Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Watch your disc

2-4    7/3/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In this course, holes are good distances apart from each other
There is a place in the back where you can rest and take a look at a ton of bottlecaps that have been put into one of the post
A Bench which you can rest at lays around the middle of this course
Cons: Watch you disc, cause in alot of areas in this course you can lose your disc, in the beggining middle and end
Other Thoughts: One of the baskets may have been moved to a different location to prevent peoples disc getting lost.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/30/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety--Good variety from long and open to more heavily wooded to upshots and downhills. Usage of a lot of different shots.

Not as busy--definitly not as busy as some of the other courses at Brewer. Blue is constantly busy, but the other three are almost deserted most days.

good flow--hard to get lost until the end where there is almost an overlap between the white and blue course.

9-holes--I personally like the fact that Brewers courses are only 9 holes. Every course has a different personality and it keeps you interested
Cons: I personally hate hole 1. Blind shot, 500+ feet over a hill, down to the bottom of a hill and on the backside of a clump of trees. bleh, there is no good way to even deuce this hole.

Old baskets, these baskets are at least ten to fifteen years old some are in a bit of rough shape.

Last few holes can be a bit wet.

And of course theres the constant complaints of white trash and just trash (as in litter) at Brewer.
Other Thoughts: probably the one course with two personalities at Brewer. It has more variety than any other course there. It's kind of nice to not have the "rough" of the open holes much on this one. can be a bear to find a disc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/10/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: bsto318
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course had some tough holes, like #1, a throwing up the hill, and #2. I like how the course starts out kinda open with the first three holes, then you go into the woods. Nice course overall. Also liked how there were baskets and cement tee pads. That's always a nice touch.
Cons: Didn't like how long the grass was in both the rough and the fairways on the field holes, #'s 1-3. I understand rough is supposed to be tough, but c'mon, this was too long. Other than that and watching where you stepped when you got into the woods, not too many cons.
Other Thoughts: I'm a beginner at frolf, and I loved this course. I like a challenge, I know it's only gonna make me better, so I figure that if I'm gonna play might as well play a tougher course. To me this was tougher course because the distance on the first couple holes, and then into the woods. It got easier into the woods. I would play this again, but I'm gonna try to get to it when there isn't so many people. I've tried to play it twice, but have only been able to once, because the place was just too busy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The white is right

5+    8/27/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers more variety than the other nines.Starts out with a 500+ footer which can bring your game over par right out of the gate.The 1st pin gets moved just over the hill during the winter months.4 and on goes into more tighter fairways.3,4,7,and 8 are definate ace runs.
Cons: Except 1,2,and 3, you are playing on dirt mostly from the high volume of people playing there.Watch your step for roots.Some of the baskets are old and don't catch like they used to.Can get pretty mucky in the low areas during the wet months.
Other Thoughts: Closest layout to the "old back nine" if you have not played here for 10 years.I don't want to biased to someone elses review,but the trees on any nine here are never an issue to anyone.The trees(which are big with not very many low lying branches) are few and far between on any of the nines.I feel that trees are a strong part of any course anywhere.Therefore, we have shot variety.(hyzers,anhyzers,doglegs,mando's,tomahawks,thumbers,rollers,tunnel shots)Disc golf courses are made in their natural surroundings and in Michigan the natural surroundings include trees

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Blue, Red, White OH MY!!

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers more of a challenge then the blue course I also played. With the first hole being overhill at about 430ft it makes it alot of fun! It offers SOME distance (2 holes being around 400ft) and still offers the birdie opportunities for the people that can't throw 400ft! Tee-signs are well descripted like the other courses, and the baskets are better then the red and blue! Concrete tee-pads along with great baskets with challenging tunnel shots and a few open bombs makes this course a good stop!
Cons: Not to many...hole 1 has a tee pad straight behind the basket (looking down the fairway) that is red's teepad, not white! Confused me for a minute then I looked around and found the other sign...Could use some next hole signage but other then that a good course!
Other Thoughts: I only took 4 discs with me due to only having about an hour to play on my way home from picking something up for work, I was able to play 2 of the courses without any troubles and shot about 5 down on each course! Brewer park was very friendly and very fun for a first timer!!! I had no problems with navigation and was very fun! Definetly stop by if your in the area!! 4 9-hole courses makes for a fun time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 VARIETY

5+    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long and medium holes, flat and elevated, open and wooded. Great course for partners, as holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, and 9 usually need a "saving drive."
Cons: #9 hole stays flooded until summer. #1 basket gets moved back into the flooded basin in April, before it dries up back there. Course can get bottle necked and never release, unlike the other 3 courses.
Other Thoughts: Most challenging course at Brewer behind the old gold course (after 2008 update, gold course seems a little easier than white) A sub-par score is reason to celebrate!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with Variation

2-4    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First three holes are nice and open long drives.
Last six holes venture into the woods and can get technical at times.
Longer wooded holes than blue course, so it really challenges you on accuracy with distance.
Trash cans at all the tees.
Elevation changes too.
Cons: Muddy for some holes.
Tee pads get very slick from all of the dry dirt on them so watch out, I almost injured myself on one of them, but luckily managed to stay on my feet.
Lots of trash, with all those trash cans I wouldn't expect to see so much trash here, but I guess people are lazy.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, probably my favorite out of all the Brewer Park courses because of the variation. (some short and wooded, some long and open, some elevation changes) Make sure you're ready to get muddy though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Group Favorite

5+    4/1/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gives you different shots coming in and out of the woods. A fair shot for beginners and pros alike. Alot of birdie attempts out there so, don't miss them! And, an interesting 3rd hole!
Cons: Sometimes can be muddy if there's a really heavy rain because, of a creek that comes back whenever it feels like it. It's a very small one and there's a little bridge to get over it. The second busiest one out there because, it's the second easiest one (blue being the first).
Other Thoughts: As a group, we like playing this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Mix!

1    10/1/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes with long fairly open ones to begin with. Some tricky blind shots for first timers. Well maintained fairways and greens.
Cons: Wet and mucky in several areas.
Other Thoughts: This course is better laid out than red/gold and mostly makes it obvious where the next tee lies. Combine Blue and White and you'll have worked on all parts of your game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 White has it all

7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: 2006Ruckus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: IMHO Brewer White is the best overall course at Brewer Park. It offers a few wide open holes where you can go for some distance. Most holes have some decent elevation change. The back half has lots of trees with some more technical shots. Hole three is a personal favorite, a short, uphill hole. It has two big trees just in front of the tee pad. This makes for an interesting approach/drive while at the same time trying to get it uphill.
Cons: Gets pretty mucky after it rains. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This course has some holes that you could toss some mandos into. Brewer doesn't have any and I would like to see a few on either white or blue.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.