Course Extinct
Grand Rapids, MI 
Earl W. Brewer Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Must Stop at Brewer

1    7/13/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even beginners feel like they have an opportunity to get an ace at some point.

Almost impossible to lose a disc, except (maybe) on 3.

Hard dirt and root combo allows for some really exciting and ridiculous skips and rolls.

Technical, but by no means difficult.

Wooded, but not ridiculously. Moderate accuracy is required. Trees come into play for sure on 4, 6, and 7. Most trees just require a gentle (an)hyzer to avoid.

Has a great flow, especially once you're through the first three or four holes.

Fantastic use of the moderate terrain and woods -- 4 and 6 on the hill especially.

High potential reward for being able to use a variety of throws, but BH-only players can do well on this course too.
Cons: Crowded. This course is a warm-up and a crowd-pleaser for the throngs of people who play Brewer.

Swamp action behind 8, even when it's been mostly dry. An overthrow = muddy shoes and disc.

9 can be almost unplayable if it has rained a lot (e.g. in the spring time) due to mud and its ability to eat shoes.

Heads up when standing on the tee pad for 2. Discs from those playing the first hole behind you will certainly come your way.
Other Thoughts: This course, to me, embodies the intangible fun of disc golf everyone is always trying to describe.

As a person who will never be able to drive from the tee like some of the boys, Blue is a great opportunity for the nice ego boost that comes with being under par.

Hit up Brewer in the daytime, especially the morning if you want to avoid the crowds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/23/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
Pros: Well maintained tee pads a little on the small side but cement and swept regularly. clever layout in a small area. Signage present, with distance and pin location. Generally filled with friendly people that are there to have a good time. Although short, the course is moderately technical and has a couple elevation changes through trees (4 and 6). Several holes are possible ACE holes (1 and maybe 3).
Cons: The baskets are getting a little worn, but they still work. The course can be extremely crowded, especially on nice weekends. Although most of the time people are friendly and having fun on more than one occasion screaming matches have broken out (I have only witnessed this on the blue course). This can be really distracting. Some of the holes play to easy (I am thinking of hole 1 and 3) short with few obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I like this course quite a bit, and if you are like me and can't throw 500' this is a good course to get your confidence back after playing Red. Fun to play, pretty quick pretty easy nothing extraordinary but it comes together in an interesting way.

 Small but good

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. You'll never loose a disc
Cons: Can be a bit muddy at times, not really a con but it's all I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is a great park, 4 courses, and although it seems small playing all the holes can prove a challenge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great way to spend about 20 minutes

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good use of a very tiny area
Nice technical layout
Good opportunity to work on various throws/shots
Very intuitive flow
Makes you feel special with all the drop in birdies ;)
A good place to introduce people to the sport
IMPOSSIBLE to lose a disc
Nice signage
Good tees
Cons: For what this course is...there aren't many cons...of course you have to adjust your expectations, but this course was designed on a VERY small piece of land and they got the most out of it
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say if this was my favorite of the 4 or if the White one is because of a tiny more variety on the White.

The great thing about the Brewer Complex of 4 courses, there is something for everyone...this set of 4 courses is well worth driving out to...and then you decide which course(s) work best for you :)

I played these courses on a Sunday morning about 9ish and I had no "flow/pacing" issues and ran into a couple of great groups of locals who gave me some good insight on other courses in the area

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and easy

5+    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Short, great course to bring the first time girls. Fantastic for all beginners. teaches alot about the angles of the game. extremely fast course if you're looking for a quick game before you have to be somewhere
Cons: can be very crowded in the afternoon and weekends. not very challenging for those with some experience. should be a very easy - 3-5
Other Thoughts: Don't go over the fence on #3

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best!

5+    5/12/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
Pros: GREAT combination of short, medium, and long holes, as well as open fairways, tree clusters, uphill and downhill. Impossible to get lost as a newbie, fun ace runs on #1, #3, #4, #5, #8. and #9. As with all Brewer courses, pads are swept and bottles cleared on a daily basis.
Cons: Can get muddy in the spring and after a hard rain. As the most popular course at Brewer, can get backed up on tee #1 and #2, but after that mostly clear sailing.
Other Thoughts: Good scores on blue will be around -3 to -4 as a single, and -5 to -6 with a partner. -9's are possible, but rare.

 Brewer Blues

5+    4/1/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: JojoXGooch
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees on every hole, varied landscape, cement tees, baskets, good community.
Cons: Trees on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Blues are my second favorite of the four Brewer courses. (After Whites) I cut straight through the chains on hole #3 (Downhill drive) and was robbed of an ace on my first time playing.

Usually the most crowded of the four.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short with trees

5+    8/5/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: underpar24
Played: 118  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2009
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: confident boaster course. short with all holes being a birdie oppertunity. Well maintained course. Nice holes placed within tree. cement tee pads. Helps you work on your midrange accuracy.
Cons: too short. not very hard. crowded
Other Thoughts: when you have a bad round on gold or red. go and play blue and get your confidence back up.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Short

1    4/16/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical, every hole has trees to avoid.
Trash cans at every hole.
A few big elevation changes.
Bridge over the mud pit around hole 6 or 7.
Cons: Too short, even if you do hit a tree you can easily make par still.
Watch out for the tree roots sticking out of the ground near the baskets.

Other Thoughts: This is probably my least favorite out of all the Brewer courses. I played par, however, many of my shots hit trees and I was able to make up this distance with an easy midrange shot. For this course to be more difficult I would like longer holes through the trees so it's not so easy to make par even if you are chopping trees all day. I could have easily birdied every hole if I wouldn't have been lumberjacking.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Do Well Or Do Horrible

5+    3/27/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A varation of shots through the wooded portion of the course. Easy enough for beginners but, I have found that you either shoot six under or six up. Very technical shots up and down hills and a short and sweet course to play.
Cons: Can be busy seeing as most of the people that play for fun, seem to want to play this one because, it's the easiest of the 4 courses.
Other Thoughts: I love playing blue. It's my favorite one to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.