Millington/Memphis, TN 
Meeman-Shelby State Park - West Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Meeman-Shelby West

1    4/25/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
Pros: Really a great course. Many tight wooded fairways with a variety of shots required. Many holes have two or more possible lines, some with higher risk/reward which makes the course very fun to play. Many of the holes require very tight technical shots in order to have an opportunity for par, which is great for more experienced players to work on hitting their lines. The elevation changes here also serve as an added challenge for the course. Navigation and course flow was also a huge plus. My group was easily able to find the next tee box even though it was our first time playing the course.
Cons: Navigation was great with the exception of the first hole. The tee sign was a little misleading and there were three baskets that could have been hole one's none of which were labeled. While playing we also ran into two snakes, neither were poisonous, but still worth noting. Also, there were one or two holes that were just a little too tight in their fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. Looking at the reviews for the West and the East I got the impression that the East was the much better side, but I actually didn't think so playing through the West side. I think both are great courses and the West has a few more open holes without losing any of the difficulty of navigating tight fairways. Meeman-Shelby is my personal favorite disc golf location in Memphis, and I highly suggest playing both sides if you have the time.

Great 36 hole park

5+    12/1/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 2 course (east and west)
36 holes
some tee pads are in good shape (some are not)
Great baskets.
Beautiful wooded course with HUGE mature trees
distances vary as do shot selections.
some tight with technique needed to hit the right lines
some open for big arms
Cons: the tee pads and signs could use updated in certain locations.
Other Thoughts: I lived in Bartlett (Memphis area) for almost 5 years and always loved playing the forest.
If you play it, make sure to stop by the General store close by for a burger. Best I've ever had!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2nd best course in Memphis

1    8/7/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Rosswake
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout and the tee boxes and holes are easy to locate. If you are a lefty or prefer throwing side-armed, then you will love this course. Many of the holes appear to have multiple hole options, but it was geared toward a player with right hook finish. I enjoyed working on that part of my game on this 18 hole course.
Cons: The layout wasn't diverse enough for my taste. These holes are shorter than the "East" course and not as creative. The elevation changes created a positive element though.
Other Thoughts: Nice pair of courses here and I'd love to play them more often. If I knew more people would be on the course, I'd be even more likely to drive the 15-20 minutes from downtown Memphis to play them when I am back in town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Wild West

1    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: byebyebirdie
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short wooded course adjacent to Meeman-Shelby State Park - East. The course is great for both beginners and more advanced players.

-You don't need a bag full of discs to shoot well and most players can get by using only a mid-range and a putter.

-Compared to the East course elevation comes into play a bit more with a mix of throwing uphill and downhill.

-There is a natural creek bed about 12 feet deep which acts as a nice natural rough (no water in the summer).

-Signage is good. Most holes have benches & trash cans (I ran into two locals installing more benches while I was playing).
Cons: Not so much a reflection on the course itself--but--make sure to bring bug spray! Even with spray I had gnats circling my head often which got annoying real fast.

-The tee pads were a little short compared to what I am used to and a few are carpet with lumps

-You can tell some of the holes are newer as the fairways are not as well defined as the East course.

-Course does not flow as smoothly as the East course (this is probably due to the course being newer and having less wear). I got confused a few times trying to find the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Players who enjoy wooded courses will not be disappointed. This is a fun stop where you can play 36 wooded holes (West & East). I think most would agree East is the better course--if you only have a limited amount of time make sure to play East. If you have the time go ahead and play both!

***note: the ball field mentioned in the directions is no longer there. You will see a large flat area where the field used to be but there is nothing left to indicate it was a once a ball field. I stopped at the park's Visitor's Center and was able to get a map and good directions to the first hole. There is a covered pavilion and restrooms on site.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Soooo...where's the line?

2-4    5/8/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A challenging, technical course with punishing rough and tricky elevation shots.
Some unique shots are required of a player. Low-ceiling spike hyzers to an elevated green, uphill turnover S-curve shots, low-ceiling line-drives over a ravine, touch sidearms, etc.

On-site bathrooms and shelter, as well as chairs and benches on a number of the holes.
Cons: I'm a fan of tight, wooded courses. I like to have to think about the line I can take, and I enjoy being presented with the risk/reward go-for-it temptation shots. Having said that, I really hate rinky-dink throw-and-pray holes. And there are a couple of them on this course. Hole 11 for example, is a touch hyzer shot with a downhill finish. After the initial hole, there is a random smattering of trees guarding the pin. Hole 15 presents a crazy tight line, with the teepad pointing 30' off to the left. One or two swipes with a chainsaw would do the course a lot of good. I don't need a 50' fairway; but I would like to actually have a line at the basket.

Some of the other teepads are carpet. This creates some surface bumps on some of them, and makes for a slippery surface after a decent rain.
Other Thoughts: Bring your bug juice and your grippiest shoes -- especially after rain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/21/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Meeman-Shelby has a nice shelter with bathrooms by the start of the two courses. Water is available and there's a large bulletin board with a map of the two courses inside. Most of the holes have concrete tee pads and tee signs. Some of signs indicate there are multiple pin placements on the course.

The West course is wooded and short but rather technical. Even though it's short there are no gimmes here; you definitely have to hit your lines to get the birdies. There's a little variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots and some holes have multiple routes to the basket. There's elevation changes here on most holes, more so that the East course, which really added to the fun and challenge of this course.

This a very old course and back in the day there was only one course in this park. There are still some of the old tee signs from the original course which gives it a nostalgic feel.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing and some of the tee pads are carpet rather than concrete.

Navigating the course is mostly easy, but you can get turned around between holes 1 & 2, 9 & 10, and 14 & 15. It's just enough to wish you had a map your first time, but isn't an issue once you've played here a few times. Next tee signs would be a nice addition and could easily fix this.

I was a little disappointed some of the baskets weren't closer to the steep slopes of the creek bed near a few of the holes. It's a nice drop off and would really add to the challenge here.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a short, fun nostalgic course. With two courses in one location it's definitely worth stopping here to play. West is definitely the less challenging of the two courses here. I'm glad I played West first, I probably would have felt let down if I played here after East.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!!

5+    3/13/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: carrioke
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Benches/chairs @ many holes, garbage cans @ each hole. Some concrete tee pads, others flat and covered with carpeting. many short holes. Multiple pin positions. Signs on every hole
Cons: REALLY hilly!! Slick and dangerous when wet, needs more benches, easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: All players are rewarded for good shots, and penalized for not so good shots. Bring every kind of disc you have! Every shot is needed on this course. Not too long and not too technical. It is an excellent blend of ease and challenge for players of every level and of both genders.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun woods holes

1    12/21/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 764  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a little shorter and a little hillier than the east course. It plays mostly through rolling hills in dense woods with a couple open holes to start and end the course. Many holes have nice elevation changes, which definitely adds to the fun factor and the variety. The woods are thick enough that you'll find some pretty good punishment for errant shots.

There are some nice left and right turning holes mixed in on this course, and lots of holes that challenge you to hit a narrow straight line to stay out of trouble. There are a few longer holes mixed in to the mostly shorter layout. The tees are mostly concrete and are in good shape. The course is pretty easy to follow and has good flow.
Cons: The signage is lacking here, some holes have nice signs, some have two signs for the new layout and for the original 18 which is now split between the two courses, and some holes had no signage at all. There were a couple spots where it took a second to figure out which tee was next, though these weren't too bad. You might want to take a picture of the course map by the parking lot just in case.

The course gets a little repetitive at times, with lots of short straight shots through the woods. The elevation changes help, but not enough to keep many holes from feeling really similar. There are some erosion issues on some of the hilly areas that seemed like they would be really slick after a rain. The alternate pin placements add some nice minor changes to many holes, but there isn't any marking to show what position is in use.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun wooded course, and I definitely enjoyed playing here. A little more variety in length and hole shapes would bump up the challenge and fun factor here quite a bit. It's more beginner friendly than the East course, but it could still be frustrating for a beginner who struggles to keep it on the narrow fairways. Top players won't be really challenged here, but the rest of us have to work to hit the lines here, and will find enough trouble on errant shots to keep it interesting.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 If you like 36 Holes...

1    10/4/2009   2/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MS- West is a solid technical wooded course. The first 2 holes are more open (but not gimmes) and then from #3-#15 you are in the woods, the fairways widen a bit for #16-#17, and #18 is very open. This set up gives it a little more variety of wooded vs. open than the East course. There are a lot of trees waiting to deflect your disc the wrong direction as you would expect, but there is always a reasonable fairway. Many of the holes also involve the extra challenge of elevation. The course is an older one, but this actually helps it as it has had plenty of time to mature.

Tees, baskets, and signs were adequate. Navigation was not a problem.

This is a nice, secluded course that is challenging yet fun. The disc golf courses are their own area of the park, so there is no interference with other park activities. There is the added bonus of 2 courses that begin from the same parking area (for36 total holes). Also at the parking lot is a detailed course map of the complex, a covered picnic pavilion, and nice restrooms.
Cons: I put as a Pro that #18 added contrast to the woods holes, but for me personally this hole just does not fit in the with the other 35 holes here as it is just wide open. It had little challenge other than length and is really more of a filler just to get you back to the parking lot. It was just a disappointing way to finish 36 holes. The road can be a factor on #15 for RHBHers so watch for cars and road rash.

The wooded holes did not offer as much variety as the East course, many of the holes in the middle are fairly straight (not as much hyzer and anhyzer like the East course).

I also remember being amazed at how the mosquitoes would not go away, even in the pouring rain, so be sure to bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: The Meeman-Shelby courses are solid courses that will challenge players of all skill levels, but aren't too difficult for casual players and families who also come to the park for other things like camping, hiking, and fishing. It is also really nice that there are 36 holes all in one spot, and these courses are not too far from one of the best courses anywhere- Bud Hill, which complement each other very well.

I preferred the East course over the West, if you have to pick one. But I recommend both if you have the time.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My 1st taste of Tennessee and it tasted nice and woody.

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short old school wooded course, but not silly short. Hole 1 is beautiful with lush green grass and played under a canopy of trees for most of the shot which is about 380, with the basket on a decline, so watch out for roll off. Most of the front 9 plays along the side of a hill which is wooded yet has defined fairways. You play 3 up and 3 down and all are cool and challenging shots for us rec players. Many hyzers and about 3 annys. Feels secluded, just not quite as much as the east, which isn't a con as the east is 1 of the most secluded feeling courses that I have played so far. Most pins were visible from the t pad. Shady as any course that I have played with lots of places to rest and many trash cans. No trash. Very well manicured with short green grass on the few open type holes. A scenic and peaceful round engulfed in the woods.
Cons: Too short for today's standards. Too easy for pro level players. Favors right handed traditional style golfers, which for me was great. Some of the baskets were old and there were many types, but I had no spit outs and it's an old course that has all of it's baskets so LAY OFF MAN!! LOL.
Other Thoughts: I was told that the city doesn't service the park, volunteers do it. I was told that the owner of Bud Hill has something to do with the upkeep, by the can lady. You locals know who I am talking about. I fully endorse these courses to any woods lover. If you are a pro just enjoy it for what it is, a slice of disc golf history and old school course design.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.