Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Tiki Course Share
Uploaded By: indecisivemess Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
2 / 69ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Tiki Fun

1    6/8/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 291  Reviewed: 282  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
I will dispatch from much of my regular review tactics for this one and instead write a narrative.
Tiki is fun. Most holes are <100' and require mainly a putter with a light for night time fun. Fairways are lined with boards and filled with mulch to help better define them in the dark Virginia woods. All baskets are lit to be able to see them in the dark. Baskets are old and not in great shape but, for what they are used for, there is no need for bright shiny baskets. Much destruction of the Tiki course is a good portion of the reason for the "closing" of Blockhouse. All fairways used to be lit and overhead lights worked. Now, much of this is gone. the first couple fairways are lit and none of the Christmas lights are lit. This DOES detract from the overall ambiance of the course but the spirit lives on.

The back 9 starts with an over the bar shot into a tall basket, the rest of the back 9 is very dark as this is where a lot of the damage has been taken. holes 12-18 are very dark and you really need to watch your disc, light or not. Water is in play on the back 9.
Cons: No real cons here. Just remember that you are playing a pitch and putt course for fun. This is not a gold level course. Read some of the signage that tells you of some of the tourneys they have on the Tiki Course, it's very interesting stuff.
Other Thoughts: If you ever have the honor of playing Blockhouse, DO NOT PASS IT UP... and furthermore, if you have the honor of getting out here, don't mess the course up, treat it as the true treasure it is...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tiki Madness = Mini Golf and Nightlight

1    5/30/2014   4/10/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2015
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private course with 18 very short holes to challenge your putting skills 24 hours a day/night. There are defined wooded puttways and obstacles to shape your putt ace making ability on every hole. There's straight putts, doglegs, gentle turns, an actual netted tunnel shot, massive raised basket, and even a spinning basket. Decent signage, navigation and 2 loops of 9 holes. Very nicely built course with astroturf tees, wooded fences, boxed mulched fairways, netting, metal structure, and lighted fairways and baskets for night golf!

Other amenities include 2 other awesome regular size courses on site, arcade, concerts, camping, pool and bathroom.
Cons: Uhhh....there's no drives off the tee?
Other Thoughts: The Tiki Course is really hard to rate because it's not a traditional disc golf course, it's a mini disc golf size course with regular size baskets like Putt-Putt is to traditional ball golf courses. The amount of work and love that went into this mini course was anything butt tiny, it's massive! Inch for inch I'd venture no other course in the world has had more work done on it. The electric, lights, nets, and wood work are all very impressive. As a putt putt type course or if it was scaled up this would be a 4.5 or 5.0.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A blast to play. Take the whole family! Awesome use of the imagination and disc golf. It was like "putt-putt" for DG'ers! Measured in inches, instead of feet. Lots of obstacles...nets, fences, holes, cages...they even have one basket that is about 30 feet in the air (your disc comes down in a net-tunnel's crazy).
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: They should have a theme for each hole...that would be cool!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/30/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 118  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 23.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Without a doubt the most fun course I've ever played
- Great short game practice
Cons: The only con about this course is it is 4 hours away from me.
Other Thoughts: Everytime I play this course, there is something new or some new feature or some new way of playing it. What is not to love about a course with measurement in inches?!?Can't say this enough - by far the most fun course I've ever played. I'm also proud to say I have shot 34 on this course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nothing else like this Tiki course

5+    1/20/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: discgolfne1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2015
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As is I said...there is nothing like this course anywhere. The owner (Mike Trapasso) has spent countless time and energy making this the unique course that it is, and it just seems to get better all the time. This course is great for warming up, or to just test out your approach shots and putts.
Cons: Well, Mike hasn't built a roof over it..yet...but other than that there really isn't any cons in my book.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand some of the reviews. This is in all essence a "putt putt course" and should not be compared to a full sized course. The lengths of the holes are NOT intended to be be long or drawn out...just tricky. Mike has incorporated many obstacles on these 70'-130' holes to challenge your every throw. Shooting par (they are all par 2's) is an accomplishment, and does not happen very often.

Please respect The Blockhouse. Take care of your own trash. Mike has been kind to offer this unique experience to all of us and it is hard to maintain without everyone's help in doing their part.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.


1    10/8/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 446  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 12 Not
On the same site as two 18=hole courses, disc shop, clubhouse.
Hole lengths measured in inches :-), a typical distance being ~70'.
Other Thoughts:
Multiple chances to work on your unusual putting game, as the variable-height baskets are guarded by a variety of obstacles, forcing very specific windows to be hit to have an ace run.

This is an awkward "course" to rate. I can imagine it has a high fun factor, at night with the lights on, relaxing with friends after a couple of rounds on the other two courses.

However, when comparing this equivalent of a miniature-golf course to multi-acre, regulation-sized courses, it just doesn't measure up.

6 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Tiki Party

1    8/21/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -A truly unique experience
-You don't have to carry your bag. Bring your putter, it's all you need.
-There are lots of cool hidden things to see on the course.
-You can play glow golf without glow discs
-Most of the baskets are works of art
-A great way to introduce someone to disc golf
-The signage is hilarious
-Even though the holes are all par 2s, they can still be challenging
Cons: -Nothing much, just that the nets can almost become invisible and leave you wondering why you disc just fell dead out of the air
Other Thoughts: A course like this would do great on it's own anywhere in America. If putt putt golf can thrive so can this.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: every disc golf course should have one of these. 2 championship level courses and i couldn't wait till dark to play some tiki golf. no glow discs or sticks needed. great practice for the approach game.
Cons: i had an ace chain out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 unique experience

2-4    10/2/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2011
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More fun than some much higher rated courses. The grange itself is an amazing experience and the tiki course is one feature that makes it awesome.
You have to really think about playing it safe or going for the ace on every hole.
Course is filled with novelty holes measured in inches, so each hole has character, but none require much more than a putter. On hole 1 a rotating tiki man can reject your shot, cages and fences come into play making some make or break obsticles.
Hole 10's new basket is 15 feet high and the disc falls down a net back to regular basket level.
Night doubles was possibly the most fun I have had with a disc all year.
Cons: It is not a traditional course, if you want to carry a bag and launch you new driver, sorry. This is strictly a fun little novelty course.
Pay to play always sucks, but The Grange is worth it.
Catching area of the baskets were very shallow, the outside edge of many of the baskets was far too short.
Other Thoughts: T i m said it best that this is mini golf for disc golfers.
The Grange is a must for any disc golfer,Tiki may not be your cup of tea, you may think the other 2 courses are mediocre, but the environment and the experience rival a 5 disc course for me.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with a football!

2-4    7/13/1000   10/15/2010
Review By: esdubya
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 28 Not
Other Thoughts: First time I played the tiki course it was with a mini football that was slightly low on air. It was really hard, the bounce-aways were killer. The football-golf course designer is a genius. I highly recommend you leave your discs in your car and play the course with a football next time.

3 of 31 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.