Disc Golf Store
Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Darkside Share
Uploaded By: luv2throw Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: amazing course. complements the sunny side very well. or contrasts maybe i should say. very challenging. i shot well on the sunnyside all weekend but the darkside had my number. beautiful scenery. great hospitality. can't wait to go back.
Cons: it kicked my butt

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    8/24/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Coasterbrad
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I stopped by The Grange today on my way up 95 and I am really glad I did. As we got there, Albert, Matt and Ben were about to play and invited my friend and I to tag along. It was great to get to play the course with those who designed it work to make it what it is today.

The Darkside had a great mix of hole types and challenges. The tightly wooded course was kept very nicely. Many of the tees had seating and shelters. A few of the holes have a lot of fun character, i.e. the "fish hole."

Overall, this was an awesome course. It was challenging, but definitely playable for me even as a somewhat new player to the sport.

Thanks guys for letting us tag along today, we had a great time.
Cons: Navigating from hole to hole could be somewhat difficult if it is your first time and you are alone. This wasn't a problem for us though as we were with the regulars.
Other Thoughts: Great course, don't pass it up.

Call ahead. Leave a donation to help them keep this place going and improving.

Oh, and THE POOL IS PRIVATE!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 World class course

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mike and his crew are some of the best nicest people that I have ever met. No negative vibes here at all.
2 pro 18 hole courses 1 18 hole lighted tiki course for night play, pool, hot tub, camping ground, grill, ping pong table, arcade games, awsome stage and band playing with Dj.
This is probably one of the coolest laid back chill courses in the country.
I got too drunk at night after chilling with the crew for the whole day and they even hooked me up with a tent to sleep. How cool is that.

You might just meet a Disc golf legend at this course.
Cons: Could be a few more signs on the sunnyside but still pretty good.
Other Thoughts: When playing the Grange be sure to bring plenty of food and water or other drinks because there are no stores nearby and once you get there you will not want to leave. For sure.
Bring swimming trunks and bathing suits for the pool and hot tub.
Be sure to bring a tent or something in case you drink too much because they really don't want you drinking and driving.

Plan to make a full day or two of your trip.

Be sure to make friends with mike the dude with the Jester hat on most of the time. He is the owner and one of the coolest guys you'll ever meet.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Interesting Course

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I finally had the opportunity to play the lengend, wati for it, ary Grange! This is a privately owned and operated course and features some of the funkiest decorations and hazards I've seen.

The entrance to the Darkside Course is behind a designated sign in area with a well stocked pro shop featuring a ton of discs, towels, t-shirts and the like. Mike also has an outstanding course guide with maps for each hole on both the main courses (Dark Side and Sunny Side).

The Dark Side course is pretty wooded, for the most part, and features some tight fairways.

Hole 1: 280 feet, straight ahead with a tight! Fairway. Two trees guard the tee box, 56 feet from the tee, making this a much harder shot than normal.

Hole 2: 384 feet, with a dual fairway, so you can play it along two paths, this hole is a slight uphill shot.

Hole 3: 248 Feet, straight shot, with a large mound and dead tree guarding the elevated basket. This hole challenges you because not only do you have the mound to contend with, but there's a group of trees behind it as well.

Hole 4: 358, with a snake like fairway, and the basket located in a small depression.

Hole 5: 302 feetm fairly straight shot, has a small stone wall and two ditches you need to contend with on the way to the basket. The ditches and wall remind me of a civil war battlement...perhaps this is an artifact? I know there was a ton of action around the area!

Hole 6: 295 feet with a set of trees in the center of the fairway about 141 feet from the tee box.

Hole 7: 419 feet, with OB road running along the right of the hole (woods should keep you from hitting the road). This is a good hole to "let her rip" with a good hyzer forehand, the hole is a slight downhill with a well defined fairway.

Hole 8: 316 feet, fairly straight, but the basket is guarded by some trees to the left.

Hole 9: 171 feet, slightly uphill hole, Good for an ace run, but there is an obstacle in the middle of the fairway, and the basket is tightly bracketed by small trees, so an ace is earned here!

Hole 10: 307 feet, Long downhill left turner, great hole to unload a good backhand throw on, nice fairway with some nasty trees bisecting the faiway at the dogleg.

Hole 11: 314 Feet- Slight downhill dogleg right- the "Fish Hole" with a fishy theme, including a Jesus Fish hanging from a stump about halfway down the fairway on the left side. Not sure what happens if you hit the sign. There are two stream beds the bisect the fairway at the fish, and the dogleg is severe, so be carefull to hit it at the right place, as the woods are hard to cut through on an up shot.

Hole 12: 300 feet straight shot, with a large dead tree guarding the basket.

Hole 13: 318 feet- straight hole with a large OB stream bed bisecting the fairway 127 feet from the tee box. Getting over the stream is one thing, but the hole also has some smaller trees guarding the basket to add difficulty.

Hole 14: 350 feet, with small pond on the left sideand stream bed bisecting the fairway at 198 feet. Pond and stream are OB, and are marked with ropes. The basket is tucked up and to the left of the fairway.

Hole 15: 270 feet with large OB pond and small stream about 133 feet out. If you "go for it" be aware of the walnut tree- I think squirrels were trying to hit me when I three my upshot!

Hole 17: 303 feet, dogleg left, with small OB pond and stream (132-165 feet), and a mando on the left side of the fairway (87 feet). The mando and pond make this a highly technical hole, and if you can't count on accuracy, I would suggest laying up in the grass under the mando sighn. the dogleg is behind the pond, and narrows greatly toward the hole.

Hole 17: 344 feet, fairly straight, with the basket slightly to the right. A good hole for strong forehand throwersm but as usual for the Grange, trees in the fairway add to the difficulty.

Hole 18: 299 feet, straight shot...sounds simple, right? Well it is except for the two trees that encroach on the fairway at 215 feet, and the narrow little clearing where they hid the basket!
Cons: As with any wooded course, flys, snakes, squirrels and other critters abound.
Other Thoughts: This course has earned it's reputation for being a great place to play. I was there when the place was empty, so I didn't get to partake in any of the other fun activities they featute, such as a stage, video games, a bar and pool.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Mecca

1    9/1/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *The grange overall = Two 18-hole challenging & immaculately groomed courses, an 18-hole lit practice course, a clubhouse with an old-school video game arcade and a pool -- all on the same piece of private land!
*Challenging holes with variety of open & wooded, short & long
*Defined fairways - I thought both courses were tight but very fair - good shots are rewarded and bad shots punished
*Character - lots of it, in random artwork, varying teepads, etc
*Aesthetic appeal - beautiful & beautifully maintained piece of land
*Extras like covered tee areas - I haven't seen this before and imagine it would be amazing on a super hot or rainy day
*All 3 courses are extremely fun to play

Cons: *Not all tee signs have distances marked
*Not very beginner friendly
*Par 3 courses
Other Thoughts: We played the grange courses immediately after playing the courses in Paw Paw, WV -- so they seemed very friendly in comparison. The courses alone are probably 4-4.5 star courses, but when you combine the setting, atmosphere & having everything at one location, this sets the bar for courses in my opinion.

Sunnyside has a mix of open & wooded holes & seemed to be easier; Darkside is entirely wooded & seemed a bit tougher. I liked both about the same - different in a good & complimentary way.

This is an amazing place to visit and should definitely be high on your list of places to play.

$5 to play and worth every penny

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.