Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great beginner layout

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through tall mature trees with a couple holes playing in a small area of woods. Those back holes offer some tighter lines to hit and a little bit of punishment for missing your line. The rest of the course offers multiple lines to each pin around the trunks of trees with open forgiving space if you throw an errant shot. One hole offers a fun downhill ac run. The baskets are older but in decent shape, and the concrete pads are fine. The signage is basic but adequate, with hole number (and course color) and distance.
Cons: The course is short and not all that challenging. With open, forgiving holes that are mostly 200' or under, there's just not really anything to test better players. A number of trees had recently been cut down when I played, opening up the course even more and making it even less challenging. Several spots play near other holes, and there's no rough to keep discs out of the other fairways, potentially causing some safety issues with lots of inexperienced players on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun beginner course with short distances that's very forgiving on errant throws. More experienced players won't really be tested here, and will find it easy to score well even with just a putter. This is a neat little complex, with four 9 hole courses all teeing off from the same complex and offering different feels on each loop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded!!

5+    9/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 46  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 36 holes.
Fairly easy to follow.
A nice park.
Cement tees.
Cons: Way too crowded.
Very little variety to the wooded holes.
Poor layout--discs flying everywhere.
Huge groups of golfers more interested in happy hour than they are golf.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to Brewer plan on playing all 36 holes. The Blue is not my favorite 9 of the course but it does offer some fun ace runs.
The last 2 times I've played Brewer I swore I would never do it again because of the crowds. I have never heard "FORE" so many times as I do at Brewer. This is the only course I have played where I was concerned about getting hit by a disc-- Keep your head up because errant shots are the norm.
I prefer the 24 hole layout used back in the day to the 4 9's they have now.
I know the locals love the park but I would recomend it as a course to hit if you drive by the area but not a destination in itself.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ace/deuce course

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 685  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 25.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees.
Signs on all holes are quite worn; but, still readable.
This is the course of the four to score on. You may very well need a high birdie count to offset bogeys on the longer holes offered on red, white, and gold.
Most wooded section of the 36 holes.
Very rustic (I needed it and used it) bathroom. (There was a quite dangerous looking spider perched very near where I was sitting.) Toilet paper present.
After playing blue; we were waiting for another player to arrive. While sitting at a picnic bench near blue #1 tee, we saw a number of groups teeing off. Groups included ladies and quite old gentlemen, as well as some "beer belly" players. Blue has allowed all types of players an introduction to the sport for @20 years!!! With the other longer courses here; blue is needed for this reason. Introduction to disc golf courses are as necessary as gold level layouts.
Nice place to carry one or two discs for a round.
Alcohol not allowed in most area parks. Here, a sign used to proclaim in large type: DRINKING ALLOWED. Sign is no longer present; but, drinking is allowed. The atmosphere here, is as laid back as it gets.
I'm adding this paragraph for my pros for all four of these: This is a 36 hole complex. I would give a 3 rating, for the complex as a whole. If you're there; you're going to more than likely play all four. All of the courses balance each other; and allow a number of styles of play.
Cons: Buckets here the oldest present at Brewer.
Short and flat.
Did I mention that it's the epitome of pitch and putt? Actually, it has enough trees to make it a step above the worst of the pitch and putts. But, for experienced players, will not offer much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: All courses here have undergone a number of different layouts. I believe this one has undergone a few modifications; but is much the same as when installed many years ago. In it's time, blue would have been a fun course for anyone. Ace count definitely would be helped on blue.
This is really below a l.5 rating as a stand alone course. I've upped it a bit due to being a component of the 36 hole layout; and for offering said ace runs. Many of us probably don't return to courses like this very often; but, because of the number of total holes here; as I mentioned, I think this course would get played by me quite often if I lived near by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Circus

5+    5/6/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Jak3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 4 different 9s to play, can drink legally in park, tee-pads are real nice......
Cons: Park is full of wiggers and white trash.
So overcrowded everyday after 3pm people park on the grass in front of tee-pad #1 on gold sometimes making it impossible to play. Most of the scrubs up there only play blue between loitering, drinking Miller Highlife and being loud so they dont give a shit where they park.
Another thing ive notice is theres always someone sitting in the parking lot beating a system so you can hear it throughout the whole park. Sometimes youll have a group behind you walking around the course with secret radios in their bags playing techno music that sounds like car alarms going off (Pretty common course ethics there)... Or how bout every time i go up there i got bombarded by random kids walking up to me asking if i wanna buy any weed...

Way too overcrowded with scum for my likings, every time i go up there im reminded of all the garbage that plays this sport.....

Watch out for people on quads racing thru the park too.

And that greaser bum that cleans up the cans... whats his name? Guy or something.. Get a job.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Sgt. Roc

5+    10/31/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: Sgt. Roc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has very nice concrete tees, and is marked well, making it impossible to get lost.
Cons: The holes are very short. You'll only need a putter, and a Roc
Other Thoughts: Blue is good for the novice golfer. Nine under is very doable on this nine

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.