Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - White Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good amount of shots. Has some long ones like the first two. It also has a lot of trees you have to work around which is what i enjoy. When I went it seemed to be the second less popular(gold being the least) and wasn't really any waiting on holes. Every hole is labeled and shows you how long they are.
Cons: The baskets here are kind of crappy sometimes. you can hit a nice chains shot and still fly a ways away. There are some roots all over. The rough is just kind of weird if you throw into it. really tall and a lot of it. Although it says how long each hole is it makes it seem like some are a little off(not sure if it's the white or what one but seemed that some didn't seem as long as printed)
Other Thoughts: It's a lot better of a place to play when it's slow. when i went there was a guy selling discs anywhere form 2 to 10 bucks used and 15 to 17 for brand new discs. I got a very unused pro destroyer for 4 bucks. You can drink here. They have a trash/ ash bucket on every hole. A lot of picnic tables too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The white is right

5+    8/27/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers more variety than the other nines.Starts out with a 500+ footer which can bring your game over par right out of the gate.The 1st pin gets moved just over the hill during the winter months.4 and on goes into more tighter fairways.3,4,7,and 8 are definate ace runs.
Cons: Except 1,2,and 3, you are playing on dirt mostly from the high volume of people playing there.Watch your step for roots.Some of the baskets are old and don't catch like they used to.Can get pretty mucky in the low areas during the wet months.
Other Thoughts: Closest layout to the "old back nine" if you have not played here for 10 years.I don't want to biased to someone elses review,but the trees on any nine here are never an issue to anyone.The trees(which are big with not very many low lying branches) are few and far between on any of the nines.I feel that trees are a strong part of any course anywhere.Therefore, we have shot variety.(hyzers,anhyzers,doglegs,mando's,tomahawks,thumbers,rollers,tunnel shots)Disc golf courses are made in their natural surroundings and in Michigan the natural surroundings include trees

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Starts Off Strong, Then Gets Iffy

2-4    10/10/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a decent variety of fun and challenging holes for a 9-hole course. Some are long and mostly open, some are short and narrow, some have big changes in elevation, and some have blind tee shots. The fairway is well-kept for the holes outside the woods. Those two trees in the middle of the third fairway are obstacles you'll love to hate, and the same can probably be said for the trees on the fourth hole. For the most part, this is a decent little course that can test your driving skills, both in distance and accuracy.
Cons: The last 6 holes of this 9-hole course are clustered together in the same wooded area as the blue course. Not only are these white holes real close to each other, but some are also close to the holes on the blue course. This can cause problems on a busy day, because you'll find yourself standing at one of the tee pads getting ready tee off, but will have to wait because there'll be players on other holes throwing discs toward you. Most of these holes share the same kinds of issues as the blue course. For most players, more luck than skill is required to get passed all the trees that stand between the tee pads and the baskets. After awhile, you'll likely find yourself wanting to go back out into the open to continue playing this course, which unfortunately doesn't happen. Like the blue course, it might frustrate you enough to feel like whipping out a chainsaw and taking out some of those trees that offer almost no strategic route for your disc to follow in order to reach the basket. Mosquitoes can sometimes be a problem in the wooded holes in the summer, and the ground on those holes is mostly dirt with a lot of big roots sticking out. There can also also be some murky spots if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: There is some variety to this short course, but it isn't mixed up well. The first few holes are pretty much wide open, but then the rest are clustered together in the woods with too many trees in the way. I get the feeling most players will only enjoy playing the open holes. After that it gets kind of frustrating because some of the wooded holes are set up rather poorly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Blue, Red, White OH MY!!

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers more of a challenge then the blue course I also played. With the first hole being overhill at about 430ft it makes it alot of fun! It offers SOME distance (2 holes being around 400ft) and still offers the birdie opportunities for the people that can't throw 400ft! Tee-signs are well descripted like the other courses, and the baskets are better then the red and blue! Concrete tee-pads along with great baskets with challenging tunnel shots and a few open bombs makes this course a good stop!
Cons: Not to many...hole 1 has a tee pad straight behind the basket (looking down the fairway) that is red's teepad, not white! Confused me for a minute then I looked around and found the other sign...Could use some next hole signage but other then that a good course!
Other Thoughts: I only took 4 discs with me due to only having about an hour to play on my way home from picking something up for work, I was able to play 2 of the courses without any troubles and shot about 5 down on each course! Brewer park was very friendly and very fun for a first timer!!! I had no problems with navigation and was very fun! Definetly stop by if your in the area!! 4 9-hole courses makes for a fun time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great mixture of holes

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variation of holes 1/3 open 2/3 wooded
Fairways on open holes very well groomed and generous
Good use of elevation changes
Very good use of a limited area
Nice technical layout on last 6 holes
Good opportunity to work on various throws/shots
Very intuitive flow
A good place to introduce people to the sport
Nice signage
Good tees
Cons: For what this course is...there aren't many cons...of course you have to adjust your expectations, but this course was designed on a limited piece of land and they got the most out of it
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say if this was my favorite of the 4 or if the Blue one is because of it being all wooded (and I love wooded courses)

I think for most people (who are open to playing wooded/technical holes) this one is the best suited of the 4 at the park because there is enough variety and length to the holes to make it more than a pitch and putt course

The great thing about the Brewer Complex of 4 courses, there is something for everyone...this set of 4 courses is well worth driving out to...and then you decide which course(s) work best for you :)

I played these courses on a Sunday morning about 9ish and I had no "flow/pacing" issues and ran into a couple of great groups of locals who gave me some good insight on other courses in the area

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Guy is the best

5+    5/14/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety and challenge. If you have never been here, just ask a group and most likely they would be glad to show you to ropes of each hole. Most of the people that disc here are regulars of the area.

This is the place you want to go after conquering blue. The change of Elevation is a great advantage is course has over the other courses in the area.
Cons: Bring some bug spray. can be wet a couple days after a rain.
Other Thoughts: awesome park as a whole. very family friendly. Cement tees, trash cans, and Bag holders at almost every tee.
Make sure to say hi to Guy. He is the person that sweeps the tees fixes the bag holders and take care of the trash. You can talk to Guy for hours, he's just plain awesome

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 VARIETY

5+    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of long and medium holes, flat and elevated, open and wooded. Great course for partners, as holes 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, and 9 usually need a "saving drive."
Cons: #9 hole stays flooded until summer. #1 basket gets moved back into the flooded basin in April, before it dries up back there. Course can get bottle necked and never release, unlike the other 3 courses.
Other Thoughts: Most challenging course at Brewer behind the old gold course (after 2008 update, gold course seems a little easier than white) A sub-par score is reason to celebrate!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Whites

5+    4/1/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: JojoXGooch
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very open, sunlight is nice when playing in late fall or early winter. Cement tees, baskets, friendly community, almost always dry.
Cons: Last hole going towards the parking lot can flood at the base when there is a lot of rain.
Other Thoughts: Why did they split the four sets of 9 into four different courses on here? I could have sworn that they were listed together.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun with Variation

2-4    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First three holes are nice and open long drives.
Last six holes venture into the woods and can get technical at times.
Longer wooded holes than blue course, so it really challenges you on accuracy with distance.
Trash cans at all the tees.
Elevation changes too.
Cons: Muddy for some holes.
Tee pads get very slick from all of the dry dirt on them so watch out, I almost injured myself on one of them, but luckily managed to stay on my feet.
Lots of trash, with all those trash cans I wouldn't expect to see so much trash here, but I guess people are lazy.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, probably my favorite out of all the Brewer Park courses because of the variation. (some short and wooded, some long and open, some elevation changes) Make sure you're ready to get muddy though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Group Favorite

5+    4/1/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gives you different shots coming in and out of the woods. A fair shot for beginners and pros alike. Alot of birdie attempts out there so, don't miss them! And, an interesting 3rd hole!
Cons: Sometimes can be muddy if there's a really heavy rain because, of a creek that comes back whenever it feels like it. It's a very small one and there's a little bridge to get over it. The second busiest one out there because, it's the second easiest one (blue being the first).
Other Thoughts: As a group, we like playing this one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.