Edmond, OK 
Arcadia Lake - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: Robert Scott Hole #4
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lefty's Revenge

1    1/17/2013   1/17/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Another complimenting course onsite
Concrete tees
Tee signs
Good baskets
Great variety
Some tight low ceiling, some over the top chances
A couple left, a few straight, several right
Will work out your annys or sidearm RH
Left handed players will love this
Great risk/reward
Subtle but effective elevation changes
Some holes tempt you to run at the ace, but they may claim a 4 if you don't hit your line
Awesome work on your fairway driver/midrange game
Disc golf exclusive area of park
Secluded/relaxed round
Not crowded
Quick round
Good for beginner to advanced
Good place to take family/newbies
Navigation wasn't dificult
Very well kept
Some benches
Trashcans
Bathrooms
Plenty of parking
Clean course

Favorite Hole(s): #4, #14, #18

Cons: Very small tees (no big deal, big enough)
Tee signs only have number and distance
Need a few directionals
Could use a few more benches
Needs more distance variety
Not many chances to stretch out a driver
Short (not terribly so)
Some of the rough has been trimmed a little too much, reducing the risk/reward
This course has Ninja Trees that jump out and chop a disc to the ground. "I know I had that cleared until it moved."
$6 per car. (Worth every penny)
Other Thoughts: This course is one of two short fun courses located on Arcadia lake. The other course is more rightie/hyzer dominant, but, played as a package the are good for everyone. Make the trip from OKC to play if you haven't. Take a day at the lake and play both a few times. Not extremely challenging but a lot of fun. This course is not a must play if traveling through. If you are in the area for long stop by for some fun rounds. I will be back. Its well worth the six bucks per car to play two good clean courses and get out in the woods.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward fun factor which this course has enough of.

PM me and let me know how I can improve my reviews to be more "helpful."

PEOPLE, PICK UP YOUR TRASH!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winter/Fall Course

5+    2/25/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: EDMONDOKDGER
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great, short, technical shots. harder than the blue course, in my opinion.
Cons: Do not go here in the summer. Ticks are abundant and like to hide and feed in the nether regions of your body. Deet will not help you. Also it costs $5 to 7$ to get in, so carpooling makes it more worth it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short n tight

1    4/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the second course in this large multi-use park, both seem to be in exclusive areas without interference from other park uses. The course is tightly wooded with heavy rough, you'll definitely be punished if you miss your line and end up much off the fairway. The combination of large cedar trees and tight brush make a nice combination. The holes are short but tricky, with some ace runs and some that are tougher to get to despite the lack of distance. The tees are small but adequate, and the concrete is in fine shape. The tees are numbered and color coded so it's not too tricky when the courses cross near one another.
Cons: The lengths are very short, and that gets a bit repetitive, and doesn't offer a full range of tests to more experienced players. This course is very heavy on LHBH hyzer type shots, it gets a little old. I would prefer to see a wider range of hole shapes on each course rather than having the two courses cater to two different throwing styles. The signage is poor, there are some tricky spots to navigate and you'll have to scout several blind holes without distances or hole layouts on the signs.
Other Thoughts: I had fun here working on upshots and throwing spike hyzers over the trees, but there isn't a full range of disc golf challenge here. Experienced players won't really be tested, and will find the course pretty repetitive. Beginners will enjoy the shorter length, but the combination of very tight lines and punitive rough could get pretty frustrating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chain munchin course!

5+    2/8/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 135  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ace runs baby! AHh deja vu....wait blue review-AHhhh!!!

-2 courses on site, awesome park-loser takes a dip!
-just as blue-this is a technical little course, lots of ace runs.
-REd is lefty friendly and the tougher of the 2 courses
-will test every throw in your bag despite lack of distance
-decent elevation
-nicely groomed..
-numerous blind throws-90 degree doglegs-spotters encouraged
Cons: -Crazy wicked nasty during summer /late spring- left with 50+ seed ticks my last summer-arcadia-adventure- itchin' for months, no joke!
-$6-7 to get in, carpool yo, lot before gate...
-trash cans yadayadayada
-short!!! too many putter throws, tho red is better than blue in that regard..
-red crosses over blue- don't get twisted unless you wanna get funky
-certain signs are scary close to the tee boxes- be aware!!!!! witnessed numerous broken hands.
Other Thoughts: Arcadia gets under the skin...start chasin' those chains and your gonna wanna come back.

great place to chill down all day and feel like ken frickin climo by sundown

nicely trimmed for this winter season so no excuses yo..

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia Red

5+    1/25/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Brinks
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course, a little longer than the blue course. Nice technical shots.
Cons: Hairy course - trees, poison ivy, sumac, and oak, ticks galore when its warm outside. I tend to only play these courses after we've had a freeze. Not groomed well - high grasses that will eat your discs.
Other Thoughts: Pay to park - 6 or 7 bucks, but there are two courses and it rarely gets enough people to cause traffic on the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NO WAY!!

2-4    6/13/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is 36 holes in a small area. The baskets are in good shape and there are concrete tee pads even though most of them are very small. There is a good amount of shade on this course as well. Most holes are lefty friendly but there are few that are hyzers or straight.
Cons: The tee signs are just number and most of the distances are way off of he true distance. The mowed fairways, the grass is very tall off the fairway but not a big issue because you shouldnt find yourself off of the fairway on the open shots. The rough in the woods is terrible and sometimes takes a couple shots just to get out of it. The plastic likes going in but doesnt like coming out of it. Most of the basket placements are dumb because it is sitting in the middle of 2 cedar trees, of in the middle of the rough, not a "green". The navigation is also tough. There are points where both courses come together and you have to hike on at least 2/3's of the course just to find the baskets. TICKS!! 7 dollars to get into the park.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course low because there are tons of negatives and most of those are big problems based on how I feel about courses. I would rather play the other Edmond course (Cunningham) or go t the city and save my 7 dollars!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Arcadia Lake - Red Course

1    12/23/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another 18 hole course right next to this one (blue). A nice short course but longer/more blind holes then the blue one, and easier to follow then the blue one.
Tee pads are short (5'X3')but are concrete.
The signs are only numbers/distance but easy to find.
Cons: $6 or $7 to play
Tee pads are only like 5'X3' but they are concrete.
The distance on the map/webpage differ from the signs at the tees.
First time players will have to scout ahead to find the basket as there a mostly blind baskets.
Other Thoughts: PRO/CON: the course is LHBH or RHFH friendly, I like this but don't too as I play RHBH but there are very few courses that I've played that makes me change the way I play a hole.

Winter time is probable the best time to play this course. There was no bugs, Poison Ivy, or Oak, and the tall grass was dead so it was easy to find my disc that landed off the fairway. It would also be good to have someone spot on a couple of the holes but it was not bad during the winter, summer months would be a different story.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 tight. blind

1    9/8/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really unique, fun, but more of a joke type layout with really tight shots often over trees and sharply around blind corners. Provides for a different type of challenge, where finesse must be used or you'll suffer.
Cons: - Tough to navigate without the online map.
- 6-7$ to enter the park.
- Not well mowed.
- Holes too short for professional players, yet so tight and technical not a good course for a beginner either.
- Many blind shots, have to scout ahead and use spotters.
- Ivy/oak/sumac/ticks/mosquitoes
Other Thoughts: Bring long pants, map and a bag of tricks!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.