freeway

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.