Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Tiki Course Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2013)
2 / 69ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    3/30/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 109  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Without a doubt the most fun course I've ever played
- Great short game practice
Cons: The only con about this course is it is 4 hours away from me.
Other Thoughts: Everytime I play this course, there is something new or some new feature or some new way of playing it. What is not to love about a course with measurement in inches?!?Can't say this enough - by far the most fun course I've ever played. I'm also proud to say I have shot 34 on this course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: every disc golf course should have one of these. 2 championship level courses and i couldn't wait till dark to play some tiki golf. no glow discs or sticks needed. great practice for the approach game.
Cons: i had an ace chain out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with a football!

2-4    7/13/1000   10/15/2010
Review By: esdubya
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 19.6 Years
3 Helpful / 28 Not
Other Thoughts: First time I played the tiki course it was with a mini football that was slightly low on air. It was really hard, the bounce-aways were killer. The football-golf course designer is a genius. I highly recommend you leave your discs in your car and play the course with a football next time.

3 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Most fun you can have with a putter

1    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.6 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diversity. No two holes play alike (well, almost) which is tough with all holes under 150'. Graded turf tees (not that you really need them for such short holes). Some really cool novelties, like the rotating basket, bird cage hole (pin hangs from the top of the cage), narrow gate hole, swimming pool hole, over the tent shot to pin mounted atop a stump hole. It's pretty well balanced with a fair number of both right and left turning fairways in addition to a number of straight (but tight) runs. You might not believe it when you first look at it but par (36) is pretty good score here.
Cons: The old baskets don't swallow. These are the old homemade pins from the original Grange course that became the Sunnyside (for all of you historians).
Other Thoughts: DCGR really needs a new category for "novelty" course because I'd love to rate this little course as phenomenal. When I last played the Tike course there were only 9 holes, the new back nine takes the whole thing to another level. When you take a closer lookat it, an amazing amount of work has gone into this course. Just hooking up the servo motor to the rotating lit basket had to be a huge chore by itself. There are several bridges across the dry creek bed that runs through, including a 50'er. Netting between the adjacent fairways protects players from errant shots (80% of the course is heavily wooded and players are encouraged to play while holding the beverage of their choice - for balance;-) It really is the perfect way to unwind after the possible pummeling you'll take from playing the two championship courses.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt DG

1    6/27/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ahhh, the Tiki Course. This 18 hole, 2-par putting course is one of a kind. It is made up of older baskets with worn in chains, which are lined with Xmas lights for night play. The course is perfect for a cool-down after playing Sunnyside and Darkside, or as an interesting way to practice your short game.

Many of the holes are very interesting: one throws from a clearing through a small opening in a fence that encloses the basket. Another plays over a large tent. There are several doglegs, and even a "water hazard". All holes have signs showing the length (in inches).
Cons: There really aren't any cons here. The course is so creative and unique that playing it is a very enjoyable experience, and any potential cons will likely go unnoticed.
Other Thoughts: The Tiki Course adds a lot to the character of the Grange. It can be used as a warm-up round to practice puts, or as a chance to unwind after playing the big boy courses.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool mini-course

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.6 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great warm-up, cool down, or play repeatedly kind of course. The Tiki course is a par-2 mini course that can be played with just one disc (putter). Holes are marked in inches with the longest being ~120'. Very well designed - takes up minimal amount of land, variety of shots (hyzer, anhyzer, straight) & TONS of character. Has real teepads!

The course is lit with x-mas lights & rope lighting on the basket so you can play at night. A round can take as little as 30 minutes. Very kid friendly.
Cons: None - this course is perfect for its design. Baskets getting a bit rusty, but they look recycled anyways.
Other Thoughts: The most unique course I've played; I wish more big courses had this feature

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.