Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #4 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short range, Trees, and some mud

1    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Shorter holds, pretty simple, a good warm up course.

- Lots to offer for a mid-range type 9

- some good wooded holes, and some more open holes.
Cons: - Mud on 5-7

- Not uber challenging, but thats part of its charm
Other Thoughts: Other than the mud I really enjoyed this nine. It was VERY busy though which is fine to a point... People were pretty laid back so it wasn't a big deal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
Pros: Well maintained tee pads a little on the small side but cement and swept regularly. clever layout in a small area. Signage present, with distance and pin location. Generally filled with friendly people that are there to have a good time. Although short, the course is moderately technical and has a couple elevation changes through trees (4 and 6). Several holes are possible ACE holes (1 and maybe 3).
Cons: The baskets are getting a little worn, but they still work. The course can be extremely crowded, especially on nice weekends. Although most of the time people are friendly and having fun on more than one occasion screaming matches have broken out (I have only witnessed this on the blue course). This can be really distracting. Some of the holes play to easy (I am thinking of hole 1 and 3) short with few obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a bit, and if you are like me and can't throw 500' this is a good course to get your confidence back after playing Red. Fun to play, pretty quick pretty easy nothing extraordinary but it comes together in an interesting way.

 Small but good

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. You'll never loose a disc
Cons: Can be a bit muddy at times, not really a con but it's all I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park, 4 courses, and although it seems small playing all the holes can prove a challenge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great way to spend about 20 minutes

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good use of a very tiny area
Nice technical layout
Good opportunity to work on various throws/shots
Very intuitive flow
Makes you feel special with all the drop in birdies ;)
A good place to introduce people to the sport
IMPOSSIBLE to lose a disc
Nice signage
Good tees
Cons: For what this course is...there aren't many cons...of course you have to adjust your expectations, but this course was designed on a VERY small piece of land and they got the most out of it
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say if this was my favorite of the 4 or if the White one is because of a tiny more variety on the White.

The great thing about the Brewer Complex of 4 courses, there is something for everyone...this set of 4 courses is well worth driving out to...and then you decide which course(s) work best for you :)

I played these courses on a Sunday morning about 9ish and I had no "flow/pacing" issues and ran into a couple of great groups of locals who gave me some good insight on other courses in the area

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.