Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Tiki Course Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #16 (Taken 5/2013)
2 / 85ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Ha!

1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A blast to play. Take the whole family! Awesome use of the imagination and disc golf. It was like "putt-putt" for DG'ers! Measured in inches, instead of feet. Lots of obstacles...nets, fences, holes, cages...they even have one basket that is about 30 feet in the air (your disc comes down in a net-tunnel thing...it's crazy).
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: They should have a theme for each hole...that would be cool!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Without a doubt the most fun course I've ever played
- Great short game practice
Cons: The only con about this course is it is 4 hours away from me.
Other Thoughts: Everytime I play this course, there is something new or some new feature or some new way of playing it. What is not to love about a course with measurement in inches?!?Can't say this enough - by far the most fun course I've ever played. I'm also proud to say I have shot 34 on this course.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing else like this Tiki course

5+    1/20/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: discgolfne1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As is I said...there is nothing like this course anywhere. The owner (Mike Trapasso) has spent countless time and energy making this the unique course that it is, and it just seems to get better all the time. This course is great for warming up, or to just test out your approach shots and putts.
Cons: Well, Mike hasn't built a roof over it..yet...but other than that there really isn't any cons in my book.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand some of the reviews. This is in all essence a "putt putt course" and should not be compared to a full sized course. The lengths of the holes are NOT intended to be be long or drawn out...just tricky. Mike has incorporated many obstacles on these 70'-130' holes to challenge your every throw. Shooting par (they are all par 2's) is an accomplisment, and does not happen very often.

Please respect The Blockhouse. Take care of your own trash. Mike has been kind to offer this unique experience to all of us and it is hard to maintain without everyone's help in doing their part.


11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 R2D2

1    10/8/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros:
On the same site as two 18=hole courses, disc shop, clubhouse.
Cons:
Hole lengths measured in inches :-), a typical distance being ~70'.
Other Thoughts:
Multiple chances to work on your unusual putting game, as the variable-height baskets are guarded by a variety of obstacles, forcing very specific windows to be hit to have an ace run.

This is an awkward "course" to rate. I can imagine it has a high fun factor, at night with the lights on, relaxing with friends after a couple of rounds on the other two courses.

However, when comparing this equivalent of a miniature-golf course to multi-acre, regulation-sized courses, it just doesn't measure up.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Tiki Party

1    8/21/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -A truly unique experience
-You don't have to carry your bag. Bring your putter, it's all you need.
-There are lots of cool hidden things to see on the course.
-You can play glow golf without glow discs
-Most of the baskets are works of art
-A great way to introduce someone to disc golf
-The signage is hilarious
-Even though the holes are all par 2s, they can still be challenging
Cons: -Nothing much, just that the nets can almost become invisible and leave you wondering why you disc just fell dead out of the air
Other Thoughts: A course like this would do great on it's own anywhere in America. If putt putt golf can thrive so can this.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: every disc golf course should have one of these. 2 championship level courses and i couldn't wait till dark to play some tiki golf. no glow discs or sticks needed. great practice for the approach game.
Cons: i had an ace chain out.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 unique experience

2-4    10/2/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2011
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More fun than some much higher rated courses. The grange itself is an amazing experience and the tiki course is one feature that makes it awesome.
You have to really think about playing it safe or going for the ace on every hole.
Course is filled with novelty holes measured in inches, so each hole has character, but none require much more than a putter. On hole 1 a rotating tiki man can reject your shot, cages and fences come into play making some make or break obsticles.
Hole 10's new basket is 15 feet high and the disc falls down a net back to regular basket level.
Night doubles was possibly the most fun I have had with a disc all year.
Cons: It is not a traditional course, if you want to carry a bag and launch you new driver, sorry. This is strictly a fun little novelty course.
Pay to play always sucks, but The Grange is worth it.
Catching area of the baskets were very shallow, the outside edge of many of the baskets was far too short.
Other Thoughts: T i m said it best that this is mini golf for disc golfers.
The Grange is a must for any disc golfer,Tiki may not be your cup of tea, you may think the other 2 courses are mediocre, but the environment and the experience rival a 5 disc course for me.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with a football!

2-4    7/13/1000   10/15/2010
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 28 Not
Other Thoughts: First time I played the tiki course it was with a mini football that was slightly low on air. It was really hard, the bounce-aways were killer. The football-golf course designer is a genius. I highly recommend you leave your discs in your car and play the course with a football next time.

3 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Most fun you can have with a putter

1    6/26/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.3 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diversity. No two holes play alike (well, almost) which is tough with all holes under 150'. Graded turf tees (not that you really need them for such short holes). Some really cool novelties, like the rotating basket, bird cage hole (pin hangs from the top of the cage), narrow gate hole, swimming pool hole, over the tent shot to pin mounted atop a stump hole. It's pretty well balanced with a fair number of both right and left turning fairways in addition to a number of straight (but tight) runs. You might not believe it when you first look at it but par (36) is pretty good score here.
Cons: The old baskets don't swallow. These are the old homemade pins from the original Grange course that became the Sunnyside (for all of you historians).
Other Thoughts: DCGR really needs a new category for "novelty" course because I'd love to rate this little course as phenomenal. When I last played the Tike course there were only 9 holes, the new back nine takes the whole thing to another level. When you take a closer lookat it, an amazing amount of work has gone into this course. Just hooking up the servo motor to the rotating lit basket had to be a huge chore by itself. There are several bridges across the dry creek bed that runs through, including a 50'er. Netting between the adjacent fairways protects players from errant shots (80% of the course is heavily wooded and players are encouraged to play while holding the beverage of their choice - for balance;-) It really is the perfect way to unwind after the possible pummeling you'll take from playing the two championship courses.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 How cool is that

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Well designed with tons of obstacles like shooting into a caged in area with a net on the top so you gotta get right in front of the door. Or shooting into a giant bird cage on 18.

Or throwing over a building on 10.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is a great warm up course to pratice your putting but play it in the dark and it becomes a great round of challenging golf.

A must play while your at the Grange.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.