Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Brewer Blue Course

2-4    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very simple course, flat field except one hole going down hill (4 I believe)
- Trash can (buckets) on every hole, along with signs explaining the course
- No mando's
- Pretty straight forward, a pitch and putt course, using mainly mid-range (Rocs and Cros are good here)
- Cement pads, good shape, along with good cages.
- Good 9 holes in under 30 minutes
Cons: - Very busy course, most popular of the four
- Smokers, drinkers, lots of swearing, not family friendly
- Watch your valuable discs here, I saw a couple of players steal discs and run away with them.
- Muddy around spring, around holes 7, 8, 9 are the worst (though 7 have boards to help with the mud problem)
- Traffic, very busy around 3 and after
Other Thoughts: And overall good course, very fun, small yet challenging with the trees. Come early in the morning or try to play in the winter, early spring and late fall to get the course to self. VERY popular course, and a lot of rude (not all) players. Some steal discs, wont let you play through (which would be fine if half of them weren't stopping to smoke and drink, and groups larger than five are sitting there, preventing groups with 2 to sit and wait.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly for sure!

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would LOVE to have a course like this around my town. Eventhough it IS just a 9 hole, the holes play out so smooth and easy that it just makes it enjoyable to play! You have a possible ace run at almost every hole and that keeps the excitement up there! Along with tee signs, concrete tee pads, and visible baskets on almost every hole this course definetly offers something for the beginners to the game and even the pro's!
Cons: The signs ARE a little vandalised, but honestly, you can still read them just fine and you can see the baskets from almost every teepad anyways so it really isn't that big of a deal!
Other Thoughts: Overall the time I spent at this course was a BLAST! The locals were VERY friendly and willing to help me! I went in the early morning because I was up that way for work and so I stopped off and played 2 of the courses here. The others that were there were very friendly and guided me around and told me which course would be the best to play next in my allowed time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Stop at Brewer

1    7/13/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even beginners feel like they have an opportunity to get an ace at some point.

Almost impossible to lose a disc, except (maybe) on 3.

Hard dirt and root combo allows for some really exciting and ridiculous skips and rolls.

Technical, but by no means difficult.

Wooded, but not ridiculously. Moderate accuracy is required. Trees come into play for sure on 4, 6, and 7. Most trees just require a gentle (an)hyzer to avoid.

Has a great flow, especially once you're through the first three or four holes.

Fantastic use of the moderate terrain and woods -- 4 and 6 on the hill especially.

High potential reward for being able to use a variety of throws, but BH-only players can do well on this course too.
Cons: Crowded. This course is a warm-up and a crowd-pleaser for the throngs of people who play Brewer.

Swamp action behind 8, even when it's been mostly dry. An overthrow = muddy shoes and disc.

9 can be almost unplayable if it has rained a lot (e.g. in the spring time) due to mud and its ability to eat shoes.

Heads up when standing on the tee pad for 2. Discs from those playing the first hole behind you will certainly come your way.
Other Thoughts: This course, to me, embodies the intangible fun of disc golf everyone is always trying to describe.

As a person who will never be able to drive from the tee like some of the boys, Blue is a great opportunity for the nice ego boost that comes with being under par.

Hit up Brewer in the daytime, especially the morning if you want to avoid the crowds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and easy

5+    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Short, great course to bring the first time girls. Fantastic for all beginners. teaches alot about the angles of the game. extremely fast course if you're looking for a quick game before you have to be somewhere
Cons: can be very crowded in the afternoon and weekends. not very challenging for those with some experience. should be a very easy - 3-5
Other Thoughts: Don't go over the fence on #3

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Blues

5+    4/1/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: JojoXGooch
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees on every hole, varied landscape, cement tees, baskets, good community.
Cons: Trees on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Blues are my second favorite of the four Brewer courses. (After Whites) I cut straight through the chains on hole #3 (Downhill drive) and was robbed of an ace on my first time playing.

Usually the most crowded of the four.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short with trees

5+    8/5/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 119  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: confident boaster course. short with all holes being a birdie oppertunity. Well maintained course. Nice holes placed within tree. cement tee pads. Helps you work on your midrange accuracy.
Cons: too short. not very hard. crowded
Other Thoughts: when you have a bad round on gold or red. go and play blue and get your confidence back up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Do Well Or Do Horrible

5+    3/27/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A varation of shots through the wooded portion of the course. Easy enough for beginners but, I have found that you either shoot six under or six up. Very technical shots up and down hills and a short and sweet course to play.
Cons: Can be busy seeing as most of the people that play for fun, seem to want to play this one because, it's the easiest of the 4 courses.
Other Thoughts: I love playing blue. It's my favorite one to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: 2006Ruckus
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Blue is the most popular course at Brewer, as the large crowds and the occasional wait at #1 will indicate. That being said once you get on it's a fun and fast round. The holes are short and technical. Lots of trees and a little luck is the name of the game. On hole three I dare you put it right thru the wickets, watch out for the fence.
Cons: Waiting at #1 can be a drag. On several holes it's better to be lucky than good. When Blue is busy keep your head on swivel.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.