Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Great beginner layout

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through tall mature trees with a couple holes playing in a small area of woods. Those back holes offer some tighter lines to hit and a little bit of punishment for missing your line. The rest of the course offers multiple lines to each pin around the trunks of trees with open forgiving space if you throw an errant shot. One hole offers a fun downhill ac run. The baskets are older but in decent shape, and the concrete pads are fine. The signage is basic but adequate, with hole number (and course color) and distance.
Cons: The course is short and not all that challenging. With open, forgiving holes that are mostly 200' or under, there's just not really anything to test better players. A number of trees had recently been cut down when I played, opening up the course even more and making it even less challenging. Several spots play near other holes, and there's no rough to keep discs out of the other fairways, potentially causing some safety issues with lots of inexperienced players on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun beginner course with short distances that's very forgiving on errant throws. More experienced players won't really be tested here, and will find it easy to score well even with just a putter. This is a neat little complex, with four 9 hole courses all teeing off from the same complex and offering different feels on each loop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Holes, Easy Ace

2-4    8/3/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has alot of short holes that is good for begginers
During I think half of this course there is a camp area which people can relax by, and if not busy could start a small contained fire
Good Design
Lots of cans that can be picked up throughout the park
Cons: Can get very busy, which can get annoying if you went to disc without waiting.
Other Thoughts: There are hiding spots in this course which certain "smoking" can be used for.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short range, Trees, and some mud

1    4/30/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Shorter holds, pretty simple, a good warm up course.

- Lots to offer for a mid-range type 9

- some good wooded holes, and some more open holes.
Cons: - Mud on 5-7

- Not uber challenging, but thats part of its charm
Other Thoughts: Other than the mud I really enjoyed this nine. It was VERY busy though which is fine to a point... People were pretty laid back so it wasn't a big deal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Blue Course

2-4    5/2/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very simple course, flat field except one hole going down hill (4 I believe)
- Trash can (buckets) on every hole, along with signs explaining the course
- No mando's
- Pretty straight forward, a pitch and putt course, using mainly mid-range (Rocs and Cros are good here)
- Cement pads, good shape, along with good cages.
- Good 9 holes in under 30 minutes
Cons: - Very busy course, most popular of the four
- Smokers, drinkers, lots of swearing, not family friendly
- Watch your valuable discs here, I saw a couple of players steal discs and run away with them.
- Muddy around spring, around holes 7, 8, 9 are the worst (though 7 have boards to help with the mud problem)
- Traffic, very busy around 3 and after
Other Thoughts: And overall good course, very fun, small yet challenging with the trees. Come early in the morning or try to play in the winter, early spring and late fall to get the course to self. VERY popular course, and a lot of rude (not all) players. Some steal discs, wont let you play through (which would be fine if half of them weren't stopping to smoke and drink, and groups larger than five are sitting there, preventing groups with 2 to sit and wait.)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/14/2010   3/14/2011
Review By: B1eedB1ue
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short, tech course, when playing all 4 @ brewer, this one offers a break for your arm, and is mostly shaded on hot days.
Cons: Often bottlenecked on busy days, a couple perpetually muddy fairways.
Other Thoughts: Brewer park, best in GR by head and shoulders.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shortest of the 4 9's at brewer

5+    11/6/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is a pitch and putt 9 hole course, a descent player should end up around -6 after playing the blue course.
-Lots of ace runs and deuce chances.
- Some elevation to play with, one shot has you shooting down a small hill, one shot has you shooting up a small hill through tight trees.
-You can bang this 9 holes out in about 20 minutes.
-Cement pads in good shape.
-Trash baskets on most every hole.
-Good baskets although some are getting old, they work fine.
-simple, easy to follw layout, if you get lost here your probably retarded.
-Tee signs on most holes (old and ratty but still have some valuble info on them)
Cons: -Gets very very busy, this is one of grandrapids busiest courses. A line of 30 people waiting to tee off is not unusual, IM SERIOUS!!
- This park is known for being rowdy and packed with "rowdy,drunk,trashy" people. I guess thats what happens when the park allows and encourages alchohol. (huge sign at entrance used to read: ALCHOHOL ALLOWED) Seems a lot of people come here just to party and not so much to disc golf, that kinda sucks.
-Not really a kid friendly setting, lots of cussing and yelling and drunk trashy idiots in Def Leopard shirts with the sleeves torn off to keep your kids away from here.
-Come here early in the morning if you want smooth flow to your play, after the afternoon you will most likely be stuck behind groups of 10 people taking their time and not letting anyone play through. The course gets really jammed up. You might be able to play all 36 holes in 1.5 hours in the morning and it will take you 5 hours in the evening because of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a 36 hole park. It offers 4-9hole courses. The blue is the shortest and easiest of the 4 to play and thus 95% of noobs will gravitate to playing the blue course. Alchohol is allowed and oddly enough encouraged. There are a few bums who follw you around and sweep off tee pads and tell you how awesome a player you are until you give them a dollar or two to go away so be ready for this. This park is where my league (dogs of disc) usually plays so I have played here a lot. If you came here and played all 36 holes you would have a good time, if you came here to play just 9 holes you would probably laugh to yourself and never come back again. This is an average course for any good golfer. You should end up being about minus10 for 36 holes if your a descent player.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded!!

5+    9/15/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 36 holes.
Fairly easy to follow.
A nice park.
Cement tees.
Cons: Way too crowded.
Very little variety to the wooded holes.
Poor layout--discs flying everywhere.
Huge groups of golfers more interested in happy hour than they are golf.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to Brewer plan on playing all 36 holes. The Blue is not my favorite 9 of the course but it does offer some fun ace runs.
The last 2 times I've played Brewer I swore I would never do it again because of the crowds. I have never heard "FORE" so many times as I do at Brewer. This is the only course I have played where I was concerned about getting hit by a disc-- Keep your head up because errant shots are the norm.
I prefer the 24 hole layout used back in the day to the 4 9's they have now.
I know the locals love the park but I would recomend it as a course to hit if you drive by the area but not a destination in itself.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 blue

2-4    3/25/2011   9/7/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short holes make for lots of birdie chances. nice flow to the course. great course for new players since it is not real technical. you have trees but most holes are easy to navigate around them.
Cons: can be real busy at times since most everyone seems to gravitate towards this course when they first arrive. can get muddy on a couple of holes if it gets any significant rainfall.
Other Thoughts: I usually try to play this course in the mornings so as to get started and finish quickly then move on to one of the other nines. it is a nice little warm up course to get your arm ready for the other nines in the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ace/deuce course

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees.
Signs on all holes are quite worn; but, still readable.
This is the course of the four to score on. You may very well need a high birdie count to offset bogeys on the longer holes offered on red, white, and gold.
Most wooded section of the 36 holes.
Very rustic (I needed it and used it) bathroom. (There was a quite dangerous looking spider perched very near where I was sitting.) Toilet paper present.
After playing blue; we were waiting for another player to arrive. While sitting at a picnic bench near blue #1 tee, we saw a number of groups teeing off. Groups included ladies and quite old gentlemen, as well as some "beer belly" players. Blue has allowed all types of players an introduction to the sport for @20 years!!! With the other longer courses here; blue is needed for this reason. Introduction to disc golf courses are as necessary as gold level layouts.
Nice place to carry one or two discs for a round.
Alcohol not allowed in most area parks. Here, a sign used to proclaim in large type: DRINKING ALLOWED. Sign is no longer present; but, drinking is allowed. The atmosphere here, is as laid back as it gets.
I'm adding this paragraph for my pros for all four of these: This is a 36 hole complex. I would give a 3 rating, for the complex as a whole. If you're there; you're going to more than likely play all four. All of the courses balance each other; and allow a number of styles of play.
Cons: Buckets here the oldest present at Brewer.
Short and flat.
Did I mention that it's the epitome of pitch and putt? Actually, it has enough trees to make it a step above the worst of the pitch and putts. But, for experienced players, will not offer much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: All courses here have undergone a number of different layouts. I believe this one has undergone a few modifications; but is much the same as when installed many years ago. In it's time, blue would have been a fun course for anyone. Ace count definitely would be helped on blue.
This is really below a l.5 rating as a stand alone course. I've upped it a bit due to being a component of the 36 hole layout; and for offering said ace runs. Many of us probably don't return to courses like this very often; but, because of the number of total holes here; as I mentioned, I think this course would get played by me quite often if I lived near by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    7/31/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: scrotman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect distance holes for beginners. Could be possible first ace course** for anyone. Couple of holes are changed up to make it an interesting course to come back to, particularly hole 4 and 6. Wooded coure makes it fun and a challenge.
Cons: Very busy. Some players may find it to wooded. Pay attention to flying disc from the other courses present.
Other Thoughts: Brewer Park is a fun day get away, play 4 rounds on 4 different 9 hole courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.