Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #5 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  in with positive, less neg

5+    8/1/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: RedXIII
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: great course. easiest of the four. best times to go are early morning or late in day.
Cons: besides being busy mid day, the usual you find any any course when people need to unload every disc they got, which is un nessesary when they have a good throw.
Other Thoughts: people need to quit making this place sound so bad in the "cons"

1 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/1/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short, slighly technical course in Brewer's four 9's complex. Nothing long or overpowered here.

Most holes are aceable.

Easy to follow flow. no real navigation challenge.
Cons: Busy course, a LOT of waiting going on here. Big groups can be more of a nuisence and a distraction than anything.

Bugs on the "low holes" (4-6) can be bad at times.

Hole 6--No lanes of any kind... Tomahawk is all I can recommend, or a roller...
Other Thoughts: Its not a bad course, it's just a busy busy park. The baskets are in good shape and there is good flow, but it's definitely not my favorite course I've played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun!

1    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Short hole length without too many trees in the way allow for multiple ace runs and/or birdie opportunities.
-Decent use of elevation changes things up a bit from the flatter half of the Brewer complex.
-Beginner/casual friendly.
-Adequate signage, tees, and baskets. Course flow is obvious and leaves you back near the parking lot, ready to begin another of Brewer's 9-holers.
-Raised wooden platforms near tees help to keep your bag clean and dry.
Cons: -Mostly dirt fairways might make playing in wet weather treacherous and/or messy.
-Tightly packed onto the available land. Beware errant discs from other parts of the course.
-The course can become crowded at times, including many casual players.
Other Thoughts: -Part of Brewer Park's fun 36-hole complex. Four nine-holers allow for variety and multiple starting points help to alleviate crowded course conditions.
-Alcohol allowed.
-My rating is based on this nine hole course only. If I were to consider all of Brewer Park as one rating, it would easily be rated higher (in the 3 1/2 disc range).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2009   7/8/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked this the best of the 4 9's because I like all the woods to it. There are a lot of ace chances but it can make it hard if you're just whippin it and hit a tree. You can also drink here if you want.
Cons: Lots of clutter and people. Sometimes groups of like 15 won't let you pass if there are two of you.
Other Thoughts: Come early after like 3 or 4 this place is packed and sometimes with not the nicest of people

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only 1 disc needed

5+    6/24/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Durso
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easiest 9 holes in all of disc golf. Searching for that first ace? Then start here. You can literally be wasted off your butt and still shoot a decent round on the Blues. Unfortunately many people are wasted off there butts please see other thoughts.
Cons: If you show up during prime time 2PM-8PM prepare for a long wait on this course. Large groups of 8+ often throw indvidually and take forever. Lots of mud after a good rain on #6 if you don't make it through the trees.
Other Thoughts: This course is a redneck haven. Busch light tall boys and tire squeelin action every day. Defintiely no etiquette involved. On a brighter note it does serve as a good warm up round for some of the other nines at Brewer. If you show up in the morning most of the "regulars" are still sleeping it off from the night before.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Yo Putta

5+    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only course I've ever played where a putter would reach every pin, yet I still enjoy playing it over and over.

Probably the best chance you can have for an ace.
Cons: Previous white trash comments are unfortunately accurate. It's very crowded, as previously mentioned.

The bathrooms are absolutely horrific. Imagine a port-a-john with a 20' deep pit that no one ever cleans.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer Circus

5+    5/6/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Jak3
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 4 different 9s to play, can drink legally in park, tee-pads are real nice......
Cons: Park is full of wiggers and white trash.
So overcrowded everyday after 3pm people park on the grass in front of tee-pad #1 on gold sometimes making it impossible to play. Most of the scrubs up there only play blue between loitering, drinking Miller Highlife and being loud so they dont give a shit where they park.
Another thing ive notice is theres always someone sitting in the parking lot beating a system so you can hear it throughout the whole park. Sometimes youll have a group behind you walking around the course with secret radios in their bags playing techno music that sounds like car alarms going off (Pretty common course ethics there)... Or how bout every time i go up there i got bombarded by random kids walking up to me asking if i wanna buy any weed...

Way too overcrowded with scum for my likings, every time i go up there im reminded of all the garbage that plays this sport.....

Watch out for people on quads racing thru the park too.

And that greaser bum that cleans up the cans... whats his name? Guy or something.. Get a job.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Brewer's Worse

2-4    10/9/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All 9 holes on this course are short enough that the baskets can be reached on your opening drive, which some people might like because of the multiple birdie opportunities and hole-in-one opportunities, but that's not always an easy task. For most of these holes, the trees are significant obstacles that force you to find different ways to reach the baskets. It might be best to play this wooded course with a large group of people, because the course can be so unpredictable and unforgiving that you never know who's going to get a low score and who's going to get a high score on each hole. Unfortunately this course's biggest strengths might be it's signs and concrete tee pads.
Cons: The holes are real short and close together, and some are also close to the holes on the white course. This can cause problems on a busy day. Some of the holes have too many trees in the way with almost no strategic route for your disc to follow in order to reach the baskets. On these holes, it seems like more luck than skill is required to get a low score. Due to the tree cover, the ground is mostly dirt with a lot of big roots sticking out, and mosquitoes can sometimes be a problem in the summer. Also, the ground can stay wet and muddy for a long time after it rains.
Other Thoughts: There are a few decent looking holes, but overall this course is set up rather poorly. If you're an accurate thrower who likes threading the needle through a bunch of trees or if you like having multiple chances of getting birdies and hole-in-ones then you might enjoy this course. Those are some big if's, though, because there's a wide variety of issues with this course. You'll be much better off playing one of the other three courses at Brewer Park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/29/2009   10/8/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The shortest of the four nines.Has some technicality and aceability on most of the holes.Has some trees but not very many except on 4 and 6,which still have a window and both have been aced by many people including myself.Can use midrange on 7 or all holes depending on ability.Good warm up for playing something more challenging.
Cons: Too busy,will find mobs of 10 or more people lollygagging through a round with no etiquette for any other smaller groups.Lots of loud,drunk,stoned "wiggers".
Other Thoughts: Prided myself on going months at a time without playing the blue.Very easily bored with it.Some people have not and will not play any other course but the blue,which I find sad and humorous at the same time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly for sure!

1    8/13/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: mmyersdisc
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would LOVE to have a course like this around my town. Eventhough it IS just a 9 hole, the holes play out so smooth and easy that it just makes it enjoyable to play! You have a possible ace run at almost every hole and that keeps the excitement up there! Along with tee signs, concrete tee pads, and visible baskets on almost every hole this course definetly offers something for the beginners to the game and even the pro's!
Cons: The signs ARE a little vandalised, but honestly, you can still read them just fine and you can see the baskets from almost every teepad anyways so it really isn't that big of a deal!
Other Thoughts: Overall the time I spent at this course was a BLAST! The locals were VERY friendly and willing to help me! I went in the early morning because I was up that way for work and so I stopped off and played 2 of the courses here. The others that were there were very friendly and guided me around and told me which course would be the best to play next in my allowed time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.