Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Shortest of the 4 9's at brewer

5+    11/6/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is a pitch and putt 9 hole course, a descent player should end up around -6 after playing the blue course.
-Lots of ace runs and deuce chances.
- Some elevation to play with, one shot has you shooting down a small hill, one shot has you shooting up a small hill through tight trees.
-You can bang this 9 holes out in about 20 minutes.
-Cement pads in good shape.
-Trash baskets on most every hole.
-Good baskets although some are getting old, they work fine.
-simple, easy to follw layout, if you get lost here your probably retarded.
-Tee signs on most holes (old and ratty but still have some valuble info on them)
Cons: -Gets very very busy, this is one of grandrapids busiest courses. A line of 30 people waiting to tee off is not unusual, IM SERIOUS!!
- This park is known for being rowdy and packed with "rowdy,drunk,trashy" people. I guess thats what happens when the park allows and encourages alchohol. (huge sign at entrance used to read: ALCHOHOL ALLOWED) Seems a lot of people come here just to party and not so much to disc golf, that kinda sucks.
-Not really a kid friendly setting, lots of cussing and yelling and drunk trashy idiots in Def Leopard shirts with the sleeves torn off to keep your kids away from here.
-Come here early in the morning if you want smooth flow to your play, after the afternoon you will most likely be stuck behind groups of 10 people taking their time and not letting anyone play through. The course gets really jammed up. You might be able to play all 36 holes in 1.5 hours in the morning and it will take you 5 hours in the evening because of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a 36 hole park. It offers 4-9hole courses. The blue is the shortest and easiest of the 4 to play and thus 95% of noobs will gravitate to playing the blue course. Alchohol is allowed and oddly enough encouraged. There are a few bums who follw you around and sweep off tee pads and tell you how awesome a player you are until you give them a dollar or two to go away so be ready for this. This park is where my league (dogs of disc) usually plays so I have played here a lot. If you came here and played all 36 holes you would have a good time, if you came here to play just 9 holes you would probably laugh to yourself and never come back again. This is an average course for any good golfer. You should end up being about minus10 for 36 holes if your a descent player.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 blue

2-4    3/25/2011   9/7/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short holes make for lots of birdie chances. nice flow to the course. great course for new players since it is not real technical. you have trees but most holes are easy to navigate around them.
Cons: can be real busy at times since most everyone seems to gravitate towards this course when they first arrive. can get muddy on a couple of holes if it gets any significant rainfall.
Other Thoughts: I usually try to play this course in the mornings so as to get started and finish quickly then move on to one of the other nines. it is a nice little warm up course to get your arm ready for the other nines in the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/1/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short, slighly technical course in Brewer's four 9's complex. Nothing long or overpowered here.

Most holes are aceable.

Easy to follow flow. no real navigation challenge.
Cons: Busy course, a LOT of waiting going on here. Big groups can be more of a nuisence and a distraction than anything.

Bugs on the "low holes" (4-6) can be bad at times.

Hole 6--No lanes of any kind... Tomahawk is all I can recommend, or a roller...
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, it's just a busy busy park. The baskets are in good shape and there is good flow, but it's definitely not my favorite course I've played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2009   7/8/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this the best of the 4 9's because I like all the woods to it. There are a lot of ace chances but it can make it hard if you're just whippin it and hit a tree. You can also drink here if you want.
Cons: Lots of clutter and people. Sometimes groups of like 15 won't let you pass if there are two of you.
Other Thoughts: Come early after like 3 or 4 this place is packed and sometimes with not the nicest of people

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Yo Putta

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only course I've ever played where a putter would reach every pin, yet I still enjoy playing it over and over.

Probably the best chance you can have for an ace.
Cons: Previous white trash comments are unfortunately accurate. It's very crowded, as previously mentioned.

The bathrooms are absolutely horrific. Imagine a port-a-john with a 20' deep pit that no one ever cleans.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Short

1    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical, every hole has trees to avoid.
Trash cans at every hole.
A few big elevation changes.
Bridge over the mud pit around hole 6 or 7.
Cons: Too short, even if you do hit a tree you can easily make par still.
Watch out for the tree roots sticking out of the ground near the baskets.

Other Thoughts: This is probably my least favorite out of all the Brewer courses. I played par, however, many of my shots hit trees and I was able to make up this distance with an easy midrange shot. For this course to be more difficult I would like longer holes through the trees so it's not so easy to make par even if you are chopping trees all day. I could have easily birdied every hole if I wouldn't have been lumberjacking.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good For Beginners & Mid Range Practice

1    10/1/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short holes and easily visible baskets make this a nice course for beginners. Trees keep it from being a cakewalk. For more experienced players, this is a very good way to work on your mid-range game.
Cons: Little variety to holes. Crowded layout can make for lots of "fores!" being hollered.
Other Thoughts: Very heavily played. Tee boxes all have hole markers so it is easy to find your way around the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.