Kerrville, TX 
Schreiner University Share
Uploaded By: plus4db   (Taken 5/2009)
Since there are no tees, markers, or basket numbers, here is a shot of the property.



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable Course

5+    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: markmcc
Played: 68  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice selection of distances and terrain. About half of the holes require working around/through trees, with the other half being pretty open. The creek is often dry, but creates some good elevation differences. Hole 4 tees off from the highest point and sails the drive across the creek and to a basket at the end of a grove of trees. Hole 5 is 725' long and gives a chance to air it out a little.

I've played this course a dozen times and never seen another disc golfer. Shame.
Cons: Tee boxes are tiny and rough, but it's easy enough to tee off from beside the boxes. There is a mixture of baskets with a couple missing chains, but all were usable. The course crosses the creek several times, and it is tricky to figure out how/where to cross. If there was more water this could be a bigger issue.

Other Thoughts: After reading the previous reviews I expected a mediocre course with navigation issues. But I was pleasantly surprised. Printing out the map was definitely a big help. Once you've played a round it lays out fine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Puzzle Course

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: TheBearcat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: The course has a good mix of easy holes and average holes. Good for beginners but not so easy that an experienced player wouldnt have a good time. Its the only course in Kerrville so it can be labeled as the best one in town ;)
Cons: Tee boxes suck and are made of gravel. Much easier to just throw from the side of the boxes. The course is pretty difficult to figure out if you go play it for the first time without someone who knows it already. Also, there are no maps or signs that show what the hole looks like. The tee boxes are numbered but not all the baskets are. A few of the baskets are kinda hidden so LOOK LOOK LOOK!
Other Thoughts: Don't go out and expect to just start from the 1st hole. Walk the course and figure it out. Im thinking about bringing a sharpie and just drawing the numbers on the baskets.
DOWNLOAD THE PICTURE OF THE COURSE BEFORE YOU PLAY! WILL HELP TONS!

 Pretty fun course.

2-4    10/31/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: ATXdiscgolfer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging but not too hard.

Good basket placement overall.

Hardly anyone there so you can enjoy a very quiet round.

Decent amount of change in elevation and a couple small water hazards which keep things interesting.

Best hole: #5
Longest hole on the course which requires a strong drive and good aim to stay away from a few hazards.
Cons: Very disorienting course if it's your first time playing.
Get a local to help you out because in many situations you think it's the basket in plain that you're supposed to be throwing towards when really, it's way far off and out of view.

Tee pads were obviously made by someone who doesn't know much about disc golf. They're very small, raised off the ground and aren't even aiming the right direction in several spots which just adds to the confusion. They also used some weird soft gravel which you slip in when teeing off.

Lots of sticker burrs so make sure you wear long pants.

Worst hole: #8
The low lying branches sticking off of the tree are very deceiving so throw low.
Other Thoughts: Even though the tee pads suck, they at least now have them so you now know where to start from.

It's a fun, long 9 hole and totally worth a visit if you're in the area and have some time to kill.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Its a whole new course!

5+    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: spellfish
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/17/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The entire course has been redone, with gravel tee pads and marked goals 9 of them! Soon there will be stepping stone bridges all over the creek. Very fun and playable... par is 32.
Cons: The gravel tee boxes are hard to throw from so we usually just play from the side of them.
Other Thoughts: Keep watching this course for more improvements.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not much there but baskets and potential

1    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a compact course on a beautiful campus in the center of Kerrville, Texas. It is near food, lodging, and other activities. It is an 8 basket course with quite a bit of potential. There are some excellent possible tee locations and interesting and challenging basket locations. The baskets are well maintained Mach I. There is a creek that could play on four or five holes, but there isn't any water in it. is that still O.B.? The best I can say for it is that there are actual baskets and hazards.
Cons: There are no tees, tee markers, or basket numbers. I tried to locate a map, but no one knew what I was talking about. I asked three campus employees for help in locating the course and in each case it took a couple of minutes for them to understand what I was asking. Each said, "Oh! you mean the place where they throw the Frisbees!" I don't think the course gets much use. All eight "holes" are contained in a field of weeds and wild grasses that, although are quite short, are full of burs that will get in your shoes. Ouch! Without a course layout I made up my own course and thought that with a little attention it could be a great course.
Other Thoughts: Schreiner University is a small, quiet Presbyterian school. There is a little white chapel near two of the baskets. The property could make for a very good course. It was fun to try to look at it from a design point of view. If you have ever wanted to design a course, this would be a great place to start. The course marker in the DGCR map is a little misleading. It is actually located at the corners of Broadway and Travis. Park near the white chapel and you won't need to drive through the maze of roads on campus. I saw some obvious and pretty cool possible tee locations. If you play, just create you own course. The University clearly has money. it is a shame that they don't spend a very small amount and add another basket, some tee pads, and markers. If you are in town or driving by on I-10 and you just want to take a break and throw a little, it is a good place to go. At this point that is about all it is good for.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.