Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Darkside Share
Uploaded By: steve chalke Hole #1 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun course

1    8/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Tees and signage. Well layed out technical course. Some especially fun shots over swampy valleys full of OB.

The course flowed well. No long walks and no chance of getting lost
Cons: No real monster holes.

Other Thoughts: This and sunny side make for a great day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Darkside

1    7/5/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With two 18 hole courses on the property this place is very cool. The Darkside is appropriately named as every hole plays in the woods. It has some minor elevation in places.

The course has some great tee signs. Very descriptive.

The tee pads are very large and astro turf. They were great throwing off of.

The DGA Mach 3 baskets were in good condition.

Although this entire course is in the woods locating discs was not a problem.

There were several water coolers on the course.

There were some great seating areas throughout the course.
Cons: Navigation can be an issue in a few places. Bring a map.

This course gets repetitive as every hole plays in the woods. There are 9 holes in the 297 to 317 foot range.

This is traditional par 3 golf for the most part. There is only 1 hole over 400 feet.
Other Thoughts: This was well worth the stop during vacation. With the 2 permanent courses on site and the super fun tiki course you have to check it out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

You'll need the Force

1    9/22/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's appropriately named the Darkside and for good reason. It offers up very challenging fairways and fast/guarded greens. Going off the fairway leaves you in fairly thick stuff as well.

You'll need to be very accurate and be able to throw straight up to 300' to have looks at 2 on most holes. The back 9 offers up more variety than the front with some more open holes and a slightly wider fairways.

The open holes still require you to be accurate through gaps either near the tee or basket. Plus most of those have water/OB coming to play.

The greens here will give you problems, many are heavily guarded by trees or on fast slopes. There is some slight elevation on the front and a bit more on the back.

The course flows pretty well and once you find it the paths are well beaten in and easy to follow.

Equipment - Large tee pads. Benches (more like cushoined seating and couches) and cool decorations all over. Good signage.

Atmosphere - Themed holes and some cool stuff set up around the course that adds to the experience. Definitely gives you a dark vibe at certain points.
Cons: Layout - Biggest con for me was the repetitiveness of a lot of holes, especially the front 9. Most are straight shots through tight gaps in the 250-330 range. Even the more open holes require a straight shot through a gap at some point.

Some greens were maybe to guarded and tight at the end, definitely an experienced player type course.

Not many holes really stand out when I think back, this course is definitely the lesser of the two on the property.

Equipment - Some of the pads were a little rough in places. Some of the baskets were old and not up to par.

Atmosphere - Not an incredibly fun course, especially in comparison to Sunnyside. It gets a little monotonous. Lots of prickly holly bushes and hornets on the course... watch out.

Has good facilities such as an arcade, tiki course, pro shop, bathrooms on the property.
Other Thoughts: The combination of this course and Sunnyside gives it a boost, definitely a yin/yang type setup. The Blockhouse as a whole is a great experience and a must hit if you're in the area. A lot of work has gone in to the place and it definitely paid off.

Courses are pay to play but it's worth it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

1    7/10/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: J-Mo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course for all. Not too difficult, but not simple either. It was me (intermediate) and a friend who had never played before, and if was fun for us both. The holes were thought out nicely and played well. Awesome use of elevation change and left/right doglegs. Plenty of seating thourghout.
Cons: Tee pads were horrible. They were all of different materials and it seemed like none of them were the same size. Some were dirt, some artifical turf, some carpet. Kind of annoying, especially when there isn't a place to the side of the tee to throw from...so even if the tee was muddy or wet etc, you couldn't even throw from the side of the tee box to prevent ingury.

I didn't see any trash cans. Not a big deal, but might be nice.

$5.00 greens fees is a little pricey for this course. I wouldn't go to this course again if I had to pay $5 every time.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a nice course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice layout and well signed. Easy to navigate and has a lot of shot variety with some water coming into play on a few holes. Liked the rest areas at each tee box with the car bench seats and the fish themed hole. Really fun course.
Cons: Not many open holes, almost all of them are wooded, but thats why its called the darkside I suppose.
Other Thoughts: Nice private course with 2 other courses on site. Not quite as good as the Sunnyside but still one of the best courses I've played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This course is amazing

1    6/18/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun, interesting course that was clearly made by a person who loves this course and plays it themselves. The darkside is 100% in the woods with a ton of skill shots to both the left and right down tree lines. Varying lengths and elevation changes.
My favorite part about this course was probably the placements of baskets, they are very creative throughout the entire course.
Some of the holes near the end play through various water areas ranging in sizes.

We drove 2 hours out of our way to hit this course back up and play the darkside. We didn't have time to the first time through. Had a blast here!
Cons: Not for beginners, tons of insects. The owner has made really excellent sitting areas, but they are overwhelmed by bugs living in them (bees, ect)
Other Thoughts: Course has an excellent selection of discs in an on site pro store. Tons of stamped discs, shirts, ect. There's a 'country club' that is pretty fantastic!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Family time

1    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: macqude
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The tees are great. It was easy to find each basket and the next tee pad. Really enjoyed the "Themed tee pads and fairways" it is a must see experience! Loved the elevation challenges. On the way out we did play a few holes on the Tikki course for the kids and I threw a hole in one on #7 - made my day :)
Cons: We got there around 4:30 in the afternoon and were able to complete the course but it would have been nice to play all the different courses.

The entrance is only a driveway marked with a basket and we drove past it and had to turn around.
Other Thoughts: It had rained real a lot the day before and the course for the most part was not overly muddy as I would have thought. We drove over 2 hours to play here and it was worth it. 3 kids, 5 adults

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Aptly named

1    10/29/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Woods Golf Baby!

The appropriately named Darkside is a wonderful example of technical woods golf. That is not to say that the entire course is in the woods but the pain you suffer on the tightly wooded holes will be what sticks with you after you are done with this course. This plays as a nice contrast to Sunnyside

The design of this course really makes you focus on accuracy, shot selection, mental toughness and bad tree kick recovery. Even the more "open" holes will require you to at some point hit a tough gap if you want to steal a deuce. I really think every hole with the exception of #2 is dueceable but aggressive play can just as easily yield a 4-6 if something goes wrong. For us lesser mortals, 3 is a good score on each hole except #9 which should probably be deuced. The tight lines on the wooded holes, the OB on the more open holes combined with some tough pin positions make for a very good challenge. In my opinion the pin positions on this course are significantly more dangerous/difficult than on The Sunnyside. They seem to be guarded by more trees, often on slopes or surrounded by fast greens. There is a very nice balance between RH/LH holes, some gentle elevation throughout the course and a complete absence of pinball type holes. Each hole has a distinct, reasonable "fair"way. The flow to the course is pretty good so that just when you think the beating in the woods is too much then you get a few open holes to get some relief before heading back in to finish up.

Even though this course is carved out of thick Virginia woods the fairways are clear and well kept. The tees are in a little bit poorer shape than their Sunnyside brethren but still provided excellent footing on every hole. The seating and wooded shelters are a great touch providing ample places to take a break or escape the weather. The baskets are in great shape and the tee signs are great. They show an accurate overview of the hole and distance.

Once we found the first hole we had no navigation issues even without a map except for the gap between #9 and #10.

The Blockhouse pro shop/arcade/clubhouse area is awesome. It was a great place to chill out before and after playing. There are lots of baskets around to warm up your putting (tiki course)

There is a completely separate 18, Sunnyside on site to play plus the super cool Tiki putter course and a mini disc course that is really widespread.

There is camping onsite.
Cons: Going over to the Darkside was not as easy as the emperor claimed. Maybe I just didn't get angry enough. Seriously we did not see a single sign that directed us to where the course was at and the only path that lead there was blocked by a huge fence. We just kind of walked around in the general area of where we thought it might be, found #18 and circled out from there. Even after playing the course I am not sure what the proper way to get there is. Maybe just walking through the Tiki Course? This was repeated to some extant after we finished #9 and were looking for #10.

Only one tee and pin for each hole. A beginner would get destroyed on this course especially since most of the fairways are tight and lined with hollies which are uncomfortable to throw out of.
Other Thoughts: This course is another part of the great Blockhouse experience and a shining example of private courses doing it right. The $7 or $5 after 5 o'clock is easily worth it. And with Hawk Hollow and Loriella in the area this becomes a true destination course. I was able to play all four in 1 day.

The course emphasizes accuracy and consistency. That unfortunately means if you like the wide open bomber courses, then this is probably not gonna be a good time for you. But you should try it anyway!

I had a great time on this course since it is the type of golf I really enjoy; the feeling of complete seclusion out in the woods, hitting tight lines and having to do some real scrambling when you miss. There is lots of personality through out the course in the forms of faces on trees, the fish hole and signatures in the tee sheds that just makes you feel welcome.

My favorite hole was #1. Not a difficult hole, only 280ish through a tight fairway and over a bit of a gully but man, standing on the tee it is just beautiful to me.

Overall the Darkside is a nice challenge, tons of fun and I am really looking forward to coming back here to play in the future (though I will make sure to bring some kind of fish to add to the collection next time).

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Darth

1    10/8/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
On the same site as another 18=hole course, tiki course, disc shop, clubhouse.

Generous teepads supported by a variety of seating options - definitely a private place to chill out and relax.
Cons:
Front nine might be too tight and repetitive for some tastes.

Single tee/basket locations.
Other Thoughts:
Aptly named, the Darkside course at the Blockhouse will mostly keep you in a dense patch of woods filled with small diameter trees. The holes on the front nine are fairly similar:
- ~250'
- minor-to-no elevation changes
- fairways lined with hollies
- baskets located more-or-less straight away, but with tight, subtle lines needing to be hit to have a birdy opportunity
- errant shots deflected of the fairway will have no line to the basket, forcing a pitch back into the fairway and a scramble for bogey

The opening holes on the back nine are longer than those on the front, with wider but still challenging fairways, and requiring sharper, mid-flightpath turns. Holes 13-16 all start and end just inside the edge of a woods, the trees becoming larger and more widely spaced apart, with a small, grassy open space and tiny stream separating the tees and the baskets. The final two holes are similar to 10-12 - wooded, and longer than the front nine.

Favourite hole: #16. Starting from an elevated position tucked inside one edge of the trees, a long throw across the small meadow, with a bit of left fade at the end, is needed to reach the opening in the woods on the other side. The basket resides further in these woods, back and to the left, with an increasing number of trees preventing a direct line to it.

Scoring well on this course requires extreme accuracy on the front nine, and the ability to add length to your throws while maintaining accuracy on the back nine.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sunnyside's little step brother.

1    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is another great addition to a must stop location. Blockhouse is a must play destination in Spotsylvania.
Lots of elevation and good use of trees.
large flags made baskets more visible.
Good level of challenge for a variety of players.
Nice tee signs and elevated Tee pads
Benches at nearly every hole.
Shade from the heat.
Pro shop (the Stupid Store) is right on site.
All of the guys at the Blockhouse are very helpful and laid back.
Cons: The tunnel shots get redundant
a few small navigational issues.
Gravel tee pads were flooded.
every player in my group was attacked by hornets.
It seems this course is second to Sunnyside for attention and maintenance, some locals did not even know where the Darkside was, but this meant we had the Darkside to ourselves.

Other Thoughts: $7 a day, $5 after 5pm is well worth this experience. Course is right off 95 with in a quick drive from Loriella, Pratt, and Hawk Hollow.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.